Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do Irish people hate their country so much?

• 21-02-2014 2:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭

I love going abroad for holidays and for travelling, but I only see such opportunities as a break from my usual circumstances, by the end of it I love being back home.

I even like the rural parts, despite poor public transport links. And despite what most of us seem to think, I genuinely find Irish people very friendly, and Irish women very attractive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

We hate our country from eating carvery all the time, oh and rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,345 ✭✭✭buyer95

It's the past governments fault. The hangover of black clouds has affected many people. The local priest had a term for them, what was it again? " A shower of bastards" ah that was it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Ireland's the greatest country in the world. It's just run by a self-serving clique of bastards who f*ck the rest of us over at every opportunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Catholic Guilt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

We don't, we just love a good moan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Best.Country.Ever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Sounds like you're talking to the wrong kind of people :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

Because we' re such two faced So and So's OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Do they? I got the impression by and large Irish people are wicked proud of their country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

I fcukin love it.
    Its possibly the only country in the world where you could give your local elected politician a boot in the arse and get away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

And a good mass, cant beat a good mass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

In before:

"Sheep"
    "Sheeple"
    "Raped"
    "Wake up"
    "Idiots"
    "Stupid public"

and

"Begrudgery"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

Its the Irish psyche we love to moan about stuff and particular Ireland itself..

But if your one of them there foreigners and you moan about Ireland, RUN :P:P:P:P:P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

This. We are only happy when we are miserable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

An Irish person isn't happy unless he is moaning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

I love Ireland

That is all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭ShiftStorm

There's nothing we like better than a good moan, throwing out some hyperbolic clichés when something bad happens. 'This country has gone to the dogs' and 'in my day...bla bla bla' But woe betide anyone from outside of Ireland who joins in. By god will we defend it then. Underneath it all, I reckon we love Ireland.

I personally love it anyway. I love the scenery, pubs, the sense of humour, the (general) lack of extreme weather/poisonous snakes & spiders, the weird nationwide affection for things like the Late Late Toy Show or Kimberley and Mikado biscuits that taste both stale and delicious at the same time... I remember when I lived abroad and being totally homesick and feeling really isolated, stuck at some sh1t soulless table quiz event and out of all the foreign voices speaking I heard a disgruntled, cranky little auld Dub muttering "c'mon we go home Maeve, I'm losin' the will to live here.."

Twas like healing balm to the soul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I wouldn't say I hate my country!

That's ridiculous....

But when you live abroad, you begin to see all the faults with your own country and the advantages of your adopted homeland.

I moved to Germany 4 years ago, and it was the best decision I've ever made. Life is far better here. Better food, better services, I find the conversations I have on a night out with other people to be much more fulfilling.

There is something else, something that I can't put my finger on that I prefer. I know when I go home at Christmas, I find myself rolling my eyes alot at the things people do and say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

I love our little country and wouldnt want to settle anywhere else. The Irish are the funniest people in the world imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

Irish people are brilliant, individually or in small groups. Collectively we're absolute morons though - far worse than any other nation for sheer stupidity. I think that might have something to do with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

WikiHow wrote: »
    We hate our country from eating carvery all the time, oh and rain.

And people who won't drive cars. That gets right up our left nostril, as a society like. :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭fundi

Jester252 wrote: »
    +1.

In Oz the natives there joke " how do you know when a plane load of people has arrived from Ireland?" Cos when they turn off the engines you can still hear the whining.

There is something else, something that I can't put my finger on that I prefer. I know when I go home at Christmas, I find myself rolling my eyes alot at the things people do and say.

I think that something is you being stuck up your own arse. I love going home and meeting people and having the best of craic with the lads. There is nothing better than a stomp around the pubs of Cork City and the banter to be had. If I landed home and started telling everyone how great London is and how they all bore me now that I'm sophisticated I'd be in receipt of a deserved clatter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

People think that begrudgery is an Irish trait, however it is said of the Czechs that if their neighbour gets a goat, they do not wish for a goat for themselves but simply wish that their neighbour's goat dies.

There is something else, something that I can't put my finger on

I'll show you EXACTLY what the issue is, because it's the same one I've got. It's summed up rather succinctly here:
    FTA69 wrote: »
    There is nothing better than a stomp around the pubs

Most other nationalities hit a point where they actually mature beyond "LETS GO TO THE PUB AND GET MOULDY!!!", Irish people don't seem to, and it gets a bit pathetic after a point

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

COYVB wrote: »
    I'll show you EXACTLY what the issue is, because it's the same one I've got. It's summed up rather succinctly here:

Most other nationalities hit a point where they actually mature beyond "LETS GO TO THE PUB AND GET MOULDY!!!", Irish people don't seem to, and it gets a bit pathetic after a point
    If you dont enjoy getting mouldy once in a while your doing it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I think everybody dislikes their own country somewhat - let's be honest, it is the one country we each know the most about.
    You won't find many Germans having a lot of good to say about Germany, you won't find many Polish, Turks, Australians etc. sing their countries praises when they're talking with compatriots. That's reserved strictly for talks with other nationals.

Jester252 wrote: »
    This. The Irish share a very similar sort of droll, dark humour with the Russians. I don't know what their excuse is, but here it has to do with John Charles McQuaid, the Famine, Public-Private Partnership, all this kind of thing. It's not that we dislike our country so much I think, more we dislike the fact that it could be so much more and better, but isn't.
    fundi wrote: »
    +1.
    In Oz the natives there joke " how do you know when a plane load of people has arrived from Ireland?" Cos when they turn off the engines you can still hear the whining.
    As far as I'm concerned the average Australian can pick something good and solid and take a flying furk at it.

jane82 wrote: »
    If you dont enjoy getting mouldy once in a while your doing it wrong.

Nothing wrong with once in a while at all. 60 times a year probably doesn't count as once in a while though

...I moved to Germany 4 years ago, and it was the best decision I've ever made. Life is far better here. Better food, better services, I find the conversations I have on a night out with other people to be much more fulfilling.

...Most other nationalities hit a point where they actually mature beyond "LETS GO TO THE PUB AND GET MOULDY!!!", Irish people don't seem to, and it gets a bit pathetic after a point

Cultural Hipsters!! I'll get the pitchforks... :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

We love a good moan alright. Especially about the English!!

Speaking of which. has anyone blamed the English yet??? ;)

OK I will then! :p

Its coz we spent 800 years hating how Ireland was during British rule etc etc, rabble rabble, and since its less than 100 years old in it current state, we're still in that frame of mind. We havent got used to owning our own country yet, and still see it as seperate/owned by others.

I wouldn't say I hate my country!

That's ridiculous....

But when you live abroad, you begin to see all the faults with your own country and the advantages of your adopted homeland.

I moved to Germany 4 years ago, and it was the best decision I've ever made. Life is far better here. Better food, better services, I find the conversations I have on a night out with other people to be much more fulfilling.

Ah did somebody get a hard time.

The_B_Man wrote: »
    and still see it as seperate/owned by others.

That'd be because it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Because it's terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

is something else, something that I can't put my finger on that I prefer. I know when I go home at Christmas, I find myself rolling my eyes alot at the things people do and say.

Maybe they're tired of the travel stories?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

That'd be because it is

Yawn. Nobody cares.

anncoates wrote: »
    Maybe they're tired of the travel stories?

2 posts. Both of them bashing Ireland to big up " where they live in Germany".
    Tsk tsk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Fascinating........... :rolleyes:

sniff sniff, re-reg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭mfergus

2 of the most ****ed up things in this country are:

A) The social welfare. Why bother working? Free house and medical card is the way forward.

B) legal system. Prisons full, criminals get free legal aid continuously just to be let out again to re offend...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

It's called cultural cringe. As a nation we've never really escaped the Big House mentality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Pretty much sums up my point. As soon as you in any way criticise Ireland or tell people you're happier abroad, they attack you.

mfergus wrote: »
    2 of the most ****ed up things in this country are:

A) The social welfare. Why bother working? Free house and medical card is the way forward.

B) legal system. Prisons full, criminals get free legal aid continuously just to be let out again to re offend...
    Great aul country isnt it. People moan about the fordinners coming in but in fairness to them its their taxes that keep us all on the in and out of prison dutch gold tuesday merry-go-round. Sure I get locked up whenever a new GTA comes out. Me ma cant badger me when Im in jail. Get a job blah blah blah. Shurup ma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭Franticfrank

As a guy who lives abroad, one thing I really hate about Ireland is the miles and miles of palisade fencing. The fact that nobody seems to even notice it or talk about it annoys me even more. It's literally everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Don't hate the country, just hate a share of the insufferable cnuts that live in it.

Eh no. Enjoying an evening out having pints with old friends isn't "pathetic" at all.

All joking aside I think Ireland is one of the few countries that isnt afraid to let its hair down and get a bit rat arsed now and again. Anybody thats seen a bunch of foeigners sitting in a pub trying to look cool and bookish will understand this.
    If you have a few too many at Bills funeral people might laugh but itll be forgotten as soon as your hangovers gone. In other countries your kids would need councilling for life because of how much of a raging alco you are. In this beautiful country its just called letting off a bit of steam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

Cos everywhere outside of Dublin and Wicklow is a hell-hole!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

If only the little people can stop moaning. Why can' t they just sit down and read the online media or traditional newspapers about the Beautiful People in Irish society, the rugby stars, and take FG / Lab official word as gospel. These restless little people are just pesky! They'rd always wanting a free can of coke, bag of crisps etc!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I don't hate it, but there are aspects to it I really dislike (gombeenism being the main one, also a culture of "It's everyone else's fault but not mine!") however there are aspects to it that I love too.
    Duggy747 wrote: »
    In before:

"Sheep"
    "Sheeple"
    "Raped"
    "Wake up"
    "Idiots"
    "Stupid public"

and

"Begrudgery"
    Drowned in a sea of "we".