Paddy power taking bets on oscar pistorius verdict

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

*wince*

...what are the odds by the way? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

That's pretty nasty, taking bets on the outcome of a murder trial :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

MadsL wrote: »
    *wince*

...what are the odds by the way? ;)

7/4 guilty..2/5 not guilty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I'll double it up with some of my World Cup bets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭The Dagda

Jaysus. Bad taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

It's pathetic. I always Paddy Power were good with their marketing in snubbing authority, but this is about justice for a woman's life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

$cumbags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

What are the odds of the CEO of Paddy Power being convicted of a sexual offence at some point in the next five years? We need specific odds for necrophilia, bestiality, racially-motivated rape/war crimes, etc.

Hey, Paddy Power lawyers, it's just a bit of fun, like what you do.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

c_man wrote: »
    I'll double it up with some of my World Cup bets.

Double it up with leading goalscorers. Hopefully they will be better shooters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I'm the least politically correct dude on here, I make more gaffes than some poster's have cups of tea.

Even I wouldn't bet on something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭moonshadow

Guilty of course, sure he hasn't a leg to stand on !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Bad form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

I'd wager a substantial amount of money with Paddy Power that most of the indignation around here is false. Very short odds though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭MS.ing

its ok phillis and mary, its not going to impact the trial verdict, be a dear and get back to mass, theres lots of kids in africa that need your prayers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

This disappoints me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

What are the odds on him having a "Get Out of Jail" letter from the Met ?
    I want one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,669 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

This is perhaps worse if the guy himself sees it and bets on North Korea.

http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action=go_type&category=SPECIALS&disp_cat_id=&ev_class_id=45&ev_type_id=23172

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭MS.ing

What are the odds on him having a "Get Out of Jail" letter from the Met ?
    I want one of them.

what do weatherforecasters have to do with this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

In fairness they are pretty good odds on Guilty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 TheJug

Quite agree. A little bird tells me that the Paady Power shop in Lr Baggot Street was spray-painted with the slogan REEVA LIVES! A handbill had been taped up inviting people to protest "by word and wallet". I have tried to attch a pic but IT skills not up to it, methinks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Keep Gaming ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 TheJug

Another pic of Pistorius bet protest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I think it's pretty funny. Fair play to them, no such thing as bad publicity. Wouldn't put me off using them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I don't see what the problem is here. People will watch the trial on TV and the papers will be giving it wall-to-wall coverage. Nobody seems to object to any of this. Can anyone claim that their interest in the trial is out of sympathy for the victim of the crime?
    What Paddy Power is doing is offering the punters a chance to bet on the outcome of an event, I.e. the trial. They are not condoning the "crime". They didn't stage-manage the event so that people could bet on it. They are not trying to change the outcome. The event is happening anyway. If some people want to bet on the outcome, what's the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,832 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

They're offering your stake back if he is found not guilty so it's actually now a no brainer to bet on a guilty verdict as you can't lose. It's free money if he's guilty and your money back if he's not guilty, fill yer boots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Muahahaha wrote: »
    They're offering your stake back if he is found not guilty so it's actually now a no brainer to bet on a guilty verdict as you can't lose. It's free money if he's guilty and your money back if he's not guilty, fill yer boots.

Max refund is 20e per customer and must be placed before 11.00 am 4th Mar.

Odds are 3-10 for guilty verdict, 9-4 not guilty

Thing is, it's 3/10.

The max stake is E20 so a return of E26, you could try doing the E20 in a few different shops if it's not online only but chances of that are small.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,498 ✭✭✭quarryman

Did you actually read the small print?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

Specialun wrote: »
    http://www.paddypower.com/bet/novelty-betting/current-affairs/oscar-pistorius

Surely this is bad form.At the end of the day the lady actually died..not like their novelty bets of a 3way on corrie or snow at xmas

What you think AH

Don't gamblers have enough of a bad reputation for being immoral scum??

What would have happened if they took bets of the Sarah Payne case or Madeleine McCann ?

It's disgusting.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Lou.m wrote: »
    Don't gamblers have enough of a bad reputation for being immoral scum??

Not really, no. :confused: