If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

How did you meet your other half?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭The Narrator

We met on a plane, we had the same briefcase.

That was a real crazy period in my life...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

We met on a plane, we had the same briefcase.

That was a real crazy period in my life...

Between the username and the post..excellent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Club that my mate was DJing in, 12 years ago.

Turned up hammered.

Had a very drunken, extended kiss and asked for number and was refused.

Managed to wrangle email address. Had to remember it by texting it to my own number.

Dropped phone staggering on way home and smashed it so had to piece it together and somehow with a compass salvaged message with email address.

Asked DJ mate was she nice, got reply in resounding affirmative.

Sent email.

Now married 8 years with 2 kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

anncoates wrote: »
    Club that my mate was DJing in, 12 years ago.

Turned up hammered.

Had a very drunken, extended kiss and asked for number and was refused.

Managed to wrangle email address. Had to remember it by texting it to my own number.

Dropped phone on way home and smashed it so had to piece it together and somehow with a compass salvaged message with email address.

Asked DJ mate was she nice, got reply in resounding affirmative.

Now married 8 years with 2 kids.

Are you MacGyvers long lost brother?

WikiHow wrote: »
    Are you MacGyvers long lost brother?

I married her.

I didn't blow her up with an improvised explosive device made of a condom, chewing gum and tooth floss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

anncoates wrote: »
    I married her.

I didn't blow her up with an improvised explosive device made of a condom, chewing gum and tooth floss.

I barely had dial up 12 years ago, god bless bb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭bogwalrus

True story. She was off her face on pills and at a house party. Looked at me and said those magical words "you will do". Ah true love.

WikiHow wrote: »
    I barely had dial up 12 years ago

Kids these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭lau1247

Red Pepper wrote: »
    I am in a threesome.

So where did your 1/3 meet the other 1/3 :D

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭The Narrator

Red Pepper wrote: »
    I am in a threesome.

So you use both hands?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,946 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

She was my student in a language class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭minzabud

She was working as a waitress in a cocktail bar.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

When I met her.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Contessa Raven

Met mine in college. We were in the same class. Friends for months but I was trying to get into his pants. He was oblivious to it. Eventually, after the intervention of his best friend, we hooked up on my birthday. Two weeks later we made it official and now it's been almost 7 years. He proposed 3 weeks ago! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,475 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I met a mermaid once.

She said, I like to lie around on the beach but my other half likes to go swimming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

osarusan wrote: »
    She was my student in a language class.

What were you teaching, the language of love?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

At a mutual friend's 21st. I was seeing someone casually but he stood me up for the umpteenth time. I said SCREW THAT and asked my mate was her hot friend single. Went up and said hello, and that was that. Been together 3 years now and we're still as in love now as we were then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Herself was over in Dublin with the girls for a weekend, She was walking into the Quays bar in Temple bar as i was walking out. Her heel broke and she fell and i caught her (yeah yeah i know how corny it sounds) Got chatting and went our seperate ways. On the Friday i got a call asking me to work in Oliver John Gogartys, Standing at the door around 11 o'clock and in she walks, turned out she was staying up in Blooms hotel. Got chatting got her number and went from there :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

On a dating site last March :) Getting married this May.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Aphex wrote: »
    In the Phoenix Park. Really. She handed me the rest of her beer, and then I fell in love. Got dumped 4.5 years later :(

Aw! Aphex lost his Twin. </3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

I looked down. Love at first sight.

mauzo! wrote: »

Really? Wow that was quick! When did you get engaged?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭jescart

That'll never last

Really? Wow that was quick! When did you get engaged?

Middle of December. Just bought a house and we're moving in together next month.

We were out last night and thought it was weird that we didn't know each other this time last year :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

We met on a film website. We were both members, got talking via PM, which progressed to webcam and phonecalls, which then progressed to visits back and forth, which then progressed to him moving over from the UK.

Together eight years this January, with a four year old son :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭The_fever

A Narcotics Anonymous meeting

jescart wrote: »
    That'll never last

That's the spirit :p

Middle of December. Just bought a house and we're moving in together next month.

We were out last night and thought it was weird that we didn't know each other this time last year :D

Jaysus, sorry but that gives me the willies! What ages are ye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

I think good on ya! Seriously if ye are happy and both ready I don't see why anybody else feels the need to say it won't last based on the amount of time you've been together, when you know you know, sounds like ye are happy so all the best :)

Tasden wrote: »
    I think good on ya! Seriously if ye are happy and both ready I don't see why anybody else feels the need to say it won't last based on the amount of time you've been together, when you know you know, sounds like ye are happy so all the best :)

We're very happy. We just 'click', and thanks :D
    Jaysus, sorry but that gives me the willies! What ages are ye?

I'm 22 and he's 31.