Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Best gig or event you've been to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Micheal Jackson, Dangerous Tour, Wembley.

Closely followed by Ash, at the London Astoria '97.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

One of three for me, Slane 2003 (Foo Fighters and RHCP were unreal!) ACDC at punchestown or the Metallica gig where they played Master of Puppets in its entirety for the anniversary which is still my favourite album of theirs and the first album I ever bought.

If I HAD to pick one of those, it would be the ACDC gig. Had wanted to see them since I was a kid and never got a chance to. Always said if I could put together a dream concert it would be them, Hendrix and Nirvana.

All unreal gigs though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Radiohead RDS 1997.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Kosheen playing at the The Scala in London back in 2001. I didn't even know who they were at the time and stumbled upon them playing live at a regular club of mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

Madness, SFX Centre. 1985

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Woodstock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭ckeego

GAAman wrote: »
    One of three for me, Slane 2003 (Foo Fighters and RHCP were unreal!) ACDC at punchestown or the Metallica gig where they played Master of Puppets in its entirety for the anniversary which is still my favourite album of theirs and the first album I ever bought.

If I HAD to pick one of those, it would be the ACDC gig. Had wanted to see them since I was a kid and never got a chance to. Always said if I could put together a dream concert it would be them, Hendrix and Nirvana.

All unreal gigs though!

There's a man who knows his gigs!

Slane 2003 was amongst the best line ups of all time-QOTSA and PJ Harvey were there too!

• Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Shiraz 4.99

Cirque de Soleil - Love: The Beatles
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qtn3m7F4Vog

Saw the preview shows in The Mirage Vegas back in 2006.
    Nothing else has come anywhere close.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Couldn't really pick one but could narrow it down to

The Stone Roses - Heaton Park, Manchester 2012

Prodigy - NYE Dublin 1993

Orbital @ Creamfields 2000 I think it was

Basement Jaxx anytime I've seen them live

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Big Tom - McGinleys lounge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

Billy Joel in the 02 Dublin last November was brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 580 ✭✭✭JumpShivers

Green Day in Marlay Park, June 2010.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Recent: Aphex Twin at Forbidden Fruit 2011
    Jon Hopkins at Body & Soul festival 2013.
    I suppose my best ever at the time anyway was Pink Floyd at Maine Road Stadium, Manchester 8.8.1988.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭leinad

Oasis Cork 1996 as described here http://dontstopliving.net/oasis-live-at-pairc-ui-chaoimh-corcaigh-august-1996/ no affiliation here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Yellowledbetter

Pearl Jam any of the 7 times I've seen them,soon to be 9!! My first one was 96 so that will always be a bit special although I proposed to herself at the Belfast gig in 2010 so that's up there too.
    Other stand out gigs;
    Radiohead 97
    Morrissey 03ish
    Korn 02
    Stones 07
    Chemical Brothers 98 or 99
    Foo Fighters(Everytime)
    Rage Against The Machine 08 or 09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

I won all expenses paid, (flights and accommodation and backstage passes) vip tickets to see them in Donnington in 2010.

Yep, was right up there as one of the best days of my life so far.

Brian Johnston is a really sound bloke, they all were tbh, but he went out of his way to relate with you (starting telling me of some Irish pubs he was locked in in his time)

Coldplay in Belfasts Odyssey (05 or 06, not sure) was pretty good too.

LUCKY LUCKY B**TARD :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Has to be Slane 2001. Coldplay, Chili Peppers and U2. The peppers were unreal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Miprocin

Tool in the SFX 2001. Was my first real gig and they were awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Hard to choose one...

Green Day in the O2 in 2009 - it was the night before my 18th and I'd been waiting years to see them. They were brilliant that night too. Great way to start a week of parties that ended with a Billy Talent show in the Olympia a few days later (they were my two favourite bands at the time, couldn't have been better timing for those shows :D).

Two nights of The Gaslight Anthem in the Olympia last summer stand out too. Thought the first night was amazing... the second was better!

Flying to Birmingham for a day to see Rise Against (and meeting them on the street there a few hours before the show) is another one. Tom Morello was supporting with his Nightwatchman solo project - both epic sets, well worth the €58 we spent on Ryanair flights and the 6 hours sleeping on a table in Birmingham airport afterwards :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

There's been a good few now that I think about it.

Ryan Adams anytime he's played ireland

The Rapture in the village (after mcguinness signed them) and supported by The Things

The Police in croke park few years ago was deadly

Fleet Foxes in vicar st few years ago after they played the picnic.

Vintage trouble downstairs in bruxelles few years too and their gig in whelans few months ago was amazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

leinad wrote: »
    Oasis Cork 1996 as described here http://dontstopliving.net/oasis-live-at-pairc-ui-chaoimh-corcaigh-august-1996/ no affiliation here

I was at that concert,amazing.

Guns N' Roses @ Slane was pretty damn good too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Walt Jabsco

Nirvana and The Breeders - The Point '92
    Neil Young supported by Pearl Jam and Booker T and The Mg's - Slane '93
    The Specials 30th Anniversary Reunion tour - The Olympiya '09
    Dexys - The Olympia '13
    Dead Can Dance - Grand Canal Theatre '12
    Massive Attack - Cork, Feile '95
    The Stone Roses - Cork Feile '95 and Pheonix Park Dublin '12
    Gil Scott Heron - Electric Picnic '10.
    LCD Soundsyatem - Electric picnic '10
    To name but a few, way too many to mention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭leinad

zerks wrote: »
    I was at that concert,amazing.

Guns N' Roses @ Slane was pretty damn good too.

Best gig ever for me they were at their peak and still loving what they did - seen them since and they just weren't arsed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

washiskin wrote: »
    As in "Always There" Incognito???? :eek:

If so, where???? when????

Yep, those guys. Bluey is the mainstay and as he said himself, the band is very much the united nations with lots of talented people from all round the world doing stints with them. It was in a fantastic venue in Madrid about this time last year. If they come around again I'll be the first the get tickets.
    I was thrilled that they got a great reception from the Madrid crowd, venue was pretty close to full and lots of people bopping around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Icaras

Seen some great ones but the Flaming Lips replacing the White Stripes at Oxegen was great - didnt know what to expect after a great Damien Rice gig they blew me away. Oakenfold at the Red Box was a great one too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭cometogether

Stone Roses in Dublin a couple of years ago were amazing. Kicking myself I didn't go to see them in Glasgow last summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭coffeepls

INXS... point depot 1990. Amazing show. I remember at the time thinking the man had incredible energy to be running all over the stage as much as he did...... oh how naive was I.....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭A Brad Maddox Guy

Probably LCD Soundsystem at Electric Picnic 2010.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,603 ✭✭✭bennyl10

Green Day in Marlay Park, June 2010.

THIS^^^^^
    Fantastic day, beautiful.weather, and Green Day were in Incredible form!