Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Not if it's not done properly! Shock horror! Sure go on, build a fecking motorway through the city, cut off areas and turn them into slum, make the city a worse place to be, marginalize people . It's progress, right?

The thing about people having roads and light rail built near them (after EIS are prepared!) is different, though, because a road or a LUAS doesn't piss through your letter box.

No ones building a slum, or marginalising people. Its 5 nights of concerts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

doolox wrote: »
    donate any profits to the neighbours of Croke Park as a goodwill gesture.
    no, those proffits have to go on investing, giving them away to whining residents isn't an option
    doolox wrote: »
    Can't see that happening.
    and rightly so

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

wedger wrote: »
    I live beside croke park. My house practically faces Hill 16. I love the buzz the excitement when there is an event on. Match days are great with all the colour in the area. I have no objection to 3 concerts going on. Now thats three in total for the year.

I dont finish work till after 6 collect my little lad and head home. The area will be in lock down. I wont be able to get my car in. I wont be able to sleep with 5 nights of sh1te blaring through my windows never mind the 3 nights of One Erection.
    My 1 year old will be kept awake while the GARDA chopper hovers overhead for an hour or more after the gig.
    I will have to stand in my garden to stop those at the concerts using it as a place to take a p1ss on the way out. Or as my neighbour had during Take That one fella thinking it was great craic to p1ss in his letter box.
    When it was reported to the Gardai they were too busy to act.

These are just some of the things I will have to put up with.

Ye will all come enjoy ur few hours with Garth "Bucks" and trundle off home quite contented but I'll have an irate 1 yr old who cant sleep. I'll be wrecked tired each day at work. I wont be able to come and go freely from my home... yes MY HOME where I and my family should feel safe and comfortable at all times.

As I said I have no problem with 3 gigs maybe 4 a year hey its a stadium thats what they do. BUt now they're pushing towards 9... sorry thats a bit over the top.

Next week I'm going to the stadium Directors house to blare music in his windows till all hours take a sh1t in his garden and prevent him or his kids from moving safely and freely in their community!!!
    what happens when you live near a stadium, the more concerts and the more use the stadium gets the more money goes into the local economy

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

more money into the dublin economy

Or the Irish economy as it's properly called.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Here's the thing.

Croke Park, when it was first opened, was right at the edge of the city. Even as recently as the 70s the limit of the city was the bishop's palace. Fans going to matches didn't mean 80,000 people being in an area that's right in the centre of the city. They also didn't drive and block off access to people's homes.

When the GAA were deciding what to do with Croker, they could have moved their main stadium to somewhere on the periphery with a big feck off car park and buses on match days. They decided, instead, to develop a bigger stadium in what is now a much more inner city area with far more population density and knowing full well that attendees would drive and park in the area, but made no remediation for the parking issue. They did this against the residents' objections, but promised proper crowd control and event management and all sorts of things that they just do not come through on. They said they would limit the number of non-sporting events to 3 per year.

They've basically shat all over the people of the area and people on here think that the residents are just trying to make a quick buck and have no real complaint? The mind boggles. Ballybough and Drumcondra do not belong to the GAA. They can't just do as they please.

Actually, Griffith Avenue (1920s era) was the end of built up Dublin until the 1950s. Most of Whitehall etc etc was there by the 60s.

Croke Park wasn't on the edge of the city by the 1920s

I think a big stadium complex with a connection to the railway and motorway network would have made more sense.

Maybe built near the airport (with a spur to the DART) or in West Dublin with access to the M50 and Kildare railway lines (Cork and western intercity lines accessible)

Landsdown Rd is a very strange location for a major stadium too.

A city centre stadium complex in the Docklands would be ideal too. Dublin Port Tunnel for road access and Connolly Station rail and Luas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

No ones building a slum, or marginalising people. Its 5 nights of concerts.

No, but it's consistent with your argument that furthering or extending something automatically equates with progress. It doesn't.

I never said anything about furthering or extending anything. I said bringing money into an economy that's just coming out of recession is progress!!

And I said it depends on how it's being done. You seem to have no idea that the negatives can outweigh the positives for the local area, especially as most of that money is most definitely NOT going to the local area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 BanksysGhost

You very much equated it with building roads and bridges. Read your own comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,021 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Here's the thing.

Croke Park, when it was first opened, was right at the edge of the city. Even as recently as the 70s the limit of the city was the bishop's palace. Fans going to matches didn't mean 80,000 people being in an area that's right in the centre of the city. They also didn't drive and block off access to people's homes.

The city limits has always been the canals. Dublin city remains inside them.
    Coke Park has been in a built up area for a couple of hundred years. Just look at the buildings around it, many are Georgian and Victorian.

And I said it depends on how it's being done. You seem to have no idea that the negatives can outweigh the positives for the local area, especially as most of that money is most definitely NOT going to the local area.

The only negatives i can see is 5 days of crowds and the mess associated with large crowds. Other posters who come from the area have stated that clean up crews come out straight after the concerts, but i accept that there will always be areas they miss. Concerts will be finished by 10pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

The only negatives i can see is 5 days of crowds and the mess associated with large crowds. Other posters who come from the area have stated that clean up crews come out straight after the concerts, but i accept that there will always be areas they miss. Concerts will be finished by 10pm.

10 pm ? Not true at all . The earliest they will finish is half 10 . They could even push on until 11 . So your whole 10 pm argument is invalid . A lot of the outdoor shows don't finish before half 10 . Sometimes it can be 11 or so by the times it's finished .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

So how much are they looking for to suddenly forget their annoyance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

what happens when you live near a stadium, the more concerts and the more use the stadium gets the more money goes into the local economy

And how will money going into the local economy help his child get to sleep, or stop people pi$$ing in his garden?

Mess? Imagine having to clean human **** off your doorstep and having someone piss through your letterbox. Imagine needing to go somewhere (that, oh the horror, might require you to drive) only to find you car has been blocked in by concert/match go-ers. Imagine seeing some idiot fall on your car and break the wing mirror clean off.

It's not just mess. It's downright anti-social.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Few tickets and a few bob per residence should suffice, is a long haul but the positives from this far far outweigh any negatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭dharma200

Being forced to listen to Garth brooks for five nights in the trot would be enough to make me want to sell up.

I have every sympathy for the residents, ok two nights, but five nights of buffer rednecks singing friends in low places? That's just too much

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Couldn't they have the concert underground like the electricity pylons, Tis a disgrace Joe.

Mess? Imagine having to clean human **** off your doorstep and having someone piss through your letterbox. Imagine needing to go somewhere (that, oh the horror, might require you to drive) only to find you car has been blocked in by concert/match go-ers. Imagine seeing some idiot fall on your car and break the wing mirror clean off.

Or come back and find your car reefed open by some local thug.
    Needless to say no one saw anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,553 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Clondiff road and Jones road always seem to have dog crap all over them. It would be great if the residents would clean up aftwr their dogs.

No need to mention your hubby's antics on a Friday night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Santa Cruz wrote: »

It could happen in area of Dublin or this country . If you don't like it the stay out of the area simples .

Santa Cruz wrote: »

You do realise people do this because they are annoyed by idiots parking all over the place. I have seen people smash up cars out of frustration after being blocked in one too many times.

I caught one guy parking straight in front of my garage. Asked him did he think it was a reasonable place to park. He blabbed on about how he didn't want to miss the start of the match.
    Reply "Fair enough your car won't be there when you come back"
    Supporter " Don't get it towed mate"
    Me "Oh I won't get it towed"

Stares at me I stare back. He gets back into his car an moves on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭derokid

See all the people on here cribbing and bitching about the residents and saying they should just suck it up.

Well Garth is a good 30lbs fatter and just as **** a singer as he always was. If the concert is a washout they'll be the first ones on here cribbing and bitching about how they were ripped off with high ticket prices and hotel prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭ronjo

no, its a venue and it should be used to its full potential

So why agree to 3 concerts only?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,546 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

If I had to listen to 5 nights of Gareth Brooks I'd be compalining too...ha ha ha!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭LOSTfan57

Moaners gunna moan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭derokid

@end of the road...
    Very little of the money spent there goes into the local economy. All the pubs are owned by big pub chains. same as the few shops. Certain businesses have to close early causing a loss of income too...!!!

ronjo wrote: »
    So why agree to 3 concerts only?

It is a stipulation in the approval of planning permission for the stadium that no more than 3 NON SPORTING EVENTS can be held, without seeking proper event licences.

So when they get their licenses for the 5 Garth Brooks concerts, they'll be within their rights.

derokid wrote: »
    @end of the road...
    Very little of the money spent there goes into the local economy. All the pubs are owned by big pub chains. same as the few shops. Certain businesses have to close early causing a loss of income too...!!!
    Try refurbishing a house in the area and get deliveries made.
    There are a lot of family owned pubs in the area not part of chains. You are right the money doesn't stay in the local area or benefit the local people who actually put up with the disruption.