Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The european club

• 24-03-2013 6:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9

well.i'm considering playing the european club good friday.i'm just wondering how good is it,i know it ranks high but ranking can't always be trusted.its just that we will be travelling a good distance to play it and wondering if its worth it.how does it compare with say ballybunion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭sodbuster77

well.i'm considering playing the european club good friday.i'm just wondering how good is it,i know it ranks high but ranking can't always be trusted.its just that we will be travelling a good distance to play it and wondering if its worth it.how does it compare with say ballybunion?
    I'd wait until the weather gets better. Personally I think it's a great course but opinions on it are very divided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

Great course well worth playing if you can get out in one of the opens for 60 quid.
    Never played BB but as good as any links on the east coast.
    Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

I've played Waterville, portrush and RCD and I would still have the European on par with any of them.

Quality course. Extremely tough but enjoyable on a nice summers day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Great course layout and a joy to play with some quirky features like the two additional holes and the 100+ yard long green. However my one gripe with the place are the sleeper lined bunkers which are both unfair and dangerous. A tee or fairway shot hitting a bunker's edge shouldn't have the possibility of ricocheting into the wilderness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭sydneybound

Never got chance to play the European but heard great things about the course. Some mixed reviews about the sleepers in bunkers but it's just a little different. They run a matchplay every winter which is great value.

Also heard great things about the Ruddys being extremely accommodating to all visitors down there.
    ForeRight wrote: »
    I've played Waterville, portrush and RCD and I would still have the European on par with any of them.

Out of a matter of interest and sorry to go off topic but how would you range Rosses Point in with that lot? And to add I don't rate RCD highly, just my opinion as I expected far more from the course.

I've never played it mate.

Out of the course I've mentioned I would have Waterville, European, portrush, RCD in that order

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭sydneybound

God, you must really rate it if you put it higher up than Portrush. Interesting!

I had a bad experience in portrush. That's why it's down the pecking order a bit for me personally.

No need to get into details as its still a spectacular course.

As is the European if you forget the politics of the place or feelings towards ruddy.

Never got chance to play the European but heard great things about the course. Some mixed reviews about the sleepers in bunkers but it's just a little different. They run a matchplay every winter which is great value.

Also heard great things about the Ruddys being extremely accommodating to all visitors down there.

Out of a matter of interest and sorry to go off topic but how would you range Rosses Point in with that lot? And to add I don't rate RCD highly, just my opinion as I expected far more from the course.

Think that Rosses point would be a bit behind RCD and the European, but i would prefer Enniscrone to Rosses Point. Of the Links i have played i would rate them.
    I know Galway Bay, Ardglass and Greenore would are not really links courses. RCD and the European would be joint first.
    European ClubRoyal County DownCarneEnniscroneNairn and portnooThe IslandArdglassRosapenna Sandy hillsDonegalPortmarnock oldPortmarnock hotelBaltrayRosses PointRoyal DublinGalway BayGreeneoreSeapointCorballisLaytownKirkstown CastleSt AnnesAnesley RCDSuttonBundoran

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭pcasso

One of Ireland's top courses in my opinion and I only wish I could play it more often than the three or four times that I have.
    It might be a more enjoyable experience to wait for some decent weather though as it is still meant to be bitterly cold next Friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

Only one question to ask yourself before deciding on whether to play The European in March.

Do you absolutely, unconditionally, truly, madly, deeply and without reservation LOVE links golf ?

'Cause if you don't playing there in near wintry weather could put you off ever playing links golf again.

If you do, bring plenty (and I mean PLENTY) of golf balls.

Hope you love it. It really is one of the top courses here (or maybe anywhere).

I have to say the fairways are generous in the European, they are a lot wider than a lot of other links courses, but if you do stray off line you are pretty much dead, depending on the tees a lot of holes narrow up with rough and bunkers at around the 260 yard mark so just be aware of that.
    Playing this time of the year when the rough is at its lowest if you can get a calm day would be great.

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,184 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

mike12 wrote: »
    I have to say the fairways are generous in the European, they are a lot wider than a lot of other links courses, but if you do stray off line you are pretty much dead, depending on the tees a lot of holes narrow up with rough and bunkers at around the 260 yard mark so just be aware of that.
    Playing this time of the year when the rough is at its lowest if you can get a calm day would be great.

Mike

It is not a great week to go to a links.

I'm off to a links now. Looks good, but wind in that temperature on coast is hard stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 8on the 1st

well lads,have any of ye being playing links on east coast in last day or 2?is it a nightmare?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Redtricky

Played TheIsland on Saturday absolutely freezing and not looking forward to my game this Friday. Wind would cut u in two. At least it was dry!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,184 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

well lads,have any of ye being playing links on east coast in last day or 2?is it a nightmare?

Played today - such a red head of wind burn after :o:mad:

Played well, lots of punch shots and draws. But even when on green in regulation putting was very hard (wind).

8 pars happy with that.

But with water on ground, wind and cold - not for the faint hearted. The good lady gave me creams for the face after :P:)

Redtricky wrote: »
    Played TheIsland on Saturday absolutely freezing and not looking forward to my game this Friday. Wind would cut u in two. At least it was dry!!

See the Island is haveing a 4 person team open on the 29th of April €25 a head if anyone is interested.

Regards Michael.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

See the Island is haveing a 4 person team open on the 29th of April €25 a head if anyone is interested.

Regards Michael.

Where did you see this Mike? Only see Ladies Opens on the website?

It was a flyer that went around, there is nothing on the website i had to ring to book it.
    They are apparently going to hold a couple of these thru the summer.

It was a flyer that went around, there is nothing on the website i had to ring to book it.

Cheers for that, I'll be seeing you there I reckon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭cormacjones

ForeRight wrote: »
    I had a bad experience in portrush. That's why it's down the pecking order a bit for me personally.

No need to get into details as its still a spectacular course.

As is the European if you forget the politics of the place or feelings towards ruddy.

Serious question, I'm just wondering what are the politics of the place?

Was going to ask the same question myself, I have to say it is one of the nicest and friendlies clubs i have every played at, you always get a great welcome and it has the feel of a family run business.

Mike

Regards Michael.
    Thanks for that Michael.
    I will definitely be giving them a call and getting a tee time.
    Can't think of a better way to spend €25 than by playing the Island.
    It is right up there as links golf courses go in my opinion.
    I would be very grateful for any notification of future similar open events as well.
    Ta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

I'd definitely be interested if anyone needs an extra player to make up a 4 ball :D

No, I wont be there cos its a monday :( Any more Island fixtures would be appreciated, Mike, our club obviously didnt get those fliers. Great course, too long since I played there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

pcasso wrote: »
    Thanks for that Michael.
    I will definitely be giving them a call and getting a tee time.
    Can't think of a better way to spend €25 than by playing the Island.
    It is right up there as links golf courses go in my opinion.
    I would be very grateful for any notification of future similar open events as well.
    Ta.

Had some feedback from the club (more detail coming tomorrow), but I'm told this is a one-off fundraising event... would be very interested to see this flyer!

I can't paste it into the thread PM me and i will send it on to you.

My Brother knows a guy who is a member there and he was the one that said they were looking at doing it a few more times thru the summer.

Michael.

I would be grateful if you can share any further information you receive on this competition as I booked a slot to play in it this morning.
    Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 niall147

I played here for the first time on saturday last with a mate in the open.
    Firstly I was so impressed with the welcome we received from Pat ruddy and the other staff we met. A pleasant change from other places I have been to. They were extremely accommodating.
    Secondly I have played over a hundred courses in Ireland including Ballybunion, Waterville, Tralee, Portrush, Enniscrone, Rosses and Ballyliffen and The European is certainly in this league and probably towards the top of it. I advise anyone who enjoys links golf to get out there on an open day and play it. I'm too embarassed to tell you how many points I scored but I just absolutely loved it.
    Niall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

Back in the day ...

Trying to remember when exactly it was but can't place it.

Anyway, Green fee at The European at the time was 25 punts (a fair ask in those days), so one fine morning we drove down, parked and wandered into the shed which was the only building on the course. Big man was behind the counter as usual. Handed over 100 drink vouchers and Pat goes (royally) 'Thanks lads, here, have a Mars bar each, on me'.

Still gives me a chuckle.

Regards Michael.
    Sorry to bump the thread with an off topic post but just wanted to say thanks to Michael again.
    Played the Island today in the gale force winds and had a ball.
    Talked to one of the guys there doing the cards and he said that there was a good chance that there would be another of these competitions at some stage during the summer.
    If anyone hears about it I would love to play the course again if possible.

pcasso wrote: »
    Sorry to bump the thread with an off topic post but just wanted to say thanks to Michael again.
    Played the Island today in the gale force winds and had a ball.
    Talked to one of the guys there doing the cards and he said that there was a good chance that there would be another of these competitions at some stage during the summer.
    If anyone hears about it I would love to play the course again if possible.
    No problem had a good day out there myself, we had 82 points so not too bad.
    Mike

No problem had a good day out there myself, we had 82 points so not too bad.
    Mike

Thats a pretty good score there today.
    You might collect something with that.
    Mid eighties could be enough to win.
    We had eighty points ourselves but I was on my own ;)
    I had forty one points on my own card.
    I was just four over par standing on the fourteenth but had a mini collapse.
    Not bad for a fourteen handicap hacker I guess.
    I really enjoy playing the Island and I would be grateful of a pm if you hear they are playing this again.
    Hopefully you collect a prize for today's efforts.
    Thanks again for the initial post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

Playing here tomorrow. My second time playing it and I just love it. The weather couldn't be nicer and we are in for a great day.

Hopefully one of us can win the open prizes.

PS Playing the Ryder Cup course in K-club on Friday.

#familygoneawaygolftreat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

the lawman wrote: »
    Playing here tomorrow. My second time playing it and I just love it. The weather couldn't be nicer and we are in for a great day.

Hopefully one of us can win the open prizes.

PS Playing the Ryder Cup course in K-club on Friday.

#familygoneawaygolftreat

Enjoy it Lawman... you've gone down massively in my estimation though with the use of a hashtag on boards :D

Pure and utter noisiness but I've heard people in the past making reference to a bit of a story around the European, the owners etc. What's the craic there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

I'm due to play there for the first time in a society / charity outing on July 15th. Really looking forward to it.

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    Enjoy it Lawman... you've gone down massively in my estimation though with the use of a hashtag on boards :D

Pure and utter noisiness but I've heard people in the past making reference to a bit of a story around the European, the owners etc. What's the craic there?

My apologies AJ....hangs head in shame.

No idea on the story with the owners or anything like that. All I know is its an amazing course and the sun will be shining.

Playing next Thursday in the 3rd round of the of the 4ball match play hope the weather holds up, i still haven't played it on a nice day and i have played it 8 times.
    Mike

I played it last summer 4 times.

Every time was sun splitting the stones. Shorts and t shirts and sun cream on.

I've played royal county down, portrush, Waterville and I'd have the European on par if not slightly better than them.
    That's just my opinion others may feel different.

Just back and what a day. Amazing place and I'm with Foreright on this one. Course is one of the best.

Pat was in great form too both before the round and after. I wanna get back there soon.

Just back and what a day. Amazing place and I'm with Foreright on this one. Course is one of the best.

Pat was in great form too both before the round and after. I wanna get back there soon.

How did you score. I've always found I was playing 6-7 strokes extra on my handicap down there?

31 points off 12 so happy enough. Tough course and so punishing.

Just updating the other thread now with details!

So came home today and a letter from my golf club sitting there. Opened up and it was a four ball for European Club and a letter from Pat Ruddy.

Turns out my 31 points won the open and I have a nice prize. Jumping for joy still here. Now I have to decide which of my playing friends are coming with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

So came home today and a letter from my golf club sitting there. Opened up and it was a four ball for European Club and a letter from Pat Ruddy.

Turns out my 31 points won the open and I have a nice prize. Jumping for joy still here. Now I have to decide which of my playing friends are coming with me.

If your friends aren't available, I would like to draw your attention to the sole person that thanked your original comment about the 31 pointer.....;):D

Hi lawman old buddy old pal

I have organised a team from Moate Golf Club to take part in a golf society charity outing at The European Club on Monday and I cant wait. Off the top of my head the only true links courses I've played previously are The Island, Seapoint and Corballis so from what I've heard / read I'm sure this will be an experience and a half.

You are in for a special day. If weather stays as it is them leave the driver at home! Best of luck with the event.

Yes, I've already been told by at least three people to hit a mid iron on the first just to get started and take it from there. No doubt I'll try to smack a couple with the driver anyway but it's a team effort so we'll see what my lower handicapping playing partners do also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭realgolfgeek

you'd think they'd create a half decent website ...
    current one is absolutely terrible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

you'd think they'd create a half decent website ...
    current one is absolutely terrible

It's all part of the 'charm'. Innit?