Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda recruitment 2014 info

• 18-10-2013 3:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3

I heard that the educational requirements for 2014 due to high numbers will change from a friend in the department but that's all they know.... Was wondering does anyone know what the new requirements will be?????

Higher than leaving cert
    Maybe you will need a degree...

Any others ideas......?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭thekopend

Therealmcg wrote: »
    I heard that the educational requirements for 2014 due to high numbers will change from a friend in the department but that's all they know.... Was wondering does anyone know what the new requirements will be?????

Higher than leaving cert
    Maybe you will need a degree...

Any others ideas......?

There was talk of a change but I don't think it was bringing the level of education up. I think it is more of an adjustment with qualifications from the national framework being accepted, don't know how it works but I'd say leaving will still be an accepted level of education.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭King Ludvig

thekopend wrote: »
    There was talk of a change but I don't think it was bringing the level of education up. I think it is more of an adjustment with qualifications from the national framework being accepted, don't know how it works but I'd say leaving will still be an accepted level of education.

Correct and right. Shatter confirmed this in his response to a written question from a TD. You'll find it on kildarestreet.ie.

Haven't been clued into the recruitment process in a while, but were they not supposed to be including practical things?

ie; if you have no leaving cert, you'd still be considered if you had certified swimming, first aid, etc. skills and a driving license, and the likes? Or did I just dream that up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Haven't been clued into the recruitment process in a while, but were they not supposed to be including practical things?

ie; if you have no leaving cert, you'd still be considered if you had certified swimming, first aid, etc. skills and a driving license, and the likes? Or did I just dream that up?

I would imagine any practical requirements brought in would be in addition to educational requirements, not in lieu of.

They were additional recomendatios, they could be introduced, the education is seperate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Would be a very fair idea.. Anyone in my life from college tutors, secondary school teachers and employers have all told me that the leaving cert is a load of bull and only proves you have a good memory.

Having life saving skills, driving skills, good communication skills ect ect is a lot more important...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭catastrophy

The leaving cert shows you can deal with a body of work from start to finish which is hugely important in AGS. I know it's not the be all and end all and third level qualifications can prove similar skill sets.

The practical things are great but a garda will be quickly out of his or her depth if he or she can't handle the paperwork, regardless of being able to swim drive or perform CPR.

What computer skills would you actually need/use? I already have my ECDL but I'm doing another course which involves usings EXCEL and I just hate it lol..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭catastrophy

carzony wrote: »
    What computer skills would you actually need/use? I already have my ECDL but I'm doing another course which involves usings EXCEL and I just hate it lol..

Honestly, if you can turn on a pc and use word that's about all you need.

Grand, I love word but excel with all those ****in formulas :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Emer29

Do people think having a degree will be a help when applying??

Emer29 wrote: »
    Do people think having a degree will be a help when applying??

A lot of sargeants and supers probably never have went to college so i'm not to sure it'd mean a whole lot to them.. I'm sure they'd be more impressed with work experience/ community work that kind of thing... That's my opinion anyway..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭mycro89

Is the matter scheduled to be debated/discussed in the dail anytime soon does anyone here know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Thekid2010

They are taking so long to announce anything about this recruitment, does anybody have any idea when the first email will be sent out to apply?

I heard it was supposed to announced in November but I am not sure if that is definite. If they plan on taking new recruits in early next year they need to announce something soon.

Des anyone have any idea what the educational requirements might be??

Yeah they would want to get the ball rolling alright

It's been advertised and talked about so much i'm getting bored of it.. There really dragging it out

They must be making some big change iv a feeling, why else would it take so long?

thekopend wrote: »
    They must be making some big change iv a feeling, why else would it take so long?

there probably working out a way to do it all on the cheap :rolleyes:

Wouldn't say any changes are being made just typical in this country not in a hurry to do anything, I'll be shocked if we here nothing within the next 4weeks

Was it only a media stunt? Is this to be another false dawn?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

mycro89 wrote: »
    Was it only a media stunt? Is this to be another false dawn?

You have a very distrustful view of our political system. First step towards being a good Garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

This is the ace on the table at the moment, why use the ace now when it would sound better to use it later.

As in;

We have hired Garda in our term in office

We will hire more Garda if you vote us in again

I think it was a false dawn! Think back to 2010, the comments earlier this year, the recent comments relating to late September - early October this year, it's now mid October and nothing! And nothing definate was announced in the budget as to the number they will be taking on.

Opinions ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭HighburyLad

Does anybody know any info, as is it going to be this side of of the year, or are we talking new year?

I reckon did they are playing around with a bit alright, but the fact is numbers are down and they continue to drop, calls are taking longer to answer, so they need to recruit

But are these statements in relation to recruitment only to throw the media off the fact that the numbers are dropping? And to get them to write about an upcoming recruitment campaign, and so diverting their attention and the attention of the people of Ireland off the matter?

(Note that has been upcoming since 2010) How long more are they going to drag out of it?

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    You have a very distrustful view of our political system. First step towards being a good Garda.

Would you blame him?

But are these statements in relation to recruitment only to throw the media off the fact that the numbers are dropping? And to get them to write about an upcoming recruitment campaign, and so diverting their attention and the attention of the people of Ireland off the matter?

(Note that has been upcoming since 2010) How long more are they going to drag out of it?

That very well could be the case but I would still recommend whoever is serious about joining stay prepared and be ready for it, we could get that email anytime,

A lot of sargeants and supers probably never have went to college so i'm not to sure it'd mean a whole lot to them.. I'm sure they'd be more impressed with work experience/ community work that kind of thing... That's my opinion anyway..

I would safely say that there is not a Superintendent in the country that has not got a degree, many of them have studied for degrees after joining the Garda.
    Many Sergeants would have only joined in the last 15 years and they would probably have third level education anyway.

You would want to be doing a bit of background research

I would safely say that there is not a Superintendent in the country that has not got a degree, many of them have studied for degrees after joining the Garda.
    Many Sergeants would have only joined in the last 15 years and they would probably have third level education anyway.

You would want to be doing a bit of background research

Plenty of detectives/guards I know have nothing. Maybe it's just the ones you know

You mentioned Sergeants and Supers and now its detectives and guards. Make your mind up.
    Maybe one of the reason they are still detectives and guards is their lack of degrees.

You mentioned Sergeants and Supers and now its detectives and guards. Make your mind up.
    Maybe one of the reason they are still detectives and guards is their lack of degrees.

I'd be happy with guard or detective..I think anyone of this forum would be more than happy with that atm..

Are you even a guard btw? I'd find it laughable if you weren't since you seem to like giving out all this ''advice''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Cd_doe

I'll have to back santa cruz on this one. His advice is obviously a lot more accurate.

There are many members off all ranks with 3rd level education.

To go back on topic, an above poster asked if it would help him get in if he had a degree.
    In my opinion a degree would help you to get into any job. To think otherwise would be insane. Even if the subject is irrelevant, it shows commitment etc.

I'd be happy with guard or detective..I think anyone of this forum would be more than happy with that atm..

Are you even a guard btw? I'd find it laughable if you weren't since you seem to like giving out all this ''advice''

The Garda College is a recognised third level institution. On completion of training the Gardaí are awarded a Diploma in Policing Studies. This can be used as a foundation to study on for degrees etc.

The average age for recruitment to the Gardaí since 1995 has been 23. The majority of those had third level qualifications.
    Also for your information a detective is a Garda. It is the same rank. The person is allocated to Detective Units but retains the rank of Garda unless promoted.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

The Garda College is a recognised third level institution. On completion of training the Gardaí are awarded a Diploma in Policing Studies. This can be used as a foundation to study on for degrees etc.

The average age for recruitment to the Gardaí since 1995 has been 23. The majority of those had third level qualifications.
    Also for your information a detective is a Garda. It is the same rank. The person is allocated to Detective Units but retains the rank of Garda unless promoted.

Would there be any degree that would be relevant to garda work? I was thinking about a law degree, is there any other relevant degree out there i could go for?

Will the upper age limit still remain 35? If some people have been to college and got a degree and will a freeze on recruitment for the past few years surely that will mean a lot of people in their late 20's/30 applying??

jamesr123 wrote: »
    Would there be any degree that would be relevant to garda work? I was thinking about a law degree, is there any other relevant degree out there i could go for?

Certainly a law degree would be relevant as it gives you the ability to read and understand what can at times be complicated criminal law acts.
    I would certainly say that if wishing to progress in any form of fraud investigation, criminal assets bureau etc. any qualification relating to accountancy, financial management would be very useful.
    Also any of the degrees containing, management, HR, social studies/psychology
    Overall any third level qualification will be an asset. Also fluency in foreign languages would be seen as a benefit to any applicant. I know one Garda proficient in continental languages who has been employed in Garda H.Q. Liaison and has had a number of allocations to the U.N. and other international secondments

The aptitude are first and unless you score high in them it doesn't matter what degree you have or who you are

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

Certainly a law degree would be relevant as it gives you the ability to read and understand what can at times be complicated criminal law acts.
    I would certainly say that if wishing to progress in any form of fraud investigation, criminal assets bureau etc. any qualification relating to accountancy, financial management would be very useful.
    Also any of the degrees containing, management, HR, social studies/psychology
    Overall any third level qualification will be an asset. Also fluency in foreign languages would be seen as a benefit to any applicant. I know one Garda proficient in continental languages who has been employed in Garda H.Q. Liaison and has had a number of allocations to the U.N. and other international secondments

Funny, psychology was something I was looking at doing next year anyway:cool:.

Thekid2010 wrote: »
    The aptitude are first and unless you score high in them it doesn't matter what degree you have or who you are

Ye, I hear that aptitude test can be a bit of a nightmare.

Is this to be the week?? The week when it all starts??

it said in the independent 6 weeks, a week ago, could be anytime.

I just fear that the 6 weeks will come and go with no announcement, like in the past, watch the time frame and see what happens in the coming weeks. Has it been even mentioned in the Dail since Budget Day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 jamezbarry

Willy odea my local td told me that he had made a few calls and found out that it will definitely be before Christmas , that there just organizing all the administration that occurs with a recruitment drive

jamezbarry wrote: »
    Willy odea my local td told me that he had made a few calls and found out that it will definitely be before Christmas , that there just organizing all the administration that occurs with a recruitment drive

Did he say how many will be recruited ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 jamezbarry

Did he say how many will be recruited ??

No but the independent wrote last week it's 150 for first drive and 3 months later a furthe 250

jamezbarry wrote: »

And Willy O Dea couldn't be wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Phoenix91

And Willy O Dea couldn't be wrong

It's the best we've gotten so far on the recruitment starting date. Beats the hell out of Shatters report which was beyond vague.

Can your pal willie o dea raise the topic in the dail? He is in opposition now, so would he know the specifics about the future campaign really ??