The european club

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Although it's basic, what else is wrong with it.

All the information you need about the place is on it

It doesn't say when there are opens!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭Unglika Norse

Ah right, I just presumed everyone used the GUI site for that info,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭realgolfgeek

Although it's basic, what else is wrong with it.

All the information you need about the place is on it

well, before I answer your question.
    We are looking at the same site ?
    http://www.theeuropeanclub.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

well, before I answer your question.
    We are looking at the same site ?
    http://www.theeuropeanclub.com/

A fourballs worth of investment into that would go a long way... I'd say they've missed out a few dollars having such a basic site.

If you're looking for €180 a round from a tourist, you could at least stick up a course map or some glossaries to entice them a bit more.
    They wouldn't be long recouping a little investment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Ivefoundgod

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    A fourballs worth of investment into that would go a long way... I'd say they've missed out a few dollars having such a basic site.

If you're looking for €180 a round from a tourist, you could at least stick up a course map or some glossaries to entice them a bit more.
    They wouldn't be long recouping a little investment.

Unfortunately, the prevailing attitude regarding online sites in Ireland is anything at all will do. Seems to be that they don't see the value in a well made website, especially when they can cost up to €10k to make. This one is just a lot worse than many others I've seen.

They could throw 2 or 3k and have a slick brochure site, chr*st there are even free website design platforms that would be an improvement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Ivefoundgod

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    They could throw 2 or 3k and have a slick brochure site, chr*st there are even free website design platforms that would be an improvement

Couldn't agree more. Wouldn't take much to have a drastic improvement in comparison to whats there.

My point was more, by comparison to similarly priced courses worldwide, the website is so poor as to make the course unattractive to visitors/tourists. Courses offering green fees for half the price have websites of extremely high quality and I've played some poor courses whose website made it look like it was another K Club/Carton House etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Arsenium

Good evening. I have a few extra days holidays to take before the end of the year so I am planning on playing a few courses I havent been on before. I'd love to go to the European club, but...is it really 180 euros for a game as per the website?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

Arsenium wrote: »
    Good evening. I have a few extra days holidays to take before the end of the year so I am planning on playing a few courses I havent been on before. I'd love to go to the European club, but...is it really 180 euros for a game as per the website?

They have open singles there every Tuesday and Thursday for €60.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭the lawman

Arsenium wrote: »

I won a 4 ball voucher for there and I was thinking of sticking it up on adverts. PM me if you would be interested in making an offer if you're not interested in playing the open singles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Arsenium

the lawman wrote: »
    I won a 4 ball voucher for there and I was thinking of sticking it up on adverts. PM me if you would be interested in making an offer if you're not interested in playing the open singles.

Thanks Lawman. I reckon I'll book an open there, 60 for an open is about the max I'd be willing to pay for an open but it's a hell of a lot better than 180 :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Ok - I'm going to try review this course, without the fact that I played awful come into it. I'll try ;)

First of all, it is like playing in somebody's back garden. It is an extremely peaceful place. You feel away from it all. The few views, you get of the sea, are stunning. It is remarkable the effort they go to, to make you welcome. Talking to Pat Ruddy himself - I was asking him about the blue tees after looking at the course length. He told me, he considered the course like a grand piano - you never play all the keys at once. :)

The course is defined by its bunkers - even on the first you are looking at clearing bunkers , but on many instances around the course , a run out to a further bunker is a distinct possibility. I can understand how many an hour over a pint - has been spent, talking about the bunkers at The European.

Started well - but hit a bunker on 3 after playing sensible enough golf all the way - it is a stunning hole. 4 shots from a bunker - can't ever remember doing that before. The problem is, the ball just fell in and rested against wood. The bunkers are hard enough - should it be effectively a penalty on top of a hazard ? I'm sure that debate has been had many a time, in many an accent.

So by the fourth , if not before, you learn a hard lesson - , bunkers are not for going into - particularly today.

At times, like as you turn at 5 , you feel impossibly too far from the sea, for the course to be a links at all. Some of the holes remind me of the inner holes in Old Head - that may almost feel sacrilegious to say that - but you have to say what you see.

On many holes - the 7th for example - from the forward tees , you are not really getting the experience of the hole. I just played a 5 and a 7 to it. That is not a justice to the hole - it is a far superior hole from further back.

At times the course has it's quirkiness - like the two alternate holes. But - I've seen this at other great Irish courses - it means you will almost always have 18 holes to play in winter. You do forget - even if sanded - cored or tinned - it is a rare Irish pleasure, to play full golf all year round.

Stepping up to the 2nd shot on the 8th - like the 3rd , the course deceives again and suddenly you could be on any of the great links , with the big dunes on the west coast. That sums up the course - you just don't know what quirk or unexpected turn is next.

A playing partner "Scub" - found a bunker on the LHS of 13 - he said if the German's had that in World War 2 , they would have won. :D

12 - 13 and 14 are stunning holes and up there with any of the great coastal holes, I have played in Irish golf.

So an interesting place, a place I need to play again , in the summer the rough must be a nightmare - but that is a hazard too. A course that needs you to go back , is always in another category. A course , not easy to put your finger on first time round - I must of only seen a 1/4 of the place.

Hit 2 sleepers on 18 and ended up with another double - summed up my golfing day.

So off to have a sleeper-less night.

Still another day to remember on a great Links - good company, great views, the coast to ourselves for one day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Dealerz

Ok - I'm going to try review this course, without the fact that I played awful come into it. I'll try ;)

First of all, it is like playing in somebody's back garden. It is an extremely peaceful place. You feel away from it all. The few views, you get of the sea, are stunning. It is remarkable the effort they go to, to make you welcome. Talking to Pat Ruddy himself - I was asking him about the blue tees after looking at the course length. He told me, he considered the course like a grand piano - you never play all the keys at once. :)

The course is defined by its bunkers - even on the first you are looking at clearing bunkers , but on many instances around the course , a run out to a further bunker is a distinct possibility. I can understand how many an hour over a pint - has been spent, talking about the bunkers at The European.

Started well - but hit a bunker on 3 after playing sensible enough golf all the way - it is a stunning hole. 4 shots from a bunker - can't ever remember doing that before. The problem is, the ball just fell in and rested against wood. The bunkers are hard enough - should it be effectively a penalty on top of a hazard ? I'm sure that debate has been had many a time, in many an accent.

So by the fourth , if not before, you learn a hard lesson - , bunkers are not for going into - particularly today.

At times, like as you turn at 5 , you feel impossibly too far from the sea, for the course to be a links at all. Some of the holes remind me of the inner holes in Old Head - that may almost feel sacrilegious to say that - but you have to say what you see.

On many holes - the 7th for example - from the forward tees , you are not really getting the experience of the hole. I just played a 5 and a 7 to it. That is not a justice to the hole - it is a far superior hole from further back.

At times the course has it's quirkiness - like the two alternate holes. But - I've seen this at other great Irish courses - it means you will almost always have 18 holes to play in winter. You do forget - even if sanded - cored or tinned - it is a rare Irish pleasure, to play full golf all year round.

Stepping up to the 2nd shot on the 8th - like the 3rd , the course deceives again and suddenly you could be on any of the great links , with the big dunes on the west coast. That sums up the course - you just don't know what quirk or unexpected turn is next.

A playing partner "Scub" - found a bunker on the LHS of 13 - he said if the German's had that in World War 2 , they would have won. :D

12 - 13 and 14 are stunning holes and up there with any of the great coastal holes, I have played in Irish golf.

So an interesting place, a place I need to play again , in the summer the rough must be a nightmare - but that is a hazard too. A course that needs you to go back , is always in another category. A course , not easy to put your finger on first time round - I must of only seen a 1/4 of the place.

Hit 2 sleepers on 18 and ended up with another double - summed up my golfing day.

So off to have a sleeper-less night.

Still another day to remember on a great Links - good company, great views, the coast to ourselves for one day.

^its good but it's no Kevin Markham 😜

Any photos btw?

Fine review FDP. I think you sum it up as perfectly. I totally understand the sentiment about playing it again and seeing more. The second time I played it I enjoyed it so much more. Felt more confident.

Also Pat Ruddy is some man for the welcome alright. Spent ten minutes showing us this golf book he found before our round. Just seems to love golf and the people who play it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Dealerz - I would never claim or try be a Kevin Markham. Just a head case who loves playing golf.

Also - I'm no photographer - that is for sure, from crap phone.

[IMG][/img]wgov1k.jpg

Who's that in the visor, seems like the type of guy that could make it in the US never mind the European ;)

I've an extremely big head, hats are a no no for me. That's my excuse.
    First time in the European today, first time in a visor.... D'ya know what, I enjoyed both :)

What hole is that lads?

3rd Lawman

What hole is that lads?

The 3rd - the commencement of my downfall - 5 iron , 7 iron - death by Bunker.

The hole is fully blocked by the visor there :rolleyes:
    Visors are for young lads watching too much Us tour golf and a full head of hair.

Great hole.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,062 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

That review has made me want to play there ever more now! Cheers FDP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

It's a fantastic track. I've waxed lyrical plenty about it before but it's always a treat to go back. TBH, as FDP alluded to, one could do without the sleepers in the bunkers; they're hazardous and deep enough without worrying about the richochet effect, but very few complaints otherwise.

Favourite holes are 4, 8,11, 13 and 17. Massive dunes and holes of exceptional quality. Average holes are few and far between and there are no truly weak holes imo. 7 is interesting. Very intimidating tee shot but nowhere near the best the course has to offer, and 18 is in the same category for me. Extremely tough drive and a harder approach, with a burn that does nothing for the hole.

Ultimately, hard but fair for the most part with great scenery. Most complimentary thing that can be said about a course anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭PVincent

Have played it many times. No matter what tees you play off, there is a challenge. In fact society tees you can end up in more trouble than if you play the longer versions. I think it's one of those courses that you must go with the attitude that no matter what happens you will enjoy the day, because unless you have a great day with driver, wedge and putter, there will not be a load of points on the card. You are going to end up in trouble a good few times, you will more than likely struggle a bit with the pace of the greens, you might lose a ball or two, and that's if it's a good calm day. If it's windy, well that's a different story. I have loved every game I've played there purely because I know I am playing in a piece of Wicklow that is regarded as one of the best courses in the world. And Pat Ruddy is a true gent and a man with a real passion for course

It's a fantastic track. I've waxed lyrical plenty about it before but it's always a treat to go back. TBH, as FDP alluded to, one could do without the sleepers in the bunkers; they're hazardous and deep enough without worrying about the richochet effect, but very few complaints otherwise.

Favourite holes are 4, 8,11, 13 and 17. Massive dunes and holes of exceptional quality. Average holes are few and far between and there are no truly weak holes imo. 7 is interesting. Very intimidating tee shot but nowhere near the best the course has to offer, and 18 is in the same category for me. Extremely tough drive and a harder approach, with a burn that does nothing for the hole.

Ultimately, hard but fair for the most part with great scenery. Most complimentary thing that can be said about a course anywhere.

Bntm - see how I did that.

It was your reviews and footage that got hunger back.
    But Scubapro got things moving.

Just for debate purpose.

If a course that is defined by sleepers could do without.
    Is that a big statement.

Or a hazard.

I'd approach the course differently in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

I think I've said this 4 or 5 times on here now BUT if royal county down had opens 3 times a week at €40 the time sheets would be packed!

The European is spectacular and it only gets better the more you play it. I've played it 5 times and cabt wait for the next.....

Even if it adds 5-6 strokes to your handicap it's so tough.

ForeRight wrote: »
    I think I've said this 4 or 5 times on here now BUT if royal county down had opens 3 times a week at €40 the time sheets would be packed!

The European is spectacular and it only gets better the more you play it. I've played it 5 times and cabt wait for the next.....

Even if it adds 5-6 strokes to your handicap it's so tough.

ForeRight - I've seen your posts.

I think - I agree,
    But, if we are being honest about looking at the course in the full context of Irish golf courses - that is another debate.

It is not a value for money debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 fullback3

I played it yesterday morning for the first time, all I can say is wow what a golf course. We were so lucky with the day no wind and the sun on our backs all day.
    I think it's one of the best links in the country- The stunning location. The welcome you receive (Gerry top bloke). People have told me it's unfair, too hard, I don't agree. I used the driver only on 3 holes and the rest of the holes 3 wood all day long. It's all about position of the tee the way golf should and used to be, not like grip it and rip as hard as you can. I would urge anyone who has the chance to play it jump at it and enjoy it. As I always am a luker on this form (if that's what ye call them) I decided to post about my experience on the European links which was one of the best days of my golfing career.