Gardai harrasing me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Next time the garda tries to search you, give him a smirk and a wink and say you've been a very naughty little boy.

Tell him its not a gun in your pocket, just you happy to see him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Shadow Walker

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    Aren't they officers of the peace? Aggressively provoking people for their own amusement and sadomasochist ways. Many of these Dublin criminals may well not have turned to crime if they actually could respect authority.

I have seen Dublin cops handle situations much better now they can work in here. Unless you lived in Dublin you have no idea how the culchie Gardaí act in underprivileged areas.

They were clueless in term of understanding a truly urban environment social situation.

I would never rate the intelligence of Dublin scumbag very high as many are junkies.

Thankfully your experiences didnt cause any permanent damage , it would be terrible if you were left with a chip on your shoulder :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

SNAKEDOC wrote: »
    You expect people to believe that gardai used to stop you while walking home and drew their batons on you while asking questions. That is the most stupid thing i have ever heard. It is a holes like you that give the police force a bad name. Cop yourself on. And also id love to know what the etc is.

nonsense.the police used to beat the bejesus out of us when i was that age. many times I've seen cops pull the baton on a stop and search,and if you didn't get a belt of the baton you'd sometimes get jabbed in the ribs with the torch.w@nkers give themselves a bad name.young cops from the country are the worst offenders.older cops or detectives rarely harass kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,446 ✭✭✭ebbsy

The fuzz will be greasing up their batons........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Dress up as a cow and run around in circles..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Bring a civil case against them OP hire the best darn attorney in town god dammit :mad:

Freddy Reidenschneider is the best, but he costs a small fortune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

Dermighty wrote: »

The more you look, the less you really know. It's a fact, a true fact. In a way, it's the only fact there is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

Dermighty wrote: »

Or you'd better call Saul :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Thankfully your experiences didnt cause any permanent damage , it would be terrible if you were left with a chip on your shoulder :D

It is an accurate portrayal of how Gardaí act. You can make all the jokes you like but it won't change how they acted or the resulting problems they suffer.

If I do have a chip on my shoulder who do you want to blame me or the Gardaí.

Would you call the cops if you knew the guy arriving at your door may have beaten your child for no reason? I don't trust them because I learnt not to trust them from their behaviour. I was never involved in any criminal activity and here we have a child of 17 getting the similar harassment. DO you think he trust or like them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

Chucken wrote: »
    Not sure what CAP is so I'll let that one go. But where do the spuds grow if the field isn't ploughed?

Not sure what CAP is????.....Wut??? :eek:

You get a pass if you're from Dublin...if you're from anywhere else in Ireland, GTFO! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

You expect people to believe that gardai used to stop you while walking home and drew their batons on you while asking questions. That is the most stupid thing i have ever heard. It is a holes like you that give the police force a bad name. Cop yourself on. And also id love to know what the etc is.

I wouldn't call it arrested, but I was taken down to the station when I was around 9 or 10 along with my pals, for climbing into an ESB substation to look for a football.

The reason we were taken down town was because, in our infinite wisdom, we thought that if none of us told the Garda our name's he'd eventually have to let us go. He had only wanted to tell our parents what we were at, then let them handle it.

We were all sitting in a row, down the Garda station, and the cop was getting seriously thick.

"Lads, tell me your fcuking name's and stop being so bloody stupid. You (looking at first lad) what's your name?"

"I'm not saying"

Wham! Such a kick in the shin he gave him (ten yo child)

Kid starts bawling.

(Looks at 2nd lad)

"You gonna tell me your name?"

"Stephen...."

"Where you from, Stephen?"

He told the Garda everything, name, address, phone number and all our father's had to come down.

So don't think the Gardai are above a sly dig, or a kick if your trying to be smart with them. Served us right anyway.

You expect people to believe that gardai used to stop you while walking home and drew their batons on you while asking questions. That is the most stupid thing i have ever heard. .

You will have to not believe me either. Regular occurrence and I have no real reason to believe it stopped. In fact I have been told by a reserve Garda that there are still Garda beating people up from the same station.

Ram raiding cop cars in the 90s was often actually retaliation as I know one Garda was a target for his behaviour and ended up with pretty sever injuries. He was also moved from the station. Garda cover for each other all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

You will have to not believe me either. Regular occurrence and I have no real reason to believe it stopped. In fact I have been told by a reserve Garda that there are still Garda beating people up from the same station.

Ram raiding cop cars in the 90s was often actually retaliation as I know one Garda was a target for his behaviour and ended up with pretty sever injuries. He was also moved from the station. Garda cover for each other all the time.

"Well your honour, I'm not a car stealing, illeterate, scumbag dole warrior, junkie whose Mother only knew my father in the biblical sense! I'm a white knight of justice using my god given car "Borrowing" skills to wreak retribution on the agents of darkness, who were mean to me"

Seriously? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

They are now getting their NSA buddies to track your post so expect to be stopped even more now.

If I was you I'd never leave my house again. You can't be stopped if you don't go out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭ThirdMan

I don't think the Gardai are above a sly dig, or a kick if your trying to be smart with them.

The Guards are just people like everyone else. Of course they should be held to a high standard, but it's a mistake to think that they don't get up to the same type of stuff as everyone else. My brother was acting the mick on the town one night. He was cracking jokes and getting everyone worked up. The guards told him to move along and he didn't. He was rugby tackled, brought to the barracks and had the crap kicked out of himself by three Guards. Split his eye and cracked his ribs. My Mam had just lost her brother so he didn't make anything of it. Didn't want to worry her. He just said he fell with a few pints in him and forgot about it. I'm sure the majority of Guards are just doing their job, and doing it well. But there's a minority there that take liberties. The best thing to do is (a) don't be getting up to anything and (b) do what you're told if you do encounter them. Swallow your pride and go home. It's not worth the hassle.

ThirdMan wrote: »
    The Guards are just people like everyone else. Of course they should be held to a higher standard, but it's a mistake to think that they don't get up to the same type of stuff as everyone else. My brother was acting the mick on the town one night. He was cracking jokes and getting everyone worked up. The guards told him to move along and he didn't. He was rugby tackled, brought to the barracks and had the crap kicked out of himself by three Guards. Split his eye and cracked his ribs. My Mam had just lost her brother so he didn't make anything of it. Didn't want to worry her. He just said he fell with a few pints in him and forgot about it. I'm sure the majority of Guards are just doing their job, and doing it well. But there's a minority there that take liberties. The best thing to do is (a) don't be getting up to anything and (b) do what you're told if you do encounter them. Swallow your pride and go home. It's not worth the hassle.

That's my point. They're just ordinary blokes and women doing a job, who here can honestly say they haven't wanted to curse at or slap a customer or colleague who's deliberately making your job more difficult?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

That's my point. They're just ordinary blokes and women doing a job, who here can honestly say they haven't wanted to curse at or slap a customer or colleague who's deliberately making your job more difficult?

I have wanted to hit customers but I never did because I'm not a thug. I would hope that gaurds are trained not to act like gorillas in uniform.

I agree. I've often wanted hit to someone in that situation. I've never actually done it though. And I wouldn't.

MajorMax wrote: »
    "Well your honour, I'm not a car stealing, illeterate, scumbag dole warrior, junkie whose Mother only knew my father in the biblical sense! I'm a white knight of justice using my god given car "Borrowing" skills to wreak retribution on the agents of darkness, who were mean to me"

Seriously? :p

Is that meant to be a joke or something? It stinks of the stereotype that the young culchie Garda believe when they arrived.

Truth of the situation was the Garda couldn't enter the neighbourhood for months. I didn't even live there I was just going up to my girlfriend's house. Both her parents lived there and still do. Because her brother was severely disabled her parents could only afford to live there due to his medical care costs.

The whole situation was caused by the Gardaí being violent thugs. Many perfectly normal families lived there but everybody was treated with suspicion and harassment.

They never caught the guy who rammed the car but everybody knew who it was. The Gardaí were afraid to go after him.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I have wanted to hit customers but I never did because I'm not a thug. I would hope that gaurds are trained not to act like gorillas in uniform.

Did you, yeah? Chances are your customers don't verbally abuse you, or punch, kick, spit or bite you.

I did nothing and they still beat me up. Do they wait till they find somebody that won't fight back to get revenge. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

OP, next time tell the Garda that that's the filed you bury the bodies in. then when he calls in the reinforcements , gets the entire field dug up, and they find nothing, he'll be the laughing stock of the force.

of course, if some nutjob has been burying bodies in that field, you are fooked

I did nothing and they still beat me up. Do they wait till they find somebody that won't fight back to get revenge. :rolleyes:

I'm not a Garda apologist Ray. I'm sure you did come across a cnut. But you come across them everywhere where someone has a bit of power and it goes to their heads. Bouncers for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

I wouldn't call it arrested, but I was taken down to the station when I was around 9 or 10 along with my pals, for climbing into an ESB substation to look for a football.

The reason we were taken down town was because, in our infinite wisdom, we thought that if none of us told the Garda our name's he'd eventually have to let us go. He had only wanted to tell our parents what we were at, then let them handle it.

We were all sitting in a row, down the Garda station, and the cop was getting seriously thick.

"Lads, tell me your fcuking name's and stop being so bloody stupid. You (looking at first lad) what's your name?"

"I'm not saying"

Wham! Such a kick in the shin he gave him (ten yo child)

Kid starts bawling.

(Looks at 2nd lad)

"You gonna tell me your name?"

"Stephen...."

"Where you from, Stephen?"

He told the Garda everything, name, address, phone number and all our father's had to come down.

So don't think the Gardai are above a sly dig, or a kick if your trying to be smart with them. Served us right anyway.
    Hope you sorted the dirrrty little rat fink out,i presume you cut his tongue out and shoved it up his ass before dumping him in a trunk outside a sub station.

I'm not a Garda apologist Ray. I'm sure you did come across a cnut. But you come across them everywhere where someone has a bit of power and it goes to their heads. Bouncers for example.
    Try 5 of them from the same station who back each other up.

I worked with bouncers and I know more Gardaí that have beaten people up where generally a bouncer just doesn't let you in a place.

Yeah, the guards have to face an awful lot of crap. Yet the majority of them handle it very well, and fair play to them. Ideally, all guards would be of similar professionalism and integrity. But they're not. So we end up with members of the public getting battered. I'm sure it happens in every country, but having one of the most secretive police forces in the world doesn't help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Used to get exactly the same when I was 17 but I looked like a hippy.

I was at a Feila and got stopped and searched 3 times by different garda in an hour. All claimed it was a drug search as they saw me dealing. It wasn't true but they can make this one up anytime.

At least they aren't punching you like they used to do to me. Very brave of them beating somebody who can't hit them back and is under 18. They then wonder why people hate the Gardaí.

I met one of them years later at a party and made sure everybody knew he was a scumbag who abused his power. He left the party pretty quickly as he knew if he touched me he would lose his job. Absolute coward and bully.

They should never have let culchies up to police suburban areas in Dublin, they were all completely clueless and were permanently aggressive.

I never get this ****e, do all Dubliners think Guards are all from the deadzone that is the rest of the island? You realise they're placed away from their locality on purpose right? There are a lot of Dublin Guards down the country.

You don't see every second person on boards ****ing on about the city thugs down the country though.

Bazzo wrote: »
    I never get this ****e, do all Dubliners think Guards are all from the deadzone that is the rest of the island? You realise they're placed away from their locality on purpose right? There are a lot of Dublin Guards down the country.

You don't see every second person on boards ****ing on about the city thugs down the country though.

The majority of young guards in my area (Midlands) are from Dublin.

OP, posts like this reinforce my confidence in the Gardai.
    Whilst you might be a good little boy, lots of the low iq criminal youth, play the same card when they get stopped, and would still go and steal a car shortly after.
    As said suck it up, and carry on.

Anytime I was stopped by the Gardai when I was young, i used to treat them like human beings and have a chat, in turn I never got stopped much and when I did they would have the Craic with me.
    Sometimes it's easy to tell by someone's demeanour, if they like you or not, and Gardai have a good intuition in that sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭The other fella

fishing for keys or phishing for credit car numbers ?

Trout....and keys.