Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you take an interest in cheltenham

• 10-03-2014 7:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭

Well as some might know cheltenham starts tomorrow.Its the biggest horse racing festival of the year...ive been lucky enough to be there and the buzz is really amazing

Well AH have you an interest...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

AH no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Yes but I've no TV so I won't see any of it this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

Well AH...not a lot really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

I prefer my horses as either Tesco burgers or glue thanks very much.

Stupid animals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭squirrelohara

Yep and it's going to be epic. Taking 3 days off work for it. Go on Cheltenham ya bollox!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

It's horse racing, it's a load of shîte.

GenieOz wrote: »
    It's horse racing, it's a load of shîte.

Seen one seen em all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Aphex

Not in the slightest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

No. I'd rather keep my money in my pocket.

Fat red faces, cigars, Crombie coats, and Range Rover's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Flat only. Win only.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Not mad on horse racing but was wondering what constitutes being Irish when they say on the news "another Irish winner at Cheltenham". Is it horse, owner, trainer or Jockey, or can it be any of them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

Not mad on horse racing but was wondering what constitutes being Irish when they say on the news "another Irish winner at Cheltenham". Is it horse, owner, trainer or Jockey, or can it be any of them?

Usually Irish trained & owned afaik.

Edit: Oh and to answer the op, big interest in it, gang of us taking Friday off as usual to go the local and have a few bets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

No, decided I can't support what is a form of animal cruelty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Gongoozler wrote: »

Well that didnt take long!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Horse racing?

Seriously, it's just gambling. No one gives a **** about the horses, it's just something people do to break up the monotony of spending the whole day in the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

No. Next question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

No. I'm also not going to bang on about how it's a crap / elitist sport / played by only a few horses and that everyone should be watching the plane crash news instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Don't care for it myself. Don't begrudge the genuine horse racing fans their big week, more power to them. Hope they have fun.
    It's the eejits who don't know a horses head from its arse going around asking for 'tips' and making sure everyone knows their running to the bookie during their lunch hour that annoy me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

The most depressing place you can walk into is a bookies outside of Cheltenham/Grand National season. Horse racing isn't a sport (for most people), does anyone actually enjoy watching it without having put money down?

Horse racing?

Seriously, it's just gambling. No one gives a **** about the horses, it's just something people do to break up the monotony of spending the whole day in the pub.

I would grant you that's true for some Fred but it doesn't reflect the feelings of those most involved, a friend of mine owns racehorses and after they have retired, they are brought home to his farm and very well looked after for the rest of their life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

My shaft is rock hard in anticipation of the gambling and drinking orgy about to take place

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    The most depressing place you can walk into is a bookies outside of Cheltenham/Grand National season. Horse racing isn't a sport (for most people), does anyone actually enjoy watching it without having put money down?

I do, watching a supreme racehorse like Best Mate or Kauto Star powering over fences in full flow & coming up the Cheltenham hill is a pretty awesome sight in my opinion. I have a few bets now and again (expecting to lose and having written off the money) but I often watch without betting too, I'll tape the next three days of Cheltenham and watch them back in the evenings having no money down.

AngeGal wrote: »
    I would grant you that's true for some Fred but it doesn't reflect the feelings of those most involved, a friend of mine owns racehorses and after they have retired, they are brought home to his farm and very well looked after for the rest of their life.

And the good ones get tonnes of fanny for the rest of their lives

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Surprised we got to 14 posts before someone tried to derail the thread with this old nonsense.

The horses love it.

Put the life savings on 'Our Conor' tomorrow folks !

Horse racing?

Seriously, it's just gambling. No one gives a **** about the horses, .

I do. They are amazing athletes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Ya and they go to horsey heaven too, I also have a friend who I talked to today and I asked him had he any good horse's in training, he said 1 or 2 but 1 he thought you going to make it big won't,
    i asked him what will happen to him and his mouth watering reply was "ill give him a week to see if I can get rid of him, if I can't, ill cut his throat"

Cruel as it may seem, they're not worth keeping if they're not producing the goods

Jimoslimos wrote: »

Yes. Me.

I've often gone racing and only had a bet in one or two races.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Lapin wrote: »
    Surprised we got to 14 posts before someone tried to derail the thread with this old nonsense.

The horses love it.

Put the life savings on 'Our Conor' tomorrow folks !

What are you on about? How am I derailing the thread explaining my reason for not watching it. The horses love being whipped do they? Go away you with your ****e

My shaft is rock hard in anticipation of the gambling and drinking orgy about to take place

Drop of Brasso and a shammy should polish that up.

whupdedo wrote: »
    Ya and they go to horsey heaven too, I also have a friend who I talked to today and I asked him had he any good horse's in training, he said 1 or 2 but 1 he thought you going to make it big won't,
    i asked him what will happen to him and his mouth watering reply was "ill give him a week to see if I can get rid of him, if I can't, ill cut his throat"

Cruel as it may seem, they're not worth keeping if they're not producing the goods

I don't believe you, that quote doesn't sound like something anyone would say. They would be more likely to joke about turning them into dog food than saying 'I'll cut his throat', does your friend think he's in a movie or something?

By the way I'm often down on his farm and see the horses but sure you know better obviously!

And the good ones get tonnes of fanny for the rest of their lives

Not the ones is Cheltenham I'm afraid.

They're all geldings.

kneemos wrote: »

Hmmmm quite

I don't believe you, that quote doesn't sound like something anyone would say. They would be more likely to joke about turning them into dog food than saying 'I'll cut his throat', does your friend think he's in a movie or something?

By the way I'm often down on his farm and see the horses but sure you know better obviously!

Ah Ok i just made it up on the spot, you got me:rolleyes:

What I think he was referring to was when their in the factory they stun them, hang them and cut their throat to bleed them, hence the expression cut his throat

If your friend does that, he's obviously 1 of the few that do and I tip my hat to him

What are you on about? How am I derailing the thread explaining my reason for not watching it. The horses love being whipped do they? Go away you with your ****e

He meant they love to run which they do. They are bred for it.
    The whips used are light things which aren't meant to inflict pain. Horses go around biting each other so their skin really isn't that sensitive.

kneemos wrote: »

Or get a brasser to give you a spit and polish ;)

Dont think you have a clue what your on about

The horses barely feel the whip. Firstly the whip is made from soft material..secondly there are regs to where and how many times a horse can be whipped

Specialun wrote: »
    Dont think you have a clue what your on about

The horses barely feel the whip. Firstly the whip is made from soft material..secondly there are regs to where and how many times a horse can be whipped

It's such a soft material that they can barley feel it..yet there's regs to where and how many times they can be whipped!?

Yeah, that makes sense if it's so soft. Again, I must repeat, go away with your shïte.

It's such a soft material that they can barley feel it..yet there's regs to where and how many times they can be whipped!?

Yeah, that makes sense if it's so soft. Again, I must repeat, go away with your shïte.

Mate ive owned horses for years so know alot more than you.The regs are in place to protect the horse..what you know about it you could fit on a stamp

You know nothing about what I know about horses :s

Protect the horse from what? The soft whip that they barely feel? That doesn't sound right.

Your posts are childish and idiotic, theirs regulations in place to placate morons who think animals who are treated like royalty and are trained to excel are actually being mistreated.

whupdedo wrote: »
    Your posts are childish and idiotic, theirs regulations in place to placate morons who think animals who are treated like royalty and are trained to excel are actually being mistreated.

Two supporters with two opinions. So which is it?

Horse racing fans are horribly aggressive.

There was a time when the whip was too hard and over-used. This hurt horses and brought negative attention resulting in the introduction of regulations and softening of the whip.

It's used to get horses to pay attention and quicken up. Many times the whip has fallen from a jockeys hand causing the jockey to use only hand and heels and the horse still wins the race.

The whip doesn't hurt. See link below which is an article written by a Guardian journalist writing about how he got hit by the whip three times and didn't feel a thing. It's an issue for people who have never been involved in horse racing and consequently have no experience on the matter but yet somehow still feel qualified to declare their (inaccurate) opinion as truth.

http://www.theguardian.com/sport/2011/oct/18/jockeys-whip-didnt-hurt?guni=Article:in%20body%20link

You know nothing about what I know about horses :s

Protect the horse from what? The soft whip that they barely feel? That doesn't sound right.

The whip is used in racing to correct the horse or to offer encouragement.its not to hurt the horse to get him to get his finger out

There is various and different regs

1) you cannot whip a horse continously..
    2) you cannot whip above shoulder height

Just two of various regs for the protection of the animal...just because the whip is not very hard doesnt mean it shouldnt be regulated...FFS if it wasnt regulated ye would be moaning also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Mostly mug punters, going over to be milked by the bookies.

Horse racing fans are horribly aggressive.

Yes every single one.:rolleyes:

My take on the regulation would be that it is just good ethical practice to impose some rules regarding the use of the whip. Obviously the more force you use the greater impact you are going to cause, even with padded material. The limits imposed are there so nobody ever comes near actually injuring the horses.
    I would have more concerns about the quality of fences and the size of the field in some festivals that make it more likely a horse will fall at a jump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

The whips are light, soft, padded. Horses are herd animals and flee if attacked. Getting slapped behind the saddle caused them to try to get away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

Nope. Never watched a single horse race in my life and despise betting of any form.

If a horse doesn't want to run, it won't run.

And nothing you, me or anyone else can do will make that horse run.

It happens quite often that a horse refuses.

The fact that the vast majority of them do run is proof that they love it.

As for the horses in racing being the victims of cruelty, get real.

They are among the most pampered and best treated animals on the planet.

If you really want to so something to help with cruelty to horses get yourself down to one of the housing estates on the edge of north and west Dublin and challenge some of the 'horse lovers' there about the manner in which they treat their 'pets'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭ArtyC

Yay cheltenham! Love it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭Catphish

Well as some might know cheltenham starts tomorrow.Its the biggest horse racing festival of the year...ive been lucky enough to be there and the buzz is really amazing

Well AH have you an interest...

Jesus tough crowd in here! Yeah, I'll buy a paper and see if anything catches my eye. I don't bet often, or big, but it's a bit of fun when the big events come up. I steer away from tips or hype about particular horses, I have better luck on my own. Bet small, have fun :)