Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Lads with a lot of talk nitrates etc i would have thought i would see lads looking for farmers who have capacity too take away surplus slurry, i have yet too see an ad for this?is this because it should not happen by law, or just because deals are being done with neighbours etc...

I've just spent part of the day today sorting out my slurry imports for 2013. Once you are under the limits after the calculations are done then no problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

delaval wrote: »
    IFA: progress on Nitrates. Increased N & P limits & improved soiled water definition. Calendar farming still an issue.

Rancher I got this text today. Do you have any further info?

http://www.agriculture.gov.ie/press/pressreleases/2014/january/title,73583,en.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

I've just spent part of the day today sorting out my slurry imports for 2013. Once you are under the limits after the calculations are done then no problems.

:eek: I hope you had all documentation returned by 31/12/13 or else your in trouble. seems I over-exported by 20kgs/n/ha:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

:eek: I hope you had all documentation returned by 31/12/13 or else your in trouble. seems I over-exported by 20kgs/n/ha:mad:

We had all our own internal stuff in, in good time but the guy today was looking for a home for 4000 cube on Monday:eek:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭exercise is the antidote

Lads with a lot of talk nitrates etc i would have thought i would see lads looking for farmers who have capacity too take away surplus slurry, i have yet too see an ad for this?is this because it should not happen by law, or just because deals are being done with neighbours etc...
    You would only be getting yourself in trouble, and who Evers taking it. They would hop off ye if you give them a sniff at all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

We had all our own internal stuff in, in good time but the guy today was looking for a home for 4000 cube on Monday:eek:.

4000 cubs of 2013 slurry?? bet he is in trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Arrgh why I bother sometimes! Went out to check the springers before bed at 12, heard the bull making a fuss in the 2nd yard, so went for a look, sure enough the maiden heifers were out roaming around the yard and a paddock beside it, their gate wide open (someone didn't tie it right obviously! I thankfully managed to get the bull and most the incalf heifers locked into their shed (only an electric fence holding them in), the maidens took alot more effort to get back in, they proceeded to flatten every bloody electric fence in the yard, as well as plough up the paddock (which is totally saturated with water), took me an hr to get them back in. Bed finally now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Timmaay wrote: »
    Arrgh why I bother sometimes! Went out to check the springers before bed at 12, heard the bull making a fuss in the 2nd yard, so went for a look, sure enough the maiden heifers were out roaming around the yard and a paddock beside it, their gate wide open (someone didn't tie it right obviously! I thankfully managed to get the bull and most the incalf heifers locked into their shed (only an electric fence holding them in), the maidens took alot more effort to get back in, they proceeded to flatten every bloody electric fence in the yard, as well as plough up the paddock (which is totally saturated with water), took me an hr to get them back in. Bed finally now.

At least tis done now, if it was tomorrow morn twud have fecked up the days routine whereas it just made tonights jobs stretch a bit. Came across a cow down with milk fever on top of a scraper the other nite when checking a cow calving, spent from 2 to 3 sorting her but she was able to walk to the parlour in the morn, if I hadn't seen her till the morn I prob would have been pulling her out with the loader and looking for the shackles for her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Where's that Journal man gone, their digital flip edition isn't working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,665 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Came upon this while doing a search for vehicle weights for my theory test
    Mmmmmhhhhmmmyesandyesagain :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

http://www.farmersjournal.ie/twin-calves-with-the-same-dam-but-different-sires-154194/
    How would this happen. Me self and the girlfriend arguing over it here ha

Can actually happen to humans too :eek:
    Basically the female releases an egg at ovulation as normal, it gets fertieised, then she releases another egg from the other ovary, a double ovulation, and the other baby/calf daddy sperm gets there, et voila, twins with different sires/da's. :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Base price wrote: »

Hmmm that's some good work there base price, you should study more ;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

http://www.farmersjournal.ie/twin-calves-with-the-same-dam-but-different-sires-154194/
    How would this happen. Me self and the girlfriend arguing over it here ha
    had a cow had twins a whitehead and a fr a good few years ago had wh stock bull and cow was ai'd the morning before we let stock bull in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Reggie. wrote: »
    Mmmmmmm :rolleyes:

Remember the woman last year in England who had twins and lets just say they looked like they came from diffrent country's. That was two diffrent fathers to!

Timmaay wrote: »
    plenty of fooks i'd say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Who the fcuk put my picture on the net :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,618 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Yeah nice calf alright :P

hugo29 wrote: »

:rolleyes::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

I can see you now hugo, on the cover of next year's IFA calender ;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Jkf calf this morning. Bit the god its some calf pulled the shoulders out of myself pulling it. Another bull of course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Some amount of time it took them with the air brushing, sure isn't that one of your last years calves you sent in :p

Team of scientists working on it :D

jeeny i thought ya where better looking than that, disappointed now:(

did my duty and picked a load of rushes for school for st brigids crosses- picked them in neighbours field:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,665 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Woohoo, need to buy "L" plates now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

biddy2013 wrote: »
    did my duty and picked a load of rushes for school for st brigids crosses- picked them in neighbours field:D

Id sooner believe that was hugos picture than that you had to go to the neighbours field to gather rushes !

moy83 wrote: »
    Id sooner believe that was hugos picture than that you had to go to the neighbours field to gather rushes !

Yup neighbours field is full of them as he never tops them. I do have some but nothing like what he has

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭maxxuumman

Am I blind or has the Superlevy thread dissappeared

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭whitebriar

maxxuumman wrote: »
    Am I blind or has the Superlevy thread dissappeared

I was about to ask the same question.

Seems to have vanished alright