Psni enter Donegal

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,163 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

anncoates wrote: »
    In addition, why would anybody willingly enter Donegal anyway.

Da wiminz obviously. Dem wee Donegal lasses are purty. And that accent...

Back on topic: I'll vote for the next man who tells Cllr whatshisface that he is an idiot and needs to shut up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Baneblade

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    And a Garda Car has never entered Northern Ireland?

we're good enough not to get caught :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

You know I haven't actually ever heard nor can find a link on Google of a Garda car entering the north..
    In all honesty though, who gives a flying fck??
    The country is being battered by its 10th storm or something and this gob****e is worried of a poxy ice cream van that entered the South and then turned back.
    Feck the Al Qaeda lads, we've got renegade PSNI!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

bear1 wrote: »
    You know I haven't actually ever heard nor can find a link on Google of a Garda car entering the north..
    In all honesty though, who gives a flying fck??
    The country is being battered by its 10th storm or something and this gob****e is worried of a poxy ice cream van that entered the South and then turned back.
    Feck the Al Qaeda lads, we've got renegade PSNI!!!

Is there a better KFC or Spar over the border ?

If not, I can't see a reason the Gardai would have a need to go there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭Auldloon

That border is a joke. When I drove me diesel truck sure I used be back and over all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Can't see the problem if they're just driving on the roads. Now if they set up a checkpoint and start full cavity searchs, I'm sure that might be a no no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

I've heard stories, maybe apocryphal, of Gardai and/or RUC (back in the day) getting out of vehicles, climbing over gates and checking the tags on the ears of cattle to see where they are in relation to the border...

If there's no harm meant, there's no harm done. I wonder do the Gardai/PSNI have protocols for "hot pursuits". It seems the only people benefiting from the border now are "republican" criminals involved in smuggling, robberies and shooting unarmed Gardai. The PSNI can chase them all the way to Dingle (and vice-versa) for all I care, to catch scumbags.

Plazaman wrote: »
    Can't see the problem if they're just driving on the roads. Now if they set up a checkpoint and start full cavity searchs, I'm sure that might be a no no.

Hasn't that happened as well?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/hasty-retreat-for-psni-checkpoint-charlies-26645996.html

Geography obviously not a strong point for these lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭stoneill

Hasn't that happened as well?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/hasty-retreat-for-psni-checkpoint-charlies-26645996.html

Geography obviously not a strong point for these lads

See the date?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I've heard stories, maybe apocryphal, of Gardai and/or RUC (back in the day) getting out of vehicles, climbing over gates and checking the tags on the ears of cattle to see where they are in relation to the border...

If there's no harm meant, there's no harm done. I wonder do the Gardai/PSNI have protocols for "hot pursuits". It seems the only people benefiting from the border now are "republican" criminals involved in smuggling, robberies and shooting unarmed Gardai. The PSNI can chase them all the way to Dingle (and vice-versa) for all I care, to catch scumbags.

Cattle can 'inadvertingly' cross borders too. ;)

It happened all the time, still does, the only difference this time is it was caught by an eejit with a camera and hijacked by an eejit with a 'bottom line'

stoneill wrote: »
    See the date?

Hasn't that happened as well

Implies that it is in the past ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Zambia wrote: »
    Some body somewhere voted for that eejit.

It's scary to think there are that many people out there willing to vote for a clown like that. He's the most ignorant bad mannered ill educated idiot ever to enter politics in this county IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

On Aprils fools day?

=-=

Through NI; http://goo.gl/maps/gtIK0

Around NI; http://goo.gl/maps/5Egfz

The only way the "long way around" is faster, is if going from Newry to Enniskillien, then going along the A28 and A4 is faster than going via Monaghan. Also cos the backroads in Monaghan are badly signed (as I found out).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

See the date?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

This is obviously a probing attack to judge response times expect a full advance soon!

I stand corrected... excuse me lads :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,632 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

MarkR wrote: »
    Maybe they wanted some tayto sandwiches with red lemonade to wash it down?

Football special FTW :D

Cannot - absolutely cannot - believe that that fool is making an issue (an international one, at that) of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

It happens all the time that either force crosses accidentally. It's rare this time that it happened in a populated town and not some back road.

It's such a non story that was first picked up by a local "news website" which in the past had it's main story of a woman who double parked to go to a bank machine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭martic

Forget the dissident threat, there was snow on the ground and not 1 snowball was thrown at the landrover, what has happened our youth

I'd would have been an epic picture if a Garda car had pulled it over :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

MarkR wrote: »
    Maybe they wanted some tayto sandwiches with red lemonade to wash it down?

They do sell those products in northern ireland too you know, believe it or not you even can get red lemonade in england

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

orangesoda wrote: »
    They do sell those products in northern ireland too you know, believe it or not you even can get red lemonade in england

They're not proper Tayto though. They come in a funny pack, I think the Cheese & Onion is blue, which is clearly WRONG and the colour of salt and vinegar.

And they don't taste right either. Again, probably because of the packaging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It's very easy to cross the N.I border without realising it. It happened to me last year, it was the sign posts in MPH that gave it away I didn't see any big sign saying "you are now entering N.I" or anything of the sort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

They're not proper Tayto though. They come in a funny pack, I think the Cheese & Onion is blue, which is clearly WRONG and the colour of salt and vinegar.

The normal taytos don't taste like they did years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

The normal taytos don't taste like they did years ago.

That's the real international incident here :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

I prefer ours, i went to the tayto factory in Armagh once and got a tayto pen and frisbee.

We have a lot of variety, e.g. tayto high fives, tayto bikers and tayto Finn McCool giant snacks.

Also, the cheese and onion is yellow, blue is salt and vinegar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Andrew_Doran

The PSNI can chase them all the way to Dingle (and vice-versa) for all I care, to catch scumbags.

Agree. Some unionist politician up north recently proposed the same in an outburst of common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Breaking News: International incident as car drives on road. In other news, today is a slow news day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Breaking News: International incident as car drives on road. In other news...
    ..Something, something Garda ombudsman, etc. here's the weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭illeagles_mcc

orangesoda wrote: »
    I prefer ours, i went to the tayto factory in Armagh once and got a tayto pen and frisbee.

We have a lot of variety, e.g. tayto high fives, tayto bikers and tayto Finn McCool giant snacks.

Also, the cheese and onion is yellow, blue is salt and vinegar

real bikers eat wheelies :cool: :pac: