Political correctness gone mad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Hello caller, talk to Joe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Joe it's just not right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

He was talking rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

They binned him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Well, it wasn't the smartest thing someone in his position could do.

A quick look and I would have made the same mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

When they asked him to resign, could he not just refuse?

That's garbage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

non story

anncoates wrote: »
    When they asked him to resign, could he not just refuse?

They didnt ask him to resign, he got the sack.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

Is that why yer man was called bin laden.
    A lad in a bin like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭aaakev

I had to look at the pic for ages before I realised there was only 1 kid!

They would look rubbish in a selfie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

All she has to do is pick up a scythe and she's got herself a Halloween costume sorted. Lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭WellThen?

Hahaha he sounds like good craic. He should of said he got fraped....I would of said that. I would also not have done that if I was in his position though crazy ****er. You're not allowed slag the Muslims... defo not their fashions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,238 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Politician shares blatantly racist photo and gets sacked......and what exactly is the issue here.....?

He thought there was 3 children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Politician shares blatantly racist photo and gets sacked......and what exactly is the issue here.....?

Would it not be Islamophobic?

Hootanany wrote: »
    He thought there was 3 children.

He says that now......

If he had thought that then there would be absolutely no point to the photo and he wouldn't have been sharing it. Who would share an image of three kids in burkas just because its three kids in burkas. There would be no point.

Its perfectly obvious from the caption what the image is about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Presume it was a joke (and I did lol) - bit lame of him to claim he genuinely thought the bags of rubbish were kids; why couldn't he just 'fess up that he was cracking a joke?
    The punishment is harsh IMO and the joke does not automatically mean he is an islamophobe, but if you're a public official you need to watch what you say in public... and that definitely includes not making jokes about muslims or any members of a particular religion/ethnic group, no matter how good-natured the joke is!
    It's not a case of whether he was joking or not, whether people agree or not... cracking jokes like that in your public life as a local politician is ****ing dopey and inappropriate and unprofessional. Oafish carry-on that you'd expect from a gombeen politician here.

Would it not be Islamophobic?

It would.

Its perfectly obvious from the caption what the image is about.

It looks like a nice estate, must have a good management company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Rachiee

There was no honest mistake its an internet joke that's been doing the rounds for ages. Its clearly racist get can laugh at it all he likes behind closed doors but if you are a politician you can't be blatantly racist on the internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Has anyone actually read the article? Because I'm reading the comments and it doesn't seem like they have. :pac:

Presume it was a joke (and I did lol) - bit lame of him to claim he genuinely thought the bags of rubbish were kids; why couldn't he just 'fess up that he was cracking a joke?
    The punishment is harsh IMO and the joke does not automatically mean he is an islamophobe, but if you're a public official you need to watch what you say in public... and that definitely includes not making jokes about muslims or any members of a particular religion/ethnic group, no matter how good-natured the joke is!
    It's not a case of whether he was joking or not, whether people agree or not... cracking jokes like that in your public life as a local politician is ****ing dopey and inappropriate and unprofessional. Oafish carry-on that you'd expect from a gombeen politician here.

I'd guess your defense of the point would need a reference to the oxford dictionary a la Iona Institute/ Homophobe.

He's cracking/ sharing a joke that is crudely at the expense of muslim children. Does that make him an islamohobe? A court might argue not. I certainly wouldn't have shared it because it is blatantly insensitive to Muslims, and particularly because of the reference to children.

anyways....enough of the political correctness. I refuse to discuss it any further. how about some more puns.....

Like the kebab one who said that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Yeah he knew exactly what he was at.

Did I laugh? Yes
    Would I post it? Probably
    In his job/position would I post it? No!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

It would.

So not racist then.

Yeah he knew exactly what he was at.

Did I laugh? Yes
    Would I post it? Probably
    In his job/position would I post it? No!!

?