The D4 Media/ Posh Boys and Irish Rugby – Spoon feeding the masses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭cunnifferous

smcgiff wrote: »
    Just because people don't play it doesn't mean they can't appreciate it.

How many professional female soccer/top GAA players do you know? So, that's 50% of the population disenfranchised.

Rugby gets the attention it deserves. A tough, manly game with no players rolling on the ground like sissys if they get their ankle tapped.

I don't mind rugby, wouldn't be my favorite sport but I still watch a good bit of it. One of the most annoying things is this kind of condesending attitude of some (not all) rubgy supporters who feed the need to assert rugby is the greatest sport above all others and any other sport that doesn't have 18st men crashing into eachother is for 'sissys'. If you want to judge a sport by the amount of physical contact in it then surely freestyle wresting, judo or mma are 'better' sports.

As for 'rolling on the ground like sissys' I presume you are referring to Ronaldo et al. Cheating happens in all sports, it's detestable but it's just a fact of life unfortunately. I mean no one touched Tom Williams and he had 'blood' pouring out of his mouth but I wouldn't condemn all rubgy players as cheats and sissys because of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

I don't mind rugby, wouldn't be my favorite sport but I still watch a good bit of it. One of the most annoying things is this kind of condesending attitude of some (not all) rubgy supporters who feed the need to assert rugby is the greatest sport above all others and any other sport that doesn't have 18st men crashing into eachother is for 'sissys'. If you want to judge a sport by the amount of physical contact in it then surely freestyle wresting, judo or mma are 'better' sports.

As for 'rolling on the ground like sissys' I presume you are referring to Ronaldo et al. Cheating happens in all sports, it's detestable but it's just a fact of life unfortunately. I mean no one touched Tom Williams and he had 'blood' pouring out of his mouth but I wouldn't condemn all rubgy players as cheats and sissys because of this.
    Hardly I'd consider myself a big rugby fan played it in School and all but Hurling and Football are seriously physical games. I don't think anyone could call them sissy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

This thread is actually ridiculous, OP posts on during the biggest tournament (The average number of viewers between the Six Nations in 75 - 80 million people) in the rugby calendar for the NH (apart from the WC) and says there is to much coverage of rugby.

I could turn around and say the same thing about GAA in September but you know what I don't give a f*** what you watch or read.

You could play tiddlywinks and I would say if that's what you enjoy doing and reading about then fire away. If the news covers the Annual World Championship Of Tiddlywinks Grand Masters and I don't care for it I more than likely wont give a second thought to not watching it.

TV and Papers would put pictures of dead kittens in the media if that's what got them viewers or sold papers and at the moment during one of the big sporting events of the year it happens to be rugby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

sullivlo wrote: »
    I'm female. Catholic (seeing how it's important to my ability to follow a sport).

From the northside. Not anywhere fancy. Working class.

I play rugby. I follow rugby. I have a Leinster season ticket.

It's not only the d4 boys.

I follow Leinster and Ireland. I like to see the other provinces do well. Irish provinces are made up of Irish players mostly. The Irish team are Irish lads. The same cannot be said for the soccer team.

Somewhere my head is screaming at me that the OP (& others on this thread) think that we are losing out on seeing coverage of the English premier league in the media. Liverpool? Man united? Bandwagon man city and chelski fans?

I also follow league of Ireland soccer. Not much in the news about that.

If you don't like reading about rugby, don't read the pages!

In all team sports it is part of the managers job to field, what they believe, is the best possible team of players. This comment is irrelevant in my view. English and Scottish players are selected for our national team because the management deem them to be best player available in that particular position. Its simply using the rules to the teams benefit. Nothing sinister in it. Why it was necessary to make that comment in a thread about rugby is not clear to me. Particularly when you say you are a soccer fan yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

Replace the following;
    Hurling with 6 nations
    Counties with countries
    Marty Morrissey with Ryle Nugent

Live and let live!

Fair enough - good post. Up the Dubs!

calfmuscle wrote: »
    To have have qualified to enter that race the horses must be very talented. That's why Cheltenham is special you get the best of the best running Nd riding against each other!

Back on topic, Im catholic middle income, public schooled and play rugby - bloody well love stepping out on the pitch every weekend!!

Sure why would you not want to watch people tackling!! The physicality of rugby appeals to a lot of viewers.

While physicality may appeal to some viewers, shows of skills in sports that are non physical can be appreciated nonetheless. For example anyone who plays golf regularly can testify to the fact that it is a really difficult game and can appreciate players that ply to a really high level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

In all team sports it is part of the managers job to field, what they believe, is the best possible team of players. This comment is irrelevant in my view. English and Scottish players are selected for our national team because the management deem them to be best player available in that particular position. Its simply using the rules to the teams benefit. Nothing sinister in it. Why it was necessary to make that comment in a thread about rugby is not clear to me. Particularly when you say you are a soccer fan yourself.

Why is it relevant to mention religion when it comes to following a sport?

I was referring to someone who said that rugby was a west-Brit sport and questioned the nationality of certain players on the Irish rugby team as they are from the 6 counties. Tbh I couldn't care less where people are born. If they consider themselves Irish fire away! Sure Ronan O'Gara is from California. Jamie Heaslip is from Israel. Joe Schmidt is from New Zealand!

Oh and it was to query people following English soccer teams too and then complaining that rugby is a foreign sport.

Why is it relevant to mention religion when it comes to following a sport?

I was referring to someone who said that rugby was a west-Brit sport and questioned the nationality of certain players on the Irish rugby team as they are from the 6 counties. Tbh I couldn't care less where people are born. If they consider themselves Irish fire away! Sure Ronan O'Gara is from California. Jamie Heaslip is from Israel. Joe Schmidt is from New Zealand!

Oh and it was to query people following English soccer teams too and then complaining that rugby is a foreign sport.

sorry. I didn't refer to the original comment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

HooohRaaah wrote: »
    The rugby atmosphere is manufactured. Music after tries and conversions. Free flags left on seats etc. Brutal stuff.

Ah here now.....just not true. Not all rugby takes place in the Aviva!

While physicality may appeal to some viewers, shows of skills in sports that are non physical can be appreciated nonetheless. For example anyone who plays golf regularly can testify to the fact that it is a really difficult game and can appreciate players that ply to a really high level.

Rugby can be quite technical too. It's not just a bish bash bosh job. Scrums, line outs, rucks, mauls, tackling, kicking, catching all require skills.

But nothing like golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,768 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Wales and France have by far the best atmosphere for Rugby games I have been to.

The Old Lansdowne Road was 100 times better atmosphere then the new one. Same for Football.

I remember being young lad at Lansdowne when beating England in 1993 ground was shaking that day, like 2001 also. Remember giving France huge game for 60 minutes around 1997 and atmosphere was immense till France pulled away near end.

EVENFLOW

Rugby can be quite technical too. It's not just a bish bash bosh job. Scrums, line outs, rucks, mauls, tackling, kicking, catching all require skills.

But nothing like golf.

All sports have their own technical components.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Wales and France have by far the best atmosphere for Rugby games I have been to.

The Heineken Cup Final I attended at the Millenium Stadium with roof closed was an absolutely fantastic affair..

The France vs All Blacks in the same venue in RWC07 was probably the best I have ever experienced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭Plates

I haven't read all the posts but is this thread simply a bit of class bashing with some over the top stereotypes thrown in for good measure?

All sports have their own technical components.

Yeah, they do. It was referring to a post on how rugby requires no skill.

Can't do multiquote on my phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,349 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

But nothing like golf.

I don’t doubt the technical skills needed for Golf but I don’t think it’s fair to compare them with sports that require people to be technical in a variety of vastly different areas, using different parts of the body.

The idea of thread is a so stupid, ‘how dare any other sports be in the media besides the ones I like’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭MICKEYG

Foxtrol wrote: »
    The idea of thread is a so stupid, ‘how dare any other sports be in the media besides the ones I like’.

I don't think OP was saying that. I think his point was the disproportionate amount of attention it is given.

MICKEYG wrote: »
    I don't think OP was saying that. I think his point was the disproportionate amount of attention it is given.

No Irish professional sports come close to the same attendance/viewing figures and it doesn’t really clash with high GAA season so there’s space to fill. If you look at the amount of press given over to leagues based in other countries (EPL) I don’t think out of proportion at all.

It’s just down to the fact that they don’t like the sport so notice a lot more when there’s media focus on it. I never got into GAA and because I’m not interested in it I notice how much media attention it gets because I’ve to skip the page, change the channel than someone who is interested in it. I’m however not going to come on here and have a moan that the media are talking about it, they wouldn’t be showing/printing stuff on the sport if there wasn’t a demand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,608 ✭✭✭bennyl10

HooohRaaah wrote: »
    The rugby atmosphere is manufactured. Music after tries and conversions. Free flags left on seats etc. Brutal stuff.

Come to thomond for a heineken game then say that...
    Not everywhere is the Aviva

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

There will always be pissing contests, especially among men when it comes to different sports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,871 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

You will never be able to play sides with a rugby ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

I couldn't care what school the players go to not in the slightest and i admire people that dedicate themselves to things and excel in them, i also admire people who rain or shine will be in the stands cheering on their teams regardless of the sport. My main problem with Rugby are two types of people who it attracts.
    1 The clueless Female rugger hugger fan who actually know **** all about the sport but watch because they fancy some of the players, They also denigrate other sports and athletes calling them not real men ect When actually they haven't a ****ing clue about the sports they are judging as being lesser, There is a definate element of saying they follow rugby because it's the "in thing atm"

2 The career climbing **** who fake an interest in Rugby to appear upper class or elite in reality they haven't a notion of the game and likely can only name the international players, They than go to games hardly watch the thing and spend half the time at the bar talking **** trying to suck up to the company executive ect.
    Rugby can be a very good game and has some real fans who love and follow the game, but their is an element were people praise it ect to gain credibility socially and in reality if the Irish team fell way down in quality they would be nowhere to be seen. I think it's fair to say with things like GAA and Soccert ATM their are far less people feigning interest, the people who go to GAA matches are doing so to see the game and because they like the sport that isn't the case IMO with a section of Rugby so called fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

I couldn't care what school the players go to not in the slightest and i admire people that dedicate themselves to things and excel in them, i also admire people who rain or shine will be in the stands cheering on their teams regardless of the sport. My main problem with Rugby are two types of people who it attracts.
    1 The clueless Female rugger hugger fan who actually know **** all about the sport but watch because they fancy some of the players, They also denigrate other sports and athletes calling them not real men ect When actually they haven't a ****ing clue about the sports they are judging as being lesser, There is a definate element of saying they follow rugby because it's the "in thing atm"

2 The career climbing **** who fake an interest in Rugby to appear upper class or elite in reality they haven't a notion of the game and likely can only name the international players, They than go to games hardly watch the thing and spend half the time at the bar talking **** trying to suck up to the company executive ect.
    Rugby can be a very good game and has some real fans who love and follow the game, but their is an element were people praise it ect to gain credibility socially and in reality if the Irish team fell way down in quality they would be nowhere to be seen. I think it's fair to say with things like GAA and Soccert ATM their are far less people feigning interest, the people who go to GAA matches are doing so to see the game and because they like the sport that isn't the case IMO with a section of Rugby so called fans.
    On number 1. That's the case with all the big sports. You can regularly see people like at inter county hurling/gaelic/soccer games.
    Soccer gets the same. GAA gets the same. Depends on the time and whats going on with chosen side at the time. ie soccer euro 2012, in different countys at all Ireland final time.
    There is a section who attend all the big games in each of soccer/rugby/hurling/gaelic who go to games feign interest/women to look at players/and on...

They both happen in both soccer and GAA very regularly. You see both sets of those characters when it comes to all Ireland time and the same when Ireland get into a major championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

I think it's fair to say with things like GAA and Soccert ATM their are far less people feigning interest, the people who go to GAA matches are doing so to see the game and because they like the sport that isn't the case IMO with a section of Rugby so called fans.

I agree with you to an extent but you get that in all sports.

I remember being at the 2006 Mayo Kerry All-Ireland final in the premium section and after about 20 mins the girl in front of us turned to her boyfriend and asked which of the teams was Mayo.

Mayo were about 10 points down...if she knew anything about gaelic football she'd have know that Mayo were the team doing their usual and getting their asses kicked on final day :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭conor1979

MICKEYG wrote: »

How does it get a disproportionate amount of attention?

If nobody wanted to watch it then it would not be in the interest of tv stations to put it on the telly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭OhHiMark

fatbhoy wrote: »
    I agree with most of what you wrote, except that I wouldn't put myself in the "we as a nation ... are sucking it all up" bracket. In fact, I despise the game, the people who play it, and the people who follow it.

That's pretty ironic coming from a Celtic fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,145 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

bennyl10 wrote: »
    Come to thomond for a heineken game then say that...
    Not everywhere is the Aviva

Maybe a few years ago, its like a ****en britney spears concert these days. There was always an atmosphere at Thomand park. I dont know why they felt they needed to create a fake one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,304 ✭✭✭✭K-9

So much of Irish sport attendances are event junkies though, Euro 2012 for me would probably be a better example than rugby, rugby internationals always had big crowds and big exposure in the Sunday newspapers in the late 80's and 90's when things weren't so good.

Rugby caters for them with the provincial sides, they'd have got a few thousand back in the day of inter provincials. As somebody else mentioned it is effecting clubs and the same is happening in Wales.

I'd have to agree this golden generation of players has under achieved, I haven't seen any good post to say they haven't, just scoffing and dismissals.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭stretchdoe

There's no doubt that rugby is a small, fringe, minority sport in world terms.

It's unknown in the vast majority of countries on earth and is well down the pecking order of sports popularity in the few countries it has any relevance in.

It's also something of a minority sport in this country in terms of participation numbers, number of clubs etc.

People's opinion of the sport is irrelevant as it relates to the question at hand, which is if it gets a level of media attention in this country disproportionate to its popularity.

The answer is clearly yes, and the fact that many of those commenting here consider it a big world sport and seem to think that it's an amazing achievement for the Irish team to reasonably compete against relatively little competition is evidence of that.

That's just to address the question at hand and not to criticise Irish rugby/the Irish rugby team who i enjoy watching and wish well.