Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

td5man wrote: »
    Pounds???
    yup showing my age.... jeeny primetime is brutal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

biddy2013 wrote: »
    a few years ago quota was 2 pounds a gallon :eek:

I taught you were going to give a price like - two and six pence, you were talking so long ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,618 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

turned it on there now and the OH wants it turned off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

delaval wrote: »
    I wish I had a yard that big!!!

On things moving, I'm missing a calf this pm.

Probably off taking a sh*t. Check the jacks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Odelay

feartuath wrote: »
    There were two eating from the pheasant feeders I had at back of house but they disappeared about two weeks ago. I was trying to fatten them for the pot

They must have got hold of a calender...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

delaval wrote: »
    I wish I had a yard that big!!!

On things moving, I'm missing a calf this pm. Two escaped, found one. They're a week old and hungry feckers so no doubt will find in a shed of cows tonight or in the morning. Too dark this pm to be looking

Would he be in the dishwasher

hugo29 wrote: »
    Would he be in the dishwasher
    if so he wouldnt never find him as he doesnt know who to open the door of the dishwasher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Thought I'd get an early night tonight. Cow with milk fever. Gave her two at 6 another one now. And two heifers starting to calve now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Went out one evening and tractor was inna different spot to where I always put it. I was surprised, but thought I must have left in the middle of the yard the evening before...

Then, a while later, a neighbour rang me, and told me he heard a story down the local... Local alco crashed the car in the middle of the night not far from our place, was walking past, saw the tractor in the yard, took it, dropped it back the next morning.. FFS... :mad:

Always take the keys out of it now. Ot that it wouldn't be too hard to start anyways, but it might put people off...

Years ago a friend of mine got drunk and couldnt get a taxi home, while stumbling home a builder he knew had left a 3cx on site. This lad took the digger and while driving away a squad car pulled up alongside him and he dropped the arm out over the road and done a fair bit of damage to the squad. It got all the paper at the time. He was lucky to get off with a fine but had to spend years working in England just to pay it.

Miname wrote: »
    Years ago a friend of mine got drunk and couldnt get a taxi home, while stumbling home a builder he knew had left a 3cx on site. This lad took the digger and while driving away a squad car pulled up alongside him and he dropped the arm out over the road and done a fair bit of damage to the squad. It got all the paper at the time. He was lucky to get off with a fine but had to spend years working in England just to pay it.

Another one of those famous friends, :D

Yeah a lot of stories floating about with these lads involved :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

is tomorrow the last day for shooting pheasants, there's a fat cock pheasant at my silage pit

There will be four of them there next week showing , knowing the law is on their side . I always notice that around here anyhow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Was out on the road today for a while and met something I've not seen for a while..

Lad driving along a booreen with a tank and rain gun, spreading away to his hearts content.. HE was so engrossed he didn't notice me waiting patiently to get bye.. He looked a bit sheepish as he waved me past..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

bbam wrote: »
    Was out on the road today for a while and met something I've not seen for a while..

Lad driving along a booreen with a tank and rain gun, spreading away to his hearts content.. HE was so engrossed he didn't notice me waiting patiently to get bye.. He looked a bit sheepish as he waved me past..

Are they still legal? I heard they were banned, but I wasn't sure if this was right or not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

case 956 wrote: »
    moved into a rented house with herself yesterday and god damn it cant find the remote for telly

Sure wont it give her something to be doing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Muckit wrote: »
    Probably off taking a sh*t. Check the jacks

I put a lock on the door

Terrified someone might steal a **** from it!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Sorry to hear Peter Wolfe of Atkins passed away, he was always entertaining in the journal ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭flat out !!

There's always a few good ones on there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Me and mr insomnia are just shooting the breeze on the web tonight. I got to be at 12:15 and then woke at 2:45, usual story, come 8am and I'd sleep like it was an Olympic sport.

Not so bad I have tomorrow off work so at least I won't be trying to look busy as I walk round like a zombie or such like :(

bbam wrote: »
    Me and mr insomnia are just shooting the breeze on the web tonight. I got to be at 12:15 and then woke at 2:45, usual story, come 8am and I'd sleep like it was an Olympic sport.

Not so bad I have tomorrow off work so at least I won't be trying to look busy as I walk round like a zombie or such like :(

Same as that, OH having trouble sleeping most nights so I'm up as well, now time for work.

Reggie. wrote: »
    Same as that, OH having trouble sleeping most nights so I'm up as well, now time for work.
    isnt it mad before babs is born you get feck all sleep and after they are born ya get feck all sleep too:rolleyes:

Reggie. wrote: »

Spare room,
    isnt it mad before babs is born you get feck all sleep and after they are born ya get feck all sleep too:rolleyes:

Breast feeding, yer only man

Are they still legal? I heard they were banned, but I wasn't sure if this was right or not?
    Contractor here has one, was usd a good few times last year,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

keep going wrote: »
    Sorry to hear Peter Wolfe of Atkins passed away, he was always entertaining in the journal ads

Rip to the man, but l never really got that. Must be a cork sense of humour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Desperate stuff altogether. Found it very difficult to watch!

Spare room,

Breast feeding, yer only man

I agree with both but if i go to the spare room i might not be let back in :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

a few years ago quota was 2 pounds a gallon :eek:

We sold 30,000 gallons and 12 acres of forestry and bought 60 acres of better land than we had. Those were the days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Cow that calved yesterday got milk fever yesterday afternoon. Gave bottle under skin and bottle in vein. Still wasn't able to get up last night at ten. Gave her another one then but she still can't get up. Time to get the hip clamps I think