Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭Panrich

looks like the black card rule will affect the dynamics of many games this year. Defenders look afraid to put in hard tackles and new strategies will be called for to limit scoring chances. It will be interesting to see what new tactics emerge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Thought we were poor enough today and played alot of football through memory more than anything else. Alot of rust and cobwebs. But you can never fail us on one thing, fight. That game was getting away from Mayo before Gibbons' (who was good) well taken goal. No structure in the play for big proportion of the game yet we score 2-18 which would win most games. Kildares shooting was fantastic though and were fully deserving of the win. Apparently they only scored 2 to 3 frees and the rest from play. Kind of sums up the way we defended but take nothing away from Kildare. Great support in Newbridge. Nice to get free parking too. Fair play to whitewater shopping for that incentive:)

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Impressed overall. Very spirited and came back on many occassion where written off. Considering our AI defeat I think we can be happy with the drive and passion we showed.

Out of today Gallagher and Gibbons had excellent games. O'Connor junior did well also and Coen will come good.

As much as I like Kevin Keane I think he is rapidly running out of time, his lack of pace is killing him. Varley I think is another who will do well to retain a place in the squad. Gallagher, O'Connor, Coen and with Dillion and COC to return and Regan to appear he could be squeezed out.

AOS was immense until his black, which was harsh to say the least, that said Keegan should have got black as should have 2 Kildare players.
    Gibbons played very well in a big midfield, McLoughs did well with the frees (80% return). Hennelly took some lovely frees and played well overall.
    Boyle is lost in the corner.

AM is getting back to good form, was back in front of his man in most occassions.

Overall ya I am gutted but I think considering we are coming off another AI final defeat, a poor FBD and a holiday which limited our training I think we can be very positive and hopeful. I have no fear of Tyrone next week and I think we can kick on and get our 1st win.

Great to see the support there, either we are a daft shower of supporters for taking knock after knock or truly believe our day will come, I'm for the later :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

seligehgit wrote: »
    Yeah there was great support there today,lots of positives to take out of this cracking game.Shane McHale is a real prospect,Jason Gibbons was excellent when he came in,ditto Brian Gallagher.Adam Gallagher gives me real grounds for optimism up front.He has the potential to be a serious forward.
    Best game I've seen from Kevin McLaughlin in manys a long day,good in general play.Freetaking was good although he missed a vital one.
    Have'nt watched the game back yet but I thought Aidan O Shea deserved his black card.I thought Andy Moran had a poor game,at times he could'nt get the ball to stick and his lack of pace was noticeable.The experiment with Colm Boyle at corner back should be terminated,that line continues to be a worry.Kevin Keane was caught out badly for the first goal and tested severely today.
    Robert Hennelly popped over 3 points in spite of my whinge re a goalkeeper taking frees!:)

I agree with the majority of your post seligehgit but disagree with your take on Moran. I thought he was really good today. He was the go to man in the forwards and linked plenty of play, he did a lot of dirty work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,457 ✭✭✭✭km79

ColeTrain wrote: »
    I agree with the majority of your post seligehgit but disagree with your take on Moran. I thought he was really good today. He was the go to man in the forwards and linked plenty of play, he did a lot of dirty work.

Was just going to say the same , thought he was excellent. Great vision and passing exemplified by the 2nd goal.
    The black card could ruin AOS . his style of robust tackling and high profile means he will get pulled more than most. I thought the ref was poor overall and extremely inconsistent on black card offences......

km79 wrote: »
    Was just going to say the same , thought he was excellent. Great vision and passing exemplified by the 2nd goal.
    The black card could ruin AOS . his style of robust tackling and high profile means he will get pulled more than most. I thought the ref was poor overall and extremely inconsistent on black card offences......

Horan was on the radio saying we need consistency with the rule, hard to disagree. There was definitely a shout for one when they pulled us down going through on goal in the second half.
    I wasn't impressed with the referee either. I don't think he cost us the game but got some obvious enough decisions wrong imo.

Wonder will we see Higgins back in the corner the next day? The experiment didn't work today as he was off his game. But due to the sheer lack of pace in the full back line especially with Cunniffe and Barrett missing, I'd say its vital Keith is in the corner for Omagh. Andy at 11. Anyone know what's the story with Vaughan, injured? McHale looked a lost cause today too unfortunately. Scored a good point but he doesn't seem to have the head for centre half back and another with not much speed in his game. Ok back up though.

Fowler87 wrote: »
    Wonder will we see Higgins back in the corner the next day? The experiment didn't work today as he was off his game. But due to the sheer lack of pace in the full back line especially with Cunniffe and Barrett missing, I'd say its vital Keith is in the corner for Omagh. Andy at 11. Anyone know what's the story with Vaughan, injured? McHale looked a lost cause today too unfortunately. Scored a good point but he doesn't seem to have the head for centre half back and another with not much speed in his game. Ok back up though.

Higgins might be better suited at number 11 when playing on a pitch like CrokePark.

Vaughan is injured. McHale done okay for me, he's definitely more defensive minded than Vaughan. Our half back line will look much better when he returns and Boyler goes back to 7..

ColeTrain wrote: »
    Higgins might be better suited at number 11 when playing on a pitch like CrokePark.

Vaughan is injured. McHale done okay for me, he's definitely more defensive minded than Vaughan. Our half back line will look much better when he returns and Boyler goes back to 7..

The Higgins centre forward experiment will work again in different games when teams are more defensive. Possibly the next day it could happen again but atm we need him in defence especially with the absentees.

Maybe its me and I understand hes been very good for his club but anytime I've seen McHale play for Mayo (other than a couple of cameos) hes been very average and looks slow off the mark. For all his faults, Vaughan is still the best we have at 6, important for the Horan system. What dya make of Harrison? Quiet enough debut I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭krazyklown

I thought Mayo looked heavy legged and some lads look like they need to work on their fitness. We never got to grips with Brophy in the first half- i enjoyed watching his movement off-the-ball, timed his runs to perfection. I wonder if Higgins deployment to the forward line is robbing us of our best man marker? If he was in the full back line he would surely have been deployed to mark Brophy as his pace seemed to cause alot of problems.

Personally felt the black card was used sensibly - the first one was a definite, AOS was a bit marginal but from the ref's point of view they end up on the ground and AOS has his man wrapped up effectively like a rugby tackle. Any more would have been over use and i think the players got the message. It probably contributed to the open nature of the game.

I thought Gallacher had the beating of his man and Coen looked very comfortable and confident when in possession. They seemed to have integrated well with the experienced players and seemed to be on the same wavelength with some neat interplay. Gibbons had a massive performance and showed like he really wants it. Needs to communicate more when going for kickouts - came in like a train a couple of times on his own man and Moran was irate enough to let him know after they collided when Moran was underneath the dropping ball.

Would echo the free parking the silverbridge sc is a great idea with it being so close to the ground. When i went to get my ticket validated, the guy didnt even look for my programme so kudos to Newbridge for making life easier for travelling supporters.

Fowler87 wrote: »
    The Higgins centre forward experiment will work again in different games when teams are more defensive. Possibly the next day it could happen again but atm we need him in defence especially with the absentees.

Maybe its me and I understand hes been very good for his club but anytime I've seen McHale play for Mayo (other than a couple of cameos) hes been very average and looks slow off the mark. For all his faults, Vaughan is still the best we have at 6, important for the Horan system. What dya make of Harrison? Quiet enough debut I thought.

Yeah agree with you on Harrison, he had a tough day of it. Thought Drake looked lively when he came on.

What do you reckon about next week? I think today's game will stand to them big-time. Good to see some new blood coming through, tbh it wasn't a bad day at the office despite losing it like we did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Just seen the O Shea black card on the news,very harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

We lost mid field about 10 mins before aidens black card. Horan should have dealt with that. We lost mid field totally after that. I felt our depth was not there today but an enjoyable encounter for the neutral. Our full backs and half backs should have tightened up and after our second goal we should have held the play in their half. Dissapointing in that our soul searching for strength and depth is looking a little fruitless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,272 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

seligehgit wrote: »
    Just seen the O Shea black card on the news,very harsh.

Saw it on league Sunday on RTE.
    It looked like a pull down by O'Shea.
    It was not a clear cut black but it was much closer to black than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Couldn't go due to club commitments, but saw it on the TV and was very impressed with both teams, what a match. Kildare's attack was spot on and a well oiled machine, with a strong defence too, a team to keep an eye on.

I think Mayo had very good passing in the first half with very accurate kicking, and saw some very intuitive play, which I love to watch. The wides problem was kept to a minimum I'm delighted to say. We were vulnerable in the back left, but that was compounded by a bit of bunching that left things wide open for the extra/free man to run in from the centre/other side. Overall I thought the fitness was great for this time of the year, although I felt there was a bit of tiredness when the 60 min mark was hit (an old problem). Cant wait for the next one.

We lost mid field about 10 mins before aidens black card. Horan should have dealt with that. We lost mid field totally after that. I felt our depth was not there today but an enjoyable encounter for the neutral. Our full backs and half backs should have tightened up and after our second goal we should have held the play in their half. Dissapointing in that our soul searching for strength and depth is looking a little fruitless.

You're being very harsh tbh, it was our first run out of the year.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

WHAT, what would you call Gallagher, McHale, Gibbons, Coen, O'Connor, Harrison exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭tony-od

Lads Does any know where I can get a copy of Mayo V Donegal quarter final 2013?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭harpsman

tony-od wrote: »
    Enjoy:D
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WEWo-JKgqWs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭tony-od

Thanks Harpsman but its last years quarter final I'm looking for.

I have the full game on my google drive Tony if you want to pm me your email address. Quality is ok but not hd though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

I'm disappointed that we lost the match but overall we should be positive going forward. Kildare were clearly further ahead fitness wise, for us to lose by one kick of the ball after going into the game missing so many players and having just recently resumed training isn't a cause for panic.

That being said it's obvious the black-card curtailed Mayo's usual intense tackling, we could really stand to suffer if the implementation remains as inconsistent as it is at the moment. The experiment around players playing out of position didn't work yesterday and probably contributed the most to the loss, Boyler and Higgins looked lost and the man-marking was far too loose, I lost count of the amount of times Kildare were able to seek out free men. We have always been reliant on our defenders moving up-field and shoring up the forwards and without a complete set of forwards I don't think we should tinker with the backs for now (except for Caff maybe, had a tough game of it yesterday, who would be better at FB, Cunniffe maybe?)

I'm in two minds about Higgins's move to HF, it seems to work in big open spaces like in Croker but we badly needed him back yesterday. Then again he had a quiet day yesterday so who's to say it would have made much difference?

Overall the young players really showed yesterday and if we have to suffer a couple of defeats in order to bring the experience levels up then so be it, it will pay dividends when the real business starts. Drake and the two Gallaghers were impressive and Gibbons had his best game in a Mayo jersey so far. Also, McLoughlin looks to have regained his form and Andy Moran is looking better than he did last year already.

Lots to be positive about and the league is there to be won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 eljoker

Lads have you stopped drying your eyes yet. Cora Staunton had more balls than your current squad on the big day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Lads don't feed

Just report the muppet. It will be kicked off the thread then.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

eljoker wrote: »
    Best of luck to the chokers this year, but i am afraid its more than luck you need. Up the dubs
    eljoker wrote: »
    Lads have you stopped drying your eyes yet. Cora Staunton had more balls than your current squad on the big day.

If you can post nothing but attempts to wind up Mayo posters, then you can stay off this thread.

You forgot its other posts
    Lads you need to face facts, you just don't have the balls for the big day. You have fantastic footballers but you beat a Tyrone team that lost half there forwards and you hammered average teams. Donegal were not a shadow of last year. You need someone that can inspire a bit of confidence. God is the only person I know that could make a Mayo footballer believe he could lift sam. It's been a poor few years in football overall. Well done in the minor. Maybe the Mayo team caught bit of a bug, mind you its lasted years
    Get players with balls that don't choke. I had a laugh when i read the report on the Tyrone game, choking at home already. I laugh every year at the fact that all the farmers spend a fortune going to Dublin from Mayo and to then go home disappointed in traffic on one of the worst roads in the country. You might be better playing the hardy bucks.

I was a Mayo fan a few years ago but after years hoping they would win in Croker i have given up. Chokers big time. No neutral supports them anymore

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

yop wrote: »
    You forgot its other posts
    Strike that. eljoker don't post on this thread again. At all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 eljoker

Ok so, bye lads. Best of luck this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,174 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

On a similar note - does anyone know where I could get my hands on a copy of last year's minor final (the full match) - would be a nice one to have but couldn't find the full game on youtube the last time I looked? Thanks.