Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

"Once we accept our limits, we go beyond them"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

super session - seriously good work, especially given the hour and the conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Thursday 13th Feb

Recovery run. Very handy. Nothing to report. Hopefully will bring the legs back to life. Sports massage in morning should be interesting. Bet there's a few knots to be worked out!

Total 4.22 miles @ 10:40

WTD|32.33
    MTD|62.50
    YTD|251.68

Great (but painful) rub down this morning. My quads and ITBs were put through the mill!

Taking a rest day today, will do 5 or 6 miles tomorrow and 18 on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Take it very easy tomorrow after the rub down. That 18 on Sunday is great craic too. ;)

Saturday 15th Feb

Easy run. Calf a bit tight at beginning but eased off early in the run. Legs felt good overall and enjoyed the run despite that feckin wind.

Weight is coming down nicely. 93.9Kg today or 14st 10.6lbs in old money. This was more or less my target weight for DCM13.

Total 6.91 miles @ 9:10

WTD|39.24
    MTD|69.41
    YTD|258.59

Sunday 16th Feb

Plan was for 18 miles w/ 2 x (3miles @PMP, 8:20-8:30)

Actual was a little bit different and may get my wrist slapped for this but have to be honest on this log!

Ran from home to clubhouse as I didn't have use of car .#1 son had football match.

1.86 miles: 9:51, 9:46

Set off with the slower group. My plan was to do my MP miles at 7,8,9 and 12,13,14. First few miles ended up being more in the "steady" bracket I'd say rather than "Easy".

Miles 3-6 : 9:23,8:49,8:58,9:00

Time to push on and attempt the faster section then on my own.

Miles 7-9 : 8:09,8:09,8:22

Knew these were a bit too fast. Naughty, naughty!...but feeling good and enjoyed the injection of a bit of pace.

Miles: 10-12: 9:34,9:40,9:34

Nice and relaxed and enjoyed the recovery time on what was a perfect morning for a run. Took at gel at mile 11 in preparation for next MP section.

Miles: 13-16 : 8:23,8:17,8:03,8:29

Ooops did 4 insteasd of three. The third one was probably a result of seeing a club group of two ahead of me in the distance and I decided to try reel them in. The fourth one , I'm not sure about. Either miscounted or the adrenaline kept me going for another one.

Miles 17 and a bit: 9:09,9:20 (0.62)

Eased back down but felt good, not fatigued, just normal aches from a long run.

Total: 17.48 miles @ 8:56avg 2hrs 36mins on feet

Felt extraordinarily strong during this run. Great end to my highest mileage week ever!

:D:D:D:D:D

294272.jpg

WTD|56.72
    MTD|86.89
    YTD|276.07

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,094 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Super run. All puns intended !

Great running RR!

Monday 17th Feb

Recovery run at lunchtime with one of my work running club mates. Felt a recovery run was better option than a longer easy one today to let the legs recover from yesterday's long run.

3.15miles@10:12

Some stretching, strength and core work tonight.

WTD|3.15
    MTD|90.04
    YTD|279.22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Beef wrote: »
    Great running RR!

The 1000th post on his log and that's the best you can do :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,094 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Someone should delete one of their posts so the 1000th post is you making a tit of yourself. :D

Considering it was posted from the pub - I'd consider that a decent effort. ;)

Ha ha...didn't even notice that myself!

Tuesday 18th Feb

Easy run home from work the scenic route. Felt a twinge in the bad kne as I went into a dip but hopefully that's all it was, a twinge. Need to continue my strength work on that to ensure it doesn't give in on me over the next few weeks. Otherwise the run was fine and took it handy. Threw in a few (3) strides of approx. 50-60m near the end as I haven't really been doing this up to now on easy runs. Didn't really plan it just a spur of the moment thing tonight but must do a few more later in the week.

7.8miles@9:39

WTD|10.95
    MTD|97.84
    YTD|287.02

Wednesday 19th Feb

Plan called for 12miles: 2 w/up, 4x [EMAIL="2@HMP"]2@HMP[/EMAIL] w 2mins rest between reps followed by 2 mi c/d

Prescribed HMP 7:40-7:50

Was a bit scared of this one to be honest after Beef's comments on his log about it being his toughest since the 800s session at beginning of plan.

In the end it went a lot better than I thought it would.

2 miles warm up : 9:41,9:25

Rep 1: 7:43,7:38

Rep 2: 7:42,7:33

Rep 3: 7:37,7:34

Rep 4: 7:33,7:28

1.84 c/d : 9:57,(10:08)

11.84miles@ 8:41

So not sure if the fact that I ran these faster than HMP is a good thing or a bad thing? Any comments anyone?

After each standing rest I found it tricky enough to warm back into it and the knee was slightly sore for the first few strides each time but eventually felt fine as the run progressed. Took a lot longer on last rep though so that has me a bit worried. Glad now I've recovery tomorrow and will take rest day on Friday to help ease the pressure. Will focus on stretching and rolling and strength work between now and weekend.

Overall though delighted with how this one went.

WTD|22.79
    MTD|109.68
    YTD|298.86

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

RedRunner wrote: »
    So not sure if the fact that I ran these faster than HMP is a good thing or a bad thing? Any comments anyone?

The pace you were able to run them at is your HMP.
    The fact that you were faster for the last rep proves the first 3 were not too fast.
    Your target for Bohermeen now has to be sub 1:40. How much can you beat 1:40 by??? :D

menoscemo wrote: »
    Your target for Bohermeen now has to be sub 1:40. How much can you beat 1:40 by??? :D

Ah Jaysus, no pressure then! If I beat it by 1 second, I'll be ecstatic!

That's a fantastic session RedRunner - defo go for 1:40 in Bohermeen after chalking that one off in that style! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭overpronator

Lovely stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Super session. Sub 1:40 no bother to you. I just checked and I only did 2 x 2m @ HMP before I ran 1:38 in Waterford so it's yours to lose ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭overpronator

Super session. Sub 1:40 no bother to you. I just checked and I only did 2 x 2m @ HMP before I ran 1:38 in Waterford so it's yours to lose ;):D

Loving the passive aggressive encouragement Career Move :D

Thursday 20th Feb

Short recovery run at lunchtime. Legs felt a little tired but no pain in the knee.
    Not a whole lot else to report.

2.84mi@ 10:22

WTD|25.63
    MTD|112.52
    YTD|301.7

Friday 21st Feb

Rest. Some strength work for knee.Single leg squats etc and a bit of rolling of glutes (not the ITB ;))

Saturday 22nd Feb

Easy run. Legs felt very fresh hence the slightly faster than easy pace. Nice morning for it but a bit blustery in places. Met a large group of runners along the seafront at Raheny.Looked like the Marathon Club were out again notching up another one. Fair play to them.

Enjoyed this. The knee was a little uncomfortable at the start but within a hundred metres or so it warmed up and was fine for the rest of the run.Threw a couple of 15secs strides in near the end.

My shoes are quickly running out of miles. Plan was to go out to AK today but rang them yesterday and no Brooks Adrenalines until end of the month! Even resorted to going to Elvery's but apparently they had to send them all back as they were "faulty". So I'll be resurrecting my older ones I think during the week to save the current ones for long runs and next weekend at Bohermeen. Bad planning on my part.

93.6Kg today. Going in right direction.

Looking forward to the Rugby now later. C'mon Ireland!

8.27mi@ 9:08

WTD|33.90
    MTD|120.79
    YTD|309.97

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭DOCO12

Friday 21st Feb

Rest. Some strength work for knee.Single leg squats etc and a bit of rolling of glutes (not the ITB ;))

Good work with the single leg squats RR, I'm meant to be doing these a few times a week but I'm a disaster with them, alls I do is shake all over the place, hate them! I never do them. You've now encouraged me to try a few later :)
    As regards the runners, why don't you see can you get them online? Prob cheaper too? I'm thinking mine will soon need to be replaced also.

Met a large group of runners along the seafront at Raheny.Looked like the Marathon Club were out again notching up another one. Fair play to them.

What time was this? That was the East of Ireland Marathon series race. I was marshalling at it today. Must have just missed you...

menoscemo wrote: »
    What time was this? That was the East of Ireland Marathon series race. I was marshalling at it today. Must have just missed you...

First saw them at the causeway there I'd say about 9.45am ish

DOCO12 wrote: »
    Good work with the single leg squats RR, I'm meant to be doing these a few times a week but I'm a disaster with them, alls I do is shake all over the place, hate them! I never do them. You've now encouraged me to try a few later :)
    As regards the runners, why don't you see can you get them online? Prob cheaper too? I'm thinking mine will soon need to be replaced also.

Had been looking online but no real difference in price. Also the Brooks Adrenalines come in different width sizes and some websites don't differentiate between them so couldnt be 100% sure which ones youd be buying.I'll keep searching though. I find it difficult to get these shoes in general. I should be ok with the ones I have for another week or so and then I'll pop out to AK or might try Runways during the week . I'd settle for the GTS13's even rather than waiting for the 14s.

First saw them at the causeway there I'd say about 9.45am ish

On the way out to Howth so (course was out to howth from Clontarf, 2laps of the head then back) I was at Sutton x at that point. I was back at the causeway around 11:30.

Sunday 23rd Feb

Long Run- Plan was for 10 easy(9:30-10:00) + 10 steady (8:40-8:50)

Had to wait till the afternoon to get this one in as had to take son#1 to match in Balbriggan in the morning. Conditions were ok rain wise but the wind was a pain but plotted the course in my head hoping the wind would be at my back for the second 10. Plan was to head out towards Merrion gates via East link and head back along coastal route.
    Carried a 500ml bottle of water and brought 2 gels and a salt tab. Had to make a pit stop at East point drain off some excess fluids;)

Took a gel (mojito flavour...quite nice actually) at mile 9 before getting into the steady miles.

10 Easy : 9:13,9:21,9:33,9:32,9:34,9:36,9:34,9:33,10:03,9:06

Coming back from Merrion I took a detour out towards Poolbeg Power station. This made the run a bit more interesting but in the end added to overall distance a bit more than planned.

I had the breeze at my back most of time on my way back or neutral enough but on way back from poolbeg had to run into a headwind. So it made it a little tougher to make pace but felt strong.It was only at the end of the run that I began to tire. Took another gel at 15 and a salt tab too.

10 Steady : 8:39,8:28,8:47,8:31,8:30,8:41,8:40,8:38,8:38,8:40

As I mentioned earlier ended up a longer run than planned so ended up doing another couple easy to take me home. Shuffling a bit at the end and the hips and legs were feeling it as well as my shoulder and neck being stiff.
    Cold water bath when I got home brought the legs back to life before a hot shower.

2 easy : 9:46,9:58

22 miles @9:24avg in 3hrs 26mins

Was entertained by Newstalk live football all the way round. A happy Red fan and RedRunner tonight!

To top off the weekend my Mam called up with a home baked apple tart and chocolate cake.....Mmmmmmmmm!:D:D:D

This week has been a good confidence boost for me. Some good work done.

WTD|55.90
    MTD|142.79
    YTD|331.97