Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Looking at the double posts and timings earlier, posting on here with a phone is very unreliable.

I just thought you'd lost the plot:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I just thought you'd lost the plot:pac:

Lost that so long ago I don't even know the title of the story no more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Power went here for about 45 minutes just back now. It's getting a little gusty!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Seeing as whelan1 is gone I think biddy should start the new edition of FCC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

aldi had thinsulate hats reduced to 1.50, fishing gear reduced too( nearly neede it to get back to the car:rolleyes:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

I took advantage of the fine dry day and turned in all the cows and gave allsure bullets to remainder and youngs pour on as they badly needed it. scratching like crazy 1 or 2 with kind of hairless/mange patches

done them all bullets and all by myself... the younger cows/ heifers that I have seem to be much better to manoeuvre .. docility seems to be going in the right direction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

.Kovu. wrote: »
    lads please look after yourselves. ijust had to call nowdoc as was barely fit to stand. turns out I have one of the worst cases of salmonna he ever seen. Heart rate wase was/is over 160, temp of over 106. i wasnt even to keep water down snce sat but thought nothng of it til i thought iwas gong to keel up:(

Mind yourself Kovu. Hope your well soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,618 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

lads please look after yourselves. ijust had to call nowdoc as was barely fit to stand. turns out I have one of the worst cases of salmonna he ever seen. Heart rate wase was/is over 160, temp of over 106. i wasnt even to keep water down snce sat but thought nothng of it til i thought iwas gong to keel up:(

She's a tough auld bird this one ;)

are you in hospital? look after yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

thought you were buying weanlings in the midlands, not eating them

mind yerself

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Jesus you poor thing. I hope the meds are good and you're feeling no pain. Miserable dose.
    Here is some sympathy (((((sympathy))))) and a massive ((((((((((((((((HUG))))))))))))))))))))
    Get well soon

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Get well soon kovu, hope the doc has it sorted.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Chilling here watching 12 years a slave good show

I said wrote: »
    Chilling here watching 12 years a slave good show

Amazing looking back at what it was like in them times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭feartuath

Cow calved last Friday LM bull from GWO ,was not due till 14th ,small calf from big LM/HE cow
    Now I discover she has very little milk in her huge bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭You Suck!

Hope you don't mind me hopping on this this thread, but I hardly feel my question worth a thread. I'm just wondering how you might go about getting two cuts for silage bales from a field in one year? Sorry if this is a stupid/inappropriate question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

You Suck! wrote: »
    Hope you don't mind me hopping on this this thread, but I hardly feel my question worth a thread. I'm just wondering how you might go about getting two cuts for silage bales from a field in one year? Sorry if this is a stupid/inappropriate question.

Well you would ideally get a few thousand gallons of slurry to the acre, spread in the next 6 weeks hopefully. If ground conditions are right, spread about 90 units of Nitrogen per acre, and cut for silage in mid to late May. Immediately repeat the dose of slurry, and about 75 units of Nitrogen, and again, all things being equal, you will be able to take a second cut in early august.

Its important that the Nitrogen is all utilized out of the leaf of the grass before cutting. You can gey a Lab. to test for this. Otherwise the silage will not preserve, and all your investment in fert. and baling/wrapping expenses are lost.
    In a normal growing season, about 2 units of nitrogen are used by the grass per day. So 50 days after sowing fert., you should be safe to cut.

was amazed the other evening at parent teacher meeting how young the teachers are, of the 12 teachers i spoke to only 2 would have been over 40, the majority where under 30, felt old:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

biddy2013 wrote: »
    was amazed the other evening at parent teacher meeting how young the teachers are, of the 12 teachers i spoke to only 2 would have been over 40, the majority where under 30, felt old:o

Girlfriend does her placement in an all boys school.
    Ye can guess how fun that is :D
    She says one little lad won't stop staring at her ha

eldest lad was asking me for months to go to a disco , i said no. Then i said if he got good reports from parent teacher meeting- assuming he wouldnt- he could go. 11 of the 12 teachers said he was a great lad:rolleyes: had to eat my words and he can go to the disco.

Beginning of the end for you now :). Won't be long before he's out all hours on the Friday and Saturday nights

yup im in trouble now:( he's delighted with himself

the teacher that gave out about him was a bit of a p$%ck, he was saying he was giving cheek, i just said why didnt you give him detention before this? HE said i never thought of it, if he's getting away with it he will continue to act up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,404 ✭✭✭naughto

what part or parts is he staring at i wounder;);)
    fair play to him he starting young:pac::pac:

naughto wrote: »
    what part or parts is he staring at i wounder;);)
    fair play to him he starting young:pac::pac:

She goes wild when I tell her she has an admirer :D

while waiting in queue for a teacher-was 10 in front of me- i saw sons name on side of a desk- no other kid of same name as him in school- a loves g . i was scarlet. said it to him when i got home:D

Thats him gonna be ruined :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Should we start calling you granny? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,404 ✭✭✭naughto

She goes wild when I tell her she has an admirer :D
    my younger brother went out with his lecture when he was in college i sh1te you not.he had some rep in the college after that,she wasent have bad either.handy with the red byro is all iam saying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Should we start calling you granny? :D

Ye never know, if he gets his way at the disco :D