Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sick of BOD

• 04-03-2014 5:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭

I like rugby, especially 6N, but this constant bombardment of what BOD thinks about a, b & c. How he and Amy will cope after the season, what he thinks about the price of cheese, blah blah fcukin blah is really starting to annoy me. Its bloody everywhere.

Its like there is a deliberate attempt by the Irish media to create our own little O' Beckhams.

Sick of BOD 158 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No. Goys a ledge
    100% 158 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,861 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Doesn't rugby have its own forum?

Edit: Oh plus a bitter munster fan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Doesn't rugby have its own forum?

Edit: Oh plus a bitter munster fan!

Its not about Rugby

Edit: No. Pissed off @ Irish media tabloid descent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭K.C

Man crush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

don't care.. keep your sports talk in a forum that gives a fcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

Living in Dublin and you swear he was the second coming of christ!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Living legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Sadly he will be a man who played in a team that underachieved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

What are his views on the price of cheese

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

The obsession with O'Driscoll and his wife has been going on for a long time. I suppose they are the closest thing we have to a glamourous couple so the media milk it for what they can.

Personally I'm indifferent towards O'Driscoll. I don't think he necessarily looks for the limelight, it seems more thrust upon him. His wife however loves the exposure and I'm more sick of seeing her everywhere than him to be honest.

If you're fed up now brace yourself for the next two weeks and if we win the 6 nations then emigrate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Aunt Flo and Farmer Barleymow were always more rounded characters, I felt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

It's dih Dublin meejah hi.

/eats a potato

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭on the river

IN BOD WE TRUST

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

People are far more interested in "Celebrities" and foreign soccer players than an Irish man who has achieved substantive success in his field (oh yea :cool:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

A paper never refuses ink nor does a screen refuse electrons. If you care not for the subject then it is but a trivial exercise to ignore it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

Overrated IMHO.
    He won't go hungry in fairness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

I think he's exactly the type of lad you'd want representing Ireland. Great talent and seems like a gent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

Duller than dish water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

131spanner wrote: »
    I think he's exactly the type of lad you'd want representing Ireland. Great talent and seems like a gent.

+1 on this, he is one of the best rugby players of his generation, seems like a gent, intelligent and humble to match. If we are looking for a celebrity, I'd much rather it's him than a manufactured boy band, or some no-talent prick from a reality show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

weemcd wrote: »
    +1 on this, he is one of the best rugby players of his generation, seems like a gent, intelligent and humble to match. If we are looking for a celebrity, I'd much rather it's him than a manufactured boy band, or some no-talent prick from a reality show.

Exactly

p.s. I have no issue with BOD. Its the constant inane media blitz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

It's hard to find fault with Brian O'Driscoll in both his personal life and professional life. He conducts himself impeccably in both spheres. I'm pretty sure he gets embarrassed by the media attention. I just hope he finishes out his career without any more head or neck injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

he is the acceptable face of rugby

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

The man is a legend but the tabloids are just being annoying with their articles about his family.

Why hate the man because of the media?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Absolutely detest rugby but BOD is a great sportsman (possibly our greatest ever) and seems like a pretty good guy too. No issue with him at all.

I also don't see much of the media sh1te about him so I must be watching the wrong programmes or reading the wrong magazines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭DesperateDan

What the fcuk is a BOD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

National treasure. End of discussion. The greatest rugby player Ireland ever produced and up there with the greats of the game.

Will be long and fondly remembered by anyone who had even the most passing interest in Irish rugby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

great player, do i care about amy huberman or the kids not my business i dont need to know !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Tabloid media and celebrity culture is all bullsh!t. Stay away from it and you won't have this problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Absolutely detest rugby but BOD is a great sportsman (possibly our greatest ever) and seems like a pretty good guy too. No issue with him at all.

I also don't see much of the media sh1te about him so I must be watching the wrong programmes or reading the wrong magazines.

Steady on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 201 ✭✭Zeebs

The only thing I find odd about BOD is the number of people who seem to dislike him :confused:

He comes across as completely likable and very humble and anyone I know who has met him has said the same.

As for the Amy-BOD media fanfare, it is not even close to Keane-Claudia Palmer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

He always gives 100% when he plays for Ireland, if any of us got that shoulder that knocked the wind out of him during the Wales match we wouldn't be able to move for the day and would probably have been puking our ring up.

Steady on.

I genuinely think he is. He is considered one of the greatest ever in his respective sport and has been at that level for 15 years. He is the most capped international player ever, the highest try scorer in 6 Nations history, 3 time Lions tourist and one time captain, 3 Heineken Cups and a Grand Slam.

I mean what other Irish sportperson was considered the greatest ever in their sport for 15 years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭risteard7

Sadly he will be a man who played in a team that underachieved.

no he played on a team that have been consistently over-hyped by the media. For a 6 team tournament one win in 2009 is a poor return. but sure there great lads and the Aviva will be packed again Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

He always gives 100% when he plays for Ireland, if any of us got that shoulder that knocked the wind out of him during the Wales match we wouldn't be able to move for the day and would probably have been puking our ring up.

You'd swear he does it for a living or something.

Zeebs wrote: »
    I genuinely think he is. He is considered one of the greatest ever in his respective sport and has been at that level for 15 years. He is the most capped international player ever, the highest try scorer in 6 Nations history, 3 time Lions tourist and one time captain, 3 Heineken Cups and a Grand Slam.

I mean what other Irish sportperson was considered the greatest ever in their sport for 15 years?

He's outstanding in his field but it's a niche sport globally. Whatever you think about the man, Roy Keane reaching the heights he has in his career is a far more impressive feat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I'm well aware of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

He's outstanding in his field but it's a niche sport globally. Whatever you think about the man, Roy Keane reaching the heights he has in his career is a far more impressive feat.

Ronnie Whelan and Mark Lawrenson as well.

I'm well aware of that.

Are you, though? Are you really?

Gmol wrote: »
    Ronnie Whelan and Mark Lawrenson as well.

Ronnie Whelan, yeah. Not sure i'd call Mark Lawrenson Irish though.

Dennis Irwin for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭sligoface

Yep. Went for a piss and there was BOD on a poster above the urinal, something about standing up to bullying. Once you encroach on my pee time it's gone too far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,059 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

What political party will O'Driscol joln now? Probably Fine Gael.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Are you, though? Are you really?

He said he is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

Who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Nah. I'd rank him up there with Roger Federer as masters of their chosen sport and a down to earth and likeable guy in to the bargain.

Like others of his stature, he may only be fully appreciated when he isn't around anymore.

TheZohan wrote: »
    He said he is.

I'm unconvinced.

I don't really understand this 'niche' stuff. I mean it has few top teams but playing number wise its in the millions, England alone has 2.6million active players.

Obviously soccer has A LOT more active players (although I'd argue that the majority of those numbers are from continents like Africa and Asia where due to poverty and lack of training facilities most of those players will never make it so it does put the playing numbers into context) but the likes of Roy Keane was never considered the greatest ever, even at his peak (which lasted a few years if we're honest) Roy Keane was nothing more than top class in his field so I think it balances out when you consider that BOD was and still is considered the greatest ever for the last 15 years. That's not even getting into the fact that BOD has countless times played on with concussions for his country whereas Keane stormed out on his country after not getting his own way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

He's alright, he's a talented sportsperson. She on the otherhand is an annoying bint. Was at the cinema in Sunday and that Newbridge advert was shown. What a load of ***te. She sounds like a right pain in the hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

What BOD has cannot be bought or taught.

He'd play with as much vigour if he was an amateur.

Of course your statement automatically makes the above difficult for you to understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

Typical irish begrudger crap going on in this tread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

He's alright, he's a talented sportsperson. She on the otherhand is an annoying bint. Was at the cinema in Sunday and that Newbridge advert was shown. What a load of ***te. She sounds like a right pain in the hole.

This times a billion. That ad in the cinema makes me want to take the straw from my coke and jab myself in the eyes. I don't even know what it is I don't like about her.