If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Lads can any of you link me to a site that can calculate the VRT rebate on a car?

There is one on the revenue website. IIRC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Gavman84 wrote: »
    Cheers Muppetcheck must ring in morning do you know does he call out or need to go to him?

Whenever I need him I usually meet him in Midleton on Saturday morning. Drop the car and go for breakfast and he's usually done in an hour. If there's anything else say it to him - he can spot things you might not even have seen too.

He works out of Barry Williams bodyshop down there, turn left at the lights and immediately right when you take the first Midleton exit. Absolute gent and won't put you wrong.

Think I saw your car in Mahon Point before Christmas, worth keeping that right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭dar83

oO a 300zx, fair lady to go !

Also @ the black corsa c that kept up to me otw to work I commend you and I am sorry you are now deaf :p

Eh, how did that even happen???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

https://www.ros.ie/evrt-enquiry/vrtenquiry.html?execution=e1s1

Same one as usual, click VRT export enquiry.
    OMSP must be over €2000 and they take €500

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Lads can any of you link me to a site that can calculate the VRT rebate on a car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

ba_barabus wrote: »
    There is one on the revenue website. IIRC
    colm_mcm wrote: »
    https://www.ros.ie/evrt-enquiry/vrtenquiry.html?execution=e1s1

Same one as usual, click VRT export enquiry.
    OMSP must be over €2000 and they take €500

Thanks very much. Don't know why I couldn't find it… Revenue website is a mystery to me :confused::p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

Maybe you should try understand rather than being obtuse for the sake of it.

Lol, birds of feather ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Hmmmm. What can you do it a particular car isn't on their list?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

dar83 wrote: »
    Eh, how did that even happen???

I got a stretch of road to check out boost in 4th with the U310 map to see what it felt like under full load. Then went back to normal brisk pace

Looked in rear mirror 5 seconds later to see a black cross C gaining on me fast (wasn't a sinner in rear view mirror before) god knows how fast it was going :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Whenever I need him I usually meet him in Midleton on Saturday morning. Drop the car and go for breakfast and he's usually done in an hour. If there's anything else say it to him - he can spot things you might not even have seen too.

He works out of Barry Williams bodyshop down there, turn left at the lights and immediately right when you take the first Midleton exit. Absolute gent and won't put you wrong.

Think I saw your car in Mahon Point before Christmas, worth keeping that right!
    Cheers ya I want to keep it right so I'll see in the morn can he do it someday during week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Gavman84 wrote: »
    Cheers ya I want to keep it right so I'll see in the morn can he do it someday during week.

He's usually on the road during the week between garages I think. Worth a shot though. Rather than catching someone between jobs id give him time to look around it on a Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Some fecker got his van clamped in the carpark under my apartment. He's removing half the front of it trying to get the clamp off. I just heard a hammer pounding metal... :p

Ads for AIG car insurance, has anyone looked at those ads and thought "I should support this company and get my insurance with them"

gymq.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Ads for AIG car insurance, has anyone looked at those ads and thought "I should support this company and get my insurance with them"

Yeah i tried to support them with my money, so i rang them up, and they wouldn't support me, so they can fcuk right off :pac:

I'd pay slightly more to not have my insurance with them. I know there's some law in the UK and Ireland where the ads have to be annoying (see Aviva, Churchill, go compare, Sheila's wheels, no nonsense, confused.com) but this is just stupid.

The worst ones have to be them go compare ones, or the ones here with pat short in them, lord they wreck my head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I'd pay slightly more to not have my insurance with them. I know there's some law in the UK and Ireland where the ads have to be annoying (see Aviva, Churchill, go compare, Sheila's wheels, no nonsense, confused.com) but this is just stupid.

Don't forget Axa and a...ah...ah...Allianz. :p:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Got my HB4 LED's in today into the spots, look lovely and a nice little upgrade!

I'll get a pic up when the phone charges itself. Only the HID's to get now and I'm done on my bulb quest!

Edit: Threw it into the photo thread

Whats the story with working out VRT on cars that arent listed on the ROS site ?

Trying to work out VRT on a 11 grand sterling Monaro so i can go to sleep depressed

Whats the story with working out VRT on cars that arent listed on the ROS site ?

Trying to work out VRT on a 11 grand sterling Monaro so i can go to sleep depressed

If no one has brought one in before you, you get to be the guinea pig for it...

Generally they will then somewhat humourously go for what the OMSP is in the UK as it's the closest and most 'mirrorable' market. Which doesn't help us much due to the tax brackets used there and the fact larger engined and older cars hold their value much better there (as well as everywhere else).

dar83 wrote: »
    If no one has brought one in before you, you get to be the guinea pig for it...

Generally they will then somewhat humourously go for what the OMSP is in the UK as it's the closest and most 'mirrorable' market. Which doesn't help us much due to the tax brackets used there and the fact larger engined and older cars hold their value much better there (as well as everywhere else).

Sounds like a whole barrel of fun tbh.

There are 1 or 2 Ute's in Ireland with the 5.7 engine are there not ?

Sounds like a whole barrel of fun tbh.

There are 1 or 2 Ute's in Ireland with the 5.7 engine are there not ?

Possibly, but they aren't Monaro's are they? You'd need there to be the exact same model brought in before for there to be a record of it. :rolleyes:

Dord wrote: »
    a...ah...ah...Allianz

Oh my good god!!! :mad:

I love Asian women but your wan in that who literally squeals is actually the most annoying thing to ever appear on television. I have to either mute or change channel when that ad comes on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

--
    I love Asian women---

Do you travel sometimes to Asia?

cabb8ge wrote: »

Never been!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

cabb8ge wrote: »

He heard they like imports so he sold his Mazda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Some of ye probably seen this on facebook. More related to the learner drivers forum, but sure... :P :pac:

Oh hello there

nl7ggo.jpg

2zyh836.jpg

epk58k.jpg

Alloys are in near perfect condition, the inside of one is a bit flaky though, anyone know how to sort that?

Also got a badge, breather kit, bonnet struts wrapped in seatbelt, and an indicator lens with a free bulb :pac: it's the little things :rolleyes:

in a few days, getting a pickup strainer, o ring of said strainer and gasket sealant :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭power pants

very nice, maybe start saving too for new engine?

And why would i want to be doing that?