Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lending work mates money

• 25-02-2014 12:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

A former work mate, has let me know that he had lent another work mate €2,000 6 months ago.

Now he has left the job, the work mate in the job hasnt re paid him a penny.

So where does the ex work mate stand.

Is it a case of naming and shaming him, or "lets get physical" :pac:

Jaysus, I thought this was going to be about a fiver or something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Muckie wrote: »
    A former work mate, has let me know that he had lent another work mate €2,000 6 months ago.

What is the sex is disappointing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Forgot to add, he had spun him a yarn, saying his wife had cancer.....nice chap!

What is the sex is disappointing?

MMmmmmmm...maybe, would take a while to work off the balance though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

"Neither a borrower nor a lender be." Hamlet: Act 1, Scene 3.
    I'm pretty sure Homer Simpson said something along these lines too.

Meanwhile, if I were you I'd be asking your mate for a loan of €3000. He seems gullible amenable.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Neither a borrower or a lender be.....

I'd say your mate has approximately ZERO chance of recouping the money

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Indeed.
    The money is gone.

Never lend without some sort of security, if a friend asks to borrow 100 you might say your tv/pc etc isnt working and can you borrow his.
    Thats if you want to be ...diplomatic... about it, anyone with half a brain will catch your drift.

2000 is a big ask and Id be straight up with any 'friend' who came asking for that much. In fact Id be really expecting to hear an offer of collateral at that level. It would be ignorant to not offer such.

Have him/her put an asset in your name or write up a properly legal document and pay for a solicitor to witness it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I guffawed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Forgot to add, he had spun him a yarn, saying his wife had cancer.....nice chap!

I remember when Cancer was free...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

How do you know the cancer bit isn't true?
    Anyway, have them sort it out between themselves like men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

I've given work mates a tenner when they were stuck but 2k. If one of my work mates asked me for that i'd tell them where to go. Do they not have their own friends or family to help them if stuck. Stupid person!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭bogwalrus

Small claims court maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Did he even get magic beans in return for the two grand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭StaticNoise

You may not have a written contract, but you would have a verbal one. This kind of stuff is more common than you might think.

Ask for the money back, and note that you would go down a legal road if needs be. Then, you can get him. As it's over the amount, Small Claims won't work.

Keep at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Fentdog84

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 625 ✭✭✭roadsmart

As it's over the amount, Small Claims won't work.

It's not actually over the amount, it's bang on, €2000 is the upper limit. Small claims court still won't work though, as The court doesn't deal with debts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Latest i heard, is he be coming to the Job, hoping to shame him into returning the money.

Going to get interesting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I'm assuming there is a whole chunk of the story that we are not hearing.

"Here Damo, can I've the lend of 2 grand for a few weeks?"

"Sure you can trevor, even though I don't know you very well and don't consider you a friend but simply a work colleague, here's 2k pay it back when you can, with non-specific terms and conditions."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,396 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

How did he know your workmate would have this sort of money?, just to give out, not many people these days would have €2000 on stand by.

Its a bit mad, i was shocked, but they had been quite pally before he left.

Going on breaks together, (guess giving someone 2 grand helps).

He had been pushing around a sob story saying his wife had been unwell.

Turns out she actually fine!

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    How did he know your workmate would have this sort of money?, just to give out, not many people these days would have €2000 on stand by.

Oh he got a good redundancy from a previous job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

In my last job I had a guy ask me for a lend of 2k, I told him no. Some neck I thought.

Do you know what the money was for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭FollatonWood

Your mate needs to grow a pair and just ask for it back. The guy is taking advantage simply because he can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

I don't like even lending my pen to someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,396 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Oh he got a good redundancy from a previous job.

Bloody Vulture thats what he is.

Oranage2 wrote: »
    In my last job I had a guy ask me for a lend of 2k, I told him no. Some neck I thought.

Do you know what the money was for?

He said he was to help with the wifes cancer treatment bills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

Was there anything put in writing to show how much was being lent and and who owes who money. If not I wish your mate the best of luck geting his money back. The irish courts won't even hear the case.

Big Steve wrote: »
    Was there anything put in writing to show how much was being lent and and who owes who money. If not I wish your mate the best of luck geting his money back. The irish courts won't even hear the case.

Unfortunately not, took your mans word.....

He has asked me could i get his home address for him, in case coming to the job doesnt work!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Has he said straight out he's not going to pay him back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

Mad I'd even think twice bout loaning that much to a family member let alone a friend

My mother lend 80k to her boss, what an idiot. He went out of business and she only just got the last of the money 5 years after lending it. Makes me sick.

Good God, thats a tough one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Would be quite easy to procure a written acknowledgement out of him though which could then be shown to Court to prove that it happened.

Your mate:

Hello. I hope your wife is better now. Can I please have the €2k back I lent you in good faith back in August?

His mate:
    No can do at the moment. My dog has to have its leg amputated and my sister has AIDs - I need to pay bills.

Your mate:
    But it's been six months

His mate:
    I know, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

http://www.viperdebtrecovery.com/

If your friend can stomach dealing with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

I think Id just do two grands worth of damage to him. F*ck that:mad:

spurious wrote: »
    Has he said straight out he's not going to pay him back?

No, he has tried the charm, "i dont have it right now".

But what did it for my former work mate was, there pictures on facebook of him having a ball in Vegas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

No, he has tried the charm, "i dont have it right now".

But what did it for my former work mate was, there pictures on facebook of him having a ball in Vegas!

:eek::eek::eek:

How can you give a loan of that much money without even knowing where the person lives.
    The fecking brass neck on yer man though. Its almost admirable but detestable at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,544 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

What a mug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭juniord

he should tell him, if he doesnt pay up the debt is getting sold on to someone who wont be taking him to court , interest rates are usually exorbitant when these people are involved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

juniord wrote: »
    the debt is getting sold on interest rates are usually exorbitant when these people are involved
    and it's LEGAL to do this, whether or not the fella puts on the waterworks or plays the pitiful violin..

alias no.9 wrote: »

Ahh...would they be kinda like "Fat Tonys friends from The Simpsons".

Will pass that on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭juniord

if it gets your money back i wouldnt be too worried how i got paid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭FudgeBrownie

It's simple... We kill the Batman. Mwahahahaha.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 625 ✭✭✭roadsmart

Lie down with dogs, etc.
    Scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭burnhardlanger

I was bestman at my brothers wedding.

They had burned through the 5k given by the brides father and
    were out of pocket to pay the 3k for the reception.

I gave him the money with a bankdraft on condition (a gentlemans agreement) that he would give me the money back when they came back from the honeymoon.

That was 2 years ago and not a brown copper returned since.

Money is a good way to fallout with someone in your family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

In June 2007 I loaned a once best-mate of mine €1000 to get out of arrears on his rent. He had only started a job and was on monthly pay so he hadn't got a bean to pay the landlord as a result.

He f**ked off that October to the UK. He then vanished. I managed to get an address for him and worte to him saying I still want my money. His missus wrote me a letter back saying if I kept harassing him she would call the police. I laughed reading it and sent her another letter inviting her to do just that. Last I've heard from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

He f**ked off that October to the UK. He then vanished. I managed to get an address for him and worte to him saying I still want my money. His missus wrote me a letter back saying if I kept harassing him she would call the police. I laughed reading it and sent her another letter inviting her to do just that. Last I've heard from them.

But you stopped harassing him yeah?

Jesus. I'd heard something about him debt collecting, but I didn't really pay much attention to it. Surely there's rules about who can set up a debt collection agency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

vitani wrote: »
    Jesus. I'd heard something about him debt collecting, but I didn't really pay much attention to it. Surely there's rules about who can set up a debt collection agency.

Sorry, off topic but am I missing something here? Who is involved in this?

Mince Pie wrote: »
    Sorry, off topic but am I missing something here? Who is involved in this?

Martin Foley - the Viper.