Gardai harrasing me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

hug him and tell him your mates smoking crack in the field are pimping you out and you need help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Usual carry on to be honest, whereupon some Guards (usually from the back-arse of Mayo or someplace) view every working-class youngfella in a certain area as a potential criminal. The only thing to do really OP is co-operate with them, giving them sh*t is only likely to get you a slap for your troubles.

I also notice the usual UCD-esque **** on this thread where having a shaved head or wearing sportswear or being from Finglas or whatever equates to being "scum."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭conorhal

Why not try comitting an actual crime?

Then the Guards won't be seen for dust!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Nodin wrote: »
    ...then you're in their favourite demographic for stop and hastle. Back at around your age for one or two years I had to take a long route home (ironically past the cop station) because of the constant grief from patrols on the direct way. Questions would be asked with batons drawn etc. It eases off when you get older is the only consolation I can give ye. That, and ye'll learn their habits and how to avoid them.

Christ Noddy where did you grow up?! When I was 17 I barely knew what a guard looked like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭SNAKEDOC

Nodin wrote: »
    ...then you're in their favourite demographic for stop and hastle. Back at around your age for one or two years I had to take a long route home (ironically past the cop station) because of the constant grief from patrols on the direct way. Questions would be asked with batons drawn etc. It eases off when you get older is the only consolation I can give ye. That, and ye'll learn their habits and how to avoid them.

You expect people to believe that gardai used to stop you while walking home and drew their batons on you while asking questions. That is the most stupid thing i have ever heard. It is a holes like you that give the police force a bad name. Cop yourself on. And also id love to know what the etc is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

break the ice with a bit of friendly banter, tell them your taxes pay for their wages and they'll laugh and send you on your way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭SNAKEDOC

Don't you know that if you need to crap he has to give you his hat, but he can't arrest you unless he's wearing his hat?

Also, tell him you're a free man moving across the land. They'll never bother you again.

Another miguided citizen. Who believes a garda can only arrest when wearing his hat. Tell me what about detectives wearing suits and their jacket with garda on the back.

Ive never seen a garda wear a hat unless hes on beat patrol or at a checkpoint.

Gardai can make an arrest in spandex if they want.

God only make an arrest wearing a hat what kind of bolloney is that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭mfergus

Rasheed wrote: »
    There's a guard around town that I wouldn't mind harassing me.

Big ridable hoor........

Do you know his name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I bet it's not a Garda at all, just some randomer wearing a costume for ****s and giggles.

If it's one of the new T800-101s, the navigation cortex is just below the base of the "skull" at the back of the neck. Knock that out, and it'll still see you but won't be able to pursue. Good luck, soldier. This is John Connor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 short_of_cash

If you think the gardai might have information about you....you could send them a data protection subject access request. They are obliged to release all data the hold about you.

SNAKEDOC wrote: »
    Another miguided citizen. Who believes a garda can only arrest when wearing his hat. Tell me what about detectives wearing suits and their jacket with garda on the back.

Hello and welcome to After Hours. Please take posts of this nature and within this forum, with a pinch of salt.

I think you'll find that Duracell Bunny was ripping the piss out of freeman nonsense that's often spouted so no baloney - only facetiousness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I think you'll find that Duracell Bunny was ripping the piss out of freeman nonsense that's often spouted so no baloney - only facetiousness.

It's practically a bannable offence not to post facetiously in After Hours. :D

I just wanted to use the word.

F.a.c.e.t.i.o.u.s. is SUCH and awesome word*

*I'm being serious now btw, no facetiousness in this sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Next time the garda tries to search you, give him a smirk and a wink and say you've been a very naughty little boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Shadow Walker

masti123 wrote: »
    Basically every 1 or 2 weeks I get stopped and searched by the Gardai, for no reason all i'm doing is walking, they always come up with excuses as to why they're searching me eg. 'I thought you were smoking a joint' (It was a rollie), 'That field you came out of is well known for drug use' etc. What can i do/say to stop this? thanks

Why would an OP post what is a relatively serious post HERE . Is he a glutton for punishment ? Surely he had to know the kind of replies he would get here. :)

masti123 wrote: »
    Basically every 1 or 2 weeks I get stopped and searched by the Gardai, for no reason all i'm doing is walking, they always come up with excuses as to why they're searching me eg. 'I thought you were smoking a joint' (It was a rollie), 'That field you came out of is well known for drug use' etc. What can i do/say to stop this? thanks

There are two ways you could deal with this go to the station they are from and ask to speak to the community guard and have a chat with him/her, bring your dad or another adult if you want or if you are very young and tell them what is happening and see if that does any good, or just accept it and be polite and friendly to the guards that stop you, they will soon stop if they find noting.

None of the above will work if you are an actual criminal or even vaguely on the edge of a criminal lifestyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Whoever said Garth Brooks is like a sonic repellent to them is seriously mistaken,i would say his best chance of not being stopped is when Garths in Croke Park where every guard in town will be in jeans and cheque shirts going YEE HAAA and on to Coppers then for a serious amount of questioning of Nurses about their road frontage.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

jimgoose wrote: »
    If it's one of the new T800-101s, the navigation cortex is just below the base of the "skull" at the back of the neck. Knock that out, and it'll still see you but won't be able to pursue. Good luck, soldier. This is John Connor.

Beidh me ar ais.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Used to get exactly the same when I was 17 but I looked like a hippy.

I was at a Feila and got stopped and searched 3 times by different garda in an hour. All claimed it was a drug search as they saw me dealing. It wasn't true but they can make this one up anytime.

At least they aren't punching you like they used to do to me. Very brave of them beating somebody who can't hit them back and is under 18. They then wonder why people hate the Gardaí.

I met one of them years later at a party and made sure everybody knew he was a scumbag who abused his power. He left the party pretty quickly as he knew if he touched me he would lose his job. Absolute coward and bully.

They should never have let culchies up to police suburban areas in Dublin, they were all completely clueless and were permanently aggressive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

so now your the coward and bully abusing some one who cant react with our losing their job nice move bettering the world there ray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    ...They should never have let culchies up to police suburban areas in Dublin, they were all completely clueless and were permanently aggressive.

You should be down on your knees thanking the Holy Ghosht for the Big Tick Culchie Guard, up in de Shmoke carrying out the vital work of administering a badly-needed toe-in-de-hole to pups a' youngfellas. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

so now your the coward and bully abusing some one who cant react with our losing their job nice move bettering the world there ray

:D Lovely stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

Interestingly a detective also must give you his suit if you need to crap, and a detective cannot arrest you in his underwear. It would just look silly above all else.

Gardai can only make arrests while wearing a hat, it's the source of all their power. Every rookie out of Templemore knows that! Also I like your idea of Gardai wearing spandex, I think it would look quite dashing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

jimgoose wrote: »
    You should be down on your knees thanking the Holy Ghosht for the Big Tick Culchie Guard, up in de Shmoke carrying out the vital work of administering a badly-needed toe-in-de-hole to pups a' youngfellas. :cool:
    Bring back Lugs Brannigan I says,he will sort out them hippys with a good cuffing.

I did nothing for him to assaulted me on numerous occasions while I could not defend myself. I just told people what he did and because of his job he couldn't assault me this time. Nothing I did was cowardly as I stood up to him. I used the truth against his violence

I quite happy to hear he lost numerous friends and is known for what he is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    Used to get exactly the same when I was 17 but I looked like a hippy.

I was at a Feila and got stopped and searched 3 times by different garda in an hour. All claimed it was a drug search as they saw me dealing. It wasn't true but they can make this one up anytime.

At least they aren't punching you like they used to do to me. Very brave of them beating somebody who can't hit them back and is under 18. They then wonder why people hate the Gardaí.

I met one of them years later at a party and made sure everybody knew he was a scumbag who abused his power. He left the party pretty quickly as he knew if he touched me he would lose his job. Absolute coward and bully.

They should never have let culchies up to police suburban areas in Dublin, they were all completely clueless and were permanently aggressive.

Considering that Mountjoy, Wheatfield, St. Pats etc. are full of stupid Dubs who were caught by the "clueless" culchie police it dosent say much for the intelligence of the average Dublin scumbag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭red_bairn

I was stopped and asked if i sold drugs but never stopped by the Gardai for dressing like a dealer. =/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

*whoooossshhh*

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    Considering that Mountjoy, Wheatfield, St. Pats etc. are full of stupid Dubs who were caught by the "clueless" culchie police it dosent say much for the intelligence of the average Dublin scumbag
    Aren't they officers of the peace? Aggressively provoking people for their own amusement and sadomasochist ways. Many of these Dublin criminals may well not have turned to crime if they actually could respect authority.

I have seen Dublin cops handle situations much better now they can work in here. Unless you lived in Dublin you have no idea how the culchie Gardaí act in underprivileged areas.

They were clueless in term of understanding a truly urban environment social situation.

I would never rate the intelligence of Dublin scumbag very high as many are junkies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Legal smoking age is 16

its not,legal age for smoking was raised to 18 some years back.Op,somebody already mentioned your the top of their demographic for stop and search due to your age,believe me it pass in time. i don't think its a personal thing or you are being singled out,cops just like to search 'youths' when you get a bit older they won't bother with you anymore