Why do Irish people hate their country so much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

We love a good moan alright. Especially about the English!!

Speaking of which. has anyone blamed the English yet??? ;)

OK I will then! :p

Its coz we spent 800 years hating how Ireland was during British rule etc etc, rabble rabble, and since its less than 100 years old in it current state, we're still in that frame of mind. We havent got used to owning our own country yet, and still see it as seperate/owned by others.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

I wouldn't say I hate my country!

That's ridiculous....

But when you live abroad, you begin to see all the faults with your own country and the advantages of your adopted homeland.

I moved to Germany 4 years ago, and it was the best decision I've ever made. Life is far better here. Better food, better services, I find the conversations I have on a night out with other people to be much more fulfilling.

There is something else, something that I can't put my finger on that I prefer. I know when I go home at Christmas, I find myself rolling my eyes alot at the things people do and say.

Ah did somebody get a hard time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

The_B_Man wrote: »
    and still see it as seperate/owned by others.

That'd be because it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Because it's terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

is something else, something that I can't put my finger on that I prefer. I know when I go home at Christmas, I find myself rolling my eyes alot at the things people do and say.

Maybe they're tired of the travel stories?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

COYVB wrote: »
    That'd be because it is

Yawn. Nobody cares.

anncoates wrote: »
    Maybe they're tired of the travel stories?

2 posts. Both of them bashing Ireland to big up " where they live in Germany".
    Tsk tsk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

There is something else, something that I can't put my finger on that I prefer. I know when I go home at Christmas, I find myself rolling my eyes alot at the things people do and say.

Fascinating........... :rolleyes:

sniff sniff, re-reg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭mfergus

2 of the most ****ed up things in this country are:

A) The social welfare. Why bother working? Free house and medical card is the way forward.

B) legal system. Prisons full, criminals get free legal aid continuously just to be let out again to re offend...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

It's called cultural cringe. As a nation we've never really escaped the Big House mentality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Pretty much sums up my point. As soon as you in any way criticise Ireland or tell people you're happier abroad, they attack you.

mfergus wrote: »
    2 of the most ****ed up things in this country are:

A) The social welfare. Why bother working? Free house and medical card is the way forward.

B) legal system. Prisons full, criminals get free legal aid continuously just to be let out again to re offend...
    Great aul country isnt it. People moan about the fordinners coming in but in fairness to them its their taxes that keep us all on the in and out of prison dutch gold tuesday merry-go-round. Sure I get locked up whenever a new GTA comes out. Me ma cant badger me when Im in jail. Get a job blah blah blah. Shurup ma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭Franticfrank

As a guy who lives abroad, one thing I really hate about Ireland is the miles and miles of palisade fencing. The fact that nobody seems to even notice it or talk about it annoys me even more. It's literally everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Don't hate the country, just hate a share of the insufferable cnuts that live in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Most other nationalities hit a point where they actually mature beyond "LETS GO TO THE PUB AND GET MOULDY!!!", Irish people don't seem to, and it gets a bit pathetic after a point

Eh no. Enjoying an evening out having pints with old friends isn't "pathetic" at all.

Most other nationalities hit a point where they actually mature beyond "LETS GO TO THE PUB AND GET MOULDY!!!", Irish people don't seem to, and it gets a bit pathetic after a point
    All joking aside I think Ireland is one of the few countries that isnt afraid to let its hair down and get a bit rat arsed now and again. Anybody thats seen a bunch of foeigners sitting in a pub trying to look cool and bookish will understand this.
    If you have a few too many at Bills funeral people might laugh but itll be forgotten as soon as your hangovers gone. In other countries your kids would need councilling for life because of how much of a raging alco you are. In this beautiful country its just called letting off a bit of steam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

Cos everywhere outside of Dublin and Wicklow is a hell-hole!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

If only the little people can stop moaning. Why can' t they just sit down and read the online media or traditional newspapers about the Beautiful People in Irish society, the rugby stars, and take FG / Lab official word as gospel. These restless little people are just pesky! They'rd always wanting a free can of coke, bag of crisps etc!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I don't hate it, but there are aspects to it I really dislike (gombeenism being the main one, also a culture of "It's everyone else's fault but not mine!") however there are aspects to it that I love too.
    Duggy747 wrote: »
    In before:

"Sheep"
    "Sheeple"
    "Raped"
    "Wake up"
    "Idiots"
    "Stupid public"

and

"Begrudgery"
    Drowned in a sea of "we".

MadsL wrote: »
    Yawn. Nobody cares.

That's the problem

jane82 wrote: »
    All joking aside I think Ireland is one of the few countries that isnt afraid to let its hair down and get a bit rat arsed now and again

Except it's not every now and then is it?

I think you will find generally the ones making the arse of themselves are the ones who arnt used to drinking.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Better food in Germany

You're having a laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Irish people like to moan but it is not real moaning. Just conversation. The weather, the shower in Kildare St, Larry Goodman, Knackers, Civil Servants, Supermarkets (excluding Lidl and Aldi), Health Insurance, Motor Tax, price of petrol, cigs, drink, girls, feck (shuddup Fr Jack will ya), Dentists, Opticians, publicans, Ryanair, Dubs, Kerrypeople, Leitrim, Nell, Sinead, Mrs Brown's Boys, Eurovision, The Daily Mail, RTE, Joe Duffy, Hector, Bertie, Sinn Fein, Senor Healey-Rae, Fitzpatrick (both Liza and that gurrier from Anglo), WestBrits, Dublin 4 accents, HaveIboredyouyet etc.

But because we enjoy a good moan doesn't mean that we are really moaners - in the Whinging Pom sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

buyer95 wrote: »
    It's the past governments fault. The hangover of black clouds has affected many people. The local priest had a term for them, what was it again? " A shower of bastards" ah that was it.

...and the new government just replaced the old dark clouds with new dark clouds ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

The Working class are ****ed on
    The Elderley are ****ed over aswell by the powers in charge
    The Youth are been (without directly asked) to get the **** out, Oz, New Zeland,US,UK,Canada one of them will have you
    The Scumbags are getting away with crime after crime with no jail time
    Our Capital City is what can only be described as a dump

I could go on all night but hey its a great wee country, "asks for a pint" Barman "€4.50" "****ing robbery this country"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,486 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

The Working class are ****ed on
    The Elderley are ****ed over aswell by the powers in charge
    The Youth are been (without directly asked) to get the **** out, Oz, New Zeland,US,UK,Canada one of them will have you
    The Scumbags are getting away with crime after crime with no jail time
    Our Capital City is what can only be described as a dump

I could go on all night but hey its a great wee country, "asks for a pint" Barman "€4.50" "****ing robbery this country"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭FURET

I genuinely hate the climate. I love the long summer days as much as I hate the long winter nights. November to April are deeply unpleasant and I always feel cheated of sunshine hours for the May to September period by the time October comes around.

I also hate that we have so few deciduous forests. I remember when I was a kid, the county council went around the countryside painting yellow crosses on hundreds of trees, marking them for felling. No need for it whatsoever in most cases. So few Irish towns and streets have trees; look at Cincinnati or Erlangen and you realize how impoverished Ireland's streetscapes are in terms of trees.

I also hate the county system because of the parochialism it engenders.

I'd prefer bigger, higher cities and far fewer one-off houses.

What else...

Oh yeah, the attitude to alcohol. Grinds my gears.

All that said, it is one of the very best countries in the world in terms of human development and freedom, of that there can be no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

FURET wrote: »
    I genuinely hate the climate. I love the long summer days as much as I hate the long winter nights. November to April are deeply unpleasant and I always feel cheated of sunshine hours for the May to September period by the time October comes around.

I also hate that we have so few deciduous forests. I remember when I was a kid, the county council went around the countryside painting yellow crosses on hundreds of trees, marking them for felling. No need for it whatsoever in most cases. So few Irish towns and streets have trees; look at Cincinnati or Erlangen and you realize how impoverished Ireland's streetscapes are in terms of trees.

I also hate the county system because of the parochialism it engenders.

I'd prefer bigger, higher cities and far fewer one-off houses.

What else...

Oh yeah, the attitude to alcohol. Grinds my gears.

All that said, it is one of the very best countries in the world in terms of human development and freedom, of that there can be no doubt.

Not sure how that is exclusive to Ireland, every country in the world has subdivisions, whether they are called counties or not. And what do you mean be the "parochialism" involved with counties?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

I wouldn't say I hate my country!

That's ridiculous....

But when you live abroad, you begin to see all the faults with your own country and the advantages of your adopted homeland.

I moved to Germany 4 years ago, and it was the best decision I've ever made. Life is far better here. Better food, better services, I find the conversations I have on a night out with other people to be much more fulfilling.

You sound like the type of boring old fart who enjoys the Kraut sense of humour. God help the poor ***** who have to listen to your fulfilling conversations about recycling and efficient use of empty beans cans. Moving to Germany was the best decision you made. I bet your relatives would agree with that