Sellafield. Non essential workers told' to stay at home'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

frash wrote: »
    why not post the rest of the article which shows it probably not that big of a deal?

source

thats what they want you to think....

<<
    >>
    <<

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

In before people from Louth trying to blame this for the grimness of their existence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭microsim

It's not even an alarm at all.

Says who? Sending 8000 workers home sounds alarming to me. I wonder how the martyrs who have to stay at the plant feel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

It's not even an alarm at all.
    Panic over nothing, think OP needs to tighten up his strings as he is out of tune.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

Your dad sounds like a laugh.
    Where did ye go after that?
    Water works or the local dump?

That made me giggle cause it reminds me of some o the 'road trips' my dad used to take us on. Oh weren't holidays in the 80's fun.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

Just heard this on French radio but they had to put it in a completely vague scary way "In the last minute we are receiving reports of elevated levels of radiation at the Sellafield nuclear power plant" and then straight onto another story.

Sky News were flucking awful for this way back when. I remember a few days after 9/11, as the world sat on its collective what next eggshells, some breaking story intro'd with "now, we are just getting a report from JFK airport, this report has just come in, that a plane, a French airliner.....has landed at JFK, making it the first international arrival since the nationwide airspace suspension was lifted"

F'uck sake like!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Just breaking now.
    http://m.rte.ie/news/touch//2014/0131/501354-sellafield/

Let's hope it's a false alarm, and doesn't effect us on the east coast.

Tesco in Dundalk have sold all their kitchen tin foil. When the Drogheda crowd get out of bed there will be a run on it there too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Usually we only hear of Sellafields fcukups a few years after they happen, so this is a new one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,557 ✭✭✭✭Alun

We had an ancient map showing where it was but it's nowhere on any map published in the last 30 years. Anyway we couldn't find it. He was convinced we were within about half a mile of it but, strangely enough it's not signposted.
    ORLY?

https://www.google.ie/maps/preview/@54.439723,-3.482341,3a,23.6y,254.67h,88.15t/data=!3m4!1e1!3m2!1sQC2UeWKWtOX8M-NH4O1VEQ!2e0

https://www.google.ie/maps/preview/@54.4170052,-3.4981352,4834m/data=!3m1!1e3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

WikiHow wrote: »
    Im grand, im on the west coast.
    Just remember that when we on the East coast become mutated zombies, we'll be coming for the West coast!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

All AH jokes aside I hope that it's under control for all our sakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭snowbabe

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Got my iodine tablets here somewhere...

They're no good to you as they're out of date!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

humanji wrote: »
    Just remember that when we on the East coast become mutated zombies, we'll be coming for the West coast!

So horribly mutated zombies speaking incomrehensible garbage vs the Ea ... ah forget it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Finally, I have an excuse to tell people why I have 7 ears growing out of my hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Finally, I have an excuse to tell people why I have 7 ears growing out of my hands.

Chronic Mast-ear-bation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

Ah lads, stop worrying. Fionn Mac Cumhaill (or was it Manannán?) went to the trouble of putting the Isle of Man between us and Sellafield. Great idea! No planning permission nonsense in dem days.

Then the tide flushes any radioactivity down to Liverpool, then Anglesey and on to France. Seen any luminescent Scousers lately?

Hmmm! But the Bee Gees spent some years on the Isle of Man and their smiles were super bright.

Don't panic! Don't panic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

snubbleste wrote: »
    Where's the SkyNews chopper?

A footballer may be moving from Ipswich to Hull City today, the chopper is covering his whereabouts, and it's LIIIIIIIIIIIIIVE.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

On one of our memorable family trips years ago my Dad decided we were going to visit Sellafield......, strangely enough it's not signposted.

I'm not surprised! I would think a group of darker skinned lads driving around trying to find Sellafield claiming they were sightseeing might arouse more suspicion :pac:

Scratch that, before the mid nineties an Irish family claiming the same thing might get the guns drawn on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭knarkypants

Yes I could see this being our new anthem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Kent: On the line with us now is plant owner C. Montgomery Burns. Mr. Burns?

Burns: Oh, hello, Kent. [as loud rhythmic buzzing continues in the background] Right now, skilled nuclear energy technicians are calmly correcting a minor, piffling malfunction. [rapid-fire shots of havoc in the plant] But I can assure you and the public that there is absolutely no danger whatsoever. [air raid siren wails] Things couldn't be more ship-shape.

[cut to Burns' office, where he is busy donning a radiation suit]

Smithers: Sir, where is <my> radiation suit?

Burns: How the hell should I know? [covers the name `Smithers' on the suit he is wearing]

Kent: Uh, Mr. Burns, people are calling this a meltdown.

Burns: [laughs] Oh, meltdown. It's one of those annoying buzzwords. We prefer to call it an unrequested fission surplus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Shouldn't we be more concerned about the Ballymount fire?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

snubbleste wrote: »
    Where's the SkyNews chopper?

Selafield is a perma no fly zone. Take a chopper near there and it will be shot down!

My wife and son are on the way to Seascale now, visiting family. Her brother works there and has been sent home. He is pissed off that he is not considered 'essential'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

Selafield is a perma no fly zone. Take a chopper near there and it will be shot down!

My wife and son are on the way to Seascale now, visiting family. Her brother works there and has been sent home. He is pissed off that he is not considered 'essential'!

Poor guy. Get he wife to give him a hug, make him feel loved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

goose2005 wrote: »
    Shouldn't we be more concerned about the Ballymount fire?

In about 2-5 years, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Maybe the word they meant to use was 'expendable'. :eek: That would make him feel better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

Deadly, we're all getting super powers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Terry1985

Eight Ball wrote: »
    All AH jokes aside I hope that it's under control for all our sakes.

Hope didn't work in 1957 when it went on fire and spread radiation around Europe.
    For PR reasons they renamed Windscale to Sellafield.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windscale_fire

That explains people from Louth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

Her brother works there and has been sent home. He is pissed off that he is not considered 'essential'!

To be fair, he does only work in the gift-shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

A little reason as to why I would take this report with the utmost seriousness.

My wife had an uncle who worked for 30 years at Chapelcross Nuclear power station in Scotland. I had never met him but as we were on holidays in Scotland we decided to meet him and my wife's aunt.

This was about 2000 and he had retired since 1997. As herself was in the kitchen chatting to her aunt I had a very enlightening conversation with the uncle all about his rather interesting job as a nuclear technician for all those years.

Now he was an old man but had all his faculties working and even though he said it was largely an uneventful job he did say that on days when there was not much activity such as Christmas Eve or NYE it was part of his job on these days to dump some of the waste into the sea, which was totally illegal but as there was nobody monitoring they would easily get away with it. He said there would be large marine kills but ultimately nobody would notice.

He also told me that breaches of protocol on safety were often swept under the carpet and they occurred regularly.

Anyway I will always remember his words when on New yrs day I went for a stroll with my wife and then new baby along Bettystown strand it was 2002.

There were literally THOUSANDS of dead starfish for the whole length of the beach and nobody could hazard a guess as to why, I am pretty certain however as to why. I did ring the DOE the next day but never heard anything, I would have loved if they had measured the levels of radiation in the area.

Anyway I think we should be very sceptical about what we are being told and watch out for ourselves even though there is little we can do to stop it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Fierce radioactive today,Ted.