Do you have a stoner ruining your life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭denhaagenite

david75 wrote: »
    Just realising it.
    I'm enabling. If there's no toilet paper, I buy it. If the electric toothbrushes are dead after him using them, I plug them in. Yadda yadda etc

Sure that happens in my house all the time and my fella's lovely. Just leave him and take the dog with you, if he's that lazy he won't fight you on it. You don't even like the guy, have you 2 bedrooms in the place? Could it be a house share situation easily?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

Move house, leave him.

They calL it "DOPE" for a reason. I've come across loads of dopes in my time, your fella sounds like one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Ugh, nothing worse than someone whinging at you when you're stoned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

The only person you can blame for the decisions you do or don't make is yourself.
    Like the OP's partner who's smoking too much weed and is supposed to be in a partnership with the OP but is making virtually no effort?

Saying the OP only has himself to blame is nuts! The same people would be going on about personal responsibility... which in this case lies with the guy using too much cannabis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

Seems to be a really divisive topic. Never was able to stomach regular users patronising and condescending of anyone who speaks out against it though. They're usually the most vociferous.
    This is it. All you'll get here from the regular users are snide remarks about being a 'narc.' Honest to fcuk.

Leave yer man and the rest of them to smoke their 'doob.' :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭denhaagenite

This is it. All you'll get here from the regular users are snide remarks about being a 'narc.' Honest to fcuk.

Leave yer man and the rest of them to smoke their 'doob.' :rolleyes:

We don't smoke but know people who do and still manage to buy bog roll for themselves...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

All of this negativity is wrecking my buzz.

We don't smoke but know people who do and still manage to buy bog roll for themselves...

Rizla is much better for rolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

I smoked a fair amount for years and didn't realise the effect it was having on me until I stopped. I was constantly tired, not arsed doing even the simplist of tasks , couldn't manage my finances correctly , spent too much money on it , skin was in bits , mind was ****ed and it's a cycle you end up thinking that's the way you are and the weed is helping you 'relax' or whatever and I was a serious preacher of all this.

Then I stopped for a few days , can't remember why but as the days passed I stopped craving it, I dind't smoke it for two weeks and then had a joint and had a really bad turn off it, paranoia , sweating etc so I gave it up completely..

Best thing that ever happend to me, with in a few weeks I realised it wasn't me as a person it was my choice's as a person to smoke weed. My health improves, I realised I wasn't stupid or forgetfull after all , huge improvement in my work and timekeeping , I got promoted 6 month's later , I had energy again , I went back to football , I fixed the house up , I started a savings account , I focused more time on my girlfriend , I became a father....

I could go on but to anyone who think's smoking 5 joints a day is not effecting you....it is and that's a fact. Don't believe me? Try give it up for a month or two.

I'll still have a toke once or twice a year if it's going in the right place at the right time but could never go back to where I was 5 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

At least he's not using you for rent. I'd be far more forgiving of someone's laziness than I would of someone using their partner or friend for rent...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

It gets delivered. To our door. I'm not joking. By my mates husband.

Ok I have not read all this thread but can I just ask;
    David75, are you a man?
    OH, is "himself" a man?
    Mate above, is he a man?
    Mate's husband, I presume a man?

Oh man.

Sure...laziness didn't even exist before weed.

Sure...inconsiderate partners didn't even exist before weed.

Etc.

Ban weed! Oh wait...

Irishcrx wrote: »
    I smoked a fair amount for years and didn't realise the effect it was having on me until I stopped. I was constantly tired, not arsed doing even the simplist of tasks , couldn't manage my finances correctly , spent too much money on it , skin was in bits , mind was ****ed and it's a cycle you end up thinking that's the way you are and the weed is helping you 'relax' or whatever and I was a serious preacher of all this.

Then I stopped for a few days , can't remember why but as the days passed I stopped craving it, I dind't smoke it for two weeks and then had a joint and had a really bad turn off it, paranoia , sweating etc so I gave it up completely..

Best thing that ever happend to me, with in a few weeks I realised it wasn't me as a person it was my choice's as a person to smoke weed. My health improves, I realised I wasn't stupid or forgetfull after all , huge improvement in my work and timekeeping , I got promoted 6 month's later , I had energy again , I went back to football , I fixed the house up , I started a savings account , I focused more time on my girlfriend , I became a father....

I could go on but to anyone who think's smoking 5 joints a day is not effecting you....it is and that's a fact. Don't believe me? Try give it up for a month or two.

I'll still have a toke once or twice a year if it's going in the right place at the right time but could never go back to where I was 5 years ago.

What were you smoking? ****ty hash?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    Sure...laziness didn't even exist before weed.

Sure...inconsiderate partners didn't even exist before weed.

Etc.

Ban weed! Oh wait...

Enormous striding leaps of logic there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Dude, just leave the guy. No amount of cajoling will change someone like that, all you're doing by staying there is enabling his behaviour. Sure what possible incentive does he have to change when you're there to keep the household running ?

People like that need to be left alone to wallow in their own filth until they hit rock bottom and hopefully get a wake-up call and turn their lives around.

Relationship-wise, it doesnt sound like there's much there to salvage anyway. As others have said, it's not exactly admirable on your part to be just staying with him for rent - just move elsewhere - a houseshare / flatshare, and move on with you life.

Enormous striding leaps of logic there.

and what i've said is different to those blaming weed for laziness...how?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Smoking weed leads to people saying things like

"Heyyyy maann ... chill out ... your wreckin me buzz"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

Just like to point out that there are plenty of people out there who enjoy a regular smoke and still maintain the cop on to have some sort of life.

This thread seems to forget about those people. Those that MODERATE their use.

So, please take into account people like me who have been smoking daily for the last two years and still managed to graduate from college just fine. I get up in the A.M, go do all the life stuff for the day and that evening, I sit down, roll a smoke and unwind before bed.

Please quit with the 'all stoners are completely useless and it's the worst drug in the world and they cannot even wipe their own arse... (worse than heroin? yeah right, you don't know many junkies do you?)

It ain't harmless, I fully agree. Excessive smoking is not the way to go. Overindulgence in anything is not the way to go.

It contributes to a cycle that people get into. But it's not the sole problem. And just because it makes people lazy in your personal experience doesn't really give you the right to get out your brush and paint every smoker as useless. It's just not true..

I know alcoholics that are lazy *****, I know plenty of people who have never smoked weed that are lazy *****. How do you explain them?

Anyway, don't let lazy people hold you back. Move on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

He's dependent on a drug. One that sucks the vim, pep and soul out of regular users. What makes it all the more tragic is that stoners believe that their choice of drug is somehow a harmless one. 'But no one ever has died from smoking weed' is one of the good ones. Neither has LSD. They argue for the virtues of their vice with all the indignation of a bible basher.

Stoners are the most lucid argument against the legalisation of that most nefarious and subtly sinister of drugs.
    What a complete piece of literary horse dung :rolleyes:

I'm a 30 year stoner & get more done after a smoke than most would sober.

I'm full of vim & pep (who the fook uses words like this?) & my soul is remarkably intact for a regular user, thank you very much.

Not going to bother arguing the virtues of a little Mary Jane with you or anyone else, as you're obviously a complete prohibitionist with a narrow view of this 'vice' (never ceases to amaze me how non-tokers are so concerned for my health & welfare) & it's been done to death here so many times now, even I'm bored of it.

NEWS FLASH...most of us stoners really don't give a fiddlers fook about non-tokers opinions on the subject matter either way, get over it & yourselves ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,554 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

jesus christ stoners are sensitive as **** about their little habit aren't they

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    What were you smoking? ****ty hash?

Nop, didn't smoke Hash just weed and it wdas quality stuff. TBH I even grew it for a couple of years. That's just how it effected me in the end, everyone is different.

But out of the group of say 10 of us that smoked together back then, only 2 still smoke on a regular basis and 5 of them had the same experience with me where it eventually took a turn on them and none of look back and say we regret stopping, neither do we say that we would change the fun we had while we did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

MonstaMash wrote: »

I'm a 30 year stoner & get more done after a smoke than most would sober.

I'm full of vim & pep (who the fook uses words like this?) & my soul is remarkably intact for a regular user, thank you very much.

Not going to bother arguing the virtues of a little Mary Jane with you or anyone else, as you're obviously a complete prohibitionist with a narrow view of this 'vice' (never ceases to amaze me how non-tokers are so concerned for my health & welfare) & it's been done to death here so many times now, even I'm bored of it.

NEWS FLASH...most of us stoners really don't give a fiddlers fook about non-tokers opinions on the subject matter either way, get over it & yourselves ;)

Looking at his post count and his posting style, it all points to a banned rereg troll............. I have a fair Idea who it is too.
    Sad.

MonstaMash wrote: »

I also resent his flippant and misinformed comment about LSD. Without turning this thread into a drug debate, i'd like to call him out on this - he knows very little about the benefits of psychedelic drugs. Used correctly, they can have life changing effects. For the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭conorhal

Aren't they just? Dependency and denial tend to go hand in hand.

Now I'm not adverse to a bit of a shmoke, but even I recognise that with heavy usage comes a degree of inertia and demotivation, suggesting that it doesn't is a bit like saying alcohol has nothing to do with ending up face down on the floor with a load in your pants after drinking yourself into a stupor.

That said, the fact that he's a tosser is not exclusive to people with a drug habit, but you can gaurentee that one will surely exacerbate the other.

Apparently just as sensitive as non-tokers are about our use of it...'tis called personal choice :rolleyes:

We enjoy a toke, there are lots that don't...

We don't go around enforcing our opinions of the benefits of it to non-tokers, but sure ye are always quick to point out to us how bad it is for us, blah, blah, blah...

Fook off & leave us be to enjoy it in peace & you do what ever you're into...simples (comments not directed specifically to Sir Digby Chicken Caesar ;))

mikom wrote: »
    Looking at his post count and his posting style, it all points to a banned rereg troll............. I have a fair Idea who it is too.
    Sad.
    Not a banned re-reg troll mikom, just my opinion to which I am entitled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

Very sensitive nipples on them. Yeah man, 'da doob' gives me herculean strength, better erections and x-ray vision. How dare you say anything bad against it??

That joke is getting fcuking old. ;)
    Sad.
    Very paranoid post there. Lay off 'da chronic.'

Sad.

From Wikipedia -

"An ad hominem (Latin for "to the man" or "to the person"), short for argumentum ad hominem, is a general category of fallacies in which a claim or argument is rejected on the basis of some irrelevant fact about the author of or the person presenting the claim or argument."

Not sad, just hilarious that you'd focus on insulting the poster rather than addressing the contents of his/her post.

Now that's lazy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭emmabrighton

Leave him and sublet the second room, or if its a one bed apartment, then leave him and moved into shared accommodation. Simples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,948 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Like the OP's partner who's smoking too much weed and is supposed to be in a partnership with the OP but is making virtually no effort?

Saying the OP only has himself to blame is nuts! The same people would be going on about personal responsibility... which in this case lies with the guy using too much cannabis.

I didn't say the OP only has himself to blame.

His choices are to stay and put up with someone who isn't going to change or go annd be happier beiung rid of someone that they don't like.

If he stays, then he can't really complain because he's kept himself in the situation.

The stoner is responsible for what they do. They're not responsible for whether or not the OP stays or goes/moves the stoner out.