Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Have a dozen bullocks fit for factory. Rang today. All booked up for next week.
    Vet said he was testing in lads place today, lad buys in 150 forward stores and has a few batches to go and no where to go with them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Got some furze "branches" burning in the fire, the smell is lovely compared to turf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,618 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

:DRevenge is sweet eh
    Got some furze "branches" burning in the fire, the smell is lovely compared to turf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

It's tough stuff to handle, but thinking about furze, isn't the smell of them in bloom lovely, sort of a coconut smell off them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

On a completely unrelated matter make sure you check up on ye're tax free allowances. Revenue have dropped the home carers allowance so that you have to apply for it again (either use paye anytime or ring them) and also the credits for the health care cover seem to be only given for the adults only. You have to send them in a copy of the invoice and they will update your credits if you have kids covered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

dar31 wrote: »
    might be a bit early in the day for this , but sure..

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=251542241672909
    ya might need a coat today

biddy2013 wrote: »
    ya might need a coat today

I'd say he was freezing the day he was videoing it :D

I was cold watching it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Blue Holland

jaymla627 wrote: »
    What's your dry cow routine like coming up to calving, a cow going down that quick after calving smacks of a unbalanced diet/lack of minerals, our is she just a older lady

If it were only that simple, it's hereditary, no matter how well managed if history of it you''ll have odd case. If we all recorded cases with ICBF would help a lot and ain't claiming to be perfect on that front myself although have been better at it last couple of years.

Father bought a fecking harness yoke to lift cow yesterday its starting to rip already.
    Cow was on her side tagain thus morning. Lifted her up she is putting a bit of weight on her back legs. May try milk her in the afternoon.
    Some hardship is all I can say

Father bought a decking harness yoke to lift cow yesterday its starting to rip already.
    Cow was on her side tagain thus morning. Lifted her up she is putting a bit of weight on her back legs. May try milk her in the afternoon.
    Some hardship is all I can say
    i would only milk her by hand, or put a few calves on her for a day or 2

biddy2013 wrote: »
    i would only milk her by hand, or put a few calves on her for a day or 2

I was thinking the same but she has a massive bag under her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

FFS, did the thread on 'finishing cattle' just disapear. You wonder why you bother at times. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

FFS, did the thread on 'finishing cattle' just disapear. You wonder why you bother at times. :(

Don't be so rude.

The thread was deleted because it's a fcukin mess!!

Insults flying all over the place and generally descended into mayhem.

We also wonder why some people bother to create such work for us!

The thread is unapproved because it needs loads of modding / snipping done to it. This will take an age to sift through. Mod's don't get paid for what they do, yet some people think it's fair to make a big mess, expect others to clean it up, and then give out about it not being available.

Cop on just a little bit!

The thread might go back up if it can be cleaned up, but should we even bother?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

reilig wrote: »
    Don't be so rude.

The thread is unapproved because it needs loads of modding / snipping done to it. This will take an age to sift through. Mod's don't get paid for what they do, yet some people think it's fair to make a big mess, expect others to clean it up, and then give out about it not being available.

I was never on that thread but I seems to be happening on many lately. Can the messers be gotten rid of and save you the hardship. This is the second thread this week onF&F to be removed because of stupidity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Or better still reilig open a grumpy thread and let everyone go in there for therapy

Your right dev, lot of infighting going on, I blame the women:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

reilig wrote: »
    Don't be so rude.

Look fair play to mods for giving up their own time but sometimes I feel there is an over eagerness to jump in and delete something or try and make everything neat and inoffensive. Some of the threads just need to be let off the hook a bit more. Just my opinion

hugo29 wrote: »
    Or better still reilig open a grumpy thread and let everyone go in there for therapy

the cheek of ya.....i was never on that thread that was deleted maybe its the other wimmens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Bored of this now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Marooned75 wrote: »
    Bored of this now

The weather is it?

Marooned75 wrote: »
    Bored of this now
    yup, i blame the weather:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

hugo29 wrote: »

As the mother used tell me " if you have nothing good to say , don't say anything at all "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I must not be viewing the right threads.

Same as that, missing out on all the juicy stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,424 ✭✭✭tanko

I thought that thread was great craic. I read it all three times and still couldn't understand most of what was being written.

I'm sure of one thing tho, I'm selling all the sucklers next week and planting the whole place with beet asap. I'm going to make a fortune selling it;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

tanko wrote: »
    I thought that thread was great craic. I read it all three times and still couldn't understand most of what was being written.

I'm sure of one thing tho, I'm selling all the suckers next week and planting the whole place with beet asap. I'm going to make a fortune selling it;)

I was keeping a close eye on it, found it quite amusing, a lot of frustrated people in that thread ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭huey1975

I'm sure of one thing tho, I'm selling all the sucklers next week and planting the whole place with beet asap. I'm going to make a fortune selling it;)

The trick is to sell it to your beef enterprise at a loss and then your profit from beef will increased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Spent afternoon unblocking the Keenan hape of muck. 6 mth after it blocked, well it freed up a shed as I returned it to its owner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

delaval wrote: »
    Spent afternoon unblocking the Keenan hape of muck. 6 mth after it blocked, well it freed up a shed as I returned it to its owner

I told you to fire some petrol and a match into it. anyday I told you day one not to do what you were going to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,424 ✭✭✭tanko

huey1975 wrote: »
    The trick is to sell it to your beef enterprise at a loss and then your profit from beef will increased.

Yeah, but have you factored in the opportunity cost of not selling it to the beef enterprise because I own my land and may or may not have an opportunity cost.

Maybe I'd be better off keeping half the beet for my own beef enterprise and selling the rest to a dairy farmer down the road who owns one farm with a huge opportunity cost and rents another farm with no opportunity cost.

Would sheep be better than beet? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Yeah, but have you factored in the opportunity cost of not selling it to the beef enterprise because I own my land and may or may not have an opportunity cost.

Maybe I'd be better off keeping half the beet for my own beef enterprise and selling the rest to a dairy farmer down the road who owns one farm with a huge opportunity cost and rents another farm with no opportunity cost.

Would sheep be better than beet? :confused:

Or what about fattening ewes on beet? :D