If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Official bitch about daily life in UL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭KerranJast

Lecturers that think you're only studying their module. I have several others too, go away with the insane workloads.
    There's few things more annoying than a lecturer constantly giving out that the whole class is 10 minutes late despite being told:
    a) the previous gob****e wouldn't let us leave until :59 past the hour
    b) that lecture was on the opposite side of the flipping campus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,577 ✭✭✭garv123

we had a module last semester with a project that was 12,000 words, with a final presentation.. the work load was so much for this module our supervisor had to cancel our FYP presentation before christmas because no one had any work done for it..

Most people doing the module are third year but there are a few 4th years and its a crazy workload in one semester on top of our FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭Beargrylls01

garv123 wrote: »
    we had a module last semester with a project that was 12,000 words, with a final presentation..

Do you mean, 14 a4 pages ? I wouldn't feel too worried about that to be honest.

No:rolleyes:

Try 60+.. with a lot of research and designing and making a model..

Our FYP had a 7.5-9K cap excluding appendices.. glad I only have to do 12 pages going by that comparison

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭Beargrylls01

garv123 wrote: »
    No:rolleyes:

Try 60+.. with a lot of research and designing and making a model..

How do you get 60 pages out of 12000 words, we had assignments that long in first semester of first year :) How was the fyp ? finished by the sounds of it ?

less than 500 words a page normally using the lectures 1.5 spacing and 12 Arial font with pics, graphs, charts, diagrams, solid works drawings etc.

Not done just yet. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Aragneer

Two words: Group assignments...

Grr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭Chavways

Does anyone have any idea what the hold up with exam rechecks is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭LilRedDorcha

Aragneer wrote: »
    Two words: Group assignments...

Grr.

We have a presentation on Monday. Had to boot someone from the group after them missing meetings, showing up late to the ones they did attend, and then telling us they'd be gone from Limerick between today and Monday morning when we have the damn thing.

Group work is the absolute worst thing in 4th year. Even my FYP isn't stressing me out as much as this stupid group thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

chrislad wrote: »
    Would ye seriously **** right off with your surveys?

I'd usually be the first to defend survey emails for FYPs, 'cos, y'know, they sort of need a wide group of responses, but jesus christ it's getting a little ridiculous at this stage. Unless I'm selectively forgetting, it seems worse this year than before.

How hard would it be set up some simple addresses and folders for the Studentmails? Like a fypsurveys@ul.ie or a lostandfound@ul.ie and make it easier for people to filter stuff... Genuinely, I'd be far more likely to do a few FYP surveys if they were in a little folder all together and waiting for me if I was ever bored as opposed to scattered in my inbox.

And I know I could move them to a folder like that manually, but... meh, effort. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Snapchat blocked on UL WiFi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭The Bogman

Seems to be like that for the last few days

Snapchat is just bolloxed the last few days in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,298 ✭✭✭freyners

The Bogman wrote: »
    Seems to be like that for the last few days

Yup, blocked

Cannot name names but there is a certain women emailing her fecking survey almost twice a day the last week, I was going to do it but with all the spam she can FRO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

It's pretty sad that the education office has to get involved in solving the "snapchat - issue".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Dante on Fire

Jester252 wrote: »
    It's pretty sad that the education office has to get involved in solving the "snapchat - issue".

Nope not a person to use the app I never saw the appeal what I was interested in was the possibility of blocking such apps (a similar issue has arisen for Spotify) without consultation with the student body.

Thankfully that is not the case but in previous years there have been requests to remove and block apps and websites to which ITD discuss with us beforehand.

What we wanted to ascertain was that they were compliant in that regard. So its not an issue of snapchat or anything its an issue of weather procedure was followed.

Its unfortunate you misinterpreted the reason for my interest in the issue.If you ever have difficulty understanding the reasoning behind your officers actions feel free to give us a shout. As you can gain from the above statement there's a lot of issues to take into account than what you see on the surface.

Paddy

Its unfortunate you misinterpreted the reason for my interest in the issue.If you ever have difficulty understanding the reasoning behind your officers actions feel free to give us a shout. As you can gain from the above statement there's a lot of issues to take into account than what you see on the surface.

Paddy

How did I misinterpreted?

Did you not get involved in the issue regarding Snap-Chat or as you called it "SnapChat-gate"?

In terms of the "its sad comment" You suggest that the issue of snapchat is beneath that of an officer whilst the underlying principals of social media and its availability to my students was the matter of importance and its possible removal on campus without discussion with the student body.

The term Snapchat gate used by me was a kickback to something like watergate or the recent "dog-gate" when there is an issue of controversy. I was contacted by some students so I put the feelers out last night and then had a look at it again today. You can see by the post I dont have a fondness for the app and would prefer students were studying (In order to pass their exams) but that's not the role of the officer the importance is to investigate blockage of any form of media social or otherwise without consultation. You can see by the sheer amount of people engaged with that post that it was a noticeable change in regular service thus important for us to clarify any changes made by ITD that may have led to it. Fortunately there has not been so it is a bigger issue than servers. Interesting to see students could use it outside though.

In terms of the "its sad comment" You suggest that the issue of snapchat is beneath that of an officer whilst the underlying principals of social media and its availability to my students was the matter of importance and its possible removal on campus without discussion with the student body.

I didn't suggest anything, you're the one who came up with the suggestion
    The term Snapchat gate used by me was a kickback to something like watergate or the recent "dog-gate" when there is an issue of controversy.

WOW I had no idea that sticking gate at the end of a word meant that there was a controversy, You must the first person to use it since 1972. Oh man all those cheap headlines that journalist missed out on.
    I was contacted by some students so I put the feelers out last night and then had a look at it again today. You can see by the post I dont have a fondness for the app and would prefer students were studying (In order to pass their exams) but that's not the role of the officer the importance is to investigate blockage of any form of media social or otherwise without consultation. You can see by the sheer amount of people engaged with that post that it was a noticeable change in regular service thus important for us to clarify any changes made by ITD that may have led to it. Fortunately there has not been so it is a bigger issue than servers. Interesting to see students could use it outside though.

Now if, like you, I where into reading suggestion, I would suspect that that part in bold might not be the best sound bite for the education officer.

As for the sheer 2.27% of student who like a status (giving you the advantage of rounding up to 250 and assume all who liked are current students). It doesn't seem so sheer now.

Well I'll let you do the math, More were involved than issues with trying to access their results

Is that something that you what to advertise?

Well its not some thing Im happy with.

Advertising it or not its the truth of the situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

What ever happened to a good old fashioned scandal? Drama over snapchat of all things! Back in my day things were much more exiting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Subutai

I disagree, it's important that the SU are vigilant about content being blocked without consultation.

Even if it was just about wanting Snapchat unblocked (I realise it wasn't actually ever blocked) it'd still be worthwhile from my perspective. I spend about 10 hours a day on campus and use snapchat as a way to communicate with my girlfriend who's abroad for the semester, it's just a nice little way of sending pictures of funny things we see and whatnot but it'd be a bummer if it were blocked on campus.

Well its not some thing Im happy with.

Advertising it or not its the truth of the situation

If that is the case are you now worried about the students lack of interest in their education?

I have always been and actively work on combating it.

How?

Academic help series,
    Study skills workshops
    One to one study management and effective learning methodology.
    Some are online based others are reactive to situations that come up when students drop into the office.
    Curriculum development
    The broadening the curriculum strategy

Loads more you can read all about it here:https://www.facebook.com/pages/ULSU-Education-Officer/184311771189

Academic help series,
    Study skills workshops
    One to one study management and effective learning methodology.
    Some are online based others are reactive to situations that come up when students drop into the office.
    Curriculum development
    The broadening the curriculum strategy

Loads more you can read all about it here:https://www.facebook.com/pages/ULSU-Education-Officer/184311771189

From reading the Facebook page, I haven't seen any event take place this semester. Unless I missed something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Cadroc

From reading the Facebook page, I haven't seen any event take place this semester. Unless I missed something

It's week 4... are you serious? The fact of the matter is it probably took 10 minutes of Paddy's time to deal with this issue, and if I remember rightly he asked the question on his personal page, in his own time (I could be misremembering here). He saw an issue, and he dealt with it promptly. If ITD suddenly took it into their own hands to decide what to block and what not to block without consulting the students, that would be a big issue. Thankfully it is not the case, but we would not have known that if Paddy had not acted on it.

As for their being no events so far this semester. As I said previously, it is week 4. Paddy more than likely is dealing with issues with FYP's, and other important issues that have a timeframe. I'm sure by the time week 13 comes around we'll have had plenty of time to judge him. But like him or not, he's done a bloody good job for the past two years. CSO... Not so much, but as Academics he's done exactly what the job needs.

And I will also point out that I voted for him neither year before you assume I'm some Rockett lover.