BeebRock - The BBC4/BBC3/BBC2/BBC1 Music Programmes thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Let's Get It On

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Bless him, he had massive nostrils....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,717 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Let's Get It On

As soon as you hear those opening bars...oh yeah!

Hey, who dimmed the lights? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

I never realised Tammi Terrell died only 24 from a Brain Tumour. She had some wonderful collaborations with Marvin Gaye.

That was one really sensual song......

I remember the cover sang by the late Robert Palmer singing it in the Point in the '90's....He really did it justice...

Poor auld Marvin was never really happy :(

And it's not going to end well either.

Skid X wrote: »
    Poor auld Marvin was never really happy :(

And it's not going to end well either.

:(

So very sad.

Cue for a song!

Close your eyes lads........

Quickly!!

Such a great voice.

A Preacher in one room and a Cocaine dealer in the other.....

:(

No winners there....

Yikes!

There is a Marvin Gaye film in development (featuring Brendan Gleeson as his manager) but it seems to have ran out of money.

http://www.screendaily.com/news/temples-marvin-gaye-film-stalls/5057289.article

There is a Marvin Gaye film in development (featuring Brendan Gleeson as his manager) but it seems to have ran out of money.

http://www.screendaily.com/news/temples-marvin-gaye-film-stalls/5057289.article

Skid, why aren't you in the Hall of Fame???...:):):)

I had musical differences with The Script, one of us had to leave ...

I remember I couldn't believe the news when I heard that....:(

I'm so not sure about that Walsh's sitcom........:(

Time for Blanket Street......

Stay safe and well lads!...

GSW :) xxx

Nos da, folks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Grey and WWM signed out already?

Bad timing, dudes, this is good stuff!!

Love Smokestack Lightning.

Woah, quiet round here tonight!

Last night is taking it's toll, I think. I am struggling myself, I might have to give this another try anon.

All going well for Chess at this point, where did it all go wrong?

Not sure, to my shame.

They made some brilliant records, though.

Guess we need some TOTP to get the crowds in!
    :-D

All going well for Chess at this point, where did it all go wrong?

That's the answer, then. When their driving force died suddenly, they never really recovered.

Interesting story, they certainly made a big impression on the course of modern music.

Came to an abrupt end for sure.

Marshall Chess always come across as an extremely irritating man.

Anyway, this should be good.

Why are the TOTP shows always from the seventies (1979, usually)??

Mike Read saved a Puppy from drowning this week

http://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/462381/Former-Radio-One-and-Top-of-The-Pops-presenter-Mike-Read-rescues-puppy-from-river
    Speaking on his weekday afternoon show, Mr Read said: "He came floating past just with his nose out of the water.

"I got hold of his head and got him up.

"You think: 'In five seconds, that dog is going to be 20 yards downstream'."

Mr Read, who later cleaned himself by a nearby boatyard, was thanked by Ms Prior on social networking site Twitter for saving her beloved pet.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Came to an abrupt end for sure.

Marshall Chess always come across as an extremely irritating man.

Anyway, this should be good.

Why are the TOTP shows always from the seventies (1979, usually)??

They are being shown in sequence (more or less, depending on which shows are no longer appropriate for broadcast)

They started in April 2011 with the 1 April 1976 show, and the ratings have been decent.

I'd rather see a bit of variety, to be honest. You often see the same performances repeated at the moment.

Good work, Mike Read!

I notice puppehs are subtly making there way into Beebrock thread more and more often.

Good news, I say

They are being shown in sequence (more or less, depending on which shows are no longer appropriate for broadcast)

They started in April 2011 with the 1 April 1976 show, and the ratings have been decent.

I'd rather see a bit of variety, to be honest. You often see the same performances repeated at the moment.

Yeah, it'd be great to see an eighties one every second week.

I looked at the listing earlier, yer wan Lena "Lucky Number" will be on again soon!