Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

pred racer wrote: »
    I've got something that stops cats jumping on my car.......
    It's made by beretta, and it's semi automatic;)

Yep, +1 for water pistols :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭dar83

I've got something that stops cats jumping on my car.......
    It's made by beretta, and it's semi automatic;)

Yeah you wouldn't want to miss and hit the car by mistake with that! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

dar83 wrote: »

It's not sporting unless you give them a head start:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

dar83 wrote: »

Wouldn't make a difference, Alfas are full of rust holes already :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

OSI did I see you on the old N3 outside the Fairyhouse roundabout? It was the red splitter that caught my eye!

Wouldn't make a difference, Alfas are full of rust holes already :pac:

There was one here till last Saturday, was on it's side and I thought that looks a bit strange (yes hahaha go on insert wag here)....

Turns out the metal below the seat had rusted completely and was held together by the underseal! That was just one of dozens of rusty
    /missing pieces!!! :eek:

OSI wrote: »
    When was that? Haven't been out that far in weeks.

About 10:30 this morning. Just on the off chance it was yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,427 ✭✭✭Dartz

BiJVgUvIUAAxSQt.jpg:large

Every single day this spanner parks in the same place. It's bloody annoying, especially for traffic turning right.

And apparently "Yeah, but it'll be no great loss if it does." is not the right answer when a Garda asks you tf you know what would happen to the collapsible steel workbenches on the back seat behind you if you had an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Dartz wrote: »
    BiJVgUvIUAAxSQt.jpg:large

Every single day this spanner parks in the same place. It's bloody annoying, especially for traffic turning right.

And apparently "Yeah, but it'll be no great loss if it does." is not the right answer when a Garda asks you tf you know what would happen to the collapsible steel workbenches on the back seat behind you if you had an accident.

That's some place to park. Where does he be going everyday that makes him park there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,427 ✭✭✭Dartz

Train station is right beside it. But it is literally there from about 8-5 all day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Be afraid paintwork.

Be very afraid...

12995659155_09c6fddd85_b.jpg
    12996057304_b70e16f17c_b.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

This octavia has really impressed me. I know it's only a normal car and nothing like most cars that people have on here. But for a 9 year old car it's just unbelievable feels like a 2 year old car to drive no suspension noises and it's just a comfortable car to cruise along in. Not too bad in daysul either took this pic when I got home tonight impressive for a 9 year old car and 150km of that was short trips tipping around Kilkenny. I'm sorry I'll try not to talk about it anymore I know most will think its very boring :)

2A58D616-F7E7-4CC7-A16A-374AA446FA87_zps4y3syodz.jpg

Anyone from Mayo going or at the mayo cruise in Castlebar starts in 15 mins. Plenty of diffin to be done there or so it says on facebook.

I ordered a new calliper for scratchy the other day, then yesterday the front of the car starts creaking and groaning worse than Stheno's dodgy knee!
    I could hear it even over the sound of my dodgy brake piston rubbing.
    Dropped into G Dalton (I rang him during the week while he was on his holidays....sorry George) and yes the Febi control arm that was installed a couple of months ago........it's ****ed:mad:
    So another control arm is on order(genuine Alfa this time), it's also due a service........
    Anyone know where I can get some cheap beans for my toast???

Anyone from Mayo going or at the mayo cruise in Castlebar starts in 15 mins. Plenty of diffin to be done there or so it says on facebook.

I'll just go to Navan to see some diffin and roundabout drifting, the weekends are great for that :D although it's quieter during the weekdays ;)

dgt wrote: »
    I'll just go to Navan to see some diffin and roundabout drifting, the weekends are great for that :D although it's quieter during the weekdays ;)

If I had a RWD car I would be there doing plenty as well.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I ordered a new calliper for scratchy the other day, then yesterday the front of the car starts creaking and groaning worse than Stheno's dodgy knee!
    I could hear it even over the sound of my dodgy brake piston rubbing.
    Dropped into G Dalton (I rang him during the week while he was on his holidays....sorry George) and yes the Febi control arm that was installed a couple of months ago........it's ****ed:mad:
    So another control arm is on order(genuine Alfa this time), it's also due a service........
    Anyone know where I can get some cheap beans for my toast???

Holy fook is that the arm that costs about 500 quid? Have you no warranty?

And feck you with the dodgy knee comment, that knee worked fine in -45 degrees, I'd like to see you creak along in that cold :P

Stheno wrote: »

And feck you with the dodgy knee comment, that knee worked fine in -45 degrees, I'd like to see you creak along in that cold :P

That's skid pans on GTV's, his arms are a fraction of that price :D

The whole object is to do it in places where no one is about and use a car that blends in, which I'm sure them lot won't be

I'm sure there will be plenty of loud exhaust there and bodykits. I don't know how many will turn up as there was only a days notice on facebook supposedly to stop guards from turning up and spoiling all the fun.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

That's skid pans on GTV's, his arms are a fraction of that price :D

His have been broken that much they have been written off :D

The rear control arm (think that's the right term) that the polybushes (which come seperate OEM) on my car cost €440 a pop

The bushes cost €60 for four!

Had a most pleasant day today, taxed both cars, sorted out getting the OHs brakes done (it was not pleasant hitting traffic lights at 60mph in Belfast last week, then I put on my domestic goddess hat and cooked 21 days worth of lunches and dinners.

Meanwhile the gtv is filthy, and full of damp sailing clothes OH can wash it this weekend take out the nasty clothes, and wash those too.

Some of the best ones are organised in rapid time :D

Also, you cut out the easter egg in my quoted post ;)

I got an Easter Egg for Christmas :eek:

His have been broken that much they have been written off :D

The rear control arm (think that's the right term) that the polybushes (which come seperate OEM) on my car cost €440 a pop

The bushes cost €60 for four!

Had a most pleasant day today, taxed both cars, sorted out getting the OHs brakes done (it was not pleasant hitting traffic lights at 60mph in Belfast last week, then I put on my domestic goddess hat and cooked 21 days worth of lunches and dinners.

Meanwhile the gtv is filthy, and full of damp sailing clothes OH can wash it this weekend take out the nasty clothes, and wash those too.

Yep, spring pans. Expensive buggers :D

One rear bush for the 166 costs an eye watering £90 :eek::eek::eek: Thank fook some E class parts fit in its place!

Also on brakes, swapped a wheel cylinder on the Seicento in about 10 mins from setting up, wheel off, drum off, cylinder off and in reverse with bleeding and cleaning up the tools. Needless to say, no pics :pac:

I got an Easter Egg for Christmas :eek:

What did you do to get that?! :pac:

Nah, front upper control arms approx €100.
    Original part went replaced with one from GSF lasted <10k km
    Replaced with Febi part has lasted <5k km (in fairness it's still working, it's just creaking and groaning like a bastard.) Yes the parts are warranty it appears that most spurious control arms are muck. Being replaced with an Alfa part next week.

My knees work fine at any temp :D
    Although I did come back from my first trip to Dallas with pneumonia:eek: after catching some weird flu bug.

What did you do to get that?! :pac:

Ah it was a joke my local supermarket has a tradition of selling easter eggs Christmas week

Someone else ate it I think, it's no longer here anyways :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

My parents neighbour is in his 80s and just got a brand new car. He's as proud as punch, nice to see someone of that age still going strong as you don't see it that often.

Nah, front upper control arms approx €100.
    Original part went replaced with one from GSF lasted <10k km
    Replaced with Febi part has lasted <5k km (in fairness it's still working, it's just creaking and groaning like a bastard.) Yes the parts are warranty it appears that most spurious control arms are muck. Being replaced with an Alfa part next week.

My knees work fine at any temp :D
    Although I did come back from my first trip to Dallas with pneumonia:eek: after catching some weird flu bug.

That's not too bad,

apart from my knee I've a dodgy hip, but the past three weeks I've been working and talking non stop so my voice is now fecked

Had to call in sick this morning at 7am not sure they understood me, had to follow up with texts and mails

On the plus side first sick day in a year, I half worked responding to mails/texts, did a pile of cooking too.

Thinking of calling new mechanic tomorrow to gauge how I like him (I can't abide depending on people I don't like)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

How important is it to tell your insurer that you sold a car???

Just realized that I probably should tell them that the Levin is gone….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

My parents neighbour is in his 80s and just got a brand new car. He's as proud as punch, nice to see someone of that age still going strong as you don't see it that often.

Here wait....

Pred got a new car ???

*Runs*

Here wait....

Pred got a new car ???

*Runs*

Now you've done it :P