New York Mayor to boycott St Patricks Day Parade

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

High Five! No idea why you're getting miffed though, I am not even one iota anti-gay. I honestly think everyone is entitled to enjoy their own sexuality. It is no-one elses business. I realise why the LBGT community is protesting - they have valid issues. Doesn't change the fact I'm bored sh1tless listening to them though. LBGT overload.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

High Five! No idea why you're getting miffed though, I am not even one iota anti-gay. I honestly think everyone is entitled to enjoy their own sexuality. It is no-one elses business. I realise why the LBGT community is protesting - they have valid issues. Doesn't change the fact I'm bored sh1tless listening to them though. LBGT overload.
    It's great you're not anti-gay. Do you think people would be making noise if that was the case for everyone? Sorry you're bored. I really am. Tears.

I would hate for you to ever have an issue with something in your life and wanting to speak out about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

sure bejaysus begorrah says i

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

I was planning on going to the Paddy's Day parade to celebrate my Irishness, and the life of St. Patrick who is patron saint of our country.

Perhaps I should be celebrating my hetrosexuality instead?

Have things really changed that much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

We'll do them a trade. They can march in the New York parade and the Iona Institute can march in the Pride parade in Dublin.

And I'll grab myself some popcorn....

conorhal wrote: »
    We'll do them a trade. They can march in the New York parade and the Iona Institute can march in the Pride parade in Dublin.

Might as well, they certainly have plenty of funds for a big fancy float anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

That's grand so.. they can take part in the festivities. If they're not demonstrating then they don't need to carry banners and make a big fuss of their collective presence do they?

You keep saying they're 'banned'... who is banned exactly?
    what's the point in marching if you can't be identified

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I was planning on going to the Paddy's Day parade to celebrate my Irishness, and the life of St. Patrick who is patron saint of our country.

Perhaps I should be celebrating my hetrosexuality instead?

Have things really changed that much?
    St Patrick is mainly fiction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

conorhal wrote: »

The difference being that Pride welcomes all participants and isn't attempting to exclude anyone unlike the troglodyte arseholes in Iona and the AOH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

FTA69 wrote: »
    The difference being that Pride welcomes all participants and isn't attempting to exclude anyone unlike the troglodyte arseholes in Iona and the AOH.
    I very much doubt the Iona institute would be allowed to march at the gay pride parade.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

he will change his mind

America has about 25% irish

it would affect him if he wants to run for governor

So you reckon 80 million of the American people are Irish. What are you on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,675 ✭✭✭✭listermint

The significance of the 'Irish vote' has been on the wain for years though, even in a place like NY. Republican VP candidate Paul Ryan didn't even bother with trying to exploit it in the last Presidential election. Most political commentators over there group it in now with the broad white middle to working class demographic.

Which would make sense to his lack of Vice Presidentness....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭hedgehog2

That New York mayor is only vote mining the huge gay population in new york.
    He could not give a feck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

he will change his mind

America has about 25% irish

it would affect him if he wants to run for governor

I'm not sure where you got that statistic.

40 million Americans (around 14%) have some Irish roots. That can mean they have just one Irish great-grandparent, which would make them 12.5% Irish. If your great grandparents were 1 who was Irish, 1 Scottish, 1 German, 1 English, 1 Polish, 1 Hungarian and 2 Italian, would you call yourself Irish?

I'd suggest that considerably fewer than 40 million Americans consider themselves Irish, or Irish-American. We like to think there are more, but the fact is that the only real "Irish" strongholds left in the U.S. are parts of Boston and some surrounding towns, as well as a couple of neighbourhoods in New York. Go to California or Florida with an Irish accent and you'll be stared at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,397 ✭✭✭golfball37

hedgehog2 wrote: »
    That New York mayor is only vote mining the huge gay population in new york.
    He could not give a feck

In a nutshell.

Paddy's day parades are not the time or place for Political bulls1t or protest marching. We have enough fora or occasions where we can voice any concerns. The mayor is only giving oxygen to troublemakers and increasing his profile in the meantime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Snatchy

Poor form from the mayor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,821 ✭✭✭floggg

golfball37 wrote: »
    In a nutshell.

Paddy's day parades are not the time or place for Political bulls1t or protest marching. We have enough fora or occasions where we can voice any concerns. The mayor is only giving oxygen to troublemakers and increasing his profile in the meantime.

Gay people are trouble makers for wanting to be inclusive?

The parades welcome community and performance groups Say I am part of a street theatre group called Brooklyn Streer Performers"

Should I be allowed to March as part of that group and under a banner bearing our name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,397 ✭✭✭golfball37

floggg wrote: »
    Gay people are trouble makers for wanting to be inclusive?

The parades welcome community and performance groups Say I am part of a street theatre group called Brooklyn Streer Performers"

Should I be allowed to March as part of that group and under a banner bearing our name?

Someone trying to relate a Political message at an event that is apolitical is by definition a trouble maker. Their sexuality is irrevelent. What you and your group is doing is what St Patricks day parades is about so I don't understand the offence.

irish americans aka americans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,492 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Good call by the mayor on this one.

Maybe Enda and his crew cohorts can instead follow it up with a move to Flushing Meadows for the parade.

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    I very much doubt the Iona institute would be allowed to march at the gay pride parade.

Don't be silly.

I said Pride is all-inclusive; it welcomes people of all sexualities. The Iona Institute on the other hand, is a campaign group specifically established with a view to denying people the rights that other citizens enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Don't be silly.

I said Pride is all-inclusive; it welcomes people of all sexualities. The Iona Institute on the other hand, is a campaign group specifically established with a view to denying people the rights that other citizens enjoy.
    Sound argument there for "pride" not being all-inclusive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Friend Computer

Oh boy! Is it time for the stupid semantic arguments again?

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Sound argument there for "pride" not being all-inclusive.

This is f*cking ridiculous like.

Why would a march based around equality for gay people be accepting of a homophobic organisation that campaigns against them?

It would be like saying Martin Luther King was full of sh*t when he spoke about equality because he didn't want white supremacists at his Washington march.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Who exactly are the organisers of the parade 'excluding'? Have they said that gay people are not welcome? No, and I'm sure that many gay people will be taking part and included in the various sections of the parade.

They'll be doing it without setting themselves apart from the overall parade though. Surely that's what inclusiveness is all about? Why do the 'Gay Pride' organisations need to set themselves apart and stand alone in it? That to me is what seems exclusive..

Are people just going to repeat the lie 'gay people are banned' and hope that others take it as fact?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

This is f*cking ridiculous like.

Why would a march based around equality for gay people be accepting of a homophobic organisation that campaigns against them?

It would be like saying Martin Luther King was full of sh*t when he spoke about equality because he didn't want white supremacists at his Washington march.
    I thought part of the whole Pride thing was about embracing diversity?
    I suppose they feel they are entitled to pick and choose which diverse organisations they allow participate.

One could easily make the same argument for the organisers of a St. Patrick's Day Parade.

As for your MLK comparison.....:rolleyes:

The Patrick's Day Parade in Cork has many different groups; it has youth groups and immigrants groups and occasionally, gay groups. It represents the fact that Irish society is diverse and welcoming and consists of many different people who buy into that identity. Why this can't be replicated in New York is beyond me.
    They'll be doing it without setting themselves apart from the overall parade though. Surely that's what inclusiveness is all about? Why do the 'Gay Pride' organisations need to set themselves apart and stand alone in it? That to me is what seems exclusive..

This is simply a case of weasel words to be honest - "you can attend as long as you cover up your sexuality." Similarly to pretend this is simply about maintaining a uniform parade as opposed to the reality of it being rooted in Catholic exclusionist b*llocks is a bit silly as well. Many Irish people are gay and they should be allowed to include that identity if they so choose without a shower of bigots attempting to exclude them for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I could understand why everyone is giving out about how gay people shouldn't be making the parade political, until you look at the gob****es in the order:

www.aoh.com

Who are these idiots to claim a patent on what it means to be Irish?

padd b1975 wrote: »
    I thought part of the whole Pride thing was about embracing diversity?
    I suppose they feel they are entitled to pick and choose which diverse organisations they allow participate.

Can you really not see how a march calling for equality for gays would be hostile to a homophobic organisation? Really?

As for your MLK comparison.....:rolleyes:

Yep, thought you'd have no response to it alright. I guess he wasn't really about equality or diversity after all, sure he didn't invite the KKK after all. Expecting gay people to be tolerant of homophobic groups is as retarded as expecting blacks to be tolerant of racists.