Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

"Once we accept our limits, we go beyond them"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

RedRunner wrote: »
    Thursday 6th March

Easy run at lunchtime. Legs felt really good actually. Found myself bouncing along merrily at one stage and then realised I was going too fast but it felt easy. Niggles felt less niggly than yesterday.

It's crisis time now though re the shoes. Not many miles left and no Brooks Adrenalines available. Have orders in with both AK and runways. Apparently there was problem with the 14s heel cup and they were recalled. As a result all the 13s sold like hotcakes. Starting to panic a bit now:eek: Would hope to have them for next few LSRs but not likely this week.

3.47mi@9:07

WTD|25.46
    MTD|43.9
    YTD|399.08

Plenty of time left, the runners should be the least of your worries. Glad to hear the injury is clearing up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭overpronator

Did you try the edge sports in cork, 14s seem to be in stock in a good range of sizes. I've ordered shoes with them before and they're great, free next day delivery if I remember correctly http://www.theedge-sports.com/store/product/79530/Brooks-Adrenaline-GTS-14-White-Blue-Silver/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Did you try the edge sports in cork, 14s seem to be in stock in a good range of sizes. I've ordered shoes with them before and they're great, free next day delivery if I remember correctly http://www.theedge-sports.com/store/product/79530/Brooks-Adrenaline-GTS-14-White-Blue-Silver/

I'll check that OP thanks. The impression I got though was that all 14s were called back because of the fault, a bit like when they call back a car.Will contact them and see what they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Ah you'll be grand with the runners RR - even if you got a few easy runs and 1 decent LSR done in them they should be fine I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

What size are you? I've a wide pair here getting no use! Gts 13 10.5 uk 2e wide

Steroo wrote: »
    What size are you? I've a wide pair here getting no use! Gts 13 10.5 uk 2e wide

Good man Ste, thanks a million for the offer but I'm size 12 D fit. Fair play , thanks.

You doing anything at all yourself these days.What's the plan for next while?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

Good man Ste, thanks a million for the offer but I'm size 12 D fit. Fair play , thanks.

You doing anything at all yourself these days.What's the plan for next while?

Yea I forgot your a giant!
    I'm doing v little. Have a new physio who has a long term plan to get me back running. Starting from scratch and build back up. Miss it a lot!!!!!!! You're doing great, keep it up.

Friday 7th March

Rest day. Went to physio for maintenance massage. She focussed on my hammer and glutes as these were still a bit sore from last weekend. No running at all today but I do believe this rest day is a vital part of the week for me.

Saturday 8th March

Didn't get out till the late afternoon, due to #2 son football match and Rugby and other family stuff. Felt good all the way through.

Run went well but feeling a bit dodgy this evening .Hopefully will be ok tomorrow for LSR.

6.93mi@9:19

WTD|32.39
    MTD|50.83
    YTD|406.01

Sunday 9th March

Similar to yesterday , didn't get out till late due to #1 son football match away in Ashbourne and other family duties. Went out about 3.30pm. Weather was fine if a bit blustery in places.

Plan for today was 18 miles with [EMAIL="10@MP"]10@MP[/EMAIL]. I was hoping to do these at the faster end of my pace ie around 8:20min/mile. Was feeling a bit better after the dodginess experienced yesterday evening but hamstrings and glutes were still a bit tender after the massage on Friday.

I planned to do 4 easy , 10 @MP followed by 4 easy.

First four a bit faster than planned ; 9:03,9:04,9:22,9:01

Found that once I got into the swing of the MP that I was getting used to the feel of it so didn't have to check the watch that often although first few were a bit faster than possibly should have been

MP miles were: 8:24,8:16,8:11,8:16,8:21,8:23,8:20,8:22,8:23,8:25

Was really pleased I managed this and took a short standing rest to take on a gel and finish off my little bottle of water that I was carrying. A couple of quick stretches and I was off again, with no pressure to keep pace and the gel kicked in and felt quite strong to the end.

Last four: 9:29,9:19,9:15,(8:59)

This was a tough aul session. Legs feel a bit battered after it but more quality work done:)

17.86mi@8:47

2hrs 37mins on my feet.

WTD|50.25
    MTD|68.69
    YTD|423.87

Now...seeking some advice for next couple of weeks. I'm registered for Half marathon in Balbriggan on St Patrick's Day. Plan was to run this at MP.
    Next weeks plan has mid week session of 14 miles [EMAIL="w/10@MP"]w/10@MP[/EMAIL] and LSR of 22 easy. Was thinking of doing 14 easy mid week and HM @MP with a few miles either side to bring mileage up? That sound ok?

So next question would be....so since HM is on Monday.... how should I structure the following week which has 14 miles w/ 10 alternating around MP +/- 15secs ish on Wednesday and an LSR of 22 on Sunday with at least [EMAIL="10@MP"]10@MP[/EMAIL] again.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Great session today.

Cut back on the mp miles next week. I'd imagine 13 @ is right at the limit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Now...seeking some advice for next couple of weeks. I'm registered for Half marathon in Balbriggan on St Patrick's Day. Plan was to run this at MP.
    Next weeks plan has mid week session of 14 miles [EMAIL="w/10@MP"]w/10@MP[/EMAIL] and LSR of 22 easy. Was thinking of doing 14 easy mid week and HM @MP with a few miles either side to bring mileage up? That sound ok?

So next question would be....so since HM is on Monday.... how should I structure the following week which has 14 miles w/ 10 alternating around MP +/- 15secs ish on Wednesday and an LSR of 22 on Sunday with at least [EMAIL="10@MP"]10@MP[/EMAIL] again.?

This is why every plan should be individual!!

I would go with the same plan midweek, i.e. 14 w 10 @ MP and then do the Balbriggan as 22 with 13.1 @ MP ( 6 miles warm up. 13.1 @ MP and 3 miles c/d). After that I would ditch next weeks midweek session and do the Long run with stuff at the weekend. You'll be well set up after that...

Monday 10th March

Easy run at lunchtime. Took in a section of the Grand canal in the city. Beautiful day for a run.

3.41mi@9:35

WTD|3.41
    MTD|72.10
    YTD|427.28

Tuesday 11th March

Fairly uneventful easy run this evening.

5.47mi@ approx. 9:20ish ( Garmin avg pace was well off the actual...must see can I download bug fix)

WTD|8.88
    MTD|77.57
    YTD|432.75

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

( Garmin avg pace was well off the actual...must see can I download bug fix)

Let us know if you do. Having the same problems.

Wednesday 12th March

Plan was for 14 miles with 10@MP.

Wasn't in the mood at all for this. Felt jaded tired before leaving the office and could easily have just gone home and gone straight to bed. But I set out anyhow in the hope that I would feel better during the run.

Decided in my head I would do 3 easy to start with followed by the 10MP and 1 to cool down. First three went by fine;9:08,8:58,9:07...if a bit quicker than they needed to be:rolleyes:

Then the real work began with the MP miles;

8:26,8:19,8:11,8:11,7:57,8:14,8:12,8:22,8:33,8:37

And cooled down with .47 miles @9:57. Cut it a little shorts due to time pressure to get home but good work was done with the MP miles. I've decided to take it very easy over next couple of days as I think the body is starting to complain so I'm going to listen and give it some recovery time ahead of my next big run on Monday which will be 22 with 13@MP.

Pleased with that session as I wasn't sure if I'd hit the pace at all. Tiredness was showing a little in last two I think but was also making sure I saw the 10 out. Did this without water or gels.

Update on the shoes:

Rang AK and they are hopeful they'll have some Adrenalines in during next 7 days or so and promised they'll ring me when theyre in. Also rang theedge sports in Cork but they didn't have my size and are unable to order at the moment because of this heel cup issue. Very frustrating:mad:

Hopefully AK will come through for me before London.

13.47miles @ 8:36avg

WTD|22.35
    MTD|91.04
    YTD|446.22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Calvin Johnson

Good run, what's the target for London?

3.45 or better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

3.45 or better.

You're really flying it at the moment. Very excited to see how London goes for you. Hope we can track you on the day!
    Great run tonight considering you weren't really feeling it earlier in the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

nice work with the 10@MP. Good to get that done.

Hope the shoe issue is sorted in time for you!

Ososlo wrote: »
    You're really flying it at the moment. Very excited to see how London goes for you. Hope we can track you on the day!
    Great run tonight considering you weren't really feeling it earlier in the day!

Thanks A. All going well at the moment. Just praying no last minute injuries like before DCM last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Darren 83

Wednesday 12th March

Plan was for 14 miles with 10@MP.

Wasn't in the mood at all for this. Felt jaded tired before leaving the office and could easily have just gone home and gone straight to bed. But I set out anyhow in the hope that I would feel better during the run.

Decided in my head I would do 3 easy to start with followed by the 10MP and 1 to cool down. First three went by fine;9:08,8:58,9:07...if a bit quicker than they needed to be:rolleyes:

Then the real work began with the MP miles;

8:26,8:19,8:11,8:11,7:57,8:14,8:12,8:22,8:33,8:37

And cooled down with .47 miles @9:57. Cut it a little shorts due to time pressure to get home but good work was done with the MP miles. I've decided to take it very easy over next couple of days as I think the body is starting to complain so I'm going to listen and give it some recovery time ahead of my next big run on Monday which will be 22 with 13@MP.

Pleased with that session as I wasn't sure if I'd hit the pace at all. Tiredness was showing a little in last two I think but was also making sure I saw the 10 out. Did this without water or gels.

Update on the shoes:

Rang AK and they are hopeful they'll have some Adrenalines in during next 7 days or so and promised they'll ring me when theyre in. Also rang theedge sports in Cork but they didn't have my size and are unable to order at the moment because of this heel cup issue. Very frustrating:mad:

Hopefully AK will come through for me before London.

13.47miles @ 8:36avg

WTD|22.35
    MTD|91.04
    YTD|446.22

Great session RR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

you're motoring along nicely there RR - keep it up !

We're in the thick of the higher mileage weeks now RR - I reckon we're allowed be a bit tired at this stage. It should all stand to us after a good taper and we're fresh at the starting line. You also had a tough race not so long ago. That's a great session, fair play.

Thursday 13th March

Rested

Friday 14th March

Rested again. Felt like the body needed a bit of an extra rest so I listened.

Managed to find a pair of Brooks Adrenalines on sportshoes.com. Their last pair of size 12s so they have been shipped now and hopefully will arrive in time for next week's Long Run.

I might actually end up with three pairs with all the orders I have in at this stage:)

Saturday 15th March

Collected my goodie bag this morning for the Patrick's Day HM from my Mother' as she collected it for me. She is walking the 10k.
    Didn't get out for a run until after the rugby(wasn't that sweet!).nice easy run and legs felt nice and fresh.

7.45mi in 62 mins (paces completely wrong on garmin again)

WTD|29.80
    MTD|98.49
    YTD|453.67

Sunday 16th March

Easy run today followed by a swim with the youngest.

6.91miles@9:00

WTD|36.71
    MTD|105.4
    YTD|460.58

Monday 17th March- Balbriggan Half Marathon MP Run

Last weeks mileage total was a little short on miles due to a couple of rest day s and pushing the LSR out to today. Plan had 22 miles for yesterday so adjusted this try 13@MP amongst 22 today.

Arrived at Balbriggan about 7.35 am and trotted out in the direction of Skerries to get my 6 mile warmup at easy pace done before the race. Plan was 6 before, HM @MP and 3 after easy to make up the 22.

Met Menoscemo and Pistol_75 on the warmup run and got a chance to say hello before heading to the start line. Was feeling ok and looking forward to see how I could manage the MP miles on what I knew was a tough enough course with plenty of hills.

6.04 miles @ 9:13avg

Much better organisation this year than last so the start was well organised and off we went. Perfect morning for it compared to the snow last year! I was hoping to keep it as close to 8:20 pace as I could but knew this would be tough enough. A bit of race fever and a bit of Drogheda and District in Lycra ahead of me :pac:;) were responsible for a few faster miles than were necessary but felt pretty good for the first loop.

First six miles: 8:07,8:26,8:25,8:01,8:13,8:25

If pace looks a bit all over the place , that's because it was, but I think the hills had a lot to do with this as well as the over-exuberance at times.

2nd loop came around and at this stage was beginning to feel the 6 warmup miles in the legs a bit so had to work to maintain the effort as best I could. The field was pretty strung out at this stage so was running mostly on my own. Got a bit wave from a couple of very attractive girls in pink on one of the sections where you double back and are facing the remainder of the field. Great ego confidence boost from this. Didn't know them but they were either using me as a target or just clearly appreciated my devilishly good looks!:D;)

Further on a lady on a bicycle shouted "You look like you could easily run another half marathon!" This was just before the 11 mile mark so that was encouraging although I didn't really feel as good as she thought I looked. Last tough hill after that and then I just tried to keep momentum all the way into finish.

2nd lap:8:03,8:30,8:48,8:29,8:38,8:36,8:23, (6:58)

Was glad to see the finish line in the end but was fairly happy that I reckoned I had hit my target for the race....which I did.

13.06 miles @ 8:23avg Garmin time 1:49:28......everything on track for London (reaches for some wood to touch pretty quickly)

Was chatting with meno afterwards and he reckoned that because the course was so tough that there was no real benefit in doing the extra three so didn't need much convincing to call it a day so 19.1mile for the day.

Back to my Mam's for a shower and nice cup of tea before heading home. Went out for a cycle with my youngest when I got home (about 4 miles) which served as a great recovery for the legs as it happens. Will do some stretching later too.

Great days work and only one big LSR left next weekend before taper starts.

WTD|19.1
    MTD|124.5
    YTD|479.68

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

good running today - Meno was saying it was a tough enough course, so well one on it - pacing would be all over the place. - will serve you well for London.

best stint I've seen you run since we started on Boards.

good running today - Meno was saying it was a tough enough course, so well one on it - pacing would be all over the place. - will serve you well for London.

best stint I've seen you run since we started on Boards.

Cheers A. Without a doubt my best patch of training ever. But before DCM13 I picked up injury on my last 20miler so I'll not relax till I'm standing on that start line.

You are going fantastically well yourself, delighted for you.

Tuesday 18th March

Easy run tonight .Didn't get out till near 10pm but wanted to make sure I didn't rest on my laurels of recent successes. I still need to get the basic stuff done. Took it very easy. Garmin readings again are totally inaccurate. The run took 41mins but when uploaded shows avg moving time of 35 min so unless I was abducted by Aliens for 6 mins is totally wrong so the avg pace was calculated on that and is wrong too.

4.28miles @ approx. 9:40/45 pace

WTD|23.38
    MTD|128.78
    YTD|483.96

I still need to get the basic stuff done.

This is my mantra for the next couple of weeks. Basically - don't f*ck it up now! Well done - you're on a really good run of form and I recently read back over your full log. Jesus you deserve a good day out in London after your issues leading up to Dublin last year. I'll be erring on the side of caution after this weeks session I can tell you. :)