Do you take an interest in cheltenham

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

cml387 wrote: »
    Politicians (esp Fianna Fail politicians) love being in Cheltenham. I think that tells us all we need to know about it.

What a moronic comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭asteroids over berlin

Love it - premium horses :) only time I really watch racing unless I am going to a meeting. my 5 euro lucky 15 each day, hoping to land some nice dosh, loads a money :) enjoy!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Whilst I may have walked into a lecture today wearing a horse mask (as the lecturer absolutely loves betting on horses) I won't be following it myself

I absolutely love it, but unfortunately this year I won't be able to get properly involved due to a looming thesis submission dead line :mad:. I will still have a few bets though!
    Gongoozler wrote: »
    They may like running but I doubt there's anywhere near as many horses dying from broken legs in the wild as there are in the racing world.

Horses regularly break legs when out in the field for the summer, never mind the wild. If you followed racing you would know this.
    As far as I'm concerned its inappropriate and wrong to force an animal under duress to do something that only you are gaining from.

They aren't being forced, if a horse doesn't want to run they won't. Again if you watched racing you would regularly see horses refuse to run.

The horses you should be worrying about are the ones not involved in racing as a lot of these are living horrible lives and left starving at the side of the road. One involved in racing have a great life. If racing was banned there would be a lot more horses suffering. As for the whip, I'd gladly take a full force lash of it and a horse has a much higher pain threshold than a human.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

A great festival for the irish??....but its the english who are laughing all the way to the bank, its the local cheltenham economy that is boosted to the tune of millions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Went over to the festival a few years back with a crowd of mates. Have to say I have no interest in racing normally but threw down a few bets and had a good time at the racing but the night life over there at festival time, all I can say is savage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I know lads who go over every year since they were in their teens. It's their EP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Just reminds me of manky auld lads hanging around bookies and smoking tabs.

philstar wrote: »
    A great festival for the irish??....but its the english who are laughing all the way to the bank, its the local cheltenham economy that is boosted to the tune of millions

What's wrong with that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I like horse racing, and I like Cheltenham.

But the posts trying to give the impression that the horses are almost a willing participant in the festival are bloody delusional and I'd love to spend a weekend in their puppy shaped cloud covered fantasy land.

Puppy shaped cloud :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

Everything to do with horse racing is ****ed up. The gambling culture. The Jockeys are creepy. Big Red Nosed Paddies pretending they have power and influence. Losers in a sea of cig butts outside betting shops.

Sport of Kings me hole.

and then dealing with some RTE or BBC piece of **** going. "Another great day for the Irish!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    Everything to do with horse racing is ****ed up. The gambling culture. The Jockeys are creepy. Big Red Nosed Paddies pretending they have power and influence. Losers in a sea of cig butts outside betting shops.

Sport of Kings me hole.

You must be tired. You've had a long day giving out about things I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Yes but I am more of a Royal Ascot, Glorious Goodwood man. Although Cheltenham allows the people of non-morning coat and top hat variety their own day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Sport of Kings me hole.

and then dealing with some RTE or BBC piece of **** going. "Another great day for the Irish!"

In a week were argueably one of Ireland's toughest ever sportsmen played his last international match at home, spare a thought for the the jockeys who are the epitome of physical and mental toughness. They put their bodies on the line everyday for the love of the sport, and don't get anywhere near the financial reward other sports stars get. Heck, even the thrill of one win at the Festival is worth every broken bone suffered previously. Hardy bastids. The sportsmen and women I respect the most.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

The Jockeys are creepy.

This made me chuckle.

I'm sure they do exist, but I've never seen an interview with an Irish jockey where the guy displays any discernible charisma whatsoever.

It's like it's been bred out of 'em or something.

Yamanoto wrote: »
    I'm sure they do exist, but I've never seen an interview with an Irish jockey where the guy displays any discernible charisma whatsoever.

You didn't hear what Mick Fitzgerald said when interviewed immediately after winning the Grand National then. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Lapin wrote: »
    You didn't hear what Mick Fitzgerald said when interviewed immediately after winning the Grand National then. :)

And he definitely didn't see the emotion of AP McCoy when he finally won the Grand National in 2011 after fifteen previous attempts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

Interested only when I am going to it. Otherwise, no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

And he definitely didn't see the emotion of AP McCoy when he finally won the Grand National in 2011 after fifteen previous attempts

that's something I've never understood, how or why does the jockey get any congratulations? All they appear to do is sit their little arsé there and be as light as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭marozz

Yep. Heading down to the local. Meeting up with a few mates. I heard that there's a good deal on. Four pints, some finger food and a eur5 free bet for eur20.00 - not bad.

annascott wrote: »
    Interested only when I am going to it. Otherwise, no.

Other way round for me.

I hated Cheltenham the last time I was there for the festival.

Gold Cup day was a nightmare. Queues for everyting and uncomfortably packed.

I'd rather watch it on telly. Love the autumn festival though,or regular race days there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Yamanoto wrote: »
    This made me chuckle.

It's like it's been bred out of 'em or something.

In fairness it's not much of a job spec: just wear a satin onesie; be enough of a short arse to cling on to a horse and whip it without slowing it down unduly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

No, decided I can't support what is a form of animal cruelty.

Get off your high horse.

Oh no wait..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

I know nothing about horses and rarely bet, but I love it.

I come from a horsey family, my brother is a jockey and works with them, my mam worked in the curragh.

I get a real rush when I watch it, always have. My dad always brought me to the bookies and I loved it. He gets into it every year. I remember my dad asking me who I wanted to bet on years ago, think it was the Grand National (my favourite) I bet on Best Mate and ill always remember the feeling I got watching him win :) I even cried when he died, one of my favourite memories with my dad.

mauzo! wrote: »
    I remember my dad asking me who I wanted to bet on years ago, think it was the Grand National (my favourite) I bet on Best Mate and ill always remember the feeling I got watching him win :) I even cried when he died, one of my favourite memories with my dad.

A lot of people cried the day Best Mate died. He was some horse.
    He came second in the National the year he raced in it (2001), but went on to win the Cheltenham Gold Cup for the following 3 years. I reckon he would have broken Arkle's record had he been fit to run in 2005.
    I was fortunate to see him win at 3 different courses and backed him each time !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭Paulie Gualtieri

Yes . yes I do, a lucky 15 and a couple of win or e/w bets.

Sure its no harm . bit of fun.

It all hinges on the first day with me, it sets up the week or not.

And as for those who say there's a certain type of person who bet on the horses, you're talking absolute bollox.

(Unless you're talking about a gambler :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

There is a lot I dislike about the sport being honest. I find the jockey an unnecessary component. The horse is the talented one, doing all the work. It will run on its own.....its not a car. It doesn't need a driver. There is very little skill in it. The jockeys and relatives of them will tell you otherwise but they are bluffing. If you put Frankie Dettori on a slow horse, he wont bring it home in first place like Schumacher would.

I'd rather watch racing over flat ground. Jumping is unnecessary. It adds an element of randomness that doesn't belong in deciding who the fastest is in my opinion. I take the same view regarding hurdlers vs sprinters at the Olympics so its not just with horses. :P

But on a more serious note, the jumping at that speed also endangers the horses which is something I can't get on board with. I'm not a PETA nut and I eat meat. But wilfully endangering an animal for sport is just cruel. Horses like to run, that's true. But they don't like breaking legs after being forced to run full throttle at a fence.

"Delusional" was a word used earlier in the thread and it's pretty accurate. It's hilarious how people talk about how "well the horses are treated" as they watch them being shot in the head after they fall and break a limb. Horses can recover from broken legs. It's just expensive so there is no interest in it. "Put him out of his misery" is actually code for "He'll never win a race now. Put my wallet out of its misery."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 165 ✭✭Baze

So many comments on the thread that are clearly made by people that know little if anything about horse racing, or the people involved in the day to day running of it.

Anyway, I love it. Cheltenham is always one of the highlights of my year but this year..

Can't help but but think about JT McNamara, as this time last year, at 39, he was gearing up for what was to apparently be his final Cheltenham, after having decided to retire sometime later in the year. However, when riding Jonjo O'Neill's Galaxy Rock in the Challange Cup, the horse fell and JT was paralysed. He spent the next six months in the Mater's Spinal Unit and the following six months at a Spinal Injuries Centre in Southport, where he is still today. The following statement was released last week:
    Yesterday, the family of the Limerick dad-of-three were moved to speak in advance of next week’s Cheltenham Festival — which marks the first anniversary of his fall.

A statement issued on their behalf said:

“John Thomas continues his rehabilitation.

"He is very conscious that many people are thinking of him with Cheltenham approaching.

“He is in excellent spirits and looking forward to watching the festival.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,768 ✭✭✭dobman88

Yes, absolutely love Cheltenham. I had my first ever bet on a horse race when I was 16, War of Attrition in the Gold Cup at Cheltenham in 2006 and he won. I will never for get that day and it started a tradition with my Dad of always going to the pub for Gold Cup day, we haven't missed a year since.

I was also lucky enough to go to the festival for 2 days a few years ago, an unbelievable experience. Could only get the 3 days off work this year so won't see the racing tomorrow but really looking forward to Wednesday, Thursday and especially Friday. COME ON CHELTENHAM!!