Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

Got the fright of my life heading to the mart this morning. Was going around a mini roundabout slowly and the back of the jeep slid when I started turning and the whole thing started to jack knife. Lucky enough I threw in the shoe and steered out of it but I was shaking for a few minutes after. Very close to chaos :(

half load with no dividing gate ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

jt65 wrote: »
    half load with no dividing gate ?

Nope, had 5 cows in it. Shiny tar on the surface of the roundabout. Never happened me in the jeep before but often happened using the tractor and dumptrailer on the land.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Nope, had 5 cows in it. Shiny tar on the surface of the roundabout. Never happened me in the jeep before but often happened using the tractor and dumptrailer on the land.

SWB or LWB?

SWB or LWB?

Swb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

thats good and similar to other countries. down side to this is, the big get bigger

there'd want to be 60% off at the parts counter too!

LIke the lads at airports selling tickets for to win a'free' lambourgini. I always say 'no thanks, sure l couldn't afford to run it.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

scary,

just as well you were experienced, could have been messy (& costly)

jt65 wrote: »
    scary,

just as well you were experienced, could have been messy (& costly)

Could still have gone wrong handy enough. Lucky it was on a mini roundabout and not the inside lane of a proper roundabout, be some mess if it happened there with a car outside you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

This is the bull$hit right here. Conmacine Mara and myself have had a couple of right oul barneys on this question and it turns out that Cons max payment around €15,500 (according to his own posts on another thread) was around €7-800 lower than my max payment. His has been hit harder than mine with some schemes going but you'll have to explain to me how his payment which he hopes to get back up to is a small one worthy of protecting and enhancing whereas mine is a large one, a symbol of greed, sharp practice and insider gombeen politics which must be severely cut in the name of fairness because I've "had it god enough for long enough" according to more than one poster.

You're on some of the best land in the country. The reason why the whole country gets so much money is because we have land which is in a NUTS2 region as per Eu Classifications. Basically the level of money paid was to compensate people on bad land such as Con's. However the Irish Government did a great job of fluffing the whole lot and they paid it out on an average payment instead of separating the payments and paying a higher rate to those in NUTS2 Region and a lower rate in NUTS1 region. There was supposed to be a 33% difference. This allowed people in the NUTS1 region to build huge payments by stocking high during reference years (and why wouldn't they!) and it discriminated against people in the NUTS2 region who had poorer quality land and couldn't stock as high.

So the reason why people in NUTS1 region deserve to have their payment cut is the quality of the land that they work with. Lobbying and governmental interferance created this difference in payment. If it was left without interferance, farmers in NUTS2 region could have had 33% more and the inequality that exists today would not be there in a lot of cases.

ie. It was the basic intention of cap to compensate farmers for having to farm on poorer land for the disadvantage that they were subjected to because of the quality of their land.

But the power of the lobby changes everything!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

take cover, i feel a drone strike coming in the direction of the North west, bearing directly from the south east

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

simx wrote: »
    Reading herd test in a hour, fingers crossed :)

Quick question lads, had 3 doubtful, meant to test after 6 weeks. They are just about fit for slaughter. Can I send in to factory or is testing them the bottom line?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

Quick question lads, had 3 doubtful, meant to test after 6 weeks. They are just about fit for slaughter. Can I send in to factory or is testing them the bottom line?

Factory all the way you might need a permit but Hugh will get that for you.

Swb

Think I read before SWB are more prone to that than LWB, might be wrong can't fully remember (like most things!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Jeez Rellig, take it easy on those lads in the S and SE. The amount of walking they've to do they deserve it. Sure weren't they measuring grass up to Christmas and around Jan 5th talking of putting urea out? My heart goes out to them. And roughly every 10yrs they've a few weeks of drought, God luv 'em.

I'm much happier only having to walk around the shed for 7 months of the year. 5 months of walking the fields is enough for any man:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Just found the FF CAP policy document, probably what will be on the agenda for tomorrow nights and subsequent meetings:

http://www.scribd.com/doc/203415644/Cap-Policy-Paper

Isn't that unusual, it's completely opposite to the FG policy

just do it wrote: »
    I'm much happier only having to walk around the shed for 7 months of the year.

I don't want to be telling you your business, but H&S would say you need a chair half way around the shed in case you get dizzy :D

rancher wrote: »
    Isn't that unusual, it's completely opposite to the FG policy

I'm starting to think that isn't a bad thing :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

just do it wrote: »
    Jeez Rellig, take it easy on those lads in the S and SE. The amount of walking they've to do they deserve it. Sure weren't they measuring grass up to Christmas and around Jan 5th talking of putting urea out? My heart goes out to them. And roughly every 10yrs they've a few weeks of drought, God luv 'em.

I'm much happier only having to walk around the shed for 7 months of the year. 5 months of walking the fields is enough for any man:D

Would not take the quad, or up here the Honda 50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,618 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

First bit of the fitness test done today, this calls for a curry chips :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

biddy2013 wrote: »
    would they not be a bit old for breeding?
    No, a lot of sukler guys prefer to calve down at 3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

No, a lot of sukler guys prefer to calve down at 3 years.

It's not the age pre se that'd worry me but the weight, if you're buying heifers to bull, I'd sooner around 18mths, they're lighter and don't usually come into as much money. No much point being beef to bull!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

dzer2 wrote: »
    Factory all the way you might need a permit but Hugh will get that for you.

We'll vet told me that because didn't have reactor in years more than likely dept will give back all cards except them two animals so will I have to still get permit or permission? Yes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

We'll vet told me that because didn't have reactor in years more than likely dept will give back all cards except them two animals so will I have to still get permit or permission? Yes?

They are gone so strict on the rules around TB since Christmas, I wouldn't believe that to be honest.

The new rules are a joke and must be further designed to put any finishers only out of business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Blue Holland

At one stage if you did send doubtfulls to factory with permission they would insist on doing another full herd test. Not sure what criteria is now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

A gang was going around Clare last Tuesday stealing Catalytic Converters from 4x4's parked in public places. They did 5 jeeps in a few hours. Apparently they just slide in under the jeeps, because they are high enough, and will have it cut out in a matter of minutes. There is precious metals in the CAT that fetch a few quid. So be aware. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭feartuath

A gang was going around Clare last Tuesday stealing Catalytic Converters from 4x4's parked in public places. They did 5 jeeps in a few hours. Apparently they just slide in under the jeeps, because they are high enough, and will have it cut out in a matter of minutes. There is precious metals in the CAT that fetch a few quid. So be aware. :mad:

I'm just under here looking for a kitten sir

They've even been stolen off ambulances in some cases, not related to the above but it goes to show the morality of todays honest decent criminal.

I'm in the bad books with herself, for making phone calls while her programme is on. (So naturally I'm going to keep doing it until she lightens up :D - Yes, she will read this).

She says this reminds her of me................

http://www.pbh2.com/wtf/angry-goat-terrorizes-town/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

I'm in the bad books with herself, for making phone calls while her programme is on. (So naturally I'm going to keep doing it until she lightens up :D - Yes, she will read this).

Not to self....don't annoy con :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,618 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I concur :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,404 ✭✭✭naughto

ya want to get sky plus best thing we ever got so herself can watch the soaps at this time while iam up stairs in the batcave,i could do it with a cup of tea and the heating being turned on tho.