Woman crushed at Copper face Jacks

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Yeah, I hate this attitude of 'spending daddys money', personally I think it's just people who never got to go to college for whatever reason, and just bitterly pick on those that do....they seem to hate that students have a social life, and the concept of students actually having a part time job, as most do, is always conveniently ignored....it's always the taxpayer. You'd think it'd have eased off with the recession but it's only gotten worse it seems :rolleyes:

You do realise loads of students have part time jobs and pay for their own nights out? They don't all rely on their parents for money. Im not sure if its that you begrudge these people going out and having fun or the fact that they have money to spend, but if convincing yourself that they all live of handouts makes you feel better about yourself than go ahead and do that.
    I take it you completely missed the bit in bold here:
    "your (or Daddy's) hard earned money"

I never said that they all live off their parents, but some certainly do and I was merely outlining the mentality surrounding people queueing to get into nightclubs regularly. It baffles me that people would waste their money going to such overcrowded dumps only to spend double what you would spend on drink elsewhere.

I suggest you both should read a post before going off on a tangent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

Hope shes out of the woods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

realies wrote: »
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0128/500594-copper-face-jacks/

Woman critical after crush outside Dublin nightclu
    Tuesday 28 January 2014 08.28

The incident happened outside Copper Face Jacks
    An 18-year-old woman, who was one of seven people injured in a crush outside Copper Face Jacks nightclub on Harcourt Street in Dublin, is in a critical condition.

She is being treated in St James' Hospital in Dublin.

The incident happened outside Copper Face Jacks on Harcourt St at about midnight.

Gardaí say around 1,500 people were queuing outside the nightclub at the time.

Seven people were injured, four of those were taken to hospital Emergency Departments for treatment.

Harcourt Street was closed off for a time after the incident but has since reopened.

I hope all get well soon.

Having never been in there,what's the big deal with CFJ, 1500 people queuing to get in wtf that's some crowd.

I like the dailymailish thread title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Repeat

FTA69 wrote: »
    I remember crowd-management stuff like this used to always happen on student nights when I was a doorman. Rag Week was the absolute worst. Normally we opened the club at 11pm. By 10.45pm we were packed to capacity and there were still around a hundred people outside trying to get in. Every time we opened the door to let someone out they would try and surge in the door. I had one girl almost break her arm when she tried to stick it in as the door was closing.

Absolute pandemonium and unfortunately all too common when when you have hundreds of p*ssed up kids in a herd mentality.

Since this apparently is a well known problem surely the clubs are responsible for ensuring safety at their own events? :mad:

Hope everyone recovers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

its on liveline now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

Are students not always protesting about being broke? I am in a reasonably well paid job and certainly couldn't afford to be out nightclub on a Monday night in January. Remarkable.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

What is a Copper Face Jack anyways?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

An overrated nightclub in Dublin whose clientele have a zombie like attachment to it and cannot comprehend going out anywhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

Named after a person ?
    Copper's, that landmark Irish institution on Harcourt Street, is named after a real man.
    The Lord Chief Justice of Ireland, no less, and the Earl of Clonmell (yep, it used to be spelled that way), so he was a Tipperary man. But that's not the interesting bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

iDave wrote: »
    An overrated nightclub in Dublin whose clientele have a zombie like attachment to it and cannot comprehend going out anywhere else.

Coppers is pretty poor but it is what it is, its no worse than multiple other places in Dublin and at least it stays open really really late, I was able to buy a pint in there as 4.30/5am a while back and the smoking area is reasonable.
    No escaping that its a bit of hole though and the stereotypes about its regulars are broadly true though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Are students not always protesting about being broke?

no.
    I am in a reasonably well paid job

well done.
    certainly couldn't afford to be out nightclub on a Monday night in January.

not that well paid then if a Monday in the entire month of January is outside your financial means.
    Remarkable.....

no, it really isn't, at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

iDave wrote: »

Meh, in my day, we scraped five pounds of a Tuesday night and drunk creamy pints of Guinness in Humphries of Ranelagh. That was the height of it. Simpler times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

anncoates wrote: »
    What in the name of thundering fucking Jaysus has any of this claptrap got to do with some poor kid being crushed nearly to death outside a nightclub?

Heh - yeah. If it was a 60-year-old ex-bank manager outside Gibney's in Ballsbridge while an international rugby match was on inside they'd be blaming his handsome pension. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Meh, in my day, we scraped five pounds of a Tuesday night and drunk creamy pints of Guinness in Humphries of Ranelagh. That was the height of it. Simpler times.

Sounds like heaven to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    I can see this issue disappearing very quickly without any repercussions, just remember who runs Coppers and what country they run it in.

agree, perhaps if we normalised our pricing policy for alcohol - not too high , not too low - we could have a healthier relationship with alcohol, as a nation - this event sounds like another promotion for youth binge drinking , really sad , especially for the injured woman and her family - hope she makes a full recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭average hero

I work up the road from it and after hearing of an incident, went up the road to have a look. I was a stone cold sober observer who works the door game and what I saw was complete and utter carnage. The crowd control was completely and utterly overwhelmed. The promoters heads have to roll for this.

I saw tens of people walking away with some sort of damage to their legs, arms etc and a number of people were reportedly unconscious. Girls were crying and some fellas were in some sort of shock. Ambulances and the fire brigade were called to the scene as were a number of garda cars.

We got some blowback from Coppers closing and it is usually the crowd we refuse however we allowed a few in. No problems but a little rowdiness and sneaking drink in were the usual.

Outside Coppers, 75% of the people looking to get in were HAMMERED (and I say this with a lenient view on what is considered being hammered).

Here and now I call on the promoters heads to roll for this. The Justice Minister, the Government, Jacko (the owner of the place) whoever has the authority. A family nearly lost a daughter, sister and friend due to pathetic marketing of 'Messy Mondays' and a blatant disregard for anything that is decent.

We'll see if the Guards have the balls to actually face cronyism in it's eye and treat this nightclub like any other and close it down or suffer proper penalties.

I say all of this as a frequenter of Coppers on the weekends (when the crowd is admittedly older and better - no issue with the Coppers staff who were attempting to do their job last night to the best of their ability)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Brick Session

I don't know what a tracker mortgage is :P

Don't forget folks that we were all 18 once and may have had feck all money so we had to grab a bargain when we could even if it was a cheap night out on the lash. It's probably wrong to comment on this until an investigation is carried out and the cause is determined.

Lastly, and most importantly, I wish the young girl a speedy recovery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭D Trent

According to the journal.ie, they were running a 'Messy Monday' event with all drinks €3.50. Also, they had advertised the event as 18+ as opposed to their usual 21+ age limit. Hopefully everyone recovers ok :( I've never seen the big deal about the place myself TBH.

Over 21's really? I got in there only last yr I was 19 and there was no special event on like stated above. Quite proud of myself now tell ya the truth :)

cournioni wrote: »
    I was merely outlining the mentality surrounding people queueing to get into nightclubs regularly. It baffles me that people would waste their money going to such overcrowded dumps only to spend double what you would spend on drink elsewhere.

Because people enjoy nightclubs, maybe you don't but an awful lot do. I would go to late bars more than clubs now but from the age of 17 to about 25 it would be a failure of a night out if we didn't get into a night club.I queued for clubs every week for years, 20 mins or so queuing was well worth it when you got inside the club you wanted to go to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Don't forget folks that we were all 18 once and may have had feck all money so we had to grab a bargain when we could even if it was a cheap night out on the lash.

sure we were all young once , sure we all probably got drunk - but does the country really need an event promoting binge drinking , when alcohol excess today, causes such havoc on probably most familys in the country ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

By the looks of this video it could have been a disaster :eek:

I hope the girl recovers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

In fairness Coppers are usually very good at keeping the crowd under control while queueing. This must have been a freak incident.

On the subject of overcrowded nightclubs, anyone who has ever been to Legs will most likely have seen a shocking amount of people in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Crazy stuff. Why has this place got such of a pull on people? I mean there are how many pubs/clubs close to the place on Harcourt/Camden street?!?

Less than 100 meters away you'd have Diceys which always does cheap drink?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

ok who owns Coppers, everyone seems to know but me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

DominoDub wrote: »
    By the looks of this video it could have been a disaster :eek:

I hope the girl recovers

You can see lads standing on other people. Such a disgrace.

I hope that young girl recovers, poor thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭snowbabe

That video is very scary,hillsborough comes to mind,so many they didnt realise what was happening.They are all very lucky there wasnt a bigger tragedy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

caustic 1 wrote: »
    ok who owns Coppers, everyone seems to know but me?

Breanagh Catering Ltd

who are/include Cathal Jackson former Garda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I'm 26 and have yet to set foot in Coppers. Stuff like this doesn't make me any more keen.

Relieved nobody was killed, it could have been so much worse. Hope the girl recovers fast and there's no lasting consequences for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

P_1 wrote: »
    You'd have to really ask questions about the sanity of having people q up there. But because I'm a cynic I doubt that will happen.
    They're going to queue somewhere. A nightclub really only has very limited control over how many people turn up to get into the nightclub. They also have no authority to "reserve" any part of the footpath. So all they can really do is indicate to people where to queue and try maintain some kind of shape on the queue. As it's a public path, their options are limited.

The logic of queueing down the lane was probably done on the direction of the Gardai, as queueing down along Harcourt street creates disruption for traffic, residents and local businesses.

From the video, it looks like sheer numbers in the lane was the main problem. What probably happened is that there was a surge from the back, which caused one or two people to trip, which in turn caused loads of people to fall over them. They were trapped at the front with people at the back oblivious to what they were doing when they pushed (yes, I've lost count of the number of times I've seen people stand at the back of busy queues and deliberately push as hard as they can). Most of the people at the front were on the ground, pinned and trapped and people in the lane had nowhere to go. Add to that the fact that so many bystanders would have been hammered and clueless, filming what's happened instead of trying to pull people out. Probably lucky no-one died tbh.

Was probably pretty scary. I'd lay very limited blame at the door of the organisers though. Not a particularly spectacular event, certainly nothing to warrant the volume of people, especially when there are clubs just as cheap close by. Was it a special weekend? I.e. was this the first weekend back after Xmas for colleges?
    Or maybe a couple of college societies held events last night and organised to converge on Coppers?
    The biggest failing on the part of the club was probably not closing the doors, calling the Gardai and dispersing the crowds earlier in the night when it became clear there were more than a couple of hundred kids out there.
    went up the road to have a look

...a number of people were reportedly unconscious.

...We got some blowback from Coppers closing and it is usually the crowd we refuse however we allowed a few in. No problems but a little rowdiness and sneaking drink in were the usual.
    Your account is...weird. You were there, but a number of people were "reportedly" unconscious?
    "We" got some blowback from Coppers? "We" allowed a few in? Did you copy-and-paste something from facebook, or do you work in a club nearby?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

I saw tens of people

"dozens" - flows off the tongue better.