Garda Recruitment - Stage 1a(2) - The Aptitude Test Results thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭D Trent

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    I'm working till 11 :(

We'll you get two pints tomorrow so put it on the boards tab ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭mfergus

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    I'm working till 11 :(

Go sick... hopefully you won't be in that job much longer anyway. Nothing to lose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭brembo26

I'm in batch 2. As good as out id say :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭boomkatalog

Genuinely sorry for anyone who did have their hopes dashed today. The guards is always competitive but this year was something else. Maybe over the coming years there will be more recruitments and possibly less people competing?

Hope all those who do get through to the very end work with honesty and integrity!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Lc201395

Got into batch 1 - 309th!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

Lc201395 wrote: »
    Got into batch 1 - 309th!

Great score. You're in the top 1.5% of all applicants. :D

WilcoOut wrote: »
    I have two colleagues in a state of turmoil today as their dream ends here and you come out with this?

I hope karma really really makes ur miserable

I wonder how many other clowns like this are out there?

Karma? Jeez that's a bit harsh. I've a friend who did the same with the Prison Service Recruitment drive back in 2006 to gain experience. He politely declined and is in the running for AGS now. Somebody else who deserves it will take this dudes place, if he passes Stage 2 at all. Unless one of your pals placed 5001, you've no gripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭galalala123

I did well in the first band. Our merit score that we have now wont really matter much though I presume. The familiarisation material for next Test looks fairly similar to the last one from what ive seen. Best of luck to everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

I have two colleagues in a state of turmoil today as their dream ends here and you come out with this?

I hope karma really really makes ur miserable

I wonder how many other clowns like this are out there?

Apologies, I shouldn't have replied to this thread. I do feel bad for those who really wanted to get in and I hope that the best people will be chosen. I don't think my placing will have any bearing on that.

However, this is a recruitment drive for one particular career. At the moment I am applying for graduate jobs in all sectors - including those which I have no interest/qualifications in, because I'm not going to put all my eggs in one basket. Welcome to the employee market.. it's not 25,000 people who grew up wanting to be a member of AGS. There are a multitude of reasons why people will want to join AGS, and one is that it is a career path.

I don't think I'm a clown for throwing my hat in the ring. If anything, it has given me a bit of confidence now for the aptitude tests I'll be doing for the civil service and other employers in the next few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭Canyon86

gutted, got well above in 2 of the tests, just under in one of the tests

Hard luck mate! Keep trying again the next time!
    You gave it your all don't be disheartened

brembo26 wrote: »
    I'm in batch 2. As good as out id say :P

Jeez no way mate! You d be surprised how panels/batches get reduced

Keep the faith!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

Just got the message! I passed and I'm in band 1!

Band 1 top 900

Delighted for you bud!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Just got the message! I passed and I'm in band 1!

I thought that said Position 1!! :D Well done :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

Band 1 top 900

Congrats, dude!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭brembo26

Your overall place is: 7409 hmm :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

Butterface wrote: »
    Apologies, I shouldn't have replied to this thread. I do feel bad for those who really wanted to get in and I hope that the best people will be chosen. I don't think my placing will have any bearing on that.

However, this is a recruitment drive for one particular career. At the moment I am applying for graduate jobs in all sectors - including those which I have no interest/qualifications in, because I'm not going to put all my eggs in one basket. Welcome to the employee market.. it's not 25,000 people who grew up wanting to be a member of AGS. There are a multitude of reasons why people will want to join AGS, and one is that it is a career path.

I don't think I'm a clown for throwing my hat in the ring. If anything, it has given me a bit of confidence now for the aptitude tests I'll be doing for the civil service and other employers in the next few months.

I reject your reasoning and despise your motives

so much has been invested in this for years by alot of people. your ilk blurs the lines and blocks their progression

like i said, theres disappointment all over the nation. U added to that in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

if they get as far as band 2 will the whole band have to do stage 2. id say it will just like band 1 all the band does the test regardles of where you have been placed in that band. it has to be or else there is absolutely no point in dividing it into bands?? whos with me??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

so much has been invested in this for years by alot of people. your ilk blurs the lines and blocks their progression

like i said, theres disappointment all over the nation. U added to that in my opinion

Nothing to stop that person progressing to the interviews and beyond.

Fair play to yourself for scoring so highly and commiserations for those who didn't score in the top 5000, but please don't begrudge people who see the guards as only a job option rather than a dream job.

There are plenty of dedicated people in band 1 to fill all positions in AGS for years to come. A few dozen applicants who use the process for practice is not going to change anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭dunner515

D Trent wrote: »
    Have you only received message now?

No, only just got home and couldn't post my results on this until now. I received my results from PAS around 14:00

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭RUNNER 1

Made band one very happy , but just about made it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

I don't think its fair to begrudge people who got through if they applied for the sake of applying, people need jobs and they deserve the chance to apply for this the same as the rest of us do.

I myself reckon i would have turned it down if i did get through further as i've invested a lot of time and money into the career i'm in now and nearly qualified at my trade, i applied to see how far i could get, i want to be a member of AGS and have for a good few years now and was sickened when the embargo came in a few years ago and i still want to be a gardai in a few years time if i can get through the recruitment process, and after doing these aptitude tests atleast i know whats instore for me when i apply again, and obviously as i only got into band 3 i know i'll have to put some work into my preperation for sitting them again,

Best of luck to all those who got into band 1 and hopefully the best and most deserving get picked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

It's incredibly naive to think that only people who seriously considered a career in AGS would apply.
    It's a public competition.. If you become a Garda and there's a promotion going, do you think everybody going for that promotion has the same level of desire for that position. No.

I've a few friends who took the tests too and as far as I know they had never thought of it as a career choice before. But the job was advertised, and it costs nothing to take a chance on a test and see what comes of it. Maybe if they get further too, they'll start to seriously weigh up AGS as a career option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭want2b

Congratulations to everyone who passed and hard luck to those who didn't pass this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Diddlina

Missed out on band 1 by 18 places which I have to say is quite gutting to be that close. The questionnaire let me down! Well done to everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭rocky911

Lads what ya reckon the chances of majority of the band 1 getting a job eventually as I obviously 5k wont but over a few intakes etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭fergie199

Ok all, By now most of us have found out who has made it to stage 2 and who has not.

Can we all just sympathise with the one's which hasn't and congratulate the ones who have...no need to turn this is to a (I wanted/trained more than you) blog.

An let this be for more the Stage 2 applicants to question and comment to others?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭Mudmask

Just saw the email now. Got band 1, around 4300. Didn't think they went that well on the day, so I'm happy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 deiseblue14

Well done to everyone who got through!
    This was my third time, previously i failed twice on the report writing after getting the marks required in the interviews.
    This time arround i fall at ther first stage after getting a good score in verbal and abstract reasoning i didnt reach the marks on the questionaire! Absolutly gutted today this one hurt the most:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 xxx3

I got in the top 400 people, was well pleased with this since I went for it years ago and didn't even get past the first stage. I am delighted to have got past the 1st stage this time round and hopefully will get past the 2nd stage :)