Junkie mate just got engaged

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

feckin, op :rolleyes:
    Lets be honest here man because if this "junkie" mate was marrying someone who you thought was ugly / fat / whatever you wouldnt give a toss. But to quote your words a "stunning looking Girl" :rolleyes:

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder my friend, but to answer your question, no I wouldn't give a toss, I'd still be delighted for him

22/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭sassa

Seriously Op this reeks of jealousy you should really be using your own story of
    uch wrote: »
    I'm Married with kids, and clean about 12 years
    as proof there's always hope?

This is basically the impression I get from your post.
    So a Mate of mine who's a Heroin addict just got engaged to a stunning looking Girl (not a junkie) -why is he getting a hot chick - ...... and this lad wouldn't look out of place in the Adam & Paul film - I'm far better looking than him - . But fair play to him for turning his life around. -The pr!ck - Just goes to show, there's always hope! - This is starting to sound bitter maybe I should act like I'm happy for him.... but seriously he looks like sh!t-

Be happy for him, maybe he wants what you have, a wife and kids the whole happy ever after. He's as much entitled to them as you were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder my friend, but to answer your question, no I wouldn't give a toss, I'd still be delighted for him

Not to sound like a pounce :o
    But why create the thread? Like ok, on one hand he was 'XYZ' and now he is getting married. Got his life in order. Good on him. But the right hand is still saying whilst good on him, why create the thread?

We've all known someone who has improved themselves. If you posted about a family member I get the post. It would be out of joy / praise. But being honest it sounds to me that there is begrudery in your post. Could be wrong. Could be right ;)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,584 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Does that work?

Once a toddler, always a toddler.
    Once a bed-wetter, always a bed-wetter.
    Once a student, always a student.
    Once a barman, always a barman.
    Once a tired person, always a tired person.
    Once a junkie, always a junkie.

I'm not so sure that this works.
    Because moronic oversimplifications rarely work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I rather use the addict word me self .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Fair play to you then.. nice to see an actual person posting about an issue they have first hand experience of; rather than some jabroni speaking as a third person.
    just had to thank this for the use of the word "jabroni".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

he's off the gear about 5 years now, but once a junkie always a junkie
    Just goes to show, there's always hope!

What? Make up your mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Getting of heroin ins conceivable one of the hardest things one can do. I would have respect for a person who does that than someone who gets a degree say. It takes courage to say "something's wrong now it's time to fix it".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

So a Mate of mine who's a Heroin addict just got engaged to a stunning looking Girl (not a junkie), now I should add that he's off the gear about 5 years now, but once a junkie always a junkie, and this lad wouldn't look out of place in the Adam & Paul film. But fair play to him for turning his life around. Just goes to show, there's always hope!

What a bitter, snide, back handed and condescending view you have of a person you refer to as your 'friend'. Something tells me you just created this thread to stir up shìte tbh.

there's no such thing as an ex-junkie
    I still consider myself an addict
    Once an addict, always an addict, so yes I'll always be a junkie

Yeah, well, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man.

Is the phraseology not 'recovering addict' as in, 'he is addicted to heroin, but has been in recovery for five years'?

It would have been kinder (and clearer) if the OP was phrased thus:

"My friend is a former heroin user, and has been in recovery for five years. He's now engaged to a stunning girl and I am absolutely delighted for him. I hope this inspires others to overcome their addictions."

I think that's what Uch really meant to say.

Right Uch? Right? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

the title isn't misleading. They both used to do heroin together. Therefore they were/are junkie mates. The OP kicked the habit years before the friend, who is now turning his life around. They'll forever have been junkie mates. Heroin is a terrible thing that I can only assume through what Uch said, is that it does permanently change you, considering he sees himself as a junkie 12 years after stopping his using. Fair play to both of you for getting your **** together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭greenheart

I'm Married with kids, and clean about 12 years, but I still consider myself an addict
    Yeah but do you call yourself a junkie..
    You can be an addict for life but not a junkie for life.

the title isn't misleading. They both used to do heroin together. Therefore they were/are junkie mates. The OP kicked the habit years before the friend, who is now turning his life around. They'll forever have been junkie mates. Heroin is a terrible thing that I can only assume through what Uch said, is that it does permanently change you, considering he sees himself as a junkie 12 years after stopping his using. Fair play to both of you for getting your **** together.

Why did the OP not use himself and his circumstances then as an example of inspiring hope in other people then rather than the sketchy, piss poor effort of an opening post in a forum where he knew well the immediate and pervasive mental image that comes to mind with the use of the word "junkie" is one of socially and economically lower class people who are heroin addicts?

I fail to see the correlation between "clean up your life, get a wife... but you're still an addict and you always will be". He stopped just shy of saying "fnarr, fnarr" and thumbing his nose at his 'friend', and the reason I use inverted commas is because I believe the OP's story is a complete fabrication from beginning to end, something like Niall Boylan would do just to stir up shìte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

So a Mate of mine who's a Heroin addict just got engaged to a stunning looking Girl (not a junkie), now I should add that he's off the gear about 5 years now, but once a junkie always a junkie, and this lad wouldn't look out of place in the Adam & Paul film. But fair play to him for turning his life around. Just goes to show, there's always hope!

Sure a lot of famous authors/musicians/artists were heroin addicts, and nobody would fault them would they. People just associate heroin with lower class criminal types from bad areas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone

wazky wrote: »
    That's the spirit!

Fckin brilliant, :)

Spunge wrote: »
    Sure a lot of famous authors/musicians/artists were heroin addicts, and nobody would fault them would they.

There's plenty of ill informed/moral high ground people unfortunately that would Spunge.

People just associate heroin with lower class criminal types from bad areas.

Only people who are ill informed/moral high ground types will think that way, especially when they throw around words like "junkie".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Kiltennel wrote: »
    Many former addicts still consider themselves addicts, it's just that they're currently clean. Helps create a mindset which avoids the justification of "Ah sure I'll try it just once, I'm clean now, I wont get addicted again".

That's true.Former Alcoholics will consider themselves to be still alcoholics even after decades without a drop.but hats off to the guy for scoring a classy missis,everybody deserves another chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

The OP has chalk on his balls over this, that is obvious from the first post. But fair play to the pair of ye kicking that shhit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Only people who are ill informed/moral high ground types will think that way, especially when they throw around words like "junkie".

One of our group of friends started heroin, we were a mostly middle class group of people. When anyone found out he did they completely ostrasized him and even when he's clean now, he's still a junkie to them, and they dont want to be near him. If someone was a recovering alcoholic theyd probably say fairplay, its sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Lukehandypants

"he's off the gear about 5 years now, but once a junkie always a junkie,"

Get confident stupid.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Sounds like the OP wants to do some heroin & then f*** at gangsters hot wife.

Well it worked in Pulp Fiction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Deadly buzz.