David Norris cranks up his private war machine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭calanus

...Also, he's dying. ....

So was the guy from the saw movies...coincidence? I think not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Have to laugh at people giving out about Norris, their the first to defend Higgins. The one thing I find odd is that all this info was held by a food critic, it won't be the first time RTE have ran with a false story.

RTE put out two stories to ruin some of the top runners the week of the vote. They must have owed Higgins for not changing the way the TV licence was distributed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Cydoniac wrote: »
    ...................................................................................................

Truly awful insinuation - you should be ashamed of yourself for making a comparison as such.

If you are part quoting please let others know ......... by dotting - like above.
    They then can read the full mail and make up their own minds.
    What you are doing is quoting out of context. Not very sporting.

If you read the full mail you will see that there was no insinuation. I was making a comparison to another poster. Comparison does not equal insinuation. But maybe to you it does. If you're able to screw up on digesting a simple paragraph then you are liable to skew other's points of view.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

Norris is like a mad uncle, good fun to have around but wouldn't really trust him with much as he is likely to go off on a tangent and put his foot in it. He was never presidential material tbh. Sometimes he should think before he talks. In that way he can seem disconnected with the rest of us mere mortals. Saying all that he is not a bad ol soul but certainly not without his faults or errors. He does get a lot of leeway from the public and press however.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    Keeping realistic.

After what he described being a fantasy of his .......... an older man teaching him in sexual ways .......... I certainly would not let a young lad in his mid teens be alone with him.

This in my book would come under the context of sex abuse.

Your ideas on that?

This is what he denies ...he says he did not say that that is what he is suing over.

Czarcasm wrote: »
    I think he doesn't get enough criticism levelled at him Lou simply for the fact that he's a blustering, pompous windbag full of his own self importance. Then again so is Luke 'Ming' Flanagan, so I DO understand where you're coming from. I think the reason neither of them are as heavily criticised as they should be is because they are 'character' politicians, could never be taken seriously and are merely humoured, but both are skilled at riding on the coat tails of social change.

David Norris gives people plenty of reasons to dislike him other than the fact that he's gay. He's a man who likes to portray himself as the incorruptible intellectual, but scratch a bit deeper than the jovial surface and the drama queen doesn't be long coming out, where he thinks in the highest echelons of the political sphere, it's acceptable to tell another politician she's talking out her fanny; "The Regina monologues" was it? Dogs on the street wouldn't be so disgusting.

You also seem to be overlooking the fact Lou that the same people who tolerated a lot worse in other politicians (Me personally, they could bleed the country dry, but pleading leniency for their ex lover like it could create a diplomatic incident? Far less kosher tbh). Despite this perceived media smear campaign, Norris was streets ahead in the polls in the run up to the Presidential Elections, but he only had himself to blame for his flaky behaviour - "I'm in, I'm out, I'm back in, OK, this time I mean it, I'm out, now leave me alone!". Really, is that any way to be carrying on when the world's eyes are on you?

There's no double standard in play here Lou, unless you mean the double standards of Norris himself when he uses his sexuality to promote himself, and then uses his sexuality again to claim persecution and protect himself from criticism. Most people couldn't care less for his sexuality, but the hypocrisy, spin, and his thinking that he can say what he likes and get away with what he likes - one thing to do it as a private citizen, quite another when you're a public figure that is supposed to conduct themselves with an expected standard of behaviour. Norris falls well short of that standard in many ways and has done for years, but was allowed get away with it for far too long because people feared accusations of homophobia if they so much as said boo to the man.

No that is BS. Many people do care.

And it is constantly used to insinuate.

And the whole pederasty comments thing is WHAT he is actually suing over he claims he never such such things apparently.

He does not use his sexuality he just does not hide it.

It is heternormative bias that makes anyone being out seem like they are rubbing peoples faces in it.

He can be overly theatrical and bafoonish.

But it appears that he was defamed and slandered during the presidential campaign (other candidates where too it was a very dirty campaign.)

A week before he made the fanny comment during a vote on abortion an FG politician grabbed a woman in public and pulled her onto his lap IN THE DÁIL and nothing was done. Double standard??

He made a REAL change in Ireland. Senator David Norris and the Campaign for Homosexual Law Reform which led to a ruling in 1988 that Irish laws prohibiting male homosexual activities were in contravention of the European Convention on Human Rights. It was HIS case that was taken to the European court of human rights and got homosexuality decriminalized.

It was only outside pressure from the EU convention on human rights that pressurized the govt to act.

Norris took the Attorney General to the High Court over the criminalisation of homosexual acts. His claim was based on the fact that the law infringed on his right to privacy and that since the introduction of the Constitution of Ireland the law passed under British rule became repugnant to the constitution. The High Court ruled against Norris. He appealed his case to the Supreme Court of Ireland. In 1983, the Supreme Court upheld the constitutionality of the law by a three to two verdict Having lost the Supreme Court case, Norris took his case to the European Court of Human Rights (See Norris v. Ireland). In 1988, the European Court ruled that the law criminalising same sex activities was contrary to the European Convention on Human Rights, in particular Article 8 which protects the right to respect for private life. The law was held to infringe on the right of adults to engage in acts of their own choice. This law was repealed in 1993.

The Irish govt was beaten kicking and scream into decriminalizing homosexuality in 1993. And Norris V Ireland did that.

Read your history.

He says the word fanny. In a debate and the stupid woman Lorraine Higgins kicks up a fuss over nothing. And by the way she WAS talking out of her fanny.

TD Tom Barry FG grabs Aine Collins TD FG during an ABORTION debate on camera in the Dáil whilst plastered. And it's all 'ah sure it's grand relax like' .

Norris himself is no stranger to controversy and in 2011 had to pull out of the race for the Irish presidency after it emerged that he sought clemency from an Israeli court, on Seanad headed paper, for his former partner and pro-Palestinian activist Ezra Yitzhak Nawi on his conviction for the statutory rape of a 15-year-old Palestinian boy in 1997. (The Guardian)

Pulling rank. Seanad headed notepaper.

Full story:

http://www.theguardian.com/world/david-norris

Norris himself is no stranger to controversy and in 2011 had to pull out of the race for the Irish presidency after it emerged that he sought clemency from an Israeli court, on Seanad headed paper, for his former partner and pro-Palestinian activist Ezra Yitzhak Nawi on his conviction for the statutory rape of a 15-year-old Palestinian boy in 1997. (The Guardian)

Pulling rank. Seanad headed notepaper.

Full story:

http://www.theguardian.com/world/david-norris

He did not attempt to deny the conviction the sentence was the death penalty potentially. He was seeking clemency in terms of a life sentence.

And that link does not lead to that story.

He was seeking a prison sentence over the death penalty.

They will defend the boys ..but not the gay boys.

He certainly behaves no worse than most hetero male politicians and they get away with worse.

Lou.m wrote: »
    He did not attempt to deny the conviction the sentence was the death penalty potentially. He was seeking clemency in terms of a life sentence.

And that link does not lead to that story.

He was seeking a prison sentence over the death penalty.

Oops! My mistake. This is it:http://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/jul/16/irish-politician-david-norris-withdraws-intemperate

No prob.
    Still not the main feature though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Boards posters love inferring things but not quite saying it. Trinity did not pay him sick pay, it was a private PHI insurance policy he held himself. The hearld and the mail had to Make corrections over that. He appealed for clemency in the statutory rape case, as Mitchell did for the murderers of the abortion doctor. I'm glad he's fighting the food critic, he's entitled to defend his good name

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Timing or coincidence?
    And for good measure, blame The Daily Mail before The Mail was proven to be right.

"Just what do Harriet Harman and Jack Dromey think they’re doing? Yesterday I wrote a piece questioning their former NCCL colleague Patricia Hewitt, and the way she had failed to respond to the evidence of links between that organisation and PIE, the front organisation for a group of 1970s child abusers. “Unless there is some practical personal reason none of us are aware of for Hewitt not facing her accusers, she’s left her former colleagues, and her former party, swinging in the wind,” I wrote.
    Well, late yesterday – and to her credit – Hewitt responded to those accusations with a concise and no-nonsense apology. “NCCL in the 1970s, along with many others, was naive and wrong to accept PIE's claim to be a 'campaigning and counselling organisation' that 'does not promote unlawful acts',” she said. "As general secretary then, I take responsibility for the mistakes we made. I should have urged the executive committee to take stronger measures to protect NCCL's integrity from the activities of PIE members and sympathisers and I deeply regret not having done so.”
    That statement has two immediate consequences. First, it brings closure on the issue for Patricia Hewitt. And secondly it makes Harriet Harman and Jack Dromey’s current stance totally untenable.
    Ever since last week both Harman and Dromey have based their defence on three increasingly spurious arguments. The first was that the whole thing was a “smear” cooked up by The Daily Mail.
    Despite the continued self-righteous pontificating of their supporters – who now appear to include senior representatives of the Hacked Off campaign – that defence has been totally and utterly demolished. The NCCL story was good, legitimate journalism. The fact it has now been covered by all major news outlets (indeed it was first raised by the Telegraph’s own Damian Thompson), coupled with Hewitt’s apology, prove the Mail was right to print it."

Full story:

http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/news/danhodges/100261646/nccl-paedophilia-scandal-patricia-hewitts-apology-blows-harriet-harmans-last-defence-out-of-the-water/

Where's the mails story of thatcher with Saville and Pinochet?

efb wrote: »
    Boards posters love inferring things but not quite saying it. Trinity did not pay him sick pay, it was a private PHI insurance policy he held himself. The hearld and the mail had to Make corrections over that. He appealed for clemency in the statutory rape case, as Mitchell did for the murderers of the abortion doctor. I'm glad he's fighting the food critic, he's entitled to defend his good name

Exactly I am not saying is freaking perfect. But he IS a victim of slander a lot.

It seems to me that the some people deliberately get the facts stone cold wrong.

Mod

Defamatory posts deleted. Any further instances of defamation will result in mod action.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

No that is BS. Many people do care.

And it is constantly used to insinuate.

You're right, many people do care that he's gay, but more people don't, and the only person who uses their sexuality to insinuate anything, is David Norris to insinuate that he's being persecuted simply because he's gay. Being gay doesn't make him untouchable or above criticism.

And the whole pederasty comments thing is WHAT he is actually suing over he claims he never such such things apparently.

Lou what he's suing for is defamation claiming that the journalist attributed views to him which he never held. I don't believe for a minute David Norris is a pedophile, but when you're on record giving it welly about pederasty in ancient Greece to impress somebody with your knowledge and feed your own ego, it's probably very easy to forget you ARE talking to a journalist, and she's looking to make a name for herself. For a man so intelligent, you'd expect he'd engage the grey matter more often than his tongue, but with Norris such is not the case.

He does not use his sexuality he just does not hide it.

He DOES use his sexuality Lou, the only reason he put himself forward for the presidential race was because he figured the people of Ireland would be able to pat themselves on the back for electing a gay president.

It is heternormative bias that makes anyone being out seem like they are rubbing peoples faces in it.

I've already stated that Norris gives people plenty more reasons to dislike him other than the fact he's gay. No heteronormative bias here, but are you sure there's no homonormative bias going on with you?

He can be overly theatrical and bafoonish.

That's exactly it! 20 years ago I used admire the guy, when I was as young and naive as he still claims to be, I liked his theatrical flair, but then as I got older I realised "Ohh shìt! This guy is actually serious!".

But it appears that he was defamed and slandered during the presidential campaign (other candidates where too it was a very dirty campaign.)

It was the first real election for all of the candidates, except for one, and fortunately the only one who conducted himself with the same dignity and respect for public office he has always shown, won out in the end. Norris behaved like a child - "Look at me, I'm on tv!", so far out of his depth it made for embarrassing viewing. I felt sorry for the guy that nobody took him aside and said "No David, you can't behave like that!".

A week before he made the fanny comment during a vote on abortion an FG politician grabbed a woman in public and pulled her onto his lap IN THE DÁIL and nothing was done. Double standard??

The woman involved pleaded for leniency for her colleague. I'm sure David Norris would have done the same thing. Oh, he did! He did exactly the same thing in pleading for leniency for his ex lover, not as a private citizen though, but as a Senator representing the Irish State interfering in the judicial system of another country!

Read your history.

I read my history, and I'm well aware of his contribution to Irish society, but I appreciate the detailed history lesson which is more akin to the kind of post I expected from you rather than simply declaring your love for the man and then simply declaring he was treated unfairly. The fact is he's been living off that one victory for far too long. He undone all his good work in the meantime.

He says the word fanny. In a debate and the stupid woman Lorraine Higgins kicks up a fuss over nothing. And by the way she WAS talking out of her fanny.

Whether you think she was or she wasn't, the fact is his remarks were disgusting, and if he expects people to respect him, then he should give them the same respect. He was engaged in a debate to maintain the Senad, and in one fell swoop gave every reason why his personal playground should be abolished.

TD Tom Barry FG grabs Aine Collins TD FG during an ABORTION debate on camera in the Dáil whilst plastered. And it's all 'ah sure it's grand relax like' .

It's not really, and I said as much at the time too -

Dopes in the Dáil

We're talking about Senator David Norris right now though, and he has shown himself time and again to be unfit to hold public office. The fact that other politicians have shown themselves to be unfit for public office is no justification for Senator Norris to expect he should be granted immunity from criticism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭Vision of Disorder

Everyone feathers their nest some use more feathers than others.

No they don't. Not everyone feathers their nest. Even if they did it is still WRONG for each individual to do it.
    There are plenty of sleazy straight politicians but people attack Norris like they would the office gay guy or the gay at school. The subtle little homophobic comments etc.

Norris is treated akin to the likes of Mick Wallace, Michael Lowry and the Healy-Reys because he is of their ilk. It's that simple. Why doesn't Jerry Buttimer get the sort of treatment you allege Norris suffers from? Because he hasn't been exposed as a sleazy, grasping chancer yet. It really is that simple.

It is the Double standard that I object to. There are far dirtier nest featherers and they deserve their fair share.

Like Mick Wallace? Yeah, you're dead right, he's never been held up to public ridicule... :rolleyes: Again, and I apologise for repeating myself, Norris and Wallace are derided as pompous, smug buffoons because they engage in pompous, smug buffoonery. Just to qualify, because I don't want to be misconstrued as defending a sack of refuse like Wallace, both deserve condemnation for their acts of low character.

What did you want done? The TD, Tom Barry, was absolutely hauled over the coals in the both the media and the courts of public opinion (and he was wrong too, make no mistake about it), censured and publicly reprimanded by his party AND, in the immediate aftermath, offered to resign from both the Dail and the Fine Gael party. Again, what more would you actually have wanted done? A public hanging?
    He made a REAL change in Ireland. Senator David Norris and the Campaign for Homosexual Law Reform which led to a ruling in 1988 that Irish laws prohibiting male homosexual activities were in contravention of the European Convention on Human Rights. It was HIS case that was taken to the European court of human rights and got homosexuality decriminalized.

This was a truly great moment, not just for Norris, but for this entire nation and I applaud him for it. If he had stepped back to everyday private life then it would have been career-defining and all that he would be remembered for. As it is he has done nothing but deface his own legacy in the last few years, showing that, at his core, he's just another greasy political opportunist. I've been incredibly disappointed with the man. I admired and respected him greatly before he allowed his true character to come to the fore.

Oh I see, we can call Lorraine Higgins (again, I'm not a fan of hers either) names and insult her intelligence but not David Norris. You'll have to give me the full list of who exactly is open to public ridicule.

As I said above you're 100% wrong about this. There was a major backlash, he was slaughtered in the media. It probably didn't last as long as some of Norris' more notorious moments but I would presume that this had a lot to do with Barry apologising unreservedly (a skill that Norris has never quite managed to master either). It even got a name FFS, 'Lapgate'! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Jester252 wrote: »
    Have to laugh at people giving out about Norris, their the first to defend Higgins. The one thing I find odd is that all this info was held by a food critic, it won't be the first time RTE have ran with a false story.

RTE put out two stories to ruin some of the top runners the week of the vote. They must have owed Higgins for not changing the way the TV licence was distributed.

Or maybe there wasn't any dirt on Higgins? He didn't even have to try to campaign with that competition; he just stood at the finish line and watched as the deluded dominoes fell over.

I think Vision Of Disorder and Czarcasm have put it in a nut shell. The people voted. They did not want an egotistical buffoon with a motormouth sticking his nose into everything and playing the gay card at every opportunity.
    What Norris did for the gay community was tremendous. A real hero with the dogged certainty of self belief. Would go down in history as a great reformer but he should stop blotting his copy-book. For now, most people have had enough of him. The movement that he helped create has it's own momentum.

efb wrote: »

Regardless of where he got his sick money ........ the insurance company deemed him ill enough to collect. Why then would he put himself forward as being fit enough for what is a very rigorous job? Vanity and self aggrandisment come to mind. The fact that he adopted a very silly accent puts him in the sham league in my books. He obviously thinks that this raises him a tier higher in social circles. Don't talk to me about the queen's English (by the way no dig intended). He certainly didn't learn to talk like that in The Congo or Wicklow as posters in another thread would have us believe.
    By the way, Helen Lucy Burke is also entitled to defend her good name.
    As a few other famous people in history have found to their chagrin ....... you can go one court case too far. Sonia Sutcliffe and Oscar Wilde come to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Have to laugh at people giving out about Norris, their the first to defend Higgins.
    You "have to" laugh? Why? What did Higgins do?

I like Norris, but any rational critics of him have given good well-thought-out explanations for their disapproval. Now, why should they disapprove of Higgins? I'm all ears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Providing that the young boy (when he grows up and becomes a public figure) doesn't try and get the same lady off a charge of juvenile rape where she sexually abused an underage girl. Got it?

Sure, but that wasn't what you were hand wringing about...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭fundi

Now, why should they disapprove of Higgins? I'm all ears.

Because he is a jumped up little parasite, a waste of oxygen , is Higgins. The only noteable thing he has done this past year is be the husband of the woman who visited some nutcase protestor ( some ould 'wan who walked on to the runway at Shannon airport or somethin' ) in prison.

Now, tell me why this little weasel of a man should cost us much more thabn Barack Obama is paid by 250 million Americans?

fundi wrote: »
    Because he is a jumped up little parasite, a waste of oxygen , is Higgins. The only noteable thing he has done this past year is be the husband of the woman who visited some nutcase protestor ( some ould 'wan who walked on to the runway at Shannon airport or somethin' ) in prison.
    That's just your (misinformed) opinion. I'm not asking for opinions on Higgins though, I'm specifically asking that poster why they find it so "funny" that people who are critical of Norris are approving of Higgins.

Muise... wrote: »
    Or maybe there wasn't any dirt on Higgins? He didn't even have to try to campaign with that competition; he just stood at the finish line and watched as the deluded dominoes fell over.

Great to have friends in the media.

Oh so there's dirt on Higgins? Cool, give us the juice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Perhaps his friends in the media were grateful that he got rid of Section 31, set up TG4 and breathed life into the Irish film industry - you know, actual good political achievements, unlike his opponents.

But he's small I tells ya! SMALL!!!

And something something about him being jumped up and a parasite - no explanation required of course...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

But he's small I tells ya! SMALL!!!

And something something about him being jumped up and a parasite - no explanation required of course...

Delighted when he won for the simple reason that we wouldn't have to listen to him for at least seven years.

They repaid him in the 2011 elections, odd that he was the only one not investigated by the media
    Oh so there's dirt on Higgins? Cool, give us the juice!

Well he has heaped praise on an abuser of human rights like Hugo Chavez.

He was a part of the Dublin solidarity march with Gaza march which also was meant to include a members of Hezbollah, a terrorist organization.

He also complained when Hamas was added as a terrorist origination.

If you're allowed to raise an eyebrow over Norris, I'm allowed to rise an eyebrow over Higgins.