Blowing the Whistle on a drink driver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

OP are you the owner or manager of this pub? If you are then you definitely have a responsibility to stop serving him. For all you know the chap could be topping up on last nights skin full making him a ****ing danger to everyone he encounters on the roads. Otherwise, if you feel uncomfortable just make an anonymous call to the local gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Yes, I know 3 people killed over this. Such a waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Nothing bull about it. Every bar man in the country has seen this. Sometimes it's the batman who watched the DJ drink all night, then have a couple after work and then get in his car. One of a thousand examples.

I know it happens, but I'm having trouble believing that a barman would happily serve the same blind pensioner over a prolonged period knowing full well they were driving home passed schools etc, and then suddenly, one night while on AH, face the moral quandary of what he was doing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

jane82 wrote: »
    He drinks all that booze before lunchtime?

You seem suprised Jane? Have you ever been to Ireland before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭vepyewwo

Appleguy wrote: »
    So what do ya do?

Do i turn a blind eye, even though its going on every day?
    Do i report him even though its not my responsibility.

What would you do?

You're serving him everyday and then watching him head off to drive home knowing he is completely sh*tfaced and you somehow think this isn't your responsibility? WTF?

Think about how you'd feel if he killed someone on the way home. Of course you should report him (and stop serving him?). I'm shocked you would even have to question this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,871 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

He sounds like an old fker thats set in his ways, even if you did report him he'll move on and go somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭H2UMrsRobinson

Only in AH and Ireland would a bar man be to blame for someone being an alcoholic drink driver. Cop on people whatever happened to personal responsibility, yeh let's blame everyone else cos the bums not to blame eh.

To the OP I don't know what I would do either in your predicament. Just do what you think is the right thing and stand by your decision. Maybe look into what you should do in the eyes law and stay just the right side of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Next time he heads off drink-driving, run out from behind some bushes as he pulls off and bounce off the bonnet of his car. Lie on the ground writhing in agony for a fair while till the Gards come- win win really. You get to put a drunk driver off the road, you get monies and no-one will call you a grass. Simples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,203 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Only in AH and Ireland would a bar man be to blame for someone being an alcoholic drink driver. Cop on people whatever happened to personal responsibility, yeh let's blame everyone else cos the bums not to blame eh.

To the OP I don't know what I would do either in your predicament. Just do what you think is the right thing and stand by your decision. Maybe look into what you should do in the eyes law and stay just the right side of it.

Well from the below act, he is responsible, let's just hope the driver doesn't kill or seriously hurt anyone, imagine having that on your conscious...
    It is an offence under the 2003 Act to supply alcohol to a drunken person and to admit a drunken person to a bar. (A 'drunken person' is someone intoxicated to such a degree that they may endanger themselves or other people). Any licence holder that allows this to occur on their premises is liable on summary conviction to a class B fine for a first offence and a class A fine for any subsequent offence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Even in the 'halcyon' (:rolleyes:) days of drink driving, no sane publican with an ounce of cop on would have let a patron drive home in that state in broad daylight.

Nowadays, no one cares. Get them in, get the money off them, fcuk them out again. Anything happens, ah, shure that's someone else's problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

I've never reported anybody, in a working capacity for drink driving.

Some Facts:
    • He has been arrested before for drink driving but was not charged due to a technicality.
    • He drives past a school on the way home and usually around lunch hour when the kids are coming out.
    • He's the most obnoxious ****er you'll ever meet.

What would you do?

Alright so.

I'd say plenty of people you serve drive with a few pints & there seems to be no issue there.

You say you dislike this particular individual.

Just sayin...

I don't think anyone is blaming the OP, but if the same drunkard is returning to the same pub everyday and still getting served don't you think that the publican has a part to play?

You're suggesting the OP should get his boss to run out and bounce off the bonnet as well? That might look a bit fishy..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

It's ultimately the drink-driver's responsibility - I agree it's ridiculous the way people are going on as if it's only the barman's (but I don't think it's "only in Ireland" that people think this way; people seem to stick "Only in Ireland" in front of anything at all) but seeing as the barman is well aware of what the man will do, the decent thing to do would be to ask a manager to have a word with him.

I also disagree that nowadays nobody cares about patrons driving off pissed. The culture is, overall, profoundly against it.
    Jeez, when I think of the way my grandad used to carry on - stopping at pub after pub on a long drive. Likelihood of that today is miniscule.

I'd say plenty of people you serve drive with a few pints & there seems to be no issue there.
    But why do you say that? No evidence of it whatsoever.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Report him. Theres a reason why the limit is there and he's flagrantly Disregarding it.

Driving under the influence is akin to Randomly Shooting a handgun. Eventually you are going to hit someone, and kill them, or yourself.

Drink Drivers should be given Harsh punishments. Loosing a licence for a year or 2 isnt harsh enough.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

1 give them the drink till their addicted.
    2 see them spending money on a car.
    3 get rid of the car
    4 get all the money maybe even buy the car cheap.

Evil publicans.

But why do you say that? No evidence of it whatsoever.

He never felt the need to report anybody before.

He obviously does not like this particular customer.

Maybe the OP has an axe to grind with this bloke for a different reason.

jane82 wrote: »
    1 give them the drink till their addicted.
    2 see them spending money on a car.
    2a Bounce off bonnet of car on you and claim.
    3 get rid of the car
    4 get all the money maybe even buy the car cheap.

Evil publicans.

Very true.

You're suggesting the OP should get his boss to run out and bounce off the bonnet as well? That might look a bit fishy..

Wan out of that Stavros ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I also disagree that nowadays nobody cares about patrons driving off pissed. The culture is, overall, profoundly against it.

I take it you don't visit rural Ireland too much FF.

Happens as much now as ever it did, and with a much smaller chance of getting caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Freddy Smelly

Do i turn a blind eye, even though its going on every day?
    Do i report him even though its not my responsibility.

What would you do?

imagine that is your daughter/son/niece/nephew coming out of that school... imagine that drunk blind old codger milling that child over.

if you didn't report that person how would you be able to live your life after the accident?

he might be inconvenienced by losing his license but your daughter/son/niece/nephew will live to see another day.

he might be inconvenienced by losing his license but spending 10 years in jail for involuntary man-slaughter would be far worse. a 2 year ban is alot easier to do than a 10 year jail sentence plus life time of guilt.

think about it OP which is the lesser of 2 evils????? i know which one i'd choose

He never felt the need to report anybody before.

He obviously does not like this particular customer.
    Why are you so keen for this to be the case? :D

Why would he have felt the need to report anyone before? It's rare for people to drive home pissed during the day nowadays. I don't know what the searching for an agenda thing is about. Maybe he could have left out the bit about the guy being an obnoxious bollocks but the rest of it is perfectly legit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

its not as easy as you think,

to be fair i am in a similar predicament with an elderly relative, and her best friend who is her neighbour,

the relative is over 70, has light bleeding on the brain which comes across as memory loss on occasion but otherwise functions cognitively as she always has, she recently was giving out about 'another motorist driving dangerously' but her story didn't add up and the more information i got it was indeed her who was breaking the rules of the road, although in saying that she has never had an accident.

the neighbour (50 something year old), never held a licence, never taxes her car, doesn't have insurance...etc she has been stopped once or twice but calls her son in law who is a guard and is still driving around the local village to this day without any penalty. (albeit driving in the middle or right hand side of the road) in fact the elderly relative at least is a safer driver and thats saying something.

everytime i mention or even hint that nether of them should be behind the wheel, i get a torrent of abuse of how "its our only way of getting around" ...etc

(despite a reasonably great bus service in the area)

imo the Gardaí are to blame as although they can't be everywhere the fact people like the two above and in the op get away with it so often means they aren't checking in the right places for these people.

imagine that is your daughter/son/niece/nephew coming out of that school... imagine that drunk blind old codger milling that child over.

if you didn't report that person how would you be able to live your life after the accident?

he might be inconvenienced by losing his license but your daughter/son/niece/nephew will live to see another day.

he might be inconvenienced by losing his license but spending 10 years in jail for involuntary man-slaughter would be far worse. a 2 year ban is alot easier to do than a 10 year jail sentence plus life time of guilt.

think about it OP which is the lesser of 2 evils????? i know which one i'd choose

You should have added kittens - and nuns. None of this would happen if the OP manned the fcuk up and took a belt of a VW Jetta for the Team. Somebody think of the childer.

Why are you so keen for this to be the case? :D

Why would he have felt the need to report anyone before? It's rare for people to drive home pissed during the day nowadays. I don't know what the searching for an agenda thing is about. Maybe he could have left out the bit about the guy being an obnoxious bollocks but the rest of it is perfectly legit.

You don't know the scene as it is in rural Ireland.

Plenty of people drink & drive still.

I don't BTW, I have 6 pubs within staggering distance from me, if I could afford their prices.

Never take things at face value. People have grudges & can try to hang someone for a reason not connected to it.

Cos they sometimes see an oppertunity.

It might not be the case here, but no harm in raising the issue.

Do you know the OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

He's doing it multiple times.
    Just f**king report him.

It's not that hard; he already had a run in with the gardaí about it and he's still at it.

He got caught, got a second chance and still decided to say f**k it.

Regardless of it being debated if it's the OP's fault or not for serving him, it's still up to him to report someone like the driver. Nobody makes the best decisions when drunk but making a habbit out of driving when drunk is something really f**king stupid and you shuldb't be allowed to drive if you keep doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Freddy Smelly

hoodwinked wrote: »

the neighbour (50 something year old), never held a licence, never taxes her car, doesn't have insurance...etc she has been stopped once or twice but calls her son in law who is a guard and is still driving around the local village to this day without any penalty. (albeit driving in the middle or right hand side of the road) in fact the elderly relative at least is a safer driver and thats saying something.

read the news lately? cops cannot get you off anymore... ombudsman is down on them like a ton of bricks these days

You don't know the scene as it is in rural Ireland.

Plenty of people drink & drive still.

I don't BTW, I have 6 pubs within staggering distance from me, if I could afford their prices.

Never take things at face value. People have grudges & can try to hang someone for a reason not connected to it.

Cos they can.

It might not be the case here, but no harm in raising the issue.

Do you know the OP?
    Shur you could ask that about any person who posts anything. Not sure why you're randomly zoning in on this and deciding stuff you've little to no reason for deciding. With an internet post there's nothing wrong with taking things at face value.
    You might be right, but you've no real reason for such suspicion.

Some people do drink and drive, but getting pissed and driving is another matter.

read the news lately? cops cannot get you off anymore... ombudsman is down on them like a ton of bricks these days

That must be bugging them no end.