Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paddy power taking bets on oscar pistorius verdict

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

*wince*

...what are the odds by the way? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

That's pretty nasty, taking bets on the outcome of a murder trial :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

MadsL wrote: »
    *wince*

...what are the odds by the way? ;)

7/4 guilty..2/5 not guilty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I'll double it up with some of my World Cup bets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭The Dagda

Jaysus. Bad taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

It's pathetic. I always Paddy Power were good with their marketing in snubbing authority, but this is about justice for a woman's life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

$cumbags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

What are the odds of the CEO of Paddy Power being convicted of a sexual offence at some point in the next five years? We need specific odds for necrophilia, bestiality, racially-motivated rape/war crimes, etc.

Hey, Paddy Power lawyers, it's just a bit of fun, like what you do.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

c_man wrote: »
    I'll double it up with some of my World Cup bets.

Double it up with leading goalscorers. Hopefully they will be better shooters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I'm the least politically correct dude on here, I make more gaffes than some poster's have cups of tea.

Even I wouldn't bet on something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭moonshadow

Guilty of course, sure he hasn't a leg to stand on !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Bad form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

I'd wager a substantial amount of money with Paddy Power that most of the indignation around here is false. Very short odds though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭MS.ing

its ok phillis and mary, its not going to impact the trial verdict, be a dear and get back to mass, theres lots of kids in africa that need your prayers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

This disappoints me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

What are the odds on him having a "Get Out of Jail" letter from the Met ?
    I want one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,286 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

This is perhaps worse if the guy himself sees it and bets on North Korea.

http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action=go_type&category=SPECIALS&disp_cat_id=&ev_class_id=45&ev_type_id=23172

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭MS.ing

What are the odds on him having a "Get Out of Jail" letter from the Met ?
    I want one of them.

what do weatherforecasters have to do with this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

In fairness they are pretty good odds on Guilty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 TheJug

Quite agree. A little bird tells me that the Paady Power shop in Lr Baggot Street was spray-painted with the slogan REEVA LIVES! A handbill had been taped up inviting people to protest "by word and wallet". I have tried to attch a pic but IT skills not up to it, methinks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Keep Gaming ....

Another pic of Pistorius bet protest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I think it's pretty funny. Fair play to them, no such thing as bad publicity. Wouldn't put me off using them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I don't see what the problem is here. People will watch the trial on TV and the papers will be giving it wall-to-wall coverage. Nobody seems to object to any of this. Can anyone claim that their interest in the trial is out of sympathy for the victim of the crime?
    What Paddy Power is doing is offering the punters a chance to bet on the outcome of an event, I.e. the trial. They are not condoning the "crime". They didn't stage-manage the event so that people could bet on it. They are not trying to change the outcome. The event is happening anyway. If some people want to bet on the outcome, what's the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

They're offering your stake back if he is found not guilty so it's actually now a no brainer to bet on a guilty verdict as you can't lose. It's free money if he's guilty and your money back if he's not guilty, fill yer boots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Muahahaha wrote: »
    They're offering your stake back if he is found not guilty so it's actually now a no brainer to bet on a guilty verdict as you can't lose. It's free money if he's guilty and your money back if he's not guilty, fill yer boots.

Max refund is 20e per customer and must be placed before 11.00 am 4th Mar.

Odds are 3-10 for guilty verdict, 9-4 not guilty

Thing is, it's 3/10.

The max stake is E20 so a return of E26, you could try doing the E20 in a few different shops if it's not online only but chances of that are small.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

Did you actually read the small print?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

Specialun wrote: »
    http://www.paddypower.com/bet/novelty-betting/current-affairs/oscar-pistorius

Surely this is bad form.At the end of the day the lady actually died..not like their novelty bets of a 3way on corrie or snow at xmas

What you think AH

Don't gamblers have enough of a bad reputation for being immoral scum??

What would have happened if they took bets of the Sarah Payne case or Madeleine McCann ?

It's disgusting.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Lou.m wrote: »

Not really, no. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

The killing of that young person has been tackily reported and joked about from day one; Paddy Power are no different to legions before them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Lou.m wrote: »

You'll find my GP, a good number of medical and nursing staff from my local hospital, 2 priests I know, teachers, bar staff, bin men, gardaí, a retired judge and lots of honest hard working people from all walks of life having a flutter in my local branch of Paddy Powers on any given Saturday.

Immoral scum?

Just because someone likes to place an odd bet doesn't mean they automatically must agree with Powers decision to run a book on this case. :mad:

Lapin wrote: »
    You'll find my GP, a good number of medical and nursing staff from my local hospital, 2 priests I know, teachers, bar staff, bin men, gardaí, a retired judge and lots of honest hard working people from all walks of life having a flutter in my local branch of Paddy Powers on any given Saturday.

Immoral scum?

Just because someone likes to place an odd bet doesn't mean they automatically must agree with Powers decision to run a book on this case. :mad:

Sorry my bro did security for the Greyhound racing authority at the shelbourne and at the harold's cross stadium whilst doing his masters. And his general opinion of the general clientele was not very high.

A no of friends of mine whilst I was finishing off my degree worked there as the pay was high in comparison to other jobs and had a couple of unpleasant experiences so I am probably biased.

You get a couple of bad apples in every setting.

I used to deal for small poker games a little when I was doing my degree they were grand on the whole.

Immoral scum?

I think I would try not to judge someone by their profession. I would try to judge them on their character. Saying that by my own standard that I should not judge people on whether they are a gambler or not.

So I apologize, sincerely.

However those who did run a book on this case in my mind are of very very low character. And those who placed a bet are too.

I hate it when it comes down to any way to make money. It's pretty low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Doing nothing wrong betting on this, it's not in bad taste even imo.

They did this back in the day with the OJ trial as well.
    Same fuss, same awesome publicity.

mdwexford wrote: »
    Doing nothing wrong betting on this, it's not in bad taste even imo.

They did this back in the day with the OJ trial as well.
    Same fuss, same awesome publicity.

Hm maybe some gamblers are a bad sort then. :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I think this latest stunt is in very poor taste but I'm not going to get caught up in the tide of moral outrage it has created.

Because I see it for exactly what it is. A publicity stunt in the week before the biggest annual betting event on the planet - The Cheltenham Festival.

The disgusted and outraged callers queuing up to talk to Joe on Liveline yesterday played right into the hands of the bookmakers and provided them with almost an hour of free publicity to 400,000 listeners.

During this time, the marketing spokesman (whose name also happens to be Paddy Power) managed to make listeners aware of many other types of novelty bets offered by the firm and mentioned the upcoming Cheltenham Festival a number of times.

This kind of exposure is worth a fortune in free advertising to the firm ahead of their busiest week of the year and it looks set to continue on discussion forums like this and the papers later this morning.

The maximum amount permitted on the controversial bet is €20, and on Liveline yesterday, Mr Power claimed that as little as 700 people had placed a bet on the outcome of the case. A miniscule amount for the publicity it generated and for a company that turned over €4.6 billion just over 2 years ago.

I'm only surprised Joe Duffy and his producers fell for it. Perhaps they reckoned it would make good radio and in fairness thats the business they're in. But had they chosen to ignore it and dismiss it as the stunt that it is, most of us here (myself included) would never know such a bet existed. And we wouldn't be discussing Paddy Powers in the week before Cheltenham.

The book on the Pistorias case would be quietly closed and the boardroom at Powers would be in a brainstorming session to come up with something else to garner free attention ahead of their busiest week. They do it every year.

Who knows - They may even have come up with a more tasteful idea.

Lapin, you've hit the nail on the head with "...I'm not going to get caught up in the tide of moral outrage it has created. Because I see it for exactly what it is. A publicity stunt in the week before the biggest annual betting event on the planet - The Cheltenham Festival..."

However, see my post and pics earler in this thread...

From them, one might infer that this PP example of the Michael O'Leary (Old) School of PR has caught them out: any benefits from good publicity is outweighed by a Cheltenham-long boycott. Generally I find boycotts too mean spirited and broad-brush to be fair or effective, but I am an active punter and will not be taking PP prices at Chelt, even when they are competitive. A lukewarm gesture to the memory of a blameless woman -- but then I did do something a trifle more heroic in her name... which self-incrimination prevents me from mentioning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

TheJug wrote: »
    Lapin, you've hit the nail on the head with "...I'm not going to get caught up in the tide of moral outrage it has created. Because I see it for exactly what it is. A publicity stunt in the week before the biggest annual betting event on the planet - The Cheltenham Festival..."

However, see my post and pics earler in this thread...

From them, one might infer that this PP example of the Michael O'Leary (Old) School of PR has caught them out: any benefits from good publicity is outweighed by a Cheltenham-long boycott. Generally I find boycotts too mean spirited and broad-brush to be fair or effective, but I am an active punter and will not be taking PP prices at Chelt, even when they are competitive. A lukewarm gesture to the memory of a blameless woman -- but then I did do something a trifle more heroic in her name... which self-incrimination prevents me from mentioning.

So legally using a court case for publicity is bad.

But you breaking the law is "heroic".

I can spot a slight flaw in your argument.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

if you don't like it, don't place a bet. Its that simple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Very poor taste and the ad that was in the paper is cringeworthy. But hey, it's doing what it was intended to do which is generating publicity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Steppenwolfe

Some people are easily offended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭gumbo1

Also offering money back if he's found not guilty! Worth 10€ don't ya think??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

Not me, but this is pretty low.
    Can anyone remember did they take bets on the Michaela Harte or Jill Meagher murder trials?
    Bad form Paddypower...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

if you don't like it, don't place a bet. Its that simple
    Huh? No it isn't that simple. People can give their opinions on stuff - that's free speech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

How about child abuse cases or rape?would you be in favour of the bookies getting in on the action in these cases?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

i guess they got all the free publicity they wanted in the run up to cheltenham...