Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Best gig or event you've been to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Madness, SFX Centre. 1985

Tenner bets my brother was there was with you. Madness obsessed, he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭peewee_44

Take that the circus croke park

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Roger Waters (The Wall) - Aviva Stadium 2013.
    Ian Dury & the Blockheads - The Grand, Clapham 1988-ish.
    Eurythmics, Revenge tour - Tel Aviv 1987.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭yupya1

Cirque de Soleil - Love: The Beatles
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qtn3m7F4Vog

Saw the preview shows in The Mirage Vegas back in 2006.
    Nothing else has come anywhere close.

I saw this weeks ago and thought it was rubbish, too much prancing about and not enough acrobatics! Different strokes I suppose

Pink Pop and Rage against the Machine for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,745 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Queen, Elland Road, May 29th 1982. Scorching hot day and a brilliant concert (except for the Teardrop Explodes being a support act). £9 for the concert and (if memory serves me correctly) a fiver for the coach to the concert from Manchester. Those were the days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,190 ✭✭✭omega man

Concert wise I recall sunstroke 1994 (dalymount park) being f'ing unreal but they were the the youthful days so it probably seemed better than it was. In more recent years rage against the machine in New York was special. Honourable mention for oxegen 2005 too. Good friends, line up and weather made it memorable (with the exception of the obligatory skangers.....). Too many other great concerts to mention really.

After missing out on the 2011 AI final to be on hill 16 at last years final was a joyous occasion (dub obviously!). Having my kids with me for the Leinster hurling final last year was up there also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭ThirdMan

Spank Rock at Garden Party in 2006 was pretty special. Two turntables, a box of records and rapper with no sense of of political correctness. Not normally my type of music, and not the 'best' gig I'ver been to. But it's the one I reminisce about the most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭tiredcity

Spent my teens & twenties at so many gigs I was essentially part of the furniture at Dublin venues but the four that stand out most were:

Sigur Ros - Temple Theatre 2001. First time I saw them live so that was probably why it was particularly memorable.
    Arcade Fire - Electric Picnic 2005. Ridiculously good. Crowd and the band were completely buzzing off each other in an amazing way.
    Tom Waits - Ratcellar Phoenix Park 2008. Always wanted to see him so we spent our summer holiday money on two nights of tickets. He started singing 'Let it Rain' just as the skies opened and it absolutely lashed the whole walk back through the park.
    The Immediate playing Streamstown around 2005? 2006? They'd a big party in this amazing house they used to live in surrounded by fields and it was just a brilliant night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

Where do I start? Green Day in 2009 will always be a very, VERY fond memory for me. Perfect setlist, such a good night in general.

All Time Low in Manchester was a perfect storm of brilliance for me. Amazing live band, some fantastic friends there, and meeting them afterwards was the icing on the cake.

Although March will probably be the best week of gigs in a long time. All Time Low in Manchester, The Band Perry in Dublin, All Time Low in Dublin and Fall Out Boy in Dublin. Four gigs in five days, I honestly can't wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,668 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Les Miserables in The Point,1993.

Hadn't a clue what it was gonna be about.
    Bought a ticket and was blown away by the sheer magnificence of the performance.

Quite simply,breathtaking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭TheMza

Either Daft Punk at Oxegen, MGMT at Oxegen (where the gig got shut down cos people were climbing the rigging inside the tent), Wu-Tang in Tripod or Kendrick Lamar last year in Vicar Street, he blew the roof off the place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭OntheStrings

galwayrush wrote: »
    Hard to pick from Rush 18 times,Led Zeppelin at O2 London , The Wall or Rammstein, all brilliant and memorable.

It's my dream to see Rush :(..I've seen them not even once!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

Bullet For My Valentine - manchester 2 months ago
    Before that it was Evanescence in birmingham a year back.

Sport - derry v armagh - ulster final 2000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Rough Sleeper

Michael Buble at the Aviva Stadium in 2010.
    Michael Buble at the o2 last year.
    Sorry, the thread title is referring to the best, not the blandest gig you've ever been to.

Michael Bublé. Jesus wept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Sherfin

Has to be my first ever big concert. Phoenix Park 1983 (Yes I'm old, but was only a young fella then )

U2, Simple Minds, Big Country, Eurythmics

Followed by Slane 86
    Queen - (just a year after Live Aid)
    Remembering 80,000 + people clapping to Radio Gaga and We Will Rock You still gives me goosebumps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭TheMza

Sorry, the thread title is referring to the best, not the blandest gig you've ever been to.

Give it a rest, Buble is slick! It's personal opinion, different strokes for different folks you dose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Sherfin wrote: »
    Slane 86
    Queen - (just a year after Live Aid)
    Remembering 80,000 + people clapping to Radio Gaga and We Will Rock You still gives me goosebumps

This. Great gig.

Followed closely by AC/DC in Punchestown a few years back. Angus Young playing some serious guitar stuff on a catwalk in the pissing rain. Awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭micar

was at the Slane gig where Foo Fighters and QATSA played. Not a fan of RHCP.

Best gig.
    Muse in The Olympia a good few years ago - maybe 2004. Stage set up was something else.
    Foo Fighters in the Olympia in 2000. Epic gig. 14 years ago......my god!!!!!

Worst Gig.
    easy - some UK emo band that played the Ambassador at the top of O'connel st. I was bought the ticket. Full of underage teenagers. We still in my early-mid twenties.Felt so old!!!!!Had never heard of the band and have never heard of them since.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10 janvankul

Michael Bolton last week was unreal.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,352 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Lemon Jelly's last Irish gig in the ambassador is close to my favourite gig too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

The first gig i was ever at was The Cure in the RDS in 1989, I was 12. The second the Prodigy in Killarney in 1992, their first gig outside of the UK, both amazing gigs and a good bench mark for later events. My favourite live band is Wilco, seen them in many venues but seeing them live in Vicar Street was incredible. In fact Vicar street is the best venue ive ever been too, another standout gig i remember there were the Violent Femmes, id loved them for years and it was an amazing gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭cometogether

Shame on you, don't be such a snob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Samuri Suicide

Kings of Leon - Temple Bar Music Centre 2004. Great gig and atmosphere.

Foo Fighters in the Olympia 2000. Dave Grohl climbing onto the balcony and walking from one end to the other while playing guitar. Also Dave opening the gig playing the drums. Quality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Rammstein in the O2 in 2012. ****ing epic on so many levels. They opened with Sonne and the crowd went absolutely insane, Ran through a great setlist of their best hits before finishing with an encore of Engel that involved Till donning a pair of metal wings that shot flames up into the rafters. It was INSANE.
    Definately will go see them again if they come back to Ireland! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

Laughing so much at this. Well played Sir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Damien Rice - Vicar St, December 2003.
    Faithless - Dublin Castle 2005.
    Beyonce - May 2013.
    Muse - Oxegen 2007.
    Lady Gaga - The O2 2009.
    Madonna, Wembley 2008.
    Christina Aguilera - The Point 2006.
    Basement Jaxx - Lansdowne Road 2005.

Best festival I've been to is Rock en Seine in Paris. Incredible setting. Saw Arcade Fire twice, Bjork, Kings of Leon, Faithless, Calvin Harris, Prodigy, Madness, and Massive Attack there to name a few, and always discover some excellent unknowns too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

So many amazing times but the top 2 win on the fact that they left me emotionally drained having cried my way through them both:

1. John Mayer in Glasgow
    2. Dirty Dancing in London

Others that were just epic were:

Primal Scream in a tent at Oxegen - Moving on up was the closest I think I have come to being in heaven. Just so spiritual.

Stone Roses in the Phoenix Park - had never had the pleasure of seeing my favourite band live before and they lived up to my imagination.

Ian Brown in the Phoenix Park - Got into the pit and I swear the Monkeyman sang to me throughout.

Roland Gift in the Hot Press Hall of Fame (now the Academy) - saw him there 2 nights and first night there was no one there. I was sitting in the front row dictating which songs he should sing next, met him after and got loads of hugs and kisses and told my name would be on guest list for the following night's show. It was almost as good but there were more there. He still recognised me and said hello from the stage and then signed all my FYC memorabilia and posed for more pics. Love that guy.

Erasure at Electric Picnic - My then young sons were very embarrassed that their mummy dragged them up to the front and sang every word to every song.

Greenday in the O2 - even though I was not a massive fan of theirs, my then 11 year old son was. I had gotten him the tickets as his birthday present and the pure joy and love on his face throughout the gig made it really special.

Groove Armada at Witness - stumbled into a tent to get out of the rain and hadn't realised they were playing. Epic sound from the brass section.

Loads of others. I rarely drink much at gigs and don't do drugs so for me the atmosphere, music and experience is nearly always memorable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭whatlliwear

Stone Roses Heaton Park last year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,080 ✭✭✭conorhal

I was at a fantastic gig by The Mouldy Peaches in Whelans at which the crowd formed a giant and unruly conga line. That was class.

The gig I enjoyed most is probably a toss up between Arcade Fire in the Phoenix park which was epic and the Pixies gig at the Olympia when they played the whole of Dolittle from start to finish for the album's 20th anniversary. Kim Deal was back and everybody seemed in good form, even Frank, who is usually a bit dour and not much of a showman was all chatty with the audience and enjoying himself while proving beyond a shadow of a doubt, they still got it.

Naturally, I already have my tickets for The Pixies supporting Arcade Fire in Marley Park this summer. Here's hoping that will be the gig I'm back here to cite!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Rammstein, the 02, 2012. Unbelievable.