Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

I told you to fire some petrol and a match into it. anyday I told you day one not to do what you were going to do.

How many times a week do you not say "I told you so"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭huey1975

tanko wrote: »
    Yeah, but have you factored in the opportunity cost of not selling it to the beef enterprise because I own my land and may or may not have an opportunity cost.

Maybe I'd be better off keeping half the beet for my own beef enterprise and selling the rest to a dairy farmer down the road who owns one farm with a huge opportunity cost and rents another farm with no opportunity cost.

Would sheep be better than beet? :confused:

You would have to be the biggest sheep farmer in the country. Otherwise you're just thick. You can't be both!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

delaval wrote: »
    Spent afternoon unblocking the Keenan hape of muck. 6 mth after it blocked, well it freed up a shed as I returned it to its owner

Remind me not to lend you anything again.

At least you kept it inside.

I had forgotten who had taken it. I had to buy a new one.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Spent afternoon unblocking the Keenan hape of muck. 6 mth after it blocked, well it freed up a shed as I returned it to its owner

I bet you had that job earmarked for that student?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Some shyte singing programme on................ Of course, the reception is NEVER bad on these channels, only the ones with interesting stuff on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

Jeez lads I was in a farm yesterday buying a combine off a lad.
    Paris basin, Ile de France, 450ha. Talk about kit. 4 Claas Challengers 2 large combines, 2 huge SP sprayers.......I could go on and on
    He had easily enough kit to cover 2000ha. Gas man though drinking Midelton rare till wee hours. Great craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Did ya figure out the dishwasher yet,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

Came across this and thought of you Con. Much stronger and classier than a poly tunnel. Dipping tank included.

http://www.donedeal.ie/gardensheds-for-sale/green-house/6337356

26455549.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

sheebadog wrote: »
    Jeez lads I was in a farm yesterday buying a combine off a lad.
    Paris basin, Ile de France, 450ha. Talk about kit. 4 Claas Challengers 2 large combines, 2 huge SP sprayers.......I could go on and on
    He had easily enough kit to cover 2000ha. Gas man though drinking Midelton rare till wee hours. Great craic.

Did he own it himself or was it part of a co op of local farmers. Was out there a few years ago and they were all proclaiming this was the way to go. To be fair they had lovely new machinery but don't know how it work if the weather was going to break.?

Great whiskey by the way.

sea12 wrote: »
    Did he own it himself or was it part of a co op of local farmers. Was out there a few years ago and they were all proclaiming this was the way to go. To be fair they had lovely new machinery but don't know how it work if the weather was going to break.?

Naw owned it himself. What you're talking about is a GAEC I would think. Most farms here are small and they gang together to get a bit of scale. It works well. No problems with machines as the GAEC owns them. The GAEC is a farming partnership. Often amazed on here with the fear and aversion of farming partnerships. The farm I bought was actually a GAEC of 7 farms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

i'm in the bad books here, rubbed a bale of straw off side of newly resprayed lorry today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Expensive taste lads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

biddy2013 wrote: »
    i'm in the bad books here, rubbed a bale of straw off side of newly resprayed lorry today

Tut, tut.

bbam wrote: »
    Tut, tut.
    fook sake was climbing over stupid turf and didnt see the ladder oh had left there, i didnt tell him and it was dried by the time he saw it ,so i am so bold

Ah I'm sure he will forgive ya:rolleyes:

hugo29 wrote: »
    Ah I'm sure he will forgive ya:rolleyes:
    he's out there now trying to fix it up

so i am so bold

What would be the usual punishment for an indescretion like this?:eek:

oh now this would be on the very bad end of the scale, i am left in the house with a bottle of wine while he is out in the shed for hours in the cold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭C0N0R

oh now this would be on the very bad end of the scale, i am left in the house with a bottle of wine while he is out in the shed for hours in the cold

Make sure ya don't get stuck between a few bales of straw, he mightn't be as quick to come save ya this time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Expensive taste lads!

What's rare is wonderful!

That's savage cruelty altogether.

What's rare is wonderful!

Nearly always. After the Midelton he brought out a Glenfiddich 25 yr.old. Nicer.

That's savage cruelty altogether.
    yup dont know how i put up with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

yup dont know how i put up with it

40 lashes I think would be adequate punishment, and not in and S&M kinda way :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

There's rubbed and then there's rubbed biddy. How would miley describe it?

well his first words where " oh holy god":D

Better wait to tell him about what ya did to the toy boy so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

hugo29 wrote: »
    Better wait to tell him about what ya did to the toy boy so

Saturday night has officially kicked off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

I bet you had that job earmarked for that student?

Actually you have me the idea. A while ago you were saying that your boss uses ground pto to unblock the feeder. That was my eureka moment. Borrowed neighbours 188 today and rocked her a fee times and voilà.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,662 ✭✭✭✭Base price

It's Groundhog day tomorrow :rolleyes: