Garda recruitment 2014 info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

carzony wrote: »
    what exactly is involved in the background checks? just family mostly? I have been told several times that aunts and uncles who have convictions wouldnt affect you atall.. maybe if your father or mother have then that could affect you?

I think it is complete nonsense if the likes of an aunt or uncle has a criminal history and it were to go against you. Parents, brothers, sisters, spouse etc. I could understand to an extent as you would be considered far closer to them. How many people would have frequent contact with an uncle or aunt as opposed to the above? Most families have a black sheep or two I would imagine. Those with large families will find the checks a pain as it involves getting addresses and PPS numbers for everyone afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭Andrea345

redout wrote: »
    I think it is complete nonsense if the likes of an aunt or uncle has a criminal history and it were to go against you. Parents, brothers, sisters, spouse etc. I could understand to an extent as you would be considered far closer to them. How many people would have frequent contact with an uncle or aunt as opposed to the above? Most families have a black sheep or two I would imagine. Those with large families will find the checks a pain as it involves getting addresses and PPS numbers for everyone afaik.

There can be a black sheep in your immediate family too but that still shouldn't affect you if you have lived your life sneaky clean. I would look down on all criminal activity whether it was a family member or not, right is right, wrong is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,897 ✭✭✭billie1b

So we defo won't get our results until the Irish requested candidates are finished their tests

billie1b wrote: »
    So we defo won't get our results until the Irish requested candidates are finished their tests

I wouldn't say that for definite as they seem to be getting treated separately to others i.e. persons from all 3 bands are being put through to stage 2. As I mentioned on the Irish thread there is probably a set number of places reserved for native speakers which need to be filled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭D Trent

Addresses PPSNs and DOBs

D Trent wrote: »
    Addresses PPSNs and DOBs

Does this include your aunts and uncles through marriage. I think I read on another thread that you give details of aunts and uncles through marriage at one stage then you just include your direct relatives...first cousins etc in another stage? I can't remember though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭mrDerek

If your chucked out cos of what a cousin did is true then that's complete bull. My cousin who I haven't seen since I was a kid gets In Trouble with the guards every so often if it goes against me I'll be fuming

Jaysis my heart goes out to any candidate that might be a distant relative to the likes Larry Murphy r sumone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 stargazer9

Addresses PPSNs and DOBs

Ah for feck sake! Are we really expected to provide this kind of info for extended family?
    I can totally understand that they will want our parents, siblings, spouses names, addresses and PPS numbers, but cousins???

I have so many aunts, uncles and cousins that I'm not even sure how many of them there are. I haven't even seen some of them for 20 years or more. I don't know where they live, don't even have a phone number or any way of contacting some of them. How the hell am I going to provide their PPS numbers? Half of them could be criminals for all I know. I wouldn't even recognise some of them if I walked past them in the street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭carzony

stargazer9 wrote: »
    Ah for feck sake! Are we really expected to provide this kind of info for extended family?
    I can totally understand that they will want our parents, siblings, spouses names, addresses and PPS numbers, but cousins???

I have so many aunts, uncles and cousins that I'm not even sure how many of them there are. I haven't even seen some of them for 20 years or more. I don't know where they live, don't even have a phone number or any way of contacting some of them. How the hell am I going to provide their PPS numbers? Half of them could be criminals for all I know. I wouldn't even recognise some of them if I walked past them in the street

I heard from a lad on here who told me that a super told him that it's extremely unlikely family members having convictions will affect you unless your living with them or somthing like that.. If it did affect you then there wouldnt be any guards atall lol..

PPS, DOB and ADDRESSES??

I have 12 on my fathers side and 6 on my mothers side ffs.. I aint seen most of them in 5 years or more.. Surely you don't need to provide that info, If so just tell the truth and say you have no contact with them.. You can't be expected to get that information on people you don't have contact with.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=85867506

I knew I read it on here lol

''The super told me that family are not under your control and that what they do/did is/was their choice. As long as your not in a position to be compromised! ''

And it's Parents, Siblings, Aunts, Uncles Same for your partners side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭OscarWhiskey

Its probably the same as the background checks (BR Form) for Reserves? So you've to list your immediate family and then your direct aunts and uncles. Just addresses and DOB's, no PPS numbers.

Could be wrong here.

AFAIK penalty points (to an extent) aren't seen as a major problem either, well I hope so anyway.

Its probably the same as the background checks (BR Form) for Reserves? So you've to list your immediate family and then your direct aunts and uncles. Just addresses and DOB's, no PPS numbers.

Could be wrong here.

AFAIK penalty points (to an extent) aren't seen as a major problem either, well I hope so anyway.

sure lads have successfully gotten through the process and been in bigger trouble than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

sure lads have successfully gotten through the process and been in bigger trouble than that.

in the old days.........

Scouser wrote: »
    in the old days.........

I can understand if a candidate had over say 6 points. But to reject a candidate simply because he has a few points would be ridiculous. I have 2 and if that was to affect me then I'd laugh at them.. considering I paid my fine and received the points.. half the country had their points wiped from the system lol

I have 2 and if that was to affect me then I'd laugh at them..

only time will tell who will have the last laugh

although it would seem harsh, its not beyond reason.,

best to have no black marks against your name than a small one

lord knows how strict they may be in order to whittle down candidates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭Rothmans

Scouser wrote: »
    only time will tell who will have the last laugh

although it would seem harsh, its not beyond reason.,

best to have no black marks against your name than a small one

lord knows how strict they may be in order to whittle down candidates

There's no way penalty points are going to be used to whittle down candidates.

That's coming from someone with a clean licence.

Rothmans wrote: »
    There's no way penalty points are going to be used to whittle down candidates.

That's coming from someone with a clean licence.

i hope not too!

but just sayin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Kimiko2012

do you have to have a full driving license? does anyone know?

Kimiko2012 wrote: »

nope you dont need one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Kimiko2012

great thanks, im driving with 4 years but never got round to doing test, have it booked anyway but thought you might need it. thanks again :D

No need. I think AGS sort that for you?

Though some Police forces in the UK actually have it as a requirement before applying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭unattendedbag

No need. I think AGS sort that for you?

Nope

Though some Police forces in the UK actually have it as a requirement before applying.

it was recommended it be implemented a number of years ago but it never came to pass

Nope

Really? I remember hearing something before about Gardai not actually being required to hold a license in order to drive a vehicle if it is in the course of their duty or something along those lines. Not sure how accurate that is though.

IMO it absolutely should be a min requirement for a candidate to have for the role of a garda

Do you not get take driving lessons down there anyway? But it's not the hardest thing to be prepared before you go down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 buckinit

As far as I know, a drivers license isn't required.

It would benefit you if you had one ahead of others who don't, especially in the interview/evaluation process.

Andrea345 wrote: »
    Do you not get take driving lessons down there anyway? But it's not the hardest thing to be prepared before you go down.

nope

driver training is undertaken after your probation

and only when you are sent on the course. You must already have a DL to do this. the gards dont provide one nor train you for one