how much more can this camel take?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Saw cheap rosebushes in ALDI, everyone's gardens could be rosy.

I don't have a garden. :(

But I'll dance the tango with a rose in my teeth, cause that's the fun way to take to the streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

because if we continue to do nothing we're encouraging the corrupt to carry on as normal which can only get worse and i am also worried about the **** we don't know about, what we know about is freaky enough for me thanks very much, i've had enough and would love to get involved with peaceful protests imediately to try bring about some change.

what is wrong with that?? I repeat, all i want is change, for the better, is this wrong????

Nothing wrong with wanting change for the better, we all want that. But for a protest to be effective you need to have a clear message, as in something you specifically want to change otherwise its not effective, unless of course you live in Syria or the Ukraine where the entire system is rotten to the core and you need to tear it all down and start again from scratch. I don't think Ireland will ever get that bad though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

This camel wants a pint. And a packet a dates.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,713 ✭✭✭eireannBEAR

Im going to take to the streets and smash everything up unless some one here gives me a job!!! :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

Godwins Law by page 2 . Impressive.
    cml387 wrote: »
    You've Godwined your own thread there. I think I'd start again.
    To what end? Outline your post-revolutionary paradise. With actual facts and figures please.

ah this old chestnut again

i'm not saying reinvent the fcukign wheel, merely suggesting we make the one decision to do the right thing instead of coming up with all the wonderful spin it take sto pull off this corrupt bull$hit!!

way's a go though, the force is strong within you a chara :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,487 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

i'm not saying reinvent the fcukign wheel, merely suggesting we make the one decision to do the right thing instead of coming up with all the wonderful spin it take sto pull off this corrupt bull$hit!!

You're the one trying to get people onto the streets.

Tell us why, how you plan on changing things and what it'd be like after the glorious overthrow of the government. Why should people follow you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

ah this old chestnut again

way's a go though, the force is strong within you a chara :rolleyes:

And which wheel do you want us to use? This wagon is rolling nicely whether you want to believe so or not. What cart do you want us to harness up to?
    It's all bluster so far. So, what do you want changed? What will I be taking to the highways over exactly?

MadYaker wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with wanting change for the better, we all want that. But for a protest to be effective you need to have a clear message, as in something you specifically want to change otherwise its not effective, unless of course you live in Syria or the Ukraine where the entire system is rotten to the core and you need to tear it all down and start again from scratch. I don't think Ireland will ever get that bad though.

the way we're going we're definately going to see it get a lot worse before it gets better, we haven't even begun our long road to (real) change

what we are witnessing is one long drawn out car crash for a democracy where we bail out too big to fail banks but first they take the last of our pension reserve, we challenge the bail out and the promissory notes get changed overnight by a load of drunk idiots, we get treated to the anglo and lowry tapes etc etc yet still not a stir out of the irish people since 2010 when we forced fianna fail to call general elections.

cowens government was given it's marching orders long before now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭southcentralts

Good Government > Bad Government > No Government

We don't need to tear down the house because of a few broken windows.

Or we could try my dictatorship, I promise to be good to everyone who does what I tell them to do.:D

I know I'm a bit late to this party, but I genuinely thought this thread was going to be a sort of "virtual buckaroo".

*sigh*

Nevermind, carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Oh goody, another one of these threads.

Let me save us all the bother...revolution, revolution..sheeple, WAKE UP...sheeple...an incredibly long-winded KyussBishop piece on an obscure economic theory /thread

Funny, seeing as you have most posts in this thread so far.

/thread indeed :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Cool Username OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,245 ✭✭✭✭bnt

You can take the streets, and you're quite welcome to them. I prefer buildings, those things with walls and a roof.

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,487 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Funny, seeing as you have most posts in this thread so far.

/thread indeed :rolleyes:

Ah, but I keep my posts to a couple of sentences, rather than submit a postdoctoral thesis each time I hit submit reply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Cool Username OP.

I'm just wondering who the renegades are that he's master of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Ah, but I keep my posts to a couple of sentences, rather than submit a postdoctoral thesis each time I hit submit reply.

Well your brevity is to be exalted. You're obviously such a better person than most others, with your pre-emptive attacks on other users.

Thanks for saving us all the bother of having to read through such an awful thread with all the bogeymen you predicted would be contained within it.

You're the one trying to get people onto the streets.

Tell us why, how you plan on changing things and what it'd be like after the glorious overthrow of the government. Why should people follow you?

i couldn't see it being anything like the Ukraine so that itself is comforting, the right people would be allowed to communicate with the people at mass gatherings, if the majority know these people to be corrupt they won't be allowed to speak, and only through general concensus with the crowds could any decisions be made before elections,

whatever chance we could have of bringing about change we have no chance if we continue to do nothing indefinately.

sure why would they change if they think we'll sit back for another 2 years until april 2016 when edna lets us have general elections, they're all out on massive pensions and the next crowd in will hav eno great gra for change either judging by the amounts of civil obedience having being witnessed for another 2 years in light of all the corruption coming to light

and i stress again, we only know about what's come to light, you'd be a fool to think it stops anywhere near there!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Orlaw3136

i would like to start some debate surrounding taking to the streets

Nothing stopping you - free country 'n all.

Just mind not to get in my way on the way to work pls.

Cool Username OP.

cheers

back once again with the ill behaviour :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

I'm just wondering who the renegades are that he's master of.

None, I'd wager, since by definition renegades have no masters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

anybody who is fed up has not one group offering a way to channel that anger and show the government you've had enough.

where are all the militant revolutionaries out there, occupy, the left, previous protestors, why aren't we deciding to all hit the streets at the same time for the first time ever, all groups together
    Yes, why aren't you?
    hfallada wrote: »
    This is what corruption looks like

http://youtu.be/7w7xJdSLrxo

Its the house of the former leader of Ukraine.
    And while Ireland doesn't have to be as bad as Ukraine for people to criticise it, the point is: some people talk about Ireland as if it is as bad as Ukraine. Just an insult to people living in countries like the Ukraine really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

i couldn't see it being anything like the Ukraine so that itself is comforting, the right people would be allowed to communicate with the people at mass gatherings, if the majority know these people to be corrupt they won't be allowed to speak, and only through general concensus with the crowds could any decisions be made before elections,

whatever chance we could have of bringing about change we have no chance if we continue to do nothing indefinately.

sure why would they change if they think we'll sit back for another 2 years until april 2016 when edna lets us have general elections, they're all out on massive pensions and the next crowd in will hav eno great gra for change either judging by the amounts of civil obedience having being witnessed for another 2 years in light of all the corruption coming to light

and i stress again, we only know about what's come to light, you'd be a fool to think it stops anywhere near there!!

If you have evidence of corruption you should take it to the guards they will sort them out licketysplit for you, also can we wait till summer before taking the streets as it's still a bit nippely out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Back once again for the renegade master, D4 damager, power to the people. Back once again for the renegade master, D4 damager, with the ill behavior. Back once again for the renegade master, D4 damager, power to the people. Back once again for the renegade master, D4 damager, with the ill behavior. Back once again for the renegade master, D4 damager, power to the people. Back once again for the renegade master, D4 damager, with the ill behavior. Back once again for the renegade master, D4 damager, power to the people. Back once again for the renegade master, D4 damager, with the ill behavior. Back once again for the renegade master, D4 damager, power to the people. Back once again for the renegade master, D4 damager, with the ill behavior. Back once again for the renegade master, D4 damager, power to the people. Back once again for the renegade master, D4 damager, with the ill behavior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Riots do look like a bit of craic though. Seriously, fighting police, burning cars, looting, throwing bricks around the place. Id say if you were off your head on yokes it'd be only mental!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

where are all the militant revolutionaries out there, occupy, the left, previous protestors, why aren't we deciding to all hit the streets at the same time for the first time ever, all groups together, it would rattle the $hit out of government in a matter of days
    Maybe we aren't having these mass protests because nobody is organising them. Maybe the people who should be organising them are too busy sitting at home complaining on the internet.

MadYaker wrote: »
    Riots do look like a bit of craic though. Seriously, fighting police, burning cars, looting, throwing bricks around the place. Id say if you were off your head on yokes it'd be only mental!

peaceful protests is what i'm talking about though,

this is the acid test regarding the true will to change or not amongst the elite circles, if they see numbers on the streets yet don't change then of course carnage will probably come about as people will see that under no pressure these guys continued to become more and more blatently corrupt and even under mass demonstrating pressure they still kept up the corruption, well then the options available to the people then are plain to see in that scenario

or of course we can do nothing and in april 2016 look back at all the wasted opportunity we had to limit the damage the current corrupt are doing to the country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

peaceful protests is what i'm talking about though,

this is the acid test regarding the true will to change or not amongst the elite circles, if they see numbers on the streets yet don't change then of course carnage will probably come about as people will see that under no pressure these guys continued to become more and more blatently corrupt and even under mass demonstrating pressure they still kept up the corruption, well then the options available to the people then are plain to see in that scenario

or of course we can do nothing and in april 2016 look back at all the wasted opportunity we had to limit the damage the current corrupt are doing to the country

So what date/time are you organizing this protest for?

Phoebas wrote: »
    Maybe we aren't having these mass protests because nobody is organising them. Maybe the people who should be organising them are too busy sitting at home complaining on the internet.

i do know this to be a fact and that is what has me most worried, i'm burnt out cos we#ve been protesting the last few years attending as many small/medium/large protests the last few years as was humanly possible, organising many protests myself personally or my mates did through their many different affiliations, and a good crew of us even did an extended stint in galway occupy which lasted over 250 days, but, at this very late stage in the game the entire country is practically defeated and i'm almost convinced that if the likes of enda kenny or shatter called round door to door robbing people, in their own homes, in the cold light of day, people would start excusing it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,254 ✭✭✭Yawns

Can it take more than the Buckaroo game?

Linky loo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

i do know this to be a fact and that is what has me most worried, i'm burnt out cos we were first out of the blocks the last few years attending as many small/medium/large protests the last few years as was humanly possible, organising many protests myself personally or my mates did through their many different affiliations, and a good crew of us even did an extended stint in galway occupy which lasted over 250 days, but, at this very late stage in the game the entire country is practically defeated and i'm almost convinced that if the likes of enda kenny or shatter called round door to door robbing people, in their own homes, in the cold light of day, people would start excusing it
    While I have to admire your determination in actually going out and protesting yourself, have you considered the possibility that it isn't the country that is defeated; its just the protesters?
    Have you considered the possibility that most people are reasonably satisfied with how the current government have performed, given the mess they inherited and that the real reason that people aren't out on the streets protesting is that they don't feel the need to protest?