Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Long wet hairs caught around my fingers that won't shake off. Eeeuwwww!

Emmmmmmm,

WHAT?

WHY?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

deise08 wrote: »
    Eating your dinner and finding yourself pulling a big long hair from your mouth, and its not yours!

Especially when you live on your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,801 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

When my veg gets stuck to my meat.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Internet video buffering.... i know its my broadband really but that doesn't make me want to fcuk the laptop at the wall any less!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,823 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Eating something and chomping down on the inside of your cheek.
    This results in that bit of cheek swelling a bit, eventually causing a sort of ridge so that from now on, when you eat, you nearly always chomp down on that ridge.

So the ridge gets a bit bigger and now it's a feckin obstacle course to get the food down your throat before you chew your cheeks into ribbons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

"reaction videos" on youtube. So someone watches a shocking video and then posts their reaction on youtube. Like - who the f*ck cares???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    Or just have a poo at Pauls

That that ad isn't on any more. It's one of the best ads ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭mymo

A cousin of mine saying "am'nt" amongst other stupid non words, and spelling that as "dat" and those as "dos" etc
    I'm not a grammar nazi, I don't mind spelling mistakes, but this girl passed her leaving cert!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

mymo wrote: »
    A cousin of mine saying "am'nt" amongst other stupid non words, and spelling that as "dat" and those as "dos" etc
    I'm not a grammar nazi, I don't mind spelling mistakes, but this girl passed her leaving cert!

Any time she uses dos ask her why she is talking about a command based operating system. Vista was bad and xp wont be supported for long but she doesnt need to go that far back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Laphroaig52

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Or call 'Emma'...:D ( that tv ad grates on me so much, I have no idea what brand it is for, I just know it is for toilet paper).

I like Emma.....and she could have done a lot better than that gobdaw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,668 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Was having a drink in an almost empty hotel, and another couple walked in and decided to sit themselves down at the next table.

Hello?
    Why not sit at one of the empty tables far away from us, and we can all have some privacy.

This happens all of the time and really annoys me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Was having a drink in an almost empty hotel, and another couple walked in and decided to sit themselves down at the next table.

Hello?
    Why not sit at one of the empty tables far away from us, and we can all have some privacy.

This happens all of the time and really annoys me.

They want to experiment i feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Those Irish water guys splattered their muck from the big hose thingy all over my front door !:P......ok bring it on everyone:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

The piercing, high pitched sound that comes from peoples hearing aid that the owners are too deaf to hear :(

People who are first to reply to a thread that answer with just the word "No" or "Yes" after te OP has asked a question encouraging debate. The driving thread being a case in point .Absolute thanks whores is what they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭salacious crumb

Sometimes a question only deserves a yes or no answer :pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,302 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Bath towels that rather than drying you off, just move the bloody water around on your body.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Wibbs wrote: »
    Bath towels that rather than drying you off, just move the bloody water around on your body.

That sounds like a curtain you are using:D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

Wibbs wrote: »

It could be down to the fabric conditioner you use. I remember seeing a study on one of those consumer show things that showed that fabric conditioners actually reduced the absorbency of towels. I never use conditioners on my washes and never have a problem with my towels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Just had the queue thing again (people from behind nudging me on) but this time the trivial annoyance became a real annoyance because I was queing to make a lodgment in the bank and was tyring to fill out a lodgement form but every time I stopped at one of the little tables to fill it out, some fuucker behind would start hovering as if they were gonna skip me. Fuuckers :(

quickbeam wrote: »
    It could be down to the fabric conditioner you use. I remember seeing a study on one of those consumer show things that showed that fabric conditioners actually reduced the absorbency of towels. I never use conditioners on my washes and never have a problem with my towels.

Yes. I love scratchy towels :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

This idea that Aldi/lidl are significantly cheaper than tesco/supervalu.

that annoys me. they're not, you might save a few quid, but then you dont have the choice of a full supermarket either. so the price of time/petrol to go to 2 shops or more, is way more.

Not sure how Aldi/Lidl have manufactured this, but its quite a coup. I did a price comparison of my weekly shop yesterday and tesco were price matched on literally every basic product. Couple that with the fact, that some aldi/lidl products are really not very good (all their slice pans/olives/pasta/sausage etc) and that their beef is more expensive than most butchers (rib eye for €27 a kilo!) and you get to where I am

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

that annoys me. they're not, you might save a few quid, but then you dont have the choice of a full supermarket either. so the price of time/petrol to go to 2 shops or more, is way more.

Not sure how Aldi/Lidl have manufactured this, but its quite a coup. I did a price comparison of my weekly shop yesterday and tesco were price matched on literally every basic product. Couple that with the fact, that some aldi/lidl products are really not very good (all their slice pans/olives/pasta/sausage etc) and that their beef is more expensive than most butchers (rib eye for €27 a kilo!) and you get to where I am

Are you in Tesco?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

gramar wrote: »
    Are you in Tesco?

Ha ha, no. Dont get me wrong I aint no Tesco fan, but this idea that you save shed loads of cash by shopping in lidl/aldi is just not correct. I dont eat much processed food, i.e. nothing frozen, prepared meals, snacks etc. so really mostly buy fresh and raw produce. And the savings for me, just arent there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Courier companies that give ambiguous information on their websites. How am I supposed to know where my parcel is if I don't understand your information? I don't know what 'curl' refers to:confused:. I don't know if my parcel is in Ireland or in some depot in Germany. Clear as mud DPD, clear as mud:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Warm Dutch gold, nodge burns in me trackie bottoms, da shades chasin us over nathin, getting arrested for nathin like havin a small knife, childrens allowance been every 2nd week when I only have tic til Friday, bad coke, gammy yokes, security guards, me parole officer, court, fightin travlers, getting boiers pregnant, goin to jail again, all annoy me tremendously but the thing that annoys me most is when daddy doesn't get to use his corporate box in the Aviva for the rugby and we have to sit with all the general rif raf in the general admission part of the stadium, yuk!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Burning toast.

I disagree. For me, a lot of their products are far superior - fruit, veg, cheese etc. I love Lidl olives especially the ones stuffed with amonds, and their wines are far better than what you would get for the equivalent sum in Tesco. Cepa Lebrel for example. €5.99 for the 2012 and it's amazing :P Tesco wine is overpriced plonk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

WikiHow wrote: »
    Burning toast.

Especially when it pops first time and it's nowhere near done, then you chuck it back in the toaster thinking 'right, I better keep my eye on this as next time it pops, it'll be black'...
    Then you forget about it / are busy with the frying pan, and ... *pop*
    'What's that burning smell? oh b*llox!!!!'

Does anyone have a toaster that toasts properly first time??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    I disagree. For me, a lot of their products are far superior - fruit, veg, cheese etc. I love Lidl olives especially the ones stuffed with amonds, and their wines are far better than what you would get for the equivalent sum in Tesco. Cepa Lebrel for example. €5.99 for the 2012 and it's amazing :P Tesco wine is overpriced plonk.

I agree with Johnny Fontana that I don't get the fuss over LIDL / ALDI, but your response brings up another trivial annoyance of mine.

When people justify the greatness of LIDL / ALDI by saying the meat is better than Tesco, or the wine is better than Tesco.
    Well yes, that may be true in your opinion, but it doesn't mean it's good. Go to a butcher, go to an off licence. Tesco is garbage for a lot of things.

LIDL may indeed have better circular saws than Tesco, doesn't mean they're good.