Sick of BOD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭Riddle101

EyeSight wrote: »
    Living in Dublin and you swear he was the second coming of christ!

More like the second coming of Moses. The crowds part when they see him walking through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Overrated IMHO.
    He won't go hungry in fairness

Good man...care to share with us some more of your rugby knowledge...like who has been a consistently better OC this past 10-12 years?
    weemcd wrote: »
    +1 on this, he is one of the best rugby players of his generation, seems like a gent, intelligent and humble to match. If we are looking for a celebrity, tI'd much rather it's him than a manufactured boy band, or some no-talent prick from a reality show.

Step forward there Niall Horan - oh ye of one direction fame...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,036 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Can't stand the man. Never could. It's all down to that stupid permanent self satisfied grin on his face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,733 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

mickdw wrote: »
    Can't stand the man. Never could. It's all down to that stupid permanent self satisfied grin on his face.

I find this attitude bizarre and quiet frankly it seems to be the the post of a dullard that dislikes someone for a smile. (the worst thing to dislike someone for)

I personally can't make a serious call on someone until I know them, or at least have met them, but I can judge someone on their merits, altruism and attitude and O'Driscoll amongst other rugby, soccer, GAA etc.. players are good people. We all know we get enjoyment from their sporting heroics because of their on field/track/ocean/snow etc.. achievements, but their off field achievements are appreciated in a serious way by endorsement and support to those who'd never get noticed if it weren't for the platform these sports people use to forward the cause they choose to endorse.

I'd suggest you leave your blaze nasty comments and judgements offline to yourself until you light someones day up like this;

brian-odriscoll_zps90c5c377.jpg

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Can't say I know a whole lot about him, other than he's a very successful rugby player. So fair play to him on that.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

It's all down to that stupid permanent self satisfied grin on his face.

Self-satisfied grin? He's a fairly humble dude by all accounts and comes across as such on TV afaic. When he was awarded man MOTM recently playing for Lienster in England he chided those who awarded it to him for not giving it to someone more deserving - and here's the thing, you could tell he really mean't it and wasn't pretending to be humble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

the_syco wrote: »
    What is BOD?
    Check your Irish-English dictionary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Met him once a few years ago in the Bleeding Horse and was a genuinely sound fella. Met Amy in a cafe in my home town though. Came across as pretentious as the coffee she was ordering.

Will say though, his whole demeanour after the third test tarnished his legacy for me. Thought he purposely was stealing the limelight having his daughter in the centre of the celebrations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

I was at the BOD meeting earlier, had to elect a new chairman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Lost all respect when he invited Sean fitzpatrick to he's testimonial!
    Fitzy is an All Blacks legend?

I met BOD once - few years ago in the VIP camping area of EP, bear in mind I have no interest in Rugby at all, we we're queuing together for a shower the morning after the night before (sounds fairly dodgy!)

I said to him "how do I know your face man?" to which he told me he was Brian O Driscoll "captain of the Irish rugby team"

I said "oh I remember you, you used to go out with your wan with the eyebrows, what's her name" and he replied Glenda and broke his ****e laughing and told me they broke up, seemed down to earth and fairly normal tbh, from the brief chat I had with him....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,533 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Overrated IMHO
    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=BRPN9no0lxE

Zip on to the 34sec mark, and if you missed it, go to 1min 23. Overrated? Bullshît. A genius on the field.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

He's no Ross O' Carroll Kelly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,036 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

John_Rambo wrote: »
    I find this attitude bizarre and quiet frankly it seems to be the the post of a dullard that dislikes someone for a smile.

I'd suggest you leave your blaze nasty comments and judgements offline to yourself until you light someones day up
    I'm allowed an opinion. Of course when people think the sun shins out of the his ass, they don't want to hear any other opinion.
    When I help someone out or brighten up someones day, I don't do it in front of a press photographer.
    I would be fast more impressed if I heard some feedback on his good deeds that didnt come through the press.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Living legend.

Living legend, yes.. In Irish Rugby, that's all, no big HOUCHIE, :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Met him in the Sceilp Inn many years ago with the rest of the Leinster team. He seemed really nice and introduced me to a few younger guys on the team like Luke Fitzgerald and Rob Kearney who wouldn't have been well known at the time.

Me and my sister were the first to go to him but eventually he started getting bombarded with loads of requests and he became a bit sour, but then again he is human I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

ardle1 wrote: »

Shhhh... be quiet now.. sshhhh...
    6 Nations All time top try scorer with 26 tournament tries.
    6 Nations Player of the Year – 2006, 2007, 2009.
    6 Nations Top try scorer – 2009 (tied with Riki Flutey).
    European Cup Top try scorer – 2009.
    Shortlisted for IRB International Player of the Year 3 times – 2001, 2002, 2009.
    Named on ERC European Dream Team (to mark the first 15 years of the Heineken Cup).
    IRB International Try of the Year 2008 ( Australia v Ireland).
    IRUPA Players' Player of the Year – 2008/09.
    Texaco Sportstars Rugby Award – 2000, 2002, 2007, 2009.
    'Rugby World' magazines' Player of the Decade.
    Named on 'Rugby World' magazines' Team of the Decade.
    English Rugby Union Writers' Club Pat Marshall Memorial Award as the sport's outstanding personality for 2009.
    Dubliner of the Year Award – 2008.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brian_O'Driscoll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,960 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

I'm allowed an opinion. Of course when people think the sun shins out of the his ass, they don't want to hear any other opinion.
    When I help someone out or brighten up someones day, I don't do it in front of a press photographer.
    I would be fast more impressed if I heard some feedback on his good deeds that didnt come through the press.

You're entitled to your opinion but you're coming across as a petty, cynical and bitter person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,199 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Zeebs wrote: »
    I genuinely think he is. He is considered one of the greatest ever in his respective sport and has been at that level for 15 years. He is the most capped international player ever, the highest try scorer in 6 Nations history, 3 time Lions tourist and one time captain, 3 Heineken Cups and a Grand Slam.

I mean what other Irish sportperson was considered the greatest ever in their sport for 15 years?

How is he the greatest ever for 15 years? He didn't make the Lions team last year in their final test. One of the greats of his generation for about 10 years I would say.

Although it was not necessarily O'Driscolls fault, the horse**** over Gatland dropping him for the Lions final test was really annoying. Gatland made the correct call. Its a long time since O'Driscoll has been an attacking threat at that level and the two Welsh centres offered far more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

The media use them as a sort of Irish Royal Couple to fill up the pages of their red top colouring books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Definition of BOD: Man with twisted nose and annoying false accent with rather common looking wife that became a beauty in the eyes of the media after marrying BOD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

In fairness though, when he and his wife slip up I am definitely going to take a crack at her, provided it happens in the next 2-3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Fran1985

ardle1 wrote: »

more a living legend in world rugby.

It's just unfortunate that he's Irish because of our hatred (jealousy) for our compatriots who become successful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

the man's one of our greatest ever sports star, arguably our greatest rubgy player, he's won everthing in the game apart from the WC (not that i think we would win it !!) if the op thinks Brian is going to disappear when he retires, think again, we'll see as a regular pundit and manager of the irish team one day :)

Fran1985 wrote: »
    more a living legend in world rugby.

It's just unfortunate that he's Irish because of our hatred (jealousy) for our compatriots who become successful.

We do both extremes very well in this country, begrudgery and overhyping. Not too many other places would have felt such a sense of injustice at a Lions coach making a correct decision to drop an ageing great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,960 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

robbiezero wrote: »
    We do both extremes very well in this country, begrudgery and overhyping. Not too many other places would have felt such a sense of injustice at a Lions coach making a correct decision to drop an ageing great.

That's probably more a result of the event junkies who have jumped on the rugby bandwagon over the last 10 years. They only understand the game in simple terms (BOD great, Tommy Bowe great) because, when you boil it down, they're only glory hunters who have a very limited knowledge of the game. The amount of that lot I heard moaning and crying at the time drove me demented.

However, if you listen to experts and people outside of Ireland, they still speak of BOD as one of the all time greats. That shouldn't be up for debate. Like I said, rugby really isn't my thing, but I can appreciate what a great, courageous player that BOD was and is.

DeanAustin wrote: »

However, if you listen to experts and people outside of Ireland, they still speak of BOD as one of the all time greats. That shouldn't be up for debate. Like I said, rugby really isn't my thing, but I can appreciate what a great, courageous player that BOD was and is.

No doubt. Arguably Irelands greatest and one of the best of his generation in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭robocode

Some genuine bellends posting here, "I hate him because of his smile", "I hate him because of his accent", "it's only sport". We really do have our share of sour little people on this island, "your man has done well for himself....the pr*ck"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭sammy37

a great player no doubt but in a game that requires very little skill bar the number ten.was watching one of the ireland test matches during the summer and sexton kicked a cross field ball about 30 yards and it was caught by an irish winger on the runner and i thought Ryle Nugent was going to collapse with a heart attack at the bit of skill he saw. did he ever see a game of hurling or football where this is taken for granted.