Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sellafield. Non essential workers told' to stay at home'

• 31-01-2014 8:38am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭

Just breaking now.
    http://m.rte.ie/news/touch//2014/0131/501354-sellafield/
    All non-essential staff have been told not report to work in the Sellafield nuclear plant, due to the detection of elevated levels of radioactivity.

Sellafield lies about 180km from Ireland's coastline.

In a statement, Sellafield said the site was operating at reduced manning levels.

It said as “a result of a conservative and prudent decision, the Sellafield site is operating normally but with reduced manning levels today.

“This follows the detection of elevated levels of radioactivity at one of the on-site radiation monitors at the north end of the site.

Let's hope it's a false alarm, and doesn't effect us on the east coast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Im grand, im on the west coast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I'd say ye are fcuked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭somuj

All hail Xenu.

So its all a false alarm?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Just heard this on French radio but they had to put it in a completely vague scary way "In the last minute we are receiving reports of elevated levels of radiation at the Sellafield nuclear power plant" and then straight onto another story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Got my iodine tablets here somewhere...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

WikiHow wrote: »

No I would say you should start panicking ......... now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

F.O.A.D. Sellafield

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Looks like we have to choices.

1) Worry about it because there's fuk all we can do.

2) Don't worry about because there's fuk all we can do.

I'm gonna go with number two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭wilser

So the jammy fcukers get paid for staying at home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭microsim

At least the wind is blowing the right way from Ireland's point of view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

wilser wrote: »
    So the jammy fcukers get paid for staying at home

Yeah, and they'll never have to buy a light bulb again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

We'll be grand, Iceland are fooked though. Revenge for the ash cloud, wahay!

http://www.windfinder.com/weather-maps/forecast/unitedkingdom#5/54.393/-6.987

The rain will keep the ould radiation down for the day anyway.

From itv :

'Traffic problems around Sellafield

Traffic problems are being created around the Sellafield Nuclear site after as staff are being told to return home. The site has been closed to around 8000 day workers because of an unspecified operational condition.'

Sounds like the workers can't away quick enough!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Hmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

frash wrote: »
    why not post the rest of the article which shows it probably not that big of a deal?

source

Well I was pasting as much as I could without posting the full article.

Besides, it's a big enough deal for the workers to be told to stay home today.

Could be a possibility that they might be playing things down a bit.

It's all over the news this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

When you are all sheltering in your bunkers, just make sure your water doesn't contain fluoride or your all fcuked.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Where's the SkyNews chopper?

snubbleste wrote: »
    Its out of diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭frash

We'll all be following this forum tonight

When you are all sheltering in your bunkers, just make sure your water doesn't contain fluoride or your all fcuked.

Nice to see you living up to your name there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

They'll get viewers to go out and take pics for them ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

On one of our memorable family trips years ago my Dad decided we were going to visit Sellafield. We were about 8 hours early for the ferry or something. We had an ancient map showing where it was but it's nowhere on any map published in the last 30 years. Anyway we couldn't find it. He was convinced we were within about half a mile of it but, strangely enough it's not signposted. I think he finally gave up driving around in circles with just enough time for us to make the boat, about 5 hours after everyone else in the car started screaming with boredom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

microsim wrote: »
    Nice to see you living up to your name there.

Stefan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

On one of our memorable family trips years ago my Dad decided we were going to visit Sellafield. We were about 8 hours early for the ferry or something. We had an ancient map showing where it was but it's nowhere on any map published in the last 30 years. Anyway we couldn't find it. He was convinced we were within about half a mile of it but, strangely enough it's not signposted. I think he finally gave up driving around in circles with just enough time for us to make the boat, about 5 hours after everyone else in the car started screaming with boredom.

Your dad sounds like a laugh.
    Where did ye go after that?
    Water works or the local dump?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Looks like we have to choices.

1) Worry about it because there's fuk all we can do.

2) Don't worry about because there's fuk all we can do.

I'm gonna go with number two.

There are always tree options.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Anything that makes the country slightly warmer is to be welcomed surely?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

It's not even an alarm at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

frash wrote: »
    why not post the rest of the article which shows it probably not that big of a deal?

source

thats what they want you to think....

<<
    >>
    <<

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

In before people from Louth trying to blame this for the grimness of their existence.

Says who? Sending 8000 workers home sounds alarming to me. I wonder how the martyrs who have to stay at the plant feel

Panic over nothing, think OP needs to tighten up his strings as he is out of tune.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

Your dad sounds like a laugh.
    Where did ye go after that?
    Water works or the local dump?

That made me giggle cause it reminds me of some o the 'road trips' my dad used to take us on. Oh weren't holidays in the 80's fun.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

Just heard this on French radio but they had to put it in a completely vague scary way "In the last minute we are receiving reports of elevated levels of radiation at the Sellafield nuclear power plant" and then straight onto another story.

Sky News were flucking awful for this way back when. I remember a few days after 9/11, as the world sat on its collective what next eggshells, some breaking story intro'd with "now, we are just getting a report from JFK airport, this report has just come in, that a plane, a French airliner.....has landed at JFK, making it the first international arrival since the nationwide airspace suspension was lifted"

F'uck sake like!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Just breaking now.
    http://m.rte.ie/news/touch//2014/0131/501354-sellafield/

Let's hope it's a false alarm, and doesn't effect us on the east coast.

Tesco in Dundalk have sold all their kitchen tin foil. When the Drogheda crowd get out of bed there will be a run on it there too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Usually we only hear of Sellafields fcukups a few years after they happen, so this is a new one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

We had an ancient map showing where it was but it's nowhere on any map published in the last 30 years. Anyway we couldn't find it. He was convinced we were within about half a mile of it but, strangely enough it's not signposted.
    ORLY?

https://www.google.ie/maps/preview/@54.439723,-3.482341,3a,23.6y,254.67h,88.15t/data=!3m4!1e1!3m2!1sQC2UeWKWtOX8M-NH4O1VEQ!2e0

https://www.google.ie/maps/preview/@54.4170052,-3.4981352,4834m/data=!3m1!1e3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Im grand, im on the west coast.
    Just remember that when we on the East coast become mutated zombies, we'll be coming for the West coast!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

All AH jokes aside I hope that it's under control for all our sakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭snowbabe

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Got my iodine tablets here somewhere...

They're no good to you as they're out of date!!!

humanji wrote: »
    Just remember that when we on the East coast become mutated zombies, we'll be coming for the West coast!

So horribly mutated zombies speaking incomrehensible garbage vs the Ea ... ah forget it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Finally, I have an excuse to tell people why I have 7 ears growing out of my hands.

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Finally, I have an excuse to tell people why I have 7 ears growing out of my hands.

Chronic Mast-ear-bation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

Ah lads, stop worrying. Fionn Mac Cumhaill (or was it Manannán?) went to the trouble of putting the Isle of Man between us and Sellafield. Great idea! No planning permission nonsense in dem days.

Then the tide flushes any radioactivity down to Liverpool, then Anglesey and on to France. Seen any luminescent Scousers lately?

Hmmm! But the Bee Gees spent some years on the Isle of Man and their smiles were super bright.

Don't panic! Don't panic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

A footballer may be moving from Ipswich to Hull City today, the chopper is covering his whereabouts, and it's LIIIIIIIIIIIIIVE.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

On one of our memorable family trips years ago my Dad decided we were going to visit Sellafield......, strangely enough it's not signposted.

I'm not surprised! I would think a group of darker skinned lads driving around trying to find Sellafield claiming they were sightseeing might arouse more suspicion :pac:

Scratch that, before the mid nineties an Irish family claiming the same thing might get the guns drawn on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭knarkypants

Yes I could see this being our new anthem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Kent: On the line with us now is plant owner C. Montgomery Burns. Mr. Burns?

Burns: Oh, hello, Kent. [as loud rhythmic buzzing continues in the background] Right now, skilled nuclear energy technicians are calmly correcting a minor, piffling malfunction. [rapid-fire shots of havoc in the plant] But I can assure you and the public that there is absolutely no danger whatsoever. [air raid siren wails] Things couldn't be more ship-shape.

[cut to Burns' office, where he is busy donning a radiation suit]

Smithers: Sir, where is <my> radiation suit?

Burns: How the hell should I know? [covers the name `Smithers' on the suit he is wearing]

Kent: Uh, Mr. Burns, people are calling this a meltdown.

Burns: [laughs] Oh, meltdown. It's one of those annoying buzzwords. We prefer to call it an unrequested fission surplus.