Lending work mates money

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

Merkin wrote: »
    b. I know it's not enforceable as a contract but surely written evidence would prove that a transaction occurred in the first place?

While that is true. It will show there is money owed but that just opens the whole thing up to C or D
    Big Steve wrote: »
    C) There is nothing written to show how much and how often parts of the loan will be paid back to the lender.
    D) One could argue that it was a gesture or gift as there was no witnesses and nothing in writing to show it is in the strictest sense of the term a LOAN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

I was expecting you to talk about buying lunch the odd day but 2K? Holy crap I'd be seeking legal advice.

Could go the friendly way and ask him out for a drink, then bring it up and see what the craic is. Even work out a payment plan or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Big Steve wrote: »
    While that is true. It will show there is money owed but that just opens the whole thing up to C or D

But I wasn't suggesting a letter signed by the mate's "friend" admitting liability. That's about as likely as hell freezing over Big Steve!

Surely in instance C & D, a casual admittance of liability through a series of conversational emails would suffice? Please refer to post #34 in this thread for a (very broad example) of what I mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭Kunkka

Jesus I thought I was bad being ****ed over for €100 by a work mate years back. That's a bloody serious amount of money! Zero chance of them getting it back too I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Pay a junkie 200 euros to hit him with a golf club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

2,000 is a serious amount of money to get shafted on.

I only got shafted on €20 which is nothing by comparison. But taking someones money, with ZERO intention to return it, is just a scumbag thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭homemadecider

I was bestman at my brothers wedding.

They had burned through the 5k given by the brides father and
    were out of pocket to pay the 3k for the reception.

I gave him the money with a bankdraft on condition (a gentlemans agreement) that he would give me the money back when they came back from the honeymoon.

That was 2 years ago and not a brown copper returned since.

Money is a good way to fallout with someone in your family.

What did he say when you asked for the money back?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 625 ✭✭✭roadsmart

The maximum in the Small Claims Court is 2k though.

Seriously, just get your mate to write an email or IM where he admits liability and then it only costs €25 to lodge an application. Job done.

Far preferable to getting the heavy knackers involved imo even if your mate's mate is a sneaky little sh!t.
    The small claims court does not deal with debt cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

roadsmart wrote: »
    The small claims court does not deal with debt cases.

God you're dead right! Just looked it up.

Sorry OP for the USELESS information I've been imparting to you thus far! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

God you're dead right! Just looked it up.

Sorry OP for the USELESS information I've been imparting to you thus far! :o

I imagine proving something is hard.
    I could go out tomorrow and give someone 500 euro. But if it was cash who was to say I actually did. Other person could just deny it or say they gave it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭ElKavo

biko wrote: »
    How do you know the cancer bit isn't true?
    Anyway, have them sort it out between themselves like men.

Well close enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Reminds me of a “friend” of mine, not a work colleague. He is an alcoholic but every so often he gets back on his feet and gives things a go. 2 years back he was on one of his dry spells, I lent him money over a few weeks, to buy a suit, shirts, pay his rent, train fare, basically live on while he looked for a job, and reached the first pay day, about €1,500 in all. He is a bit of a computer whizz and always gets these €500/ day IT jobs in top companies and will randomly send me a mail from XYC address after hearing nothing for a few months.

I have never gotten a cent back. He will start a new job, I’ll get mails daily, all will go well for a time. He’ll promise to start paying me back “next payday”, there’ll always be someone more deserving in the queue. Then boom, nothing, the work email will generally be shut down, he’ll have insulted someone at the company, come in drunk or worse or HR will have reached the end of their tether with his “toothaches” and “dead uncles”

I don’t know how he is still getting contract jobs as to my mind he has never finished one. I work in a similar industry and it’s amazing how he gets away with it. Been about 2 months now since I’ve heard anything, must be nearly time for whack-a-mole to have hit rock bottom and turn up again, bet I don’t get a cent this time either- worse eejit I am, I may just forget about it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭burnhardlanger

What did he say when you asked for the money back?

I owe you money he said.

Yeah you do I said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Gratitude is also the shorted lived of any human emotion, and if you borrow someone money, two weeks later, you're "the pr1ck I owe money to" generally. Such is life. Learn, move on, offer it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

Yep, never lend what youre not willing to give away.

OP, Write it off and move on, lesson well learned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

i used to work in a big furniture place down on the quays,all blokes and lotsa after work drinks most nights and lends would be flying back and forth throughout the week,Friday night (payday) in our work boozer was like the Dow Jones!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

I have a rule when it comes to lending money to people, if they dont pay me back no matter what the sum, I cut them out off my life.
    I have one friend who complained that he lent another friend money and hadnt got it back 3 days later, the same friend always pays me back so Ive no problem lending him money, then i lent money to the friend who was bitching about not getting payed back and the fecker hasnt mentioned paying me back since. A month has passed. Im cutting him out off my life

Reminds me of a “friend” of mine, not a work colleague. He is an alcoholic but every so often he gets back on his feet and gives things a go. 2 years back he was on one of his dry spells, I lent him money over a few weeks, to buy a suit, shirts, pay his rent, train fare, basically live on while he looked for a job, and reached the first pay day, about €1,500 in all. He is a bit of a computer whizz and always gets these €500/ day IT jobs in top companies and will randomly send me a mail from XYC address after hearing nothing for a few months.

I have never gotten a cent back. He will start a new job, I’ll get mails daily, all will go well for a time. He’ll promise to start paying me back “next payday”, there’ll always be someone more deserving in the queue. Then boom, nothing, the work email will generally be shut down, he’ll have insulted someone at the company, come in drunk or worse or HR will have reached the end of their tether with his “toothaches” and “dead uncles”

I don’t know how he is still getting contract jobs as to my mind he has never finished one. I work in a similar industry and it’s amazing how he gets away with it. Been about 2 months now since I’ve heard anything, must be nearly time for whack-a-mole to have hit rock bottom and turn up again, bet I don’t get a cent this time either- worse eejit I am, I may just forget about it!

Know someone very similar, nice lad but one who kinds himself in good, secure and well paying employment only to repeatedly screw up and get fired. He'll spend the first few weeks in the new job sober with just the odd drink here and there but after a month or do he will hit the bottle every day. Will go drinking straight after work and often head off for a few drinks during work. He'll start showing up late, missing days and using the sane tired excuses over and over again until he's fired and then spends the next 6-9 months drinking himself silly.

Last time he lost his job the social welfare couldn't believe that someone on just under €600 a week with no dependables and paying only €62.50 a week in rent could have no savings and huge debts on his credit cards all arising from his daily trip to the pub.

It's sad to see someone drinking their life away and one day it's most likely going to kill him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

astonaidan wrote: »
    I have a rule when it comes to lending money to people, if they dont pay me back no matter what the sum, I cut them out off my life.
    I have one friend who complained that he lent another friend money and hadnt got it back 3 days later, the same friend always pays me back so Ive no problem lending him money, then i lent money to the friend who was bitching about not getting payed back and the fecker hasnt mentioned paying me back since. A month has passed. Im cutting him out off my life

100% on that,in that job it was only tenners an twenties but if someone got shy payin back they would be cut off and shunned so most people paid what they owed,twas like a credit union of sorts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

100% on that,in that job it was only tenners an twenties but if someone got shy payin back they would be cut off and shunned so most people paid what they owed,twas like a credit union of sorts
    Hahah sounds like a very similar system, was the same amounts. Always involved running out off funds on a night out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

But I wasn't suggesting a letter signed by the mate's "friend" admitting liability. That's about as likely as hell freezing over Big Steve!

Surely in instance C & D, a casual admittance of liability through a series of conversational emails would suffice? Please refer to post #34 in this thread for a (very broad example) of what I mean.

No Merkin. Sadly not. Believe me I learned the lesson the hard way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Thanks OP. Your thread reminded me that the lad next to me owes me two fifty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭shockwave

Get The Viper after him, he'll get the 2 grand back :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭Kunkka

Gratitude is also the shorted lived of any human emotion, and if you borrow someone money, two weeks later, you're "the pr1ck I owe money to" generally. Such is life. Learn, move on, offer it up.

Very true, the gratitude subsides after a night's sleep! The only person I'd lend money to nowadays would be my immediate family, my best mate or my girlfriend. Even with them it wouldn't happen regularly at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

shockwave wrote: »
    Get The Viper after him, he'll get the 2 grand back :D

After deducting at least a quarter for his trouble. He doesn't do it for the fun of it.