Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New York Mayor to boycott St Patricks Day Parade

• 05-02-2014 8:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭

New York Mayor Bill de Blasio has decided to boycott the city's St Patrick's day Parade because of the banning of gay groups from the city's parade.

I wonder will the Irish Government follow suit? If they are encouraging a yes vote in the referendum it would be very odd to attend an event that bans certain sections of the community.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0205/502357-new-york-st-patricks-day/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Well hopefully it serves as a wake up call for the committee to change their archaic policies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

They didn't ban gay groups. They banned gay pride protest banners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

New York Mayor Bill de Blasio has decided to boycott the city's St Patrick's day Parade because of the banning of gay groups from the city's parade.

I wonder will the Irish Government follow suit? If they are encouraging a yes vote in the referendum it would be very odd to attend an event that bans certain sections of the community.

The government should boycott it. We have gay sections in the parades in Ireland. These US people of Irish descent have some weird ideas of what is Ireland these days. (Thank heavens they don't have a vote here!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0205/502357-new-york-st-patricks-day/

They're not banning any section of the community, though.

I generally dislike St. Patrick's days parades, but this is blatantly being hijacked by a certain group in order to further their own views, which is fair enough, but why do it under the guise of a totally unrelated festival?

The planners of the parade are protecting a product and image as much as anything else. They don't want it hijacked by different groups all vying for different ideals. I can understand that

We have gay sections in the parades in Ireland.

Ah come on, I'm sure some of the male dancers are straight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

I generally dislike St. Patrick's days parades, but this is blatantly being hijacked by a certain group in order to further their own views, which is fair enough, but why do it under the guise of a totally unrelated festival?

The planners of the parade are protecting a product and image as much as anything else. They don't want it hijacked by different groups all vying for different ideals. I can understand that

Eh? We have various occupational groups marching in the parade, we have various community groups marching in the parade... we are all celebrating being Irish, aren't we? I'm sure that there will be representatives from Irish atheists as well as Irish cyclists as well as Gardai and groups from Tallaght in the Dublin Parade. God help us (I speak as an atheist) there might even be marching bands and sheep farmers and tango dancers and Portugese immigrants in it.

All furthering their own activities, views and showing the diversity of Irish culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Terry1985

They should also ban water charge protesters.
    They're overly emotional and self serving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

The product is Ireland and Irishness. Do you not think we dont have gay people in Ireland. There will be religious groups marching as well. Yet no one blinks an eye at them marching after all thats been revealed about whats been going on in all the churches down the last few decades - amazing.

The New York Parade does not have floats, Balloons or motorized vehicles of any kind however it does have civic groups and plenty of them. And by banning certain civic groups you are sending out a terrible message.

http://www.marching.com/events/new-york-city-st-patricks-day-parade/

The product is Ireland and Irishness. Do you not think we dont have gay people in Ireland. There will be religious groups marching as well. Yet no one blinks an eye at them marching after all thats been revealed about whats been going on in all the churches down the last few decades - amazing.

The New York Parade does not have floats, Balloons or motorized vehicles of any kind however it does have civic groups and plenty of them. And by banning certain civic groups you are sending out a terrible message.

http://www.marching.com/events/new-york-city-st-patricks-day-parade/

Again, they're not banning anyone. They're restricting what kind of protests or demonstrations take place as part of the overall official parade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

Again, they're not banning anyone. They're restricting what kind of protests or demonstrations take place as part of the overall official parade.

No one will be protesting or demonstrating. Where have you got that idea from?

That's grand so.. they can take part in the festivities. If they're not demonstrating then they don't need to carry banners and make a big fuss of their collective presence do they?

You keep saying they're 'banned'... who is banned exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭ninjasurfer1

From the article:

"The presence of uniformed police and firefighters in such a procession sends a clear signal to LGBTQ New Yorkers that these personnel, who are charged with serving and protecting all New Yorkers, do not respect the lives or safety of LGBT people".

eh, no. They're marching as police and firefighters. Not gay or heterosexual police and firefighters.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

he will change his mind

America has about 25% irish

it would affect him if he wants to run for governor

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Good on the New York mayor.

The Ancient Order of Hibernians who organise and control the main NYC St. Patrick's Day parade are a group of homophobic bigots. Nothing more , nothing less.

There is an alternative St. Patrick's day parade held in Flushing Meadows that includes all of NYC's communities.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

but the gheys....they're mad for the craic :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Any hope a few of our Pols might boycott the New York parade as well? Doubtful. They'd walk to it if they had to. All dem fancy hotels, and doing it for De Country. It Promotes Trade, someone said. Yeah, hotel trade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

From the article:

"The presence of uniformed police and firefighters in such a procession sends a clear signal to LGBTQ New Yorkers that these personne

There's a Q now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

Can someone explain to me in what way they are being discriminated?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Yamanoto wrote: »
    There's a Q now?
    Variations on term. Refers to queer or questioning. Queer refers to those who don't associate with a particular gender. That's my interpretation of it.

I honestly don't care who is banging who, when, how or even where, I just wish they'd stfu about it and get on with it. They're just being ghey at this stage with their whining.

You've made this comment many times now. I wish you'd stop with your banging on about how you're being inconvenienced by a gay rights movement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Judging by the fact that you've posted in every recent thread about the subject, I'd guess that you do indeed care.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Perhaps next he might boycott for not inviting snakes, as part his attempt to make such a festival of tolerance for all those believing as the mayor does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

he will change his mind

The significance of the 'Irish vote' has been on the wain for years though, even in a place like NY. Republican VP candidate Paul Ryan didn't even bother with trying to exploit it in the last Presidential election. Most political commentators over there group it in now with the broad white middle to working class demographic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Yamanoto wrote: »
    There's a Q now?

See they have to be seen as inclusive so when someone new comes along and says they don't fall under the current letters there's a collective sigh and a new letter is added. They won't be happy until they have the whole alphabet used. :P

Judging by the fact that you've posted in every recent thread about the subject, I'd guess that you do indeed care.

I've posted in every damn thread going. Quantity is deffo no guarantee of quality when it comes to my posts. And I don't care - I believe in personal freedom. If someone is gay, good for them. It's none of anyones business. Least of all mine. LBGTQ? Good for you. I also reckon let whoever wants to marry whoever they want to marry. As long as it's consensual, fire ahead. Just bored listening to them at this stage tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I've posted in every damn thread going. Quantity is deffo no guarantee of quality when it comes to my posts. And I don't care - I believe in personal freedom. If someone is gay, good for them. It's none of anyones business. Least of all mine. LBGTQ? Good for you. I also reckon let whoever wants to marry whoever they want to marry. As long as it's consensual, fire ahead. Just bored listening to them at this stage tbh.

Heres an easy solution then. Don't post in the threads and ignore them.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Heres an easy solution then. Don't post in the threads and ignore them.

That would be homophobic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Everyone should boycott the idiotic paddy whackery of St P parades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

High Five! No idea why you're getting miffed though, I am not even one iota anti-gay. I honestly think everyone is entitled to enjoy their own sexuality. It is no-one elses business. I realise why the LBGT community is protesting - they have valid issues. Doesn't change the fact I'm bored sh1tless listening to them though. LBGT overload.

It's great you're not anti-gay. Do you think people would be making noise if that was the case for everyone? Sorry you're bored. I really am. Tears.

I would hate for you to ever have an issue with something in your life and wanting to speak out about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

sure bejaysus begorrah says i

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

I was planning on going to the Paddy's Day parade to celebrate my Irishness, and the life of St. Patrick who is patron saint of our country.

Perhaps I should be celebrating my hetrosexuality instead?

Have things really changed that much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

We'll do them a trade. They can march in the New York parade and the Iona Institute can march in the Pride parade in Dublin.

And I'll grab myself some popcorn....

conorhal wrote: »
    We'll do them a trade. They can march in the New York parade and the Iona Institute can march in the Pride parade in Dublin.

Might as well, they certainly have plenty of funds for a big fancy float anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

That's grand so.. they can take part in the festivities. If they're not demonstrating then they don't need to carry banners and make a big fuss of their collective presence do they?

You keep saying they're 'banned'... who is banned exactly?
    what's the point in marching if you can't be identified

I was planning on going to the Paddy's Day parade to celebrate my Irishness, and the life of St. Patrick who is patron saint of our country.

Perhaps I should be celebrating my hetrosexuality instead?

Have things really changed that much?
    St Patrick is mainly fiction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

conorhal wrote: »

The difference being that Pride welcomes all participants and isn't attempting to exclude anyone unlike the troglodyte arseholes in Iona and the AOH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

FTA69 wrote: »
    The difference being that Pride welcomes all participants and isn't attempting to exclude anyone unlike the troglodyte arseholes in Iona and the AOH.
    I very much doubt the Iona institute would be allowed to march at the gay pride parade.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

he will change his mind

So you reckon 80 million of the American people are Irish. What are you on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

The significance of the 'Irish vote' has been on the wain for years though, even in a place like NY. Republican VP candidate Paul Ryan didn't even bother with trying to exploit it in the last Presidential election. Most political commentators over there group it in now with the broad white middle to working class demographic.

Which would make sense to his lack of Vice Presidentness....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭hedgehog2

That New York mayor is only vote mining the huge gay population in new york.
    He could not give a feck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

he will change his mind

I'm not sure where you got that statistic.

40 million Americans (around 14%) have some Irish roots. That can mean they have just one Irish great-grandparent, which would make them 12.5% Irish. If your great grandparents were 1 who was Irish, 1 Scottish, 1 German, 1 English, 1 Polish, 1 Hungarian and 2 Italian, would you call yourself Irish?

I'd suggest that considerably fewer than 40 million Americans consider themselves Irish, or Irish-American. We like to think there are more, but the fact is that the only real "Irish" strongholds left in the U.S. are parts of Boston and some surrounding towns, as well as a couple of neighbourhoods in New York. Go to California or Florida with an Irish accent and you'll be stared at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭golfball37

hedgehog2 wrote: »
    That New York mayor is only vote mining the huge gay population in new york.
    He could not give a feck

In a nutshell.

Paddy's day parades are not the time or place for Political bulls1t or protest marching. We have enough fora or occasions where we can voice any concerns. The mayor is only giving oxygen to troublemakers and increasing his profile in the meantime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Snatchy

Poor form from the mayor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭floggg

golfball37 wrote: »
    In a nutshell.

Paddy's day parades are not the time or place for Political bulls1t or protest marching. We have enough fora or occasions where we can voice any concerns. The mayor is only giving oxygen to troublemakers and increasing his profile in the meantime.

Gay people are trouble makers for wanting to be inclusive?

The parades welcome community and performance groups Say I am part of a street theatre group called Brooklyn Streer Performers"

Should I be allowed to March as part of that group and under a banner bearing our name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭golfball37

floggg wrote: »
    Gay people are trouble makers for wanting to be inclusive?

The parades welcome community and performance groups Say I am part of a street theatre group called Brooklyn Streer Performers"

Should I be allowed to March as part of that group and under a banner bearing our name?

Someone trying to relate a Political message at an event that is apolitical is by definition a trouble maker. Their sexuality is irrevelent. What you and your group is doing is what St Patricks day parades is about so I don't understand the offence.

irish americans aka americans