Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Best gig or event you've been to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Foo Fighters in the Olympia 2000. Dave Grohl climbing onto the balcony and walking from one end to the other while playing guitar. Also Dave opening the gig playing the drums. Quality.

Oh I was there - I'd completely forgotten about that gig! I remember being really pi$$ed off coz we had crappy balcony tickets, but then there was Dave up right beside me after jumping up on the speakers I think? and then leaped up onto the balcony. The security guards were having a conniption fit telling everyone to sit back down, and Dave kept telling everyone to stand back up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,786 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Rage against the machine . Some small place in dub.
    Ice T . SFX
    Alice in chains . SFX
    Mega death and Pantera . Point depot
    Sunstroke 93
    Oasis cork x2 with the prodigy
    U2 croke park
    Awakenings in the gashouder amsterdam 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

It would be

U2 on the vertigo world tour
    Red Hot chili Peppers and The Pixies in the phoenix park
    Robbie Williams in 2001 at Lansdowne Road .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

The last ever Thin Lizzy gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,401 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Oasis at slane was the best gig I was ever at. 2009.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,723 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Manic Street Preachers in the Point, June 1999.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Rodrigo y Gabriela in a UCC lecture hall in about 2005 just before they took off. The next summer they started doing festivals and became massive. The gig was unreal. If the ceilings were lower people would have been hanging from them. It was supposed to be a seated gig but by the end people had rushed the front of the lecture hall and there were people dancing on tables.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Mr E wrote: »
    Manic Street Preachers in the Point, June 1999.

I was at that too! Think it was close enough to the Metallica gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭The Th!ng

I've been to concerts by all of the following (in no particular order)

Johnny Cash & Kris Kristofferson. I'm not 100% sure as to her identity, But If I'm not mistaken I bought a 'Johnny Cash' guitar pick from June Carter as a souvenir before the show.

Bob Dylan.

Bruce Springsteen.

The Waterboys.

Deep Purple.

Def Leppard.

Mamas Boys.

The Proclaimers.

Marillion.

Horslips. (the reuinion gigs)

Neil Young.

Iron Maiden, Ronnie James Dio & MotorHead.

But for me the absolute best concerts of my life were two of Billy Idol's which I saw in the Point Depot. 2.5 hours of pure energy unleashed from the moment he hit the stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Kasabian in the o2 after the release of west ryder album. Twas some gig place was rocking and noel fielding appeared on stage. Also muse marley park was fantastic and really enjoyed oasis at slane it was a very long but enjoyable day and we were in the pit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Lyaiera wrote: »
    Rodrigo y Gabriela in a UCC lecture hall in about 2005 just before they took off. The next summer they started doing festivals and became massive. The gig was unreal. If the ceilings were lower people would have been hanging from them. It was supposed to be a seated gig but by the end people had rushed the front of the lecture hall and there were people dancing on tables.

This is the one I'm most jealous of! Class!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Arnocorps, in The Pint in Dublin, one or two years ago. Great bunch of lads, hung out with the audience, before and after, had a riot during the other bands, and stayed in character the whole time. Definitely the most fun I've ever had at a gig, and I don't think I'll ever have that much fun again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭marozz

The Police, Leixlip, July 1980.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

Tom Waits 2008
    Prince - Malahide Castle
    Inspiral Carpets McGonagles about 1990 ish.
    Swervedriver - The Rock Garden Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Fleetwood

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Almost everyone's responses are indie/rock gigs. Any chance of some variation at all?

Mine is punk. Does that count?

EDIT: Also, I don't see many people going out and having the time of their life at a Norah Jones gig or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

Led Zeppelin at the O2 in London in 2007 was very special indeed to me. An unforgettable evening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Mine is punk. Does that count?

EDIT: Also, I don't see many people going out and having the time of their life at a Norah Jones gig or something.

Yeah, because if it's not indie or rock, it must be Norah Jones.

whirlpool wrote: »
    Yeah, because if it's not indie or rock, it must be Norah Jones.

Exactly. There's indie, rock and Norah Jones. Sometimes they mix it up a bit. Indie rock, Norah rock, indie Jones, indie Jones rock fusion. That's kind of it, really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

Could a strip club count or an adult webcam viewing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭FameHungry

Lady Gaga and Bruno Mars. Absolutely brilliant.

lukesmom wrote: »
    Oasis at slane was the best gig I was ever at. 2009.

Kasabian, Prodigy, Oasis. What a line up. Oasis weren't on top form but the others certainly were. Still though, purely for reasons of nostalgia, singing masterplan up on the hill with people I had been friends with since Oasis were in their prime. Yep. It could be up there alright. 5 years ago - feck :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,429 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Michael Jackson in the RDS was a terrific show

8-10 wrote: »
    Michael Jackson in the RDS was a terrific show

Jaysus, how many years ago was that? 16 or 17 maybe?

Man I feel old now. Had forgotten about that :o

Edit: Google tells me 1997!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 625 ✭✭✭roadsmart

James Brown in the Olympia, but even better Ian Dury and the Blockheads, again in the Olympia.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Rammstein in the O2 in 2012 or Slayer in the Academy 2013, I have seen them in the old Point twice, Punchestown, the Ambassador, and the Academy was by far the best. The small venue made a huge difference. Got back stage for Metallica, Alice in Chains, Mastodon and Avenged Sevenfold in Marlay Park 2009, that was pretty cool too. :D

Seeing Nirvana in Top Hat in '91 and not having a clue who they were, yet being pretty damn impressed, will always be one of the most memorable.

The Top Hat in Dun Laoghaire? Seriously?

91 was the year of Smells Like Teen Spirit I think. I'd say they were on top top form alright. Bloody hell, never knew they played Dun Laoghaire. Unless of of course there's some other big famous Top Hat that I've never heard of and then I'll just feel incredibly stupid :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Pairc Ui Chaoimh August 1996

Oasis and the Prodigy at the height of their power

tickets 22 quid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Tool in 2006 in The Point