If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Sub 210 London Challenge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Not much going on here since last updated. Was ready to go out for my run on Wed morning and got a shooting pain in my back again. Went ahead with the run as was meeting someone but wasn't really comfortable.

Had a tempo planned for Thursday but know during the warmup it wasn't going to happen. Did 5.5 miles easy to go with the 6 on Wednesday.

Have been resting it since then but it hasn't really cleared up so getting it looked at tonight.

I could have run through it but I'm not sure there would have been any benefit to that and with your back I suppose your more cautious than somewhere else.

Not happy with missing a tempo and long run but best forgotten about and hopefully be fit for Bohermeen on Sunday.

Tuesday 25th Feb - Session

w/u 2.5 miles @ 9:01

30 min tempo @ hmp 7:25

c/d .58 mile @ 9:30

Got my back/shoulders worked on Monday night and it seemed to work out a lot of tension etc. Still wasn't perfect but ok to get back running. Contemplated an easy run but I kinda needed to know where I stoop with Bohermeen at the weekend so I headed down to the club session.

Everything felt more or less ok during after the warm up and couple of strides we did. Was happy when Gary announced there was a 12 minute tempo and a few 200's at the end (Bohermeen is a goal race for a good few hence the light session). He told me then I was doing 30 mins @ hmp :(

Anyway got on with it was the usual scenario wind behind on one long straight and into on the other. Legs weren't feeling too bad once I got up to pace and just concentrated on maintaining it. After about 20 mins everyone else had finished so it was just me and the watch. Pace had been hovering over 7:30 early on but dropped nicely to 7:25 average by the end. As usual you wonder how you would hold this sort of pace over 13.1 miles but races are different aren't they?

Finished with a short cool down and back to the car to see United losing 2-0 :mad:

Thursday 28th Feb

4.58 miles @ 9:14

Easy miles with the club gang. Most people complaining how the recent weeks have left them completly unmotivated and how they are looking forward to a break after Bohermeen. Kinda wish I was in the same boat to be honest at times.

Looking forward to Sunday all the same although the forecast is not as promising as it was yesterday. No surprise there.

Bohermeen 1/2 Marathon

13.14 miles in 1:36:24

Avg Pace 7:20

Was going into this race not knowing what to expect or without any real goal time other than to try run a good race. Training had been going well but 2 of the previous 4 weeks had been somewhat interupted with back spasms appearing out of nowhere. After an easy 1.5 mile warm up it was down to the start and a short wait in the rain to get going.

Miles 1-4 (7:24, 7:30, 7:15, 7:16)

The aim for the first couple of miles was to keep it around 7:30 pace and assess from there. Good bit of downhill in the first mile which helped and then swung on to a road we hadn't run before. This was fine and I found I had settled into a nice rhythym and was working past a few groups here. Back out onto the regular loop and I spotted a couple of my training partners maybe 50 metres up the road or so. I has missed them at the start but was surprised they were as far up the road at this stage. At least now I had something to work towards. The pace picked up for miles 3+4 without really knowing it too much but it felt ok so I went with it as part of this was the quicker part of the course.

Miles 5-8 (7:19, 7:25, 7:27, 7:22)

Had joined up with my clubmates around the 4 mile mark and just settled in a bit with them as we took the hill and the long drag for the first time. Great bit of support as we passed the clubhouse and set out on the second loop. The legs were beginning to tire a bit but still had plenty left to offer I hoped. As we headed away from the clubhouse and turned the wind seemed to have picked up a good bit from earlier so just tried to keep the effort constant till we turned out of it.

Miles 9-13.1 (7:29, 7:10, 7:13, 7:18, 7:20, 6:31*)

As we turned back onto the main road and out of the wind for a while it was decision time. Passed the 9 mile marker shortly after the turn and then tried to ramp it up a bit. Race mode kicked it as I started to try pick off people and groups one by one. Spotted a Brothers pearse singlet maybe 100 metres in the distance who I reckoned was someone I knew ;) and they became the long term target. Passing down through Boyerstown the targets were less and the pain was more and thoughts were turning to the hill and drag to the finish. Still knocked out another good mile here in 7:13 and the Kerry colours were getting closer. The hill seemed to go on for longer this time and I was feeling pretty spent at this stage but as we crested it and past the 12 mile marker I was pleasantly surprised to see 7:18 appear on the garmin. I had practically bridged the gap and greeted Karen with around 1km to go. I think we both helped each other somewhat as I was able to keep going and Karen came with me. Found the wind to be pretty stiff towards the end but knew in a few minutes it would be over. There was another group of 4 runners maybe 10 metres ahead and set about picking them off. Passed them just before the turn to the track and managed to put a bit of a gap between me and them before the finish.

Happy to be finished and had to lie over the barrier for a couple of minutes. Stomach had been at me a bit during the race and hadn't been able to take any water on really. It wasn't really needed on a day like that to be honest.

So an 88 second PB after all and I would have gladly taken that before the race with the way things have gone recently.

All roads lead to London now and the focus for the next 4 weeks is on 4 good solid long runs being the main priority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Good man Peter! Sub 210 looks well on after that! Make the most of those LSRs that remain and everything will shine through come race day!

Monday 3rd March

4.1 miles @ 9:38

Recovery run this evening. Few tight spots from yesterday to keep an eye on. Will see what the session is tomorrow night but I think an easy run might be better at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

Well done P, I'm soooooo :rolleyes: happy for you and glad I could be of assistance! :P

jcsmum wrote: »
    Well done P, I'm soooooo :rolleyes: happy for you and glad I could be of assistance! :P

Thanks K. Those Kerry colours stand out a bit too much in the distance ;) I did tell you before hand I hoped to start off steady and pick it up if I could. What's next for you? Any marathons planned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Great PB in the half on Sunday.

The 1:35 must be the next target for you? You will also smash your 10k pb when you do one.

Tuesday 4th March

2.13 miles @ 9:24

30 mins steady @ 8:32

Back to the club last night and a very light session with instructions to pull it right back or stop if we didn't feel up to it. Legs feeling generally ok but still plenty of easy miles this week on the plan.

5.76 miles in total.

pistol_75 wrote: »
    Thanks K. Those Kerry colours stand out a bit too much in the distance ;) I did tell you before hand I hoped to start off steady and pick it up if I could. What's next for you? Any marathons planned?

Yep, no hiding in races for the BP runners! No racing plans really. Maybe no marathon plans either :eek: We'll see, I change my mind every second day! Well done again on Sunday.

Wed 5th March

5.2 miles @ 9:05

+ 30 mins S&C Class

Few easy miles before the S&C class yesterday evening. Niggles have gone and bit more life coming back into the legs though a bit tender this morning after first class in a couple of weeks.

No tempo this week so just a 90 min easy run for this evening planned.

Great PB in the half on Sunday.

The 1:35 must be the next target for you? You will also smash your 10k pb when you do one.

Sorry T, just came across this now. Happy with the run on Sunday alright. I suppose 1:35 would be a target a little bit down the road alright. My 10K PB is pretty weak alright, I think the last 4 miles on Sunday were around my 10K PB pace so will look to rectify that after London.

Thurs 6th March

10 miles @ 9:07

Keeping with the easy running theme. Legs a bit tired and some DOM's from the session the previous evening but no niggles. Popped over to AK after work and picked up a pair of Mizuno Wave Inspire 10. Will try them out this evening.

pistol_75 wrote: »
    Popped over to AK after work and picked up a pair of Mizuno Wave Inspire 10. Will try them out this evening.

I will be very interested to hear your review P.
    I have the 9's at the moment and find they are much improved on my previous shoe of choice the Asics Kayano's. The only thing I have an issue with on the Inspire's though is the heel box(?) where the rigid supports often bite into my ankles and cause grazing. This is acceptable on shorter runs but damn annoying on longer runs! Do you experience this issue?
    I have been thinking if I could get a half size up it may not be such an issue and I think I could get away with the larger size.

belcarra wrote: »
    I will be very interested to hear your review P.
    I have the 9's at the moment and find they are much improved on my previous shoe of choice the Asics Kayano's. The only thing I have an issue with on the Inspire's though is the heel box(?) where the rigid supports often bite into my ankles and cause grazing. This is acceptable on shorter runs but damn annoying on longer runs! Do you experience this issue?
    I have been thinking if I could get a half size up it may not be such an issue and I think I could get away with the larger size.

I have the 9's since before Dublin last year. Took a bit of getting used to but like them I have to say. No issue around the ankle area tbh, but we're all different. First impression is the 10's seem a good bit lighter but that is only from trying on in the shop.

Transitioning from the Kayanos to the 9's was a huge reduction in weight so if there's further savings moving to the 10's then that's even better.
    Did you get them in blue? I'm still sporting the 'Blockic pink' version...

belcarra wrote: »
    Transitioning from the Kayanos to the 9's was a huge reduction in weight so if there's further savings moving to the 10's then that's even better.
    Did you get them in blue? I'm still sporting the 'Blockic pink' version...

Yep blue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Let us know how you get on with them P. I'm a big fan of the Inspire 9's. Have heard mainly bad reviews of the 10's so bought another pair of the 9's online as couldn't get them in any store in Dublin. Must say I love the red/pink ones, nice and shiny.

It was the same story with their 8's, they were an awful pair and they went back to the orginial design for the 9's so hopefully if they got back reviews, they'll go back to the nicer ones for the 11's.

I don't have any problem with the ankle area though J but a bit of vaseline should sort that out:D

Fri 7th March

6 miles @ 9:07

Legs pretty fooked with 2nd day DOMS and 6th day in a row running. Came alive for the last couple of miles. No problems with Wave Inspire 10 but will be interested to see more on fresher legs if there is much difference.

Rest day from running as have a golf semi final with the final on Sunday if we win. Could be a hectic weekend. Again...

chinguetti wrote: »
    I don't have any problem with the ankle area though J but a bit of vaseline should sort that out:D

If only it were that simple! This is more a rigid edge causing the issue and not the usual blister-causing friction.

Good to see first impressions are positive Peter. Although I may hang on for your 'fresher' verdict!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

I changed from 2170's to wave inspire 9's and have recently moved back to gt2000's.

Just wasn't feeling the love for the heel on the waves nor the mid sole structure. Something didn't feel right about them.

Everyone is different when it comes to footwear!

Sun 9th March

19 miles @ 8:45

Lost the golf yesterday so no complications today. Got 6 miles in before meeting a few from the club for 9 miles and then another 4 solo. Lovely morning for it and helped to have company for the middle section. Picked it up a bit for last 4 miles and finished strong enough.

Happy with the week after Bohermeen. Clocked just over 50 miles in total. Sessions back next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Congrats on Bohermeen. Sounds like you ran a very well paced race. Your PB is 10 seconds faster than mine :D

Cheers K. I'm pretty sure it's only on loan ;-)

Mon 10th March

5.75 miles @ 9:03

Just an easy run this evening. Legs in good shape after yesterday. Left achilees a bit tight but nothing too bad.

50 min tempo on the cards tomorrow as focus switches to 2 tempos a week rather than any shorter speedwork.

Tue 11th March

1.5 miles @ 8:50

50 min tempo @ 7:26 (7:38, 7:27, 7:33, 7:26, 7:23, 7:19, 7:18*) 6.77 miles

1 mile @ 9:05

Had to do this run at the track where we do out normally weekly club sessions and wasn't really looking forward to lots of laps but you have to do what your told. After a warm up and some stretching and strides I set off and had a bit of company for maybe the first 1.5 miles as one of the faster lads was doing a warm up. He asked me what pace I was trying to hold and I said 7:30's. Wasn't too confident of this after the first mile I have to say but this was followed with a quicker mile and then I was just trying to break it down into 10 minute segments. Stopped looking at the watch after the 3rd mile and just maintained the effort. Delighted with the last few miles and although not in a heap was glad to get it finished.

Wore the Wave Inspire 10's (as I did yesterday) and they seem fine. Definitely feel lighter to me and wider around the toes (as advertised). Will try them on this weeks long tempo and long run as well to be sure to be sure as they say.

Nice tempo there P, training for London seems spot on!

Tue 12th March

6.05 miles @ 9:41

Recovery run this evening. All grand except left achilees throbbing a bit. Just the usual tight calf. Getting it looked at later. Marathon pace run planned for tomorrow but will push it to Friday if I need to. Now is not the time for stupidity.

Wed 13th March

1 mile @ 9:16

11 miles @ 7:56

.2 miles @ 9:44

Got a rub down on the calf last night. Pretty tight but eased out alright. Decided to head out today and try to get MP run out of the way but if things were bad after warm up would change to an easy run.

Got going anyway on the MP part and thought of pulling the plug a few times. Stubbornness kept me going as I didn't want to have to do it again. Although there was no issue with pace the run felt horrible as the Achilles was annoying the hell out of me.

Felt like some gravel in my right foot after 7/8 miles and I eventually took a break after 9 miles to let it out. No gravel :-( which meant it was a blister. Hobbled the last 2 miles with it getting worse but pace staying ok. Don't think I would have got much more than 11 out of it.

Pulled the plug early on the cool down and hobbled home to be greeted with a blood blister on the sole of my foot :-(

At least the run is done and hopefully enough time to recover somewhat before long run on Monday this week.

Will probably take a rest day tomorrow and assess how it is Sat/Sun for an easy run. Hard to walk at the moment...